Kingsweston Stables Bristol Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
76% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kingsweston Stables Bristol - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kingsweston Stables Bristol

Kingsweston Stables Bristol

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Got turned away at the door (metaphorically speaking)”

Written on: 27/05/2015

Just called this Riding school and was told that as a working adult they are no use to me what-so-ever, they dont cater for working adults as they would lose a lot of business that way. Shame really as working adults are the ones who earn money to pay for this kind of sport. I have a vast amound of experience having taught riding for 6 years, I am BHS stage 4 and AI qualified. I spent many years working and managing riding schools - this is not the way to speak to potential clients. Especially if you dont know the person or know what their contact list is like!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great place for riding”

Written on: 26/04/2015

My daughter has been riding at the stable for about a year. She loves it. Great teaching staff, supportive and positive. They have always been helpful and encouraging and patient. Plenty of helpers too. The horses are well care for and look in great shape. The premises are fine, with a good riding area and also opportunities to go into the surrounding countryside. Learning to ride has given my daughter a love of animals and the countryside and made her feel more confident. This is a great place for a beginner learning to ride and as a parent i feel very confident that this is a safe and positive environment for my child to be in.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not for children !!!”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by Miller199 (1 review written)

Parents, do not take your child to these stables. Here is the message I sent to the boss of the premises at the end of September 2014. Our daughters were 6 and 7, both extremely calm and well-behaved. Good morning R.! Just a quick email to let you know that we wish you listened to your employees a bit more sometimes as it would maybe help them be a little friendlier to your customers. J. despised us for showing up at 2 (time when you booked us in without her approval) and took it out on us. She said (when we asked why we were given an appointment at 2 if the slot is a pain in the neck for the staff), let me quote her " R. doesn't work here, he'll do anything to keep the money coming. He doesn't know what it's like, HE doesn't do the job". I feel sorry for J., from the bottom of my heart. You can tell that she is a bitter and wicked old lady because she has had a hard and miserable life. She hates that you are her boss and that you get to be thanks to HER hard work. She's disrespectful to people because she must have been through some hard times in her life. So I will not blame the poor woman who actually deserves to be surrounded by kind people and feel that it is okay to be kind to others. Or maybe she's just condescending to people who can afford horse riding lessons because she wishes she had that kind of money since, as she said, SHE works very hard. I won't waste my time telling you about the rude girls who handle the children and seriously shouldn't or their lack of professionalism (but as you don't pay them, I understand now why nobody cares about actually "teaching" something to the kids who come for alleged lessons), how they make fools of themselves in front of customers like 12 year-olds would (shouting in public and making fools of themselves), how they text while leading a child on a so-called lesson, how they don't know much about horses or keeping track of the kids' progress, how they think it's normal not to introduce themselves to the child they will be "teaching" to and will not even ask the child's name or so much as look at them… The details will be available on every website that allows reviews about your stables. A. was very surprised that her rudeness and unfriendliness to us could cause her to be treated likewise. Unfortunately, you would think that J. would set a good example for those girls but she just comforts them with the idea that it is a good thing to indulge the mean side of their personalities. If I didn't have polite, good and well-behaved children who are eager to please and always concentrate on an adult's instructions, I probably wouldn't mind so much. As J. said, your business is doing perfectly well without our money, she added we were more than welcome to go find ourselves other stables (obviously it needn't be said) since a lot of people are actually coming to you. When I read the reviews on the internet, I wonder how you can still have so many customers to be honest. After they have read our review, I am confident, a few parents will choose not to try your services. Last thing, J. also said that you had her read my email with my 5 questions and how you both looked down on them and sneered at them: my review will be mentioning those questions to you and your reaction to them. We will just have to let the parents decide whether they are legitimate questions or not when it comes to "teaching" a child to ride a horse for 16 pounds half an hour. Our questions were: 1- How old must the children be before they can start the lessons? 2- How many kids are there in each group? 3- When (which day and what time) will the lessons take place and who will be giving the lessons? 4- We have seen that the lessons can last 30 minutes or an hour : can you tell me how different their content is? 5- As for the payment, do parents have to pay for 1 lesson a week until half term or do they have to pay for a handful of lessons upfront? Can they choose to stop? How does it work, please? We hope we're not bothering you too much with our questions… Thank you for your time

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Kingsweston”

Written on: 15/01/2013

I think this place is a really good riding stables with lovely people and horses. But me and my friend both ride there and she is in a higher lesson with good tuition and good fun but even though i am in the lower lesson we both agree we are at the same standard so sometimes they should recognise the potential in a rider and not keep doing things that aren't challenging at all now. overall i think it is a really good riding stables for confident and not but if you dont enquire about your lesson they may not take action.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Dull and uninspiring!! ”

Written on: 23/10/2012

This yard is fine if you are a total novice with no ambition to improve. The instructor when I rode there (Hilary..an out of touch, very poor instructor who the BHS should be ashamed of themselves for ever allowing to become an AI!)was patronising and unbelievably rude!! The horses were all extremely overweight and unfit!! Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but some were completely clueless and didn't seem to know the front end of the horse from the back!! Overall a total waste of money if you want to do anything other than just plod around on overweight, unschooled, dull horses!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Very Good until you get better”

Written on: 10/07/2012

These stables are a lovely place to learn to ride as a begginer. Before you go in lessons they take you out on walk outs with about 5 others. It was great fun and it helped you to learn to trot an steer confidently before you move up to the lessons. However with my freind she was on the Saturday walk outs and I find that the helpers on Saturday are not as help full freindly an don't teach you as much as the ones on Sunday which is when I went. If you do go then go on sundays as you learn nothimg on saturday walk outs. After the walkouts they move you up into lessons. They are very good and instead of rushing through to start jumping they teach you your balance e=with no hands or stirrups. around the world and of course lots of changes of reins trotting and the occaisoinal canter. However as you improve the Teaching is not very good. There is a lack of space in lessons. I could not be moved up because of this. I went on to private lesson taught by ann ( the other was Hannah with brown hair) and they were the same as the group lessons but the teacher was not as good and I stopped learning. The ponies that I could ride size wise there were 5 Barney Blue Missy Megan and Bridie but 3 of those are retired and now there are only 2 Barney and Blue and the only one that was a good pony that I could ride properly Was called Barney. It used to be great but as I got better it got worse so woth regret I have now left. i would only reccomend to an inexperienced friend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“KINGSWESTON STABLES!”

Written on: 10/10/2011

Good they are freindly kind hard working people and they will take alot of time with you. the horses are well looked after and get mon and tue off. Both hannahs who hanve taught me were lovely and have made riding much more enjoyable than when Hilary taught me-Hilary has now left-this is good. Ann is also fab! Bad it seems to take so long to learn every thing it is like they teach you in slow motoin But all in all i think this is agreat place to ride at the being but you may wish to try else were when you become advaced Go on--try it...........

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“It's goood for beginning but if serious will need to...”

Written on: 13/04/2011

It's goood for beginning but if serious will need to go somewhere else as they don't have good enough horses but then I do love some of them. I love all the staff but one
I have had 3 instructors over the years.
Hilary- Terrible. Lost my confident and felt as though I couldn't do anything right. Didn't relise how below standard she was until I moved to weekends with Hannah.
Hannah Lancastle (blonde left now)- brilliant got my confidence back and learnt so much. Much better at explaining how to get the best out of the horses.
Hannah (brown hair/weekend instructor)- lovely. Brilliant instructor. Learnt so much and so encouraging.

I would advise going but only if willing to work. I you want puch button horses not the place but if you can get Hannah then the money is worth going. Hilary stay well clear of. Learnt more in one lesson with Hannah than years with Hilary.

Georgia and Jake were by far my favourite and also Bridie (haha, most hate her). REcommend for ammiteurs/beginners but as I've got more professional not the place although both Hannah's as instructors are/were professional and top class.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Definately not for the experienced rider. I went to...”

Written on: 12/02/2011 by sallyfreak (1 review written)

Definately not for the experienced rider. I went to this school for 5-6 lessons to get a feel for it. I now regret the waste of time and money. The staff were less than helpful and ignorant at times.

I had private lessons with what seemed to be the only instructor on the yard. She was rude, patronising and condesending to say the least. She was well below the standard of all the BHS instructors I have previously been tought by.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I started riding at Kingsweston Stables when I was 4...”

Written on: 22/01/2011

I started riding at Kingsweston Stables when I was 4 and a half/Five years old, and I love it. I'm currently 15 and I take hour lessons every Friday. I will always remember the walkouts with Puffin and Skipper, and I will always remember the first time I ever jumped on Bridie.

The staff are always friendly and the horses are just lovely. The yard is always kept clean and the horses are taken care of very well.

I love this stables, the lessons and teaching are amazing, and I've learnt so much from Hillary, my riding instructor. I would recommend it to anyone in the Bristol area, thinking of taking lessons. It's really a great stables.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“ I love kingsweston stables the staff are so friendly...”

Written on: 10/08/2010

I love kingsweston stables the staff are so friendly and welcoming. I started at kingsweston stables in 2009/2008 I was very nervous at the start but once I set eyes on the beautiful,friendly horses, cheerful staff and weekend helpers I knew this was going to be such a wonderful expierence.I have been going on walkouts for a long time on various horses and have become attached to many of them! I can remember the first time i rode without a leading rope. i felt very proud and I feel that I had achieved something, I could not stop smiling! then i did my first 'own a pony for half a day' that was fantastic i learnt so much, such as: grooming horses, the colers of the horses,and I went in a lesson for the first time! When i did my second own a pony resently i was in the middle group we got to do much more and went on a hack,also my first time! but the best thing was cantering for the first time, it felt AMAZING and i can remember it every time i sit on a horses back from now on how it felt! thankyou so much kingsweston stables your brilliant! :):):):):)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I started riding at Kingsweston on my birthday this...”

Written on: 25/09/2009

I started riding at Kingsweston on my birthday this year It started out as walk outs every saturday and becuase i was doing well, they put me into proper lessons, i now go every wednesday and really enjoy it! The staff are all very welcoming and so are the helpers. If you do something wrong they show you the best way of doing it, so you get it right for next time.
I have to say that this is the best riding school for young people and older people i would certainly recommend Kingsweston for first timers and parents can watch as their little ones progress into Amazing riders.

Thank you kingsweston :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have been riding at Kingsweston Stables since I was...”

Written on: 16/09/2009

I have been riding at Kingsweston Stables since I was 4 or 5 years old. I still love riding at Kingsweston as the lessons are really good as we do lots of different things and the ponies are also good to ride. The hacking is amazing as there are lots of different routes that you can ride through Blaise Castle Estate and lots of places where more experienced riders can canter.
The ponies are very well presented and looked after, and they always look content and happy.
Kingsweston has lots of riding for all abilities from 1/2 hour walkouts for beginners to group and private lessons and hacking.
The only thing about Kingsweston Stables is that it is a good idea to book early as they are busy, especially at weekends.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I frist walked on to the Kingsweston Stables yard in...”

Written on: 04/09/2009

I frist walked on to the Kingsweston Stables yard in September 1988 they made me very welcome,I went out on a hack on Ticky and from that day I could not stay away I have taken family and friends to ride whith them. The yard is clean and well run and all the horses well cared for they even get two days off a week away from the yard to kick up there hells and two weeks holiday away from work with a friend for companey.I have seen past students go on to be a Jocky,3 Vets and Farriers, meny more now have there own horses or work with horses.Some days the horses work harder than others, dont we all! thats because it is the best ridding for miles. I whant to thank all the staff past and presant for 21 years of good horse riding and frendship Lynne.Sorry for the spelling.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have been riding for nearly 10 years at Kingsweston...”

Written on: 24/08/2009

I have been riding for nearly 10 years at Kingsweston Stables.
The stables is very clean and the Horses are well looked after.
The staff are friendly and very helpful.
They do walk outs for young children and lessons for the older children/adults.
They also do private lessons and hacks.
On the whole it's a very good stables and I enjoy coming every week.
I would recommend it to experienced riders and beginners.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This weekend, my daughter and 4 friends had a...”

Written on: 13/08/2009 by thellwellsfinest (1 review written)

This weekend, my daughter and 4 friends had a fantastic time at Kingsweston Stables. The girls were greeted by friendly staff and made to feel very safe. Although some of the group were initially nervous of the ponies, they all returned glowing from the experience. They were offered "tips" on riding and details about their individual rides. Importantly all the stables looked clean and the ponies well cared for. There is plenty of parking space. As parents we felt confident that the girls were having fun in a warm and safe environment. All the staff do a great job, giving the girls such a fab time!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Kingsweston Stables Bristol have lovely staff and good...”

Written on: 10/08/2009

Kingsweston Stables Bristol have lovely staff and good horses. lovely countryside to ride in.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have been riding at kingsweston stables since I was...”

Written on: 03/08/2009 by Roobear (1 review written)

I have been riding at kingsweston stables since I was 11 and would recommend it to anyone looking to ride. The staff are friendly and the horses well cared for. It is in an idyllic setting and rides are taken into nearby Blaise Castle estate on hacks. Lessons are offered in flatwork and jumping and the horses are as good as the riders who ride them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I first went to Kingsweston Stables several years ago...”

Written on: 03/08/2009

I first went to Kingsweston Stables several years ago not having ridden for a long time, and asked for a lesson to have a review and correction of my faults - got exactly what I asked for, it was very useful. I've been hacking regularly since then. All types of horses for mixed abilities. Staff are very understanding with less confident riders and good at helping with this. There are faster, more challenging hacks for advanced riders.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I rode alot in my early twenties,I did my BHS stage...”

Written on: 03/08/2009

I rode alot in my early twenties,I did my BHS stage two which meant having to ride at different yards. Comparable to my previous experience I was really pleased that Kingsweston stables fulfilled my expectations of a well run yard. There are horses and ponies which suit different abilities. I ride Patrick (good honest ride with a bit of zest in the school),Georgia (a mare with a bit of spirit) and Blue(great fun when cantering ). Hacking,baring in mind on the outskirts of a city,takes you through Kingsweston grounds and Blaise estate (really pretty during the spring and Autumn).The great thing about Kingsweston is that you know that the horses are well cared for ( I was told that they have Mon and Tues off)and you get to improve your riding skills.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview