Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
77% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King

Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King
Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King
Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King
Elizabeth Laird, The Garbage King

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“A very moving story with many ups and downs. I had to...”

written by on 05/04/2011

A very moving story with many ups and downs. I had to choose a book review to do an oral report on and this was my immediate choice. Many interesting themes involved with a beautifully written storyline. Definitely recommendable to anyone who loves a good book to soak into with lots of drama and emotion. :)
It is really worth the money for the book as it is a book you can read many times without getting bored as you feel the tension every single time you read it. The size of the book is quite good as it is not too long but is long enough for a gripping storyline to be thoroughly portrayed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“i thought it was sad because mamo was sold to a farmer...”

written by on 30/12/2010

i thought it was sad because mamo was sold to a farmer and the boy who hates him (Tesfaye)gets beaten by the farmer(his dad)and the thing I hate is that on page 53 Tesfaye said the S word three times my teacher gave me this book I'm only in P6 and my teacher was very disapointed about the language but in reality I thought was very moving and good oh and the part about dani sitting on the side of the pool being called names was sad and that is all I have to say!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This book was very moving, i loved it. i would...”

written by on 09/06/2010

This book was very moving, i loved it. i would reccomend this book to anyone looking for a good read.
I had to read it because i had a 7th grade assignment and i flyed through it as all the answers are more or less in the book its self :) Have fun reading this book and dont forget to reccomed it to anyone who loves reading ;)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I loved it and i think that it is sooo sad that karate...”

written by on 28/10/2009

I loved it and i think that it is sooo sad that karate died!....OMG i just wanna go in the book and save him somehow!..lol how lame is that eh?
..i really liked the book it is showing the 2 diffrent stories on how diffrent their lives are!!...and how much of a connection they have!....



I would definatlyy recomend this book because it is exiting and interesting and it makes you want to read more if you find a cliff hanger! xxxxxxxxxxxx


LOL anywayss... who ever is reading this reveiw should atleast read the first chapter and see how it goes (but i know thAT YOU WILL LOVE IT!....lol)


i have to say that i read this book for english in my school and i alwayss had to leave off with it and it got me so stressed out that i wanted to carry on reading it even though i would get in trouble......hehe anyway hope you like the book!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Juneta86's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2010

you know what..I am finding a good story book to gift my son on his birthday.He is found of reading. Its his hobby. He has his own library for books that has so many story books....
<br/>I am glad that he loves reading story books and books are the best thing i ever gift him on any occasion.
<br/>Your review seems to be interesting. I hope I buy this book for him and he reads it out with fun and enjoyment. Thanks buddy.
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Compare the problems faced by Mamo and Dani. Which boy...”

written by on 27/09/2009

Compare the problems faced by Mamo and Dani. Which boy has the greater difficulty?
Mamo and Dani are characters in the book 'The Garbage King' which is set in Africa in Ethiopia's capital city, Addis Ababa. They both face similar problems and both have awful situations which they are facing and are going to face. Even though they are very different people, they have their similarities. At the moment both of the boys are on the run. Somewhere along the line they'll meet and share each other's problems. Hopefully they can help one another with their issues and soon find light at the end of this very long, dark and extremely lonely tunnel.
Mamo has a hard life. One of the main problems in his life is that he has no mum or dad, which means he lives with his sister and doesn't have an ordinary life. Mamo and his sister had no money at all. Whilst his sister went to get a job a man came to the house of which Mamo and his sister lived. He claimed to be his uncle, but sadly he wasn't. This man kidnapped Mamo and has taken him far from home. He sold him to a farmer and has to live in his barn. Mamo has to look after the cows during the day and has very little food. Tesfaye, the farmer's son, bullies and has been threatened and beaten more than once by the farmer. Mamo is so upset about his horrible life that he has tried to kill himself. At the moment Mamo is lost; he has run away and doesn't know where he is.
Dani also has a life full of upsetting situations even though he has a lot of money his life is not all that great. His mother is ill and has gone to England. Dani's father beats him and is very mean to him; his mother was the only kind one to him. He has no friends at school and is doing very badly. Dani is also ashamed because he is much fatter than the boys at his school. The only subject he is good at is writing. Dani loves to write stories but his father frowns upon it. He finds it hard to please his father as he is very harsh and critical. His father is angry and wants to send Dani away to Jigjiga to live with Feisal who would bully and terrorise Dani and make him into something. Dani, like Mamo, has run away and he doesn't know if he will find shelter - he will find it hard away from his usual life of luxury. It will be hard for him to face problems that will come up on his journey because he isn't very bright and cannot swim.
Personally I think both boys face similar problems. They both have not so great lives. Both Mamo and Dani have problems concerning their parents and both have different views when it comes to money and whether or not it is worth it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I think that the Elizabeth Laird's The Garbage King is...”

written by on 07/09/2009

I think that the Elizabeth Laird's The Garbage King is one of the best books that I have ever read, along with the other classics it has a strong story-line and will get you involved with those it is based on. You are drawn towards the characters and will find that the garbage king changes your life. It is a great example of Elizabeth Lairds style and if anything, you'll be back to the libraries and Amazon to take out some of the other books she's written.
If you like stories that may have actually taken place in real life then the garbage king is a great book. Another of her books are oranges in no mans land, paradise end and many many more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I love The Garbage King and you should too after all...”

written by lizzie1 on 06/09/2009

I love The Garbage King and you should too after all the garbage king is a classic Elizabeth Laird book along with her others oranges in no mans land, paradise end and many many more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I think that The Garbage Kind by Elizabeth Laird is...”

written by on 21/04/2009

I think that The Garbage Kind by Elizabeth Laird is truly intrigueing. Now, I am not going to start of with the common phrase, "Once I had read the first page I just had to read on", or "It was a real page turner". Instead i am going to tell you a bit about the effect the book has on the reader. Now then, this book is reccommend for about 9-10 year olds, although i believe that it really should be aimed towards children of a more nature age like maybe 11- 12 year olds. I am not saying this because of the difficulty of the language, i believe that it is because of the overall plot of the story.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Garbage King was first read by me in the summer....”

written by on 03/03/2009

The Garbage King was first read by me in the summer. It was a last minute decision to grab the book from my city library. I saw that it was a brand new book and I would be the first to read that copy. I read it quickly and didn't want it to end. I think that it skipped from one story to another very enjoyably. The part where the boys become gang members and find their talents left me wanting more. I have used this book as the class novel for my English class. My students have found the characters easy to follow and understood. The story provokes debate on a range of issues.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“It's pretty good. The idea is pretty unique and...”

written by on 16/11/2008

It's pretty good. The idea is pretty unique and interesting. You are a good author. One day i want to be one, but I'm still a kid. Keep up the good work.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

480972_Lizzie1's Comment

Written on: 06/09/2009

I read it and now I love the book, thanks for reviewing it!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A great, interesting read that you will have trouble...”

written by on 05/11/2008

A great, interesting read that you will have trouble putting down. I enjoyed every word of it and did not want it to end. It is based on the lives of many poverty-stricken people whom everyday is a struggle for. It has a diffrent and unique storyline that will have readers begging for more. Read the Garbage King!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is a really good book with a real view on life in...”

written by on 14/09/2008

This is a really good book with a real view on life in Ethiopia including the good and bad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Garbage King by Elizabeth Laird is a moving tale...”

written by sheila on 19/08/2003

The Garbage King by Elizabeth Laird is a moving tale of two Ethiopian boys - a rich, educated runnaway and a poor, orphaned abductee - and their struggle to survive living rough on the streets.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview