Sands Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Sands Hotel
★★★★☆
4.1
100.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sands Hotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sands Hotel

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Sands Hotel Nidri”

★★★☆☆

written by grundisburgh on 07/10/2012

The hotel was okay - the rooms were clean but the facilities for cooking were very limited. No chopping boards, very limited utensils. The bathroom was okay but it would have been nice if they had left a small bar of soap to be used Location was good at the end of the Nidri road. However, my main complaint is the flight. We arrived at Gatwick in good time and the plane arrived half hour late. We then had to wait for more communication with regards to the delay for that day 27th September. Finally at 2000 we were advised that we would be taken to a hotel for the night and fly the next day. No communication was made until the early hours of the 28th and we eventually flew at 0830 - thus missing a whole day of our holiday. Small Planet was the airline being used and this had some technical problems as well as the crew being out of time to fly. We are returning customers of Olympic and normally have found Olympic to be professional, but in the case of losing one day of our 7 days holiday this time, it is unlikely that we will travel again. We would like some form of compensation from Olympic to satisfy the lost day of our 7 days holiday. Please reply to me regarding this incident my email is [email protected]. I await your response with eager anticipation

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We got married at the Sands Resort and Spa in...”

★★★★★

written by on 30/10/2010

We got married at the Sands Resort and Spa in September. The wedding coordinator Deepsheeka was fantastic and her attention to detail was amazing. From other reviews we were concerned that items such as flowers would be expensive and to our relief, everything was very well priced.

Food and drinks at the hotel were about the same price as what we would pay for food in Australia but with a quick bus trip into town you will find purchasing drinks and snacks from the supermarket will save you a lot of money. The quality of food at the Sand was very good; the best out of the three hotels we stayed at while in Mauritius.

Only advice I would give is to take your own pillow; the pillows provided were awful to sleep on.

Professional wedding photos by Elie Bernager - http://www.unmariageauparadis.com/ if you are looking for a professional, enthusiastic and 1st class photographer, he is an absolute must!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very nice food. All the personel were very...”

★★★★☆

written by on 14/06/2008

Very nice food. All the personel were very helpful. The nicest and cleanest beach strip.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Enjoyed our stay very much at the Sands Hotel in...”

★★★★★

written by johnthom23955 on 31/08/2005

Enjoyed our stay very much at the Sands Hotel in Mauritius.The views from our rooms have set a new benchmark for our holidays. The checking in and smiling friendly staff was very pleasing and we feel the staff are the hotel's strength. The entertainment in the evenings was of a good standard and the drinks although at hotel prices were comprehensive and served with a smile.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sands Hotel is an excellent small hotel - very...”

★★★★☆

written by careya on 14/06/2005

Sands Hotel is an excellent small hotel - very suitable for the quieter holiday- honeymoons/couples well catered for as there is few or no children at the resort - there is evening entertainment, but it is low key and finished by 10.30 for those who wish to sleep!!
Food wonderful - each night had a theme, with a menu based or buffet style food.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Very Very cheap to hire a taxi for the day - barter a price before you get in - taxis always available as they just parked outside the main gate.
Watersports good but underused. Beach excellent for snorkelling and swimming and very safe.
Although they say in the brochures there is a dive school on site, you actually use the La Paroque 'Sundivers' dive-school facilities. The school is excellent and friendly - completed our PADI Open Water qualification there in 4 days leaving another few days to do more diving and improve your skills.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sands Hotel - We had a wonderful family holiday here...”

★★★★★

written by nijplatt on 28/06/2004

Sands Hotel - We had a wonderful family holiday here in July 2003. The restaurant & reception areas are in keeping with the style of hotel - relaxed & in keeping with the surroundings. I have previously stayed at La Pirogue and prefer The Sands anyday - unless you're a fan of big hotel complexes!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Geoffrey W Platt's Response to nijplatt's Review

Written on: 29/06/2004

With ref to my earlier review. The accommodation should be 9/10 and not 4/10 as stated. Go book it !
<br>
<br>NijPlatt - England

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Sands Hotel - We were looking forward to a quiet break...”

★★★★☆

written by Michelle Davies on 27/05/2004

Sands Hotel - We were looking forward to a quiet break from London city life for two weeks in the sun, the hotel seemed very new and customer service on arrival was impressive, the rooms were of a high standard and all staff were attentive during our stay. There is low-key entertainment each night around dinner.
We hired a car easily to explore the island and found driving OK until at one point in the hills the road stopped! and we were left with a pothole track to follow. We survived but the car was orange with mud on our return!
Did not bother visiting Port Louis as appeared a large ugly overbuilt town choked with traffic, though would recommend a trip on Blue Safari submarine (leave early to avoid heat when travelling in the car). The Seven-Coloured Sands took 5 mins to see...and 5 hours to get to, the Cassela Birdpark is very pretty with a nice restaurant overlooking the valley.
All in all a good experience travelling with British Airways, but a shame that the long-awaited break from London was spoilt by typical building works and noise during our break. There had been no warning of building works from our representative or Hotel management.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Geoffrey W Platt's Response to 156875_Michelle Davies's Review

Written on: 29/06/2004

A family of six we stayed at the 'Sands' and found it to be exceptional in many ways. I cannot agree with the 7/10 rating for accommodation. As a well travelled person I have never used better accommodation. Would have given a lower rating on food, which I understand may have improved now. We found the 'Sands' one of the best value for money complexes in Mauritius, and are looking forward to a return visit later this year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Geoffrey W Platt's Response to 156875_Michelle Davies's Review

Written on: 05/07/2004

There was no building work taking place when we were out there. I would not be happy with building work taking place adjacent to the complex.
<br>I would certainly suggest that you check this out before your holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Timetraveller's Response to 156875_Michelle Davies's Review

Written on: 05/07/2004

G.W were you disturbed by the building works next door?
<br>Would you recomend I keep my booking there for mid-September?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview