The Lemon Tree, Colchester Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
26% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Lemon Tree, Colchester - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★☆☆☆☆

“I pre-booked this for a nice meal for me and my...”

Written on: 06/02/2011

I pre-booked this for a nice meal for me and my girlfriend it was a surprise that evening as we were celebrating our anniversary. once arrived the place was empty but we were left standing at the front door very poor indeed but gave benefit of the doubt. we ordered our meal my girlfriend ordered chicken breast i ordered the rib eye steak. my girlfriend meal arrived and looked nothing like chicken breast but more like strips of chewy fatty chicken thigh with bones in!!!!!!. i never heard of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We were recommended this restaurant. Very...”

Written on: 07/03/2010

We were recommended this restaurant. Very disappointing. Very overpriced, cold soup and overcooked vegetables. Portion size poor too. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Felt it was a total waste of money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“After reading the other reviews we were looking...”

Written on: 04/03/2010

After reading the other reviews we were looking forward to a nice meal and atmosphere. We were very disappointed at not only the service but with the food too. Having not ordered and started whilst opting for a drink to start, the main meal arrived at the same time as drinks. The food seemed to us as if it had been cooked previously and then reheated in the microwave. We would defiantly not return or recommend this restaurant to others… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Inedible lamb - warm beer - poor service -...”

Written on: 09/10/2009

Inedible lamb - warm beer - poor service - overcrowded. Real disappointment… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“We visited The Lemon Tree, Colchester, on Friday...”

Written on: 19/05/2009

We visited The Lemon Tree, Colchester, on Friday evening and found it to be half full so expected really good service. How wrong we were - it took ages in between the starters and main and despite asking twice if it was coming out we were still left to wait a very long time. All of the party felt full by the time the mains arrived and as a result we would not be heading there again in a hurry. Also the deserts are all very overpriced and we all agreed they were brought from a shop rather than… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“The Lemon Tree, Colchester, had a nice environment +...”

Written on: 15/02/2009 by wearedetectives (1 review written)

The Lemon Tree, Colchester, had a nice environment + decor. Friendly waitress. My husband and I went here last night for a pre-theatre meal which just happened to be on Valentine's day. We decided to have the Valentine's menu as there wasn't much else to choose from. At £35 per head plus drinks etc, we expected a real treat but were disappointed. The welcome drink of prosecco was a nice touch but that was about it! Our tiger prawn starters were OK - 5 prawns served in a ramekin in a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very recently had a large group booking at The Lemon...”

Written on: 09/11/2008

Very recently had a large group booking at The Lemon Tree which all looked great when we arrived but sadly I feel they could not have got it more wrong. When we arrived the seating position in the restaurant was excellent and the music was low and helped to set a good opening scene. Sadly that was the only thing the Lemon Tree got right throughout the evening as it all went very pear shaped from that point on. Our food came out in instalments (my pet hate when eating out!) some of the starters… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I visited this restaurant last week and despite being...”

Written on: 05/11/2008 by colchesterjo (1 review written)

I visited this restaurant last week and despite being told by a couple of friends that it was excellent, I left feeling bitterly disappointed and £80 out of pocket!
I was already put off before i even touched my food - due to finding all my cutlery looked extremely dirty!
When i asked a waitress for replacements, she took them and didn't even offer me an apology. I even had to remind her to bring the new ones back over to me! She was extremely busy as it was a Friday night, but I feel that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We found this restaurant to be of a good standard. It...”

Written on: 11/09/2008

We found this restaurant to be of a good standard. It was clean and tidy and not very busy for a Saturday evening.

We found this to be a little pricey on the pocket especially in a day when there is so much competition about. The portions concentrate upon quality rather than quality just a little too much in our opinion.

Overall we would go again - but maybe save up first!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Took my girlfriend to The Lemon Tree for intimate meal...”

Written on: 27/07/2008

Took my girlfriend to The Lemon Tree for intimate meal for 2 but was very dissapointed in general. I thought it was overpriced and the food was not cooked or presented to a high quality in my opinion. I was told this is one of the best restaurants in Colchester but not so convinced after this experience. We also found the drinks to be overpriced and the toilets became very dirty which seemed unacceptable considering we were dining early evening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Was a little embarrassed as had read good...”

Written on: 16/07/2008

Was a little embarrassed as had read good recommendations about this place prior to booking. However I should have realised that they were 2 years or so old and times change. Always best to get up to date information - hence this review.

Will not be returning… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Though the food has a good reputation, I have not had...”

Written on: 26/02/2008 by foodie1 (1 review written)

Though the food has a good reputation, I have not had good experiences. The last 2 times I have visited I was unable to eat my meal as it was so bad. Though I never normally complain in restaurants I did, as I did not eat any of my meal. The waitress just shrugged and mumbled a half hearted apology, and that was it. '£10 was a lot to pay for an untouched meal, especially as the other people who had ordered the same thing also did not finish their food, and also said they had not enjoyed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I would never go there again for a christmas meal, it...”

Written on: 12/02/2008

I would never go there again for a christmas meal, it was all about profit, cram people in and charge max. price. No facitities and the only male toilet was out of order… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview