The Lemon Tree, Colchester Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
26% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Lemon Tree, Colchester - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★☆☆☆

“We visited the Lemon Tree on my wifes birthday as a...”

Written on: 27/02/2011

We visited the Lemon Tree on my wifes birthday as a party of 7 & were seated at a 6 person table which made the experience for 4 of us very uncomfortable & squashed. The food is cheap pub grub served in very small portions -that in parts was very poor - but served very expensively as a fine dining experience. The drinks are also very expensively priced & the whole experience was extremely poor VFM. The whole group left feeling hungry & dissatified. We would suggest that they reduce their prices… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★☆☆☆

“Very disappointed. We were a party of 11 who had...”

Written on: 17/01/2011 by rscott101 (1 review written)

Very disappointed. We were a party of 11 who had prebooked from the January party menu..

Some food was not as listed - eg Mushroom risotto on the menu, but mushroom ravioli was served, the cheesecake was supposed to be blackcurrant, but arrived as vanilla.

The portions weren't exactly generous either - the chocolate dessert fitted on the spoon in one attempt!

Neither of the two wines ordered were as listed - same variety, but different producers.

Even the bill was wrong - they tried to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Main meals were just about acceptable although the...”

Written on: 29/05/2009

Main meals were just about acceptable although the quantity of accompanying vegetables was very mean.
The deserts were really awful - supposed to be treacle tart. More like a biscuit with a little cream on top. The apple sponge was a little more appetising. Both were supposed to be served with home made vanilla ice cream which was not in evidence.
Many years since I last visited The Lemon Tree and it might be many years before I try again.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“It seems to me that the thoughts on The Lemon Tree go...”

Written on: 16/09/2008

It seems to me that the thoughts on The Lemon Tree go from seemingly excellent to downright appalling! Having just been I have to say I was overall a little disappointed especially when we are in the middle of a credit crunch and a small bottle of fancy ale cost me over £3! The total bill was even more shocking but then who said it was cheap?

A fair few things happened that did not leave us feeling special and as a result we are unable to rate this establishment any higher than a 5 out of 10… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview