Dell Inspiron 5100 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Screen Quality

  • Battery Life

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Dell Inspiron 5100 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Dell Inspiron 5100

Dell Inspiron 5100
Dell Inspiron 5100

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“We are a repair shop that have 4 5100 series Dell...”

Written on: 29/05/2010 by kennyhendrick (1 review written)

We are a repair shop that have 4 5100 series Dell laptops sitting around here. Uncanny that all four of them (and we've seen more of them go through here) all with exactly the same problem...freezing up.

Of course we've tried all the remedies; changed ram, cleaned out the fan/heatsinks, set atop a 3-fan cooler, swapped processors, etc.

People, educate your kids. These corporations are not your friends and little in the line of ethics over profits.

Any one of us (or our now-educated offspring) can certainly build better junk.

It is my opinion that this is yet another model of corporate junk as the probability of all these having exactly the same issues is nil.

It's manufacturer defects.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“As i just got this laptop for free last night for...”

Written on: 07/11/2009 by illuminus (1 review written)

As i just got this laptop for free last night for doing networking work for friends, they gave me their old laptop, so i was happy to take it as i haven't ever owned one, so it is bulky, but oh well, im going to get another battery second hand that is in excellent condition off ebay as this laptop has been sitting around for ages.

It came with a d link wirelss g card for the PCMCIA slot but part of the cover part is off, so the pcb board is exposed, anyway im thinking of just getting a mini pc card since it has wireless capabilities built in. This came with a decent case too, but will need to air that out.

Overall im just puttin XP Pro on now and totally redoing everything, may upgrade RAM, see what happens.


If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Dell Inspiron 5100 was given to me by an elderly...”

Written on: 14/05/2009 by alexezeoke (1 review written)

The Dell Inspiron 5100 was given to me by an elderly lady as she got a new later model laptop. I upgraded the RAM from 256MB to 1GB which is the max imum it can take. It didn't come with a WiFi module(been looking for one though) but it works fine with a USB one. The battery life is great for a 4yrs + equipment. Looking to upgrade the HDD from 30GB to 120GB(have found a compatible one by Western).The screen is ok(no problems). The fan cuts in and out wellThe only bad thing is that it has cracks on the lid hinges and body, the AC adapter heats up badly but it hasn't burnt out or blown yet apart from that its ok. I have got 4 Dell laptops, sold one that is a later model to the 5100 but I will never part with this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Is there anyone who had similar problems with the...”

Written on: 07/03/2008 by californyaeh (1 review written)

Is there anyone who had similar problems with the screen ; turning on but the inverter isn't working , i can see the logging screens "windows xp", but the screen is extremely darkened .
Also I tried to access settings through BIOS but it seems most parameters can't be changed, one of the problem I had with wireless was it was switched off in BIOS, I got it working now... but for how long and if it happens again how can I solve once and for all the problem.. anyone for an idea please comment me..? For now I do not recommend Dell Inspiron 5100.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“It does, at least, work. You have to keep it up on...”

Written on: 07/02/2008

It does, at least, work. You have to keep it up on blocks (for airflow) and forget about going anywhere with it as it overheats before the battery life is even an issue... keep it at home, don't recommend this dell inspiron laptop.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Personally, I'm in a love/hate relationship with this...”

Written on: 28/12/2007 by minuekitty (1 review written)

Personally, I'm in a love/hate relationship with this thing. usually love wins. I can run a gamut of programs on it at the same time doing memory-eating activities (firefox, winamp, trillian, photoshop, painter) with no problems with them working or bogging down my machine. However, it will make the inspiron overheat if you don't keep your fans cleaned. I also had to get a usb fan thing by targus to assist my fan. speedfan is also running my fan on 100% most of the time.

If you can't keep up with the maintenance on the fans, don't buy this machine.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Excellent computer when it works.”

Written on: 08/03/2007 by negativeEclipse (1 review written)

Excellent computer when it works.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought the Dell Inspiron 5100 with a 4 year next-day...”

Written on: 06/01/2005 by aeroturbo (6 reviews written)

I bought the Dell Inspiron 5100 with a 4 year next-day fix-or-replace guarantee, with XGA screen, WinXP Home, 60GB 5400rpm HDD, 512MB RAM, CD/DVD-RW, all for £1100. It was delivered in 2 days. It's never given the slightest problem except for a software one which the Dell helpline were still good in helping me solve. I then ordered a second power supply (to leave at work) for a mere £24, a larger battery for £50 (one for my previous Sony was £200!) (which now gives me an average battery life of 5 hrs yet still recharges in 2 hrs) and a port replicator which included a further charger (for my second office!) for £55. These were also delivered in 2 days.
I suppose I could gripe that I had to reduce the icon size on the XP setup they'd provided, but I have to dig that low to find anything other than 10 stars.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“The sales office is appalling. ”

Written on: 17/10/2004 by Dai bike (2 reviews written)

The sales office is appalling.
I wished to change the spec 1 day after purchasing, and was advised that this would be OK. Guess what, 1 week later then advised "too late". Sales office will repeatedly promise evening delivery, free upgrades etc then will be unavailable due to poor health. Call centre supervisors are unavailable due to ill health.
Delivery will be advised as evening delivery by a carrier that does not do evening deliveries. e-mails will be 'read' but never ever replied to. Everything will be promised but never carried out. Buyer beware.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“My specs and price were great: P4 2.66, 512MB ram,...”

Written on: 10/10/2004 by jesseq (1 review written)

My specs and price were great: P4 2.66, 512MB ram, 60gb hd, 32MB raedon videocard, SXGA screen, CDRW/DVDROM for less than $1500 American.

My computer was great for about 4 to 5 months, then it would get really hot and shut off with no warning even doing processes of just moderate processor intensity such as web browsing. I intitially fixed the problem my raising the computer on two books so the fan could get more air. That worked for a while, but I still noticed a huge decrease in performance. I eventually found my problem desribed on the following pages/forums: http://www.geocities.com/i5100dustproblem
http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=insp_general&message.id=139712

After using the compressed air to dust the fan, I no longer had overheating problems, but my performance still was not up to par. After about 16 months of ownership, my motherboard does not take ac power or charge the battery. So, now 4 months past warrenty, I can either pay $500 for a new motherboard, plus postage and instalation charges (and lose my computer for up to 3 weeks) or cut my loses get a new computer. Considering Dell's customer service and reliability, I will definately be staying away from Dell.

Please do yourself a favor and stay away from Dell!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Purchased the 5100 in October 2003. Very soon after it...”

Written on: 17/07/2004 by tigga (1 review written)

Purchased the 5100 in October 2003. Very soon after it started to switch off in a random way. Had it checked for viruses, but it was OK. Found it worked better if raised on a couple of books or videos. Phoned Dell who did a test and found nothing wrong, suggested I continue using the book raising system. By April it was getting worse, phoned Dell several times, but India seemed to have problems. The speaker socket had broken by this point too. In May tried again. Dell agreed that the problems had been on-going for a while and agreed to take it back for repair. Came for pick up following day. Got it back in a week with new speaker socket and unblocked fan. No looking back. Have purchased several Dell Lattitudes for the office and they are brilliant however, apart from the one my brother poured beer over.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Garryguce's Response to 162611_tigga's Review

Written on: 10/09/2004

I had the same sudden turn-off thing but it was occasional that I didn't have to use the book raise maneuver. Yup, I agree there's a flaw in the design especially the fan location which causes the unit to be very hot over extended use the same also with the power adaptor but over all, the unit is fine and the best part of it all is that I really got what I paid for and even exceeded my expectations in terms of performance

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“We bought a couple of these Dell Inspiron 5100 Laptops...”

Written on: 02/05/2004 by dominicparker (1 review written)

We bought a couple of these Dell Inspiron 5100 Laptops for the office. They have been an unmitigated disaster. The screen (well actually the video card that came with them) is absolutely hopeless. For example on this screen I cannot see (unless I tilt the screen to 120 degrees) that there is white and blue on it! They might be OK for home and short time use but undeniably hopeless for work. Apparently you can't upgrade the memory card!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“My Dell Inspiron 5100 is a very good and fast Laptop....”

Written on: 17/02/2004 by bronsongun (3 reviews written)

My Dell Inspiron 5100 is a very good and fast Laptop. Mine came with 512MB,60GB ultra ATA hard drive,32MB ATI Mobility,15.1'' XGA 2.66GHz-p4, CD/DVD/CDRW combo,3years warranty and much more.I spent $1,800 for the Inspiron 5100 laptop it was worth it for a good laptop.if you want to get a laptop for all your needs get your self one like mine.you might get it for cheaper but mine is customize.this is a fast laptop for the right money and good QUALITY.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
☆☆☆☆☆

“I have yet to receive the Dell Inspiron 5100 laptop...”

Written on: 30/10/2003 by JohnRemotsuc (1 review written)

I have yet to receive the Dell Inspiron 5100 laptop that I ordered and will be pursuing a full refund because I am extremely disappointed with the miscommunication of delivery dates between dELL UK, its courier, its call centre based in India. A delivery guy actually turned up one night without the laptop saying he had no clue where it was. I've had a horrific experience discussing this with their customer care team too. They didn't even bother replying to any of the complaints I logged with them. The people based in Dell's India call centre must be reading from a script too "You're right, You're right, You're right....Dell has let you down, give us one more chance." They did the bare minimum of conceding a massive rebate by refunding my freight charges - a whopping GBP50!!! But I actually had to ask if they could do that? Maybe add that to their script! Nice try D-UK, but I think there's minimal accountability at your firm when it comes to delivery problems and that has lost you my custom. I am careful not to spell out their company name the exact way they advertise because it may be perceived as good press. Good luck future customers - you can only speculate what their service standards are once you actually get their product. Why not check out your local Computer sales company - you can put a name to a face and there's surely a lot more accountability than I've had with this company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

B Darlington's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 09/02/2004

I am thinking of buying a Inspiron 5100
<br>but being put off by the comments on bad
<br>delivery. Has it improved ??

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gurustip's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 10/10/2004

Oh dear...
<br> I just placed an order for a new Inspiron 1000, which looked like a fantastic deal on the website.
<br> When entering my invoice address I made a small error and try as I may, couldn't find a way to rectify it. Calls to the centre were met with ignorance and they don't even open at the weekend!! What is the point of a call centre you can't actually use when you have the time to?
<br> I didn't realise the call centre was based in India, but that explains why I couldn't understand a word they were saying, nor they I.
<br> If and when it arrives, it'll be a good day!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

152110_Coco's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 19/04/2004

oh well, I did read your comment but still bought it from Dell outlet. The specs were enough to convince me and it was at a rebate and free delivery. Now now, nothing comes free except trouble. Should have had the laptop last Friday and missed it because they failed to call me for the delivery time arranged. Dell says that the carrier calls you before arranging delivery but clearly not the case. Now they are saying only certain carriers call you. Missed delivery today (Monday) because there is no (!) delivery on Saturdays. This stuff is from fiction. I can't even go and collect from carrier depot because they won't allow it unless authorized by Dell (who won't do so). Lucky I have a sense of humour. That customer service centre in India is definitely not a help in this case.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

148126_Magd0095's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 17/03/2004

I placed an order for a dimension desktop on 12 March.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Greannmhar's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 01/03/2004

Update on my last comment - I have now cancelled my order with Dell. I will have to wait at least 5-7 days for a refund but my credit card company will refund the money 30 days after it was removed from my account if Dell don\'t do so.
<br>This is an online buying experience I wouldn\'t care to repeat. I even tried faxing the Dell head office in Bray - all they did was forward my complaint to the call centre. In the end, the call centre guy (in India) tried to persuade me to wait another week, with no guarantees even then. He claimed a parts shortage but had no idea when it would be resolved. Full of apologies and very polite, but no progress and no laptop within sight.
<br>I\'ll be buying at my local computer store - Dell take note, you\'ve lost my custom forever.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Greannmhar's Response to JohnRemotsuc's Review

Written on: 28/02/2004

I wish I\'d read this review before ordering from Dell - I am still waiting for my Dell Inspiron (ordered on 14/2 and money debited on 17th ) and the order watch site keeps moving the estimated delivery date back a day at a time. Emails to India get nonsense replies and phonecalls (when I can get through) are full of useless promises.
<br>I have given them another few days and then I am going to contact my credit card account to cancel, if I can.
<br>I will buy at my local computer shop next time and recommend anyone else to do the same.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
Read 6 Comments
★★★★★

“My Dell Inspiron 5100 came with 512 MB ram, 40 GB hard...”

Written on: 09/10/2003 by robynj2 (1 review written)

My Dell Inspiron 5100 came with 512 MB ram, 40 GB hard drive, CD/DVD/CDRW combo, 2 year warantee including EVERYTHING, and an awesome EPSON printer/copier/scanner all for just over $1800!! Not to mention it has wireless capabilities built in so I can be wireless from school and other hot spots!! I love this Dell!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Overall I like the machine but I had problems with...”

Written on: 04/10/2003 by njbyrne1 (2 reviews written)

Overall I like the machine but I had problems with recognizing USB storage devices(mp3 player/camera) which seems to be a common problem (see url below)and the sound is sub standard, even when I hook it up to my hifi. Not a bad machine but overall not value for money.

http://delltalk.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=insp_periph&message.id=4051&view=by_date_ascending&page=2

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“My dell inspiron 5100 came with 512 Mb DDR ram, 40 Gb...”

Written on: 04/08/2003 by Nate4s (1 review written)

My dell inspiron 5100 came with 512 Mb DDR ram, 40 Gb Harddrive, 32 Mb video ram, pentium 4 2.4 GHz processor, and a dvd/cd-rw drive. It cost $1292.35 including shipping and tax. it also cam with a 2 year warranty(in home service included).

In my opinion this is the best deal ever! Dell sells great products at even greater prices. If i were you, i would definitly buy one(or two).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview