John Fowler, Widemouth Bay Caravan Park Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Fowler, Widemouth Bay Caravan Park - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Great park,great location.just ”

Written on: 25/09/2017 by WarrenMacGregor256 (1 review written)

Just had a four day break,could have done with longer.all the staff are helpful and friendly , the park and caravan are good, ideal location for walking and cycling had a good holiday, Thank you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great staff Mary and Peter so friendly park kept very...”

Written on: 14/05/2013 by hilaryblackmore (1 review written)

As soon as I spoke to Mary on the phone I was made to feel welcome and was looking forward to meeting her. I was not disappointed she was great; so nice.The park was really lovely, kept so clean and tidy the caravan we had was immaculate with views of the sea. we have been to 5 of your caravan sites and we will be booking again next year. Mary and Peter are a credit to your company and made our holiday as soon as we arrived at the park. Keep employing people like them. Thank you for a great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“do not come to this site it is disgusting the manager...”

Written on: 05/05/2013

do not come to this site it is disgusting the manager is rude and not very helpful. The site is old entertainment is is old hat. this camp needs a good manager and a very much needed revamp. do not come here you have been warned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“absolutely disgusting”

Written on: 01/07/2012 by Squeaky3 (1 review written)

First caravan we were given was dirty and situated up a muddy track, inside the kitchen area floor was greasy and slippery, dirty fridge and microwave. Complained to reception and was given another caravan which was not much better. The duvets and pillows were covered in dog hairs the T.V. did not work the shower was broken and the water temperature fluctuated so you either froze or was scolded when taking a shower.After complaining the duvets, pillows and T.V. were replaced but the shower was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Filthy dirty.......”

Written on: 18/04/2012

just returned from our very unpleasant and uncomfortable stay at Widemouth Bay 4 days early as we could not stand another night in the cold, damp and filthy caravan. On arrival we were given our key and went to find our caravan, it was disgusting! The caravan was very old and tired wallpaper coming off the walls, windows that let in water and where the curtains blew in the wind but the most shocking part was how filthy it was! It smelled revolting, the carpet was stained and caked in dog/human… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“wasnt the best.”

Written on: 25/12/2011

myself and my family stayed here for a couple of weeks this year(2011).the holiday started well,the accommodation etc were good.then in the second week the female entertainer from the campsite(there was only one i think)decided shw would take a liking to my 17 year old daughters boyfriend.needless to say this didnt end well.my husband will be checking next year and if she is there again we will be going elsewhere becayse we were told this wasnt the first time,so just be aware! on the topic of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“WASTE OF MONEY”

Written on: 27/09/2011

I stayed on Jonh Fowlers, Widemouth Bay site this year, against my better judgement after reading some reviews, but needed to stay in the Bude area so thought i would give it a go, on arriving at reception was greeted by a very unfriendly face it was as though the old dear there was not enjoying her work at all, i was given a caravan which had seen better days not value for money at all, when i asked to speak to the manager he was was very unhelpful and rude, and had a total lack of concern for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2012

yeah i agree stayed here 3 years now an a lot worse this year..entertainment staff couldnt be bothered didnt speak to any one or make any effort that i could see..wont be goin again

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“well impressed”

Written on: 12/09/2011 by Rich Pete (4 reviews written)

We visited this park for the 1st time, after ten years at other parks of John Fowlers empire, the last park we stayed at last year, Trelawne was good but the accomodation was a severe let down and put a massive doubt on any more holidays at Fowlers. I decided at the beginning of August to call the booking office and ask about Widemouth Bay, with disabled and definatley no pets (we have also kept in touch with the ents staff from last year and got the low down) and, so booked the holiday for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“widemouth bay camping”

Written on: 13/08/2011 by gthslh (1 review written)

Wejust returned from week at widemouth bay camp site Was a little worried before going after reading some reports, when arrived found tent pitches are on slopes some quite steep as reported but we hade elec hook up and these were slopeing but not as bad The ground was a bit soft but we had quite abit of rain at night but not waterlogged the toilets and showers was as clean as expected, The club house drinks and food a bit expensive but is as expected for a site,we have two small girls who… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Not the greatest site on the planet”

Written on: 28/07/2011

We booked a 5 night break with john fowler widemouth bay, in the camping area, we usually go to newquay but this time decided to try somewhere different and went to bude. We decided to ignore the 4 p.m book in, and went to reception the second the doors opened at 10a.m, we were allowed to pitch, but the receptionists were seriously miserable, not even a 'good morning' or 'enjoy your stay'. The campsite area was virtually empty which was seriously surprising, considering it was the first week… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rich Pete's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2011

I would wonder if you have ever had a \"terribly suprising\" good comment about anything, infact I am terribly suprised you didnt comment about the angry donkey a few fields away.

Why is the club dated? or was it that it never had strobe lights flashing away?
Obviously, the food is a little expensive as it is ON SITE, where else is it supposed to be?
You mentioned about the kids running about in the club, and games etc, it seems its not that easy to please everybody, kids are given a bit of lee way, but when we was there, parents did control their kids, I dont know whether you are aware but it is a FAMILY HOLIDAY PARK, and as regards the language used, I am sure if you brought it to the ents manager he would have done something about it, and regards making fun of gays, when we was there, last week there was a song called the old camp fire, if this is what you are refering to, then you would see that it was directed at one of the ents staff, which was started off by one of the charactors, and everything and everybody was taken in good fun, if it was offensive in anyway i would have not been used in the entertainment. I spoke to people and we all found it was an enjoyable time and would certainly return next year as we will.
Lastly, about people not being polite and saying good morning etc, they proberbly thought the same to you as you was to them, I had no problems as I spoke to people, and people spoke to me both guests and staff.

Lastly if you can do better then I suggest you get intouch with Fowlers and apply for a job next season and see how hard these guys work, it does not stop at midnight where you can go back to where you was staying, but the staff start when you would still be asleep oh and not forgetting, these guys start the season 2 months before the season starts, and have a hell of a battle keeping kids entertained, especially in the high season.
And the secuity measures are not for being a rowdy site as would be the impression you had, but to enforce rules such as no glasses outside and also patrolling through the night.
Obviously you have many and varied compliants, which you should have mentioned to the park manager at the time and it could have been dealt with, not weeks after.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jimbolin's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2012

You obviously work for the company a paying guest couldn't possibly find a good thing to say about this dive. As for the hard working staff! sitting around miserable, and the park manager who thinks its acceptable to shout at paying guests children. This is not a holiday its a boot camp. Surely kids should be able to have fun on holiday in this "family holiday park" what a laugh. Where are you going next year HMP BELMARSH, You'll love it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Uk_Traveller's Comment

Written on: 14/09/2011

couldnt agree more...that singing was damn awful.think i ended up leaving with my ears bleeding

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Just spent a week in Widemouth Bay Cornwall in a...”

Written on: 06/05/2011

Just spent a week in Widemouth Bay Cornwall in a Poppy Gold caravan and it was lovely. Can't fault the caravan or site. The only let down is that the parking is often a way away from the caravan… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Just came back from a long weekend in one of their...”

Written on: 02/05/2011

Just came back from a long weekend in one of their vans and found it fair value for money. The van was dated but spotless and the staff were very helpfull and friendly. Not a lot to do there and not a site for teenagers, the clubhouse being more for kids and older people.Beware tho,drinks and food in the club are well overpriced as is the small onsite shop.Site is pretty isolated and the beach is walkable but initially up a very steep hill.Good site for a quiet stay… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We just wanted a few days away to try out our new ...”

Written on: 19/04/2011 by missijust (1 review written)

We just wanted a few days away to try out our new camper we just got . Booked two nights at John Fowler widemouth bay holiday park because the rates were good and it was only about 30 miles away . After i book i read the reviews , Was dreading it because the review were terrible ... I must say either they have worked overtime to get this park up to scratch this year or the people who wrote those bad reviews had bad weather and blamed it on the park because i thought it was well worth the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ ”

Written on: 11/04/2011


For the past four years I have been taking my grandchildren to this site and they have always looked forward to the children's entertainment. I must say that this year the standard of entertainment provided by the new team is truly superb. They manage to keep the children enthralled. Half the battle is what to do with the children and this year they could not wait to get back to the site. The team are even running a children's club in the mornings at peak times. A great improvement… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I went to Widemouth Bay on two occasions last year and...”

Written on: 14/03/2011

I went to Widemouth Bay on two occasions last year and found all the staff to be extremely polite, helpful and fun, the entertainment was great, the park was clean, tidy and well maintained. Yes it could do with upgrading but we had a great time. We found the park manager to be extremely helpful and couldnt do enough to help us, would chat to us in the clubroom in the evening, our TV in the caravan wasnt working properly and he arranged for it to be changed immediately. I recommended this to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We stayed on this site in september of this year,our...”

Written on: 25/12/2010

We stayed on this site in september of this year,our caravan was very dated and unclean we had paid for a upgrade and was told that the van we had was a gold,it obviously was not,it was full of flies and when we complained to the park manager he told us this is the countryside what do you expect,it was absolutly disgusting and the manager just did not care he became very abusive and said if we did not like it then we could leave with no refund,and there was no other van we could have...We found… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't find words to explain how foul this place was....”

Written on: 09/09/2010

Can't find words to explain how foul this place was. All tent pitches are on slopes. No drainage, not enough showers, only one hairdryer, no plug sockets anywhere. Rained out of our tent and offered basic caravan for £300 for 2 nights. Clubhouse dirty and smelly. Shop exepnsive with old stock. Only positive was that most of the staff were friendly. I will never go to a John Fowler park again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We have just returned from our family holiday at John...”

Written on: 07/09/2010

We have just returned from our family holiday at John Fowler's site in Widemouth Bay. We have stayed here twice before and have generally found it ok for what we paid. This time the camp has really taken a turn for the worse. The caravan was filthy. I was frightened one of the kids might catch something, reported it to reception (the manager of the site as I thought) he gave his name as Bill Martin but later found out it was Philip Parkin, he was not interested. Pool closed early every night… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ just got back from 2 weeks touring at widemouth...”

Written on: 07/09/2010

just got back from 2 weeks touring at widemouth bay,pitched on a slope which caused proplems with drainge,shower blocks too few, dirty out dated and to far away,we only used clubhouse once, that was enough as we ordered overpriced food,when i complained that sausage and mash was disgusting, the chef was very rude and said, i take it you want be eating here again,and for the rest of the evening that we was in when bringing food to tables,she had to walk passed our table and kept giving me dirty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“WENT CAMPING AT WIDEMONTH BAY FIRST TIME CAMPING....”

Written on: 06/09/2010

WENT CAMPING AT WIDEMONTH BAY FIRST TIME CAMPING. AFTER READING REVIEWS ON HERE I WAS VERY WORRIED. WHEN WE ARRIVED THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL FOUND A PITCH EASY ENOUGH. CAMPSITE IT SELF WAS CLEAN ALL THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL AND POLIETE. THE SHOWER WERE BUSY AT PEAK TIMES I WENT DOWN EVERY EVENING ABOUT 9.30PM AND GOT STRAIGHT IN. ONLY 1 HAIRDRYER WHICH WAS A DOWNSIDE. SWIMMING POOL WAS LOVELY AND WARM AND NOT OVERCROWED AS IT'S HAS A LIMIT OFF PEOPLE AND IS DONE IN HOURLY SLOTS BUT IF ITS NOT BUSY… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview