Killzone Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Killzone
★★★★☆
3.9
77.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Addiction Level

  • Graphics

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Killzone - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Killzone

Specification for Killzone

Main Features
Genre Adventure
Multiplayer / Online Multiplayer Yes, Online Yes
PEGI 16+
Main characteristics
Publisher: Sony
Genre: Action Adventure
ESRB Rating: M - (Mature)
PEGI Age Rating: Age 16+
Other Features
Audio Support: Dolby ProLogic II (PLII)
Aspect Ratio: 16:9
Online: Online Gaming Support
ESRB Descriptor: Violence Blood Strong Language
Control Elements: Gamepad Joystick
Max. Number Of Players: 1
Memory Support: With Memory Support
PEGI Content Rating: Violence Bad Language
Other
Release Date: September, 2004

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“In Killzone, graphics are quite great but have a delay...”

★★★★☆

written by The Tattonator on 15/09/2010

In Killzone, graphics are quite great but have a delay (on my PS2, sometimes features appear blurred & undetailed, and take time to adjust).

There is a great number of weapons, and they sound powerful! Not like some games where the weapons sound like they couldn't shoot through a sheet of paper!

The way the screen moves with every action is very realistic. The various ways to batter enemies with your weapons is fun, too.

Speech sounds are bloody annoying, though! In-game, I find AIs saying the same things over & over again. Sooner or later you just want to turn down the speech volume, or disable it altogether.

The mulitplayer is pretty good, the only thing not avilable in MP that is available in SP is th emelee attack & knives (unlike other games where the multiplayer doesn't have HALF the things singleplayer has).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Graphics is good, sound great, game play perfect! ”

★★★★★

written by on 21/12/2008

Graphics is good, sound great, game play perfect!
AI, graphics could be better and that is it!
The atmosphere is amazing and since when games have to be fun if it has a bad graphics. This FPS is by far the best on PlayStation 2 ever!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cool weapons, some now real and used by us army! When...”

★★★★☆

written by on 28/04/2008

Cool weapons, some now real and used by us army! When do you get to play as helgast? Very good game sometimes I get lost on massive maps but thats ok. Well recommend Killzone for the Ps2.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I'm a big fan of the first person shooter style game...”

★★★★★

written by lancervhead on 08/05/2007

I'm a big fan of the first person shooter style game and Killzone was an excellent addition to the genre. Having previously set the standard pretty high with other games such as Doom & Goldeneye, I wasn't expecting much from this game. From the first level I was completely hooked!
You are thrown into a futuristic war scenario battling against a not-quite-human foe, but with weaponry you can relate to, such as machine guns, hand pistols and rocket launchers. You proceed to make your way through varying levels such as swamps, command stations, battlefields and my personal favourite which was a D-day landing style defence of an outpost. All these levels are steeped in atmosphere which can put you on the edge of your seat while playing the game.
Throughout your journey you gradually pick up a band of comrades who help you in your skirmishes. I think this is one of the reasons the game was given an 18 certificate because one of your comrades is quite foul-mouthed (I personally thought it helped with the whole atmosphere of the game). This is a bonus to the game as it isn't just you plodding your way through shooting at the enemy on your own, they help to build the story around you as well as becoming characters you can choose to play as.
Overall I was very impressed with this game, at the low price its selling at now it has to be worth buying for any FPS enthusiast.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It is really fun on multi player but all the time i...”

★★★★☆

written by ludachris on 27/03/2007

It is really fun on multi player but all the time i always lose

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“This is a great PS2 game! It has great graphics and a...”

★★★★★

written by marky1 on 16/11/2006

This is a great PS2 game! It has great graphics and a good storyline (which too many games lack these days). It captures futuristic war very well, with original weapons and enemies who look pretty cool.

Killzone is a great game. Certainly worth buying.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Killzone is the first fps type game I've owned,...”

★★★★★

written by Geoff2944 on 13/12/2005

Killzone is the first fps type game I've owned, although I have just bought King Kong.

Killzone is simply superb. It is very addictive, and although I'm not an experienced gamer I've managed to complete it in under 2 weeks at 1-2 hours a night (not really that much time). I do hope they bring out a Killzone 2.

NOTE: The final ending is a bit disappointing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“KillZone. What a game, you can't beat it when it comes...”

★★★★★

written by timbo on 24/11/2005

KillZone. What a game, you can't beat it when it comes to sci-fi warfare on the PS2. Not only does Killzone have great graphics and intense battles but it also follows a brilliant storyline with great cut scenes.
When playing the game you are in a first person mode and the player becomes very engaged with the atmosphere in the game. When combat does occur, which it does very often, it is intense and usually the player is not alone usually with four or five other characters helping you defeat the helgast enemy.
If you dont want to play story mode then you can always have a simple skirmish where you chose the rules.
Overall I love this game and it is one of my favourites, however if you are looking for a war game alone, then Call of Duty or Medal of Honour will be a better choice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Killzone PS2 game is by far the best shoot em up I...”

★★★★★

written by reviewmaster123 on 01/11/2005

The Killzone PS2 game is by far the best shoot em up I own, and I've got a fair few!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I first heard about Killzone for the PS2 in virgin...”

★★★★★

written by DJ Big Boy on 03/08/2005

I first heard about Killzone for the PS2 in virgin megastores on a stand and thought it looked good so I watched a trailer on gameplay.com and still felt the same so I bought it and was very pleased with my purchase. The graphics are really good though some of your teammates look the same but the gun graphics are very good and the storyline is as well. It also boasts a very good multiplayer mode which is good for people online and maybe better for people offline. Altogether I think that this is a very good game and you won't be dissapointed!
Cant wait for killzone 2 though!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Killzone was released in November 2004 in the months...”

★★★☆☆

written by john mitchell on 14/03/2005

Killzone was released in November 2004 in the months leading up to it's release date it was massively hyped getting the title "Halo 2 beater". Halo 2 is an revolutinary FPS (First Person Shooter) on the X-Box. Now, Killzone is no way near the quality of Halo 2. I've played both games and while you have a horrible story bad voice acting and stupid enemies Halo 2 gets it right were Killzone gets it wrong.

Killzone is about a soldier by the name of Templar. The Helghast want to take over Earth and it's your job to stop them. There are another 3 playable characters in the game - Luger an Australian who is stealthy, Rico the gung-ho American and Haka who is a former Helghast himself turned good. The game does have some good points this probably being one of the nicest games to look at on PS2. Also the Helghast are a sight to behold with there orange googles and black suits genuinely looking evil. However the story and dialoge is plain awful and this annoys you like Luger saying stay alert for the 100th time. Where as the Nintendo Gamecube and XBox have brilliant FPS's the Playstation 2 has a long way to go on this extremely disappointing offering.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Killzone is just brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! I...”

★★★★★

written by Robbo12 on 23/12/2004

Killzone is just brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! I don't know what planet Shadowhawks been living on. This is the best game I've ever played it's better than San Andreas because that eventually gets a bit ... Yawn. The Graphics are luscious and gritty setting a real scene and the gameplay is better than you could of ever dreamed. Microsoft better get their act together.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have two words for Killzone: Halo 2, this game has...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Shadowhawk on 08/11/2004

I have two words for Killzone: Halo 2, this game has had loadz of reviews lowest score 9.2 and Killzones lowest score 3.2 and Killzones highest scores 9/10 from PS2 mag (cough cough biased) all the other reviews have gave it 7.1 and 4.3. Type in Killzone reviews and the Halo 2 reviews and you see what I mean ignore the other reviews; they're just simple PS2 fans gone mad off bad graphics....poor gamers they have no idea!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fatboyjr04's Response to Shadowhawk's Review

Written on: 08/12/2004

What the hell are you talking about???
<br>Have you even played this game??
<br>If you have you will know the graphics are fantastic, the story is great, the game is just as good as Halo2. Infact it is probably better than Halo2, and this is coming from a PS2 and Xbox owner who has both Killzone and Halo2.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chuckpaddy's Response to Shadowhawk's Review

Written on: 03/06/2005

Killzone (excluding OPS2) is completely underrated, sure it didn't live up to expectations but it's still a perfectly decent shooter. Comparing it to Halo 2 to is naive. They are two totally different games despite the fact they're both FPS. Comparing it to Medal of Honour would be more sufficient. Just cos it didn't live up to the hype does not make it a bad game, certainly not a game worth 2 out of ten. I can think of thousands of worse FPS (Rogue Agent, World War Zero, Fire Warrior to name but a few). You just seem so angry in your views cos Killzone didn't quite live up to the hype, but it's worth at least a 7.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Shadowhawk's Response to Shadowhawk's Review

Written on: 22/12/2004

I bought the game and played it, it takes a few seconds to get the detail in hahaahh. It's a joke, the soldier runs into walls shooting screaming we're all gonna die for no apparent reason. Waste of time

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cezman's Response to Shadowhawk's Review

Written on: 21/12/2004

completely wrong

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cezman's Response to Shadowhawk's Review

Written on: 21/12/2004

completely wrong

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 2

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview