Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0TD Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
81% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0TD - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0TD

Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0TD
Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-G 3.0TD

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“junk”

Written on: 01/02/2016 by dkKearney154 (1 review written)

japanese made toyotas are junk. our repair shop always has at least 5 sitting around mal kelowna bc canada

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 10
★★★★★

“BIG BLUE”

Written on: 31/01/2016 by Kingcodmick61 (1 review written)

I Have owned my surf for 10 years its the 7th 4x4 i have had and this car is the best by a long way usual consumables tyres exaust etc but never let me down yet . great for my obssesive fishing hobby , towing my caravan all over like its not there, 25mpg v good for a 3L turbo car is now 20 years old but i wouldnt swap it for any of the latest cars

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 1
★★★☆☆

“Not as great as they seem”

Written on: 21/03/2015 by Yamiletb88 (1 review written)

Just bought 1996 hilux surf ssrx. Nothing but problems, over heating constantly. Radiator has been flushed, now requires new rad, pump, thermo. This is low milage vehicle that's been well serviced. Very disappointed, not what you would expect from the best brand of of vehicles in the world.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 2
★★★★★

“What a fantastic truck”

Written on: 28/02/2015 by Cliffy1964 (1 review written)

I bought my truck 2 month ago and all I can say for a truck that was made in 1995 WOW It drives fantastic and starts every time on the key, the ride is comfortable and the engine pulls like a train, everything works in like it should and it has a very powerful 3.0 ltr turbo Diesel engine that pulls like a train, and I personally don't think for the size of it, is expensive to run. The second day I bought it I hadn't even given it a look round and drove 250 miles in it without a problem, if you are after a very nice looking reliable truck then what are you waiting for, the money you can buy on of these for now it's a steal. Before this I had the 3.6 HSE Range Rover that gave me nothing but problems I only had it 1 month and couldn't wait to get rid of the thing. But the Surf is a different beast you can just tell it was built for the job and it just feels like it will never let you down. I will have this car for many years to come and love everything about it. And when you put the seats down its like owing a van you can get anything in. Well done Toyota you got it spot on.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Hilux surf SSRX 3.0td saved my life”

Written on: 04/12/2013

What can I say, I am on my third hilux surf, the 1st one I had for 3 years which was the 2.4 diesel, the 2nd one I had was newer at a good price so I upgraded from the 2.4. To be honest if it wasn't for the 2nd surf myself and family would not be alive today, myself, my wife and 2 young children got side swiped by a Spanish articulated lorry on a roundabout, the surf rolled over 3 times smashing every window and crippling the car totally, especially as after we finished rolling the lorry then ramed us into a wall, the only injuries we had was a small cut to my 5 month old baby's head. Now I am on my third surf, and I wouldn't own anything else, go out and buy one

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“surf”

Written on: 09/10/2012 by saishin (1 review written)

surf ssasdf ssdfd dd dwwerqwdr qwerwer ewqr weqerwe

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wonderine's Response to saishin's Review

Written on: 02/03/2013

Love to motor but how do you find a place that can find it on insurance

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Raystafford's Response to saishin's Review

Written on: 17/04/2013

To keep the temperature of my 3L surf in control I had a new radiator made by an Australia radiator manufacture with the automatic oil cooler moved to the right (left looking at front) this allows the water to leave the radiator without the oil cooler restricting the flow as it does using the original radiator.
I have intention of increasing the turbo boost after logging under bonnet, engine, turbo as well as oil temperatures. Will let you know of any progress.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Amazing 4x4 loads of room will out perform most modern...”

Written on: 18/03/2012 by FozzyBear212 (1 review written)

I've all ways wanted a Hilux surf since seeing a generation 1 as a child, i had been looking for a low mileage one for a couple of years and managed to find one with less than 40k miles on the clock. It's a 3.0 litre 1993 auto model, it's immaculate the only signs of rust are on the chrome bumpers. Everything still works on it and is suprisingly economic to run. I've been offroading in it and often find myself passing many new 4x4's that have become stuck and this is with an unmodified truck. The only niggles i have with it is the rear suspension, it tends to sag a little but as i plan to give her a full suspension lift i don't see it as so much of a problem. The only other thing is the toeing capacity isn't as high as other 4x4's again this doesn't bother me so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Good but cylinder heads are terrible”

Written on: 08/03/2012 by fishnwork (1 review written)

Great driving 4wd with lots of room,plenty of power, good paint. Cylinder head is poorly designed and will give expensive problems even when not used for towing or off road. Beware the $3000 repair bills, otherwise ok.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“KZ185- the acid test”

Written on: 02/03/2012 by SupremeConstructor (2 reviews written)

I have owned 4 hilux surfs, A 2.4 EFI, and three with the 1KZ-te motor. The motor could have been the diesel to end all diesels of the era, but built in faults to the head and cooling/capacity have turned a well engineered piece into a nightmare. Treat with the utmost care (servicing) and add an aftermarket AUDIBLE "smart" engine block temp. device or exhaust gas temp device and you will detect this problem before it cracks the head. You can't even leave the radiator cap off (inadvertently) on these engines without risking a cracked head. Not good Toyota! Running gear- excellent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sollybots's Response to SupremeConstructor's Review

Written on: 25/11/2013

have a 1kzn 3.0 turbo diesel surf and have replaced the timing belt but the light is still on what do I do?but overall performance good and fuel consumption perfect.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Wish towing capacity was higher”

Written on: 10/08/2011

I love my 3L auto SSR-G Surf. I only wish the towing capacity was higher than, I think, 2200kg, Discoveries and Fourtraks can tow 3500kg and Shogun's, Pajero's 3300kg and Terrano's 2800kg. Its the only thing that lets the super Surf down when you want to tow a horse trailer and unfortunately the only reason I am thinking of changing it for a Fourtrak.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“The 3.0 turbo diesel is BY FAR the best 4x4 money can...”

Written on: 22/12/2010 by johnmcintosh (1 review written)

The 3.0 turbo diesel is BY FAR the best 4x4 money can buy! VERY capable off the road, more powerful and economical than any other 4x4 I'm aware of on the road, being Japanese they come with a great spec as standard, very comfortable, at 16 years old everything works, shows no signs of wear or rust underneath at all and flies through every MOT. Nothing short of amazing! Don't even think about buying a Discovery instead, you will definitely regret it come MOT time - If not before! My only advice would be cough up for a decent 3.0, the 2.4 is prone to head gasket failure, hence the mixed bag of reviews

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to johnmcintosh's Review

Written on: 15/07/2011

get an 80 series.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Idlerider's Response to johnmcintosh's Review

Written on: 29/07/2013

The 3.0 DOES suffer from the same cracked head problem - just less frequently and generally at a higher mileage. Replacement Toyota heads are redesigned to obviate the problem.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stelt's Response to johnmcintosh's Review

Written on: 26/05/2013

My 3.0 turbo diesel 1kz engine oil pressure red light keep flashing when it idles

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to johnmcintosh's Review

Written on: 17/08/2011

Yes the 2.4L is said to blow head gaskets, but that is because the not enough pressure is being realeases. This is you if you are going to buy a 2.4L, you need to change exhaust size to a 2.5 inch or a 3 inch. This will stop the gaskets from blowing and failing.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“Have owned a 1996 Toyota Surf SSR-G 3ltr for 12yrs and...”

Written on: 10/05/2010

Have owned a 1996 Toyota Surf SSR-G 3ltr for 12yrs and covered 150k rapid miles. Apart from the usual servicing parts and three sets of tyres, the only thing that went wrong was the cylinder head, they don't like starting hard in frosty weather. The interior is still like new, even the floor mats are original and everything works including the aircon, only been recharged once. Drove it to Cyprus and left it there last year, took five days and never missed a beat. I have an X5 in this country, brilliant engine but everything else is inferior compared to the Toyota, even a 14yr old one! Her indoors loves driving it and finds it easier to park than most cars shes had. Would thoroughly recommend one to anybody.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fantastic all round vehicle, have had the usual...”

Written on: 15/04/2010

Fantastic all round vehicle, have had the usual problems expected with imported surfs (suspension, a/c ceased, interior electrics not all working) but what else can you expect from vehicles of this age that don't get the attention they need in Japan before we import them. This is my 2nd Surf and as it is the 3lt I'm not expecting the cylinder head problems associated with the 2.4. Surfs cope well with pretty much anything provided you have the right tyres and suspension. after much trial and error (and whiplash!)Pirelli Scorpion A/T's seem to be perfect for this vehicle. Fuel economy is not great around town (20mpg if you drive enthusiastically) but on long runs is excellent for a car of this age and size. Change oil and filters regularly, as often as you can afford but at least every 6 months. If the a/c works you're lucky, but they can be sorted out, biggest problem with the older models is they were de-gassed for export due to Japan using a different gas to us. recommend upgrading to stiffer suspension if you want to offroad or drive hard, mine is permanently on firm setting and is still a bit wallowy. To get a UK vehicle as good as a Surf you would be spending £10000+. Toyota dealers won't touch them but can get parts but try Rough Trax or Milner 4x4 first. Lastly, don't whinge about little niggles, sort them out as cheaply as poss and enjoy driving the best 4x4 in the world! If you need technical help, go to the Surf owners club forum Hiluxsurf.co.uk

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Having had various cars, vans etc. Found the 3.0 surf...”

Written on: 07/04/2010

Having had various cars, vans etc. Found the 3.0 surf when fed up with my 850 T5, Was not sure if it would suit my needs from family and work. Since then it has proved it's worth, I have all my tools for work in the back and still plenty of room for the family. Has never let me down and can beat most things away from the lights.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Could not fault the vehicle in any way or form, during...”

Written on: 04/03/2010 by ukwrecker (1 review written)

Could not fault the vehicle in any way or form, during the bad weather that we have had, it has performed flawlessly, heater in the interior keeps you snug and warm even when it' minus 7 outside, as for coping with mud handled well and as for driving in the snow could not fault in any way what so ever, I was getting through the snow where I passed a Land Rover Discovery of which I was considering buying before I saw this advertised for sale, and I was sure glad I made the decision I did if looking at that Discovery was anything to go by, have towed a 6 Metre Rib with it and you would have thought there was nothing being towed, so as for being happy with what I bought, I am over the moon with it, be it on Mud Snow Tarmac or Sand it handles it what ever you put it on to, if you are looking for a 4X4 depending on what you want it for, you could not go far wrong with the HiLux Surf

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i have owned my 95' hilux surf ssr-g 3.0t diesel for 6...”

Written on: 19/01/2010

i have owned my 95' hilux surf ssr-g 3.0t diesel for 6 months now and it has been a great 4wd, if you change the oil and filter every 5,000km always check your oil never run it low this will cause engine damage, diesel filter and air filter between 7,000-10,000km you shouldn't have a problem with it also depending on how often you drive on dirt roads if you do it will pay to either use a air hose to blow out the dust from the air filter or just simply buy a new one this will keep your engine running for a bit longer. if the engine check light comes on the dash the it will most likely be a dirty diesel filter especially if you constantly run the engine on less than a quarter of a tank of fuel.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have bought a Toyota Hilux 4X4 two months ago and I...”

Written on: 20/12/2009 by hansett (1 review written)

I have bought a Toyota Hilux 4X4 two months ago and I have been having problems since. First the steering wheel contorls broke done and now the brake system has gone wrong. The Toyota main dealer in Purley Way Croydon which is owned by Gemca Edgware Road don't care to put it right.Avoid buying Toyota Hilux.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bj454's Response to hansett's Review

Written on: 29/09/2014

Was it a surf or ute?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“i bought my 3.0l ssrx td ltd 5 years ago i have only...”

Written on: 06/11/2009

i bought my 3.0l ssrx td ltd 5 years ago i have only had to put on tyres,(general grabbers), change exhaust, rear shocks, brake pads,timing belt and new batteries along with the normal oil,fuel and air filters every 6000 miles. it had 55000 miles when i bought it and now sits on 110000. it also runs on 50% veg oil straight out of tesco all year never lets me down 30lts of diesel topped up with cooking oil goes great quieter, and smells lovely!. i would only swap it for an ssrg 3.0ltr auto when i can find one.a.g.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“YOU LOOKING FOR A GREAT 4X4, then, look no further,...”

Written on: 29/09/2009 by AfricaCalling (3 reviews written)

YOU LOOKING FOR A GREAT 4X4, then, look no further, you have found it!
As they say 'Toyota.....King Of All Roads!'
I have a Toyota Surf SSR-X, have owned this vehicle for over 6 years and only had to change the tyres and put a new battery as the original ones had started to slow start!
They are very reliable on the road and great for towing, with little effort and good power for when needed. Good fuel economy as long as you don't keep 'red lining' it!? With my 96 ltr tank, I easily get over 600 miles (less when towing but not that much less) It all depends on the driver, how you take off and weather you have a heavy foot?
You have plenty of power when over taking and going up steep hills. You will also have to watch your speed as you can very easily creep over the speed limit without noticing it! especially on the motor ways.
Very comfy to drive and spacious for the whole family including dog!
Great climate control air con that works!
Toyota stock spares or can get them so you never have to worry! they can be pricey though but least they are genuine and not pirate parts which are NOT recommended as they don't last and cause a lot of headaches and break downs!
Servicing through Toyota is also recommended, not as expensive as some car dealers are.
Road tax is £190/annum, fully comp insurance is £233.71/annum with a clean licence and over 10 years no claim bonus.
I am very happy with this vehicle and expect lots of pleasure in driving it! will highly recommend this type, (3 ltr engine not the older 2.4 ltr) to anyone looking for a very good reliable 4x4 with out a doubt.
I know this vehicle will out last any other 4x4.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alanwh's Response to AfricaCalling's Review

Written on: 26/07/2010

I found this review very helpful because...
<br/>Everything you need to know including MPG, Tax and insurance costs A1

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“I bought a toyota hilux surf about 1 year ago and have...”

Written on: 09/09/2009

I bought a toyota hilux surf about 1 year ago and have been having problems ever since. first it was breaks and then the engine started to over heat and suspension problems and now since of last week again i am having break problems and a noise in the front suspension. The best is i haven't even taken it offroading.
What seems to be the problem with this. I like this vehicle but can some one please tell me if they've had this kind of problems

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview