Marks & Spencer

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Summary

Marks and Spencer reviews right here at Review Centre. Why not write your review now or simply read reviews other people have written of Marks and Spencers.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Marks and Spencer - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Marks and Spencer

Marks and Spencer
Marks and Spencer

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Loudly insulting staff -women's bodies (Breast Cancer...”

Written on: 17/11/2021 by BrookeRoche (1 review written)

Had a breast cancer scare/ invasive procedures. Went to return an unworn bra. M&S staff loudly passed insulting comments re by body in front of lots of customers/ staff (including male staff who were laughing). Cruel and unprovoked :( Very hypocritical retailer in terms of 'supporting' breast cancer etc but encouraging staff to be very cruel and insulting to female customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“hi, Went to Chelmsford store today felt really safe...”

Written on: 18/09/2020 by Maralynnorth (1 review written)

hi, Went to Chelmsford store today felt really safe and was served by a really friendly, smart lady. she asked me to come to her cash point as soon as she was free and made the whole experience a good one. Also would like to mention the assistant handing out hand gel. No name but she was very cheerful doing what must have been a boring job. Was in store about 12.30pm

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Staff Laugh at Customers Returning Faulty Goods”

Written on: 29/06/2020 by Jonyboy (1 review written)

bought a Marks and Spencer Microwaveable Small Lidded Saucepan on the 12 March 2020. Within a month this saucepan cracked at the base after approx 6 uses. Due to lockdown on the 24 March 2020 I have been unable to return the saucepan. However, when the Marks and Spencer reopened in June I did return the saucepan to the White Rose M&S store Leeds who refused to either give me a refund or exchange. The staff were also very rude laughing out loud at me when I complained this was a breach of my consumer rights and Marks and Spencer’s agreement with customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“This is not just a Bag for Life, this is an M&S Bag”

Written on: 19/12/2019 by anthonywilliammitchell (1 review written)

I popped into the Cambridge Foodhall to buy a few items and bought my 10p bag which had recently broken to be replaced. Apparently unlike every other 10p bag at other supermarkets thiers are not actually bags for life! When I originally bought it I asked for a bag for life and no where I could see in store did it state single use. M&S certainly fooled me, yet alone the environmental impact these bags will have.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Rosie Pyjamas”

Written on: 07/06/2019 by xjVaughn312 (1 review written)

I recently purchased a pair of Rosie Pyjamas considering the price I was expecting quality. Pink floral modal frill. The material was awful and so creased had to send it back. What is going on with M&S these days the quality and sizing has definitely gone downhill in my opinion. On the other hand the food is fabulous. Please please bring back quality material and better sizing just like the old days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“girls clothes age 7-8”

Written on: 07/11/2018 by lbFinch1 (1 review written)

the girls clothing is really bad in design and fit I would be sacking these designers for children and adults overpriced poor design and quality get a grip marks or you will not be here in 5 years!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Visit to cafe”

Written on: 17/09/2018 by JuMac (1 review written)

My husband and I decided to have breakfast in the Marks and Spencer’s cafe in Craigleith Retail Park today before starting our food shop - Sunday 16th September 2018. There was no full breakfast on offer and no salmon and scrambled eggs as there were ‘ no eggs’ ! We arrived at about 10.20am and there was very little choice on the shelves. And there were at least 20 customers in the cafe. Although the staff were polite, the standard was similar to a transport cafe and our much looked forward to Sunday breakfast extremely disappointing! Somebody needs to pull their socks up!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Thankyou M&S for realising we are people! ”

Written on: 01/06/2018 by Julio88 (4 reviews written)

My wife and I visited Marks and Spencers yesterday and we found the staff all very pleasant and very helpful.Absolutely brilliant! Thankyou M&S for realising we are people!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Shambles at Balloo”

Written on: 17/03/2018 by zaraton12 (1 review written)

I have never seen a more disorganised Café in my life, only 30% of the tables available and cleared for eating/drinking the rest were piled with used trays and previous customers dirty dishes, the only way to get a clear table was to clear it yourself, I did inform a lady at the till that there were an awful lot of dirty tables, but she wasn't too bothered, there was plenty of staff crammed around the 2 serving tills, mostly being busy doing nothing or anything but clean the tables, one young man carried 1 table number from one end of the café to the other and passed plenty of dirty tables on the way< either there was no supervisor or something was seriously wrong with communication to the staff about what was expected from them. If I am paying M&S prices I expect a much higher standard of service than this

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Mothers Day shamble!!!”

Written on: 15/03/2018 by Lawson475 (1 review written)

I ordered a flower and chocolate delivery for a Mothers Day gift. A bit pricey but I wanted to make the day a little special as I was unsure if I would be able to get to visit my Mum. Ordered the gift online. Got the confirmation. The day before Mothers Day got a further confirmation the present was on its way and would be delivered Sunday 11th March. Perfect!!!??? Oh no...far from perfect. I actually was able to get to see my Mum...no gift in hand as I assumed that she would have received the one arranged. Hmmmm embarrassing situation. At 4.11pm (after all the shops had shut for the weekend) I receive an email from M&S saying "really sorry we will be unable to deliver your order". I am fuming, to say the least. They have given a full refund and a "goodwill gesture" of £10 e-voucher to use in store or online. Well that is useless as I will not be shopping there again. I thought I would stay loyal to a longstanding UK company - I will now shop elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Coffee”

Written on: 23/02/2018 by Roth433 (1 review written)

The coffee keeps going up and they are very slow. Don't no way they stopped the Stamp cards they was so much better

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“York monks cross food hall”

Written on: 17/02/2018 by Andersenmf478 (1 review written)

Oh dear! We visited to pick up a dine in valentine meat at the York store. Not only was there no selection of advertised options but rude staff, a scrum to get near the shelves and generally not a good experience! The options available where so limited we left and when to a competitor that not only was cheaper but so much better and larger portions. Needless to say we will not be returning! Disappointedl m&s, your staff used to be the best around- this seems to have changed!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“ladies trousers sizing”

Written on: 08/02/2018 by Bradford97 (1 review written)

I ordered 3 pairs of ladies trousers online, same style, same waist and length as I have been wearing for years. When they arrived, they were all 2 to 3 inches longer than my usual regular fit. I took them back and complained to the assistant who said they had been that fitting for a long time and did I check the sizes on the website. Why would I if I had always bought size 12 regular? She didn`t offer to call a manager and though I tried to find one myself, was unsuccessful. Complete waste of everybody`s time, especially mine having to return them. Marks & Spencer need to listen to their customers and if they are changing their sizes, it should be specified on the website when ordering. I have complained to assistants before and whilst they are perfectly pleasant, they have no comment to make and don`t even say they will take it up with anybody.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not cluck cluck yuck yuck”

Written on: 03/01/2018 by Barkerrw284 (1 review written)

Bought 2 organic chickens at£10 each absolutely awful tasteless like rubber most of it went to the wildlife outside and the second one was cooked for the dogs thought I was buying a better quality chicken no wonder they were all that was left on the shelf the x large that I usually buy were all gone now I know why what a waste of money Y

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best service ever in any shop, anytime”

Written on: 18/11/2017

I have never written a review before BUT can’t help it this time. I went to the groceries department at Meadowhall Sheffield on 9/11/2017 and was served by a lady who was the most polite, friendly and knowledgable assistant I have come across. She advised me to check in store how many offers were on my sparks card before making any purchases in case I had missed any. Sure enough I had missed one which was well worth using. Made sure I used her checkout point and asked her name. She was still as friendly as ever despite being very busy. Hope M&Sread these reviews, this lady needs a medal. Excellent

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They really dont care for their customers or charity”

Written on: 08/11/2017

Last Thursday I visited the Marks & Spencer store at Beaconsfield services and after picking up what I needed, made my way to the check out. Now, I don't have high expectations when it comes to the service I will receive in an M&S however last Thursday was a whole new low.   Any greeting was replaced by 'want a bag?' followed by 'card?'. I placed my card in the reader, followed by my pin and proceeded to check emails on my phone. The till operator then announced very loudly 'declined!' when I queried what he said, I got 'your card is declined'. I offered that that's highly unlikely, I received a shoulder shrug so instucted him to do it again.    As I went to place my card into the reader the screen flashed 'declined', which I tried to explain to the operator who was totally unimpressed and simply announced again (to what seemed like the entire store not just the increasingly large queue) 'declined!'.   I therefore used another card and left (without any form of thanks), immediately contacting my card issuer, who immediately horrified by the service I had received as 'as a highly valued customer we would not decline your transaction, however M&S have not sought approval for a transaction, their equipment must be faulty'.   I returned to the store to ask for the staff members name and explain that the machine was faulty, again raised shoulders and as I turned to leave, he made the parting remark 'I just work here!'. However the real shock came with the response from M&S's Customer Support Team, a generic and obviously disinterested email entirely lacking any genuine apology, full of typo's. I was offered a £10 gift card as 'good will'. I responded, expressing how I had hoped for a more personalised response and asked that the gift card be sent to Battersea Dogs Home. M&S again emailed me, in the same kurt tone, to advise they would not send the £10 to Battersea Dogs Home (without explanation). I forwarded the email to their CEO expressing my disbelief, only to receive another genetic response including many 'we can't, we don't, we won't' however this time signed 'Executive office' from someone claiming to be 'the CEO's personal team'.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“disapointing”

Written on: 04/11/2017

very disappointed with the quality off kids clothes. seams ar in no way straight which spoils the look!!!! what has happened!!!!! to the brillant quality off ur clothes.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont buy handbags from Marks and Spencer”

Written on: 27/10/2017 by daisyduke741 (1 review written)

I like many ladies have a few handbags and alternate them during the year however customer service from Marks and Spencer obviously do not value their products in that you shouldn't have a handbag that doesn't last for more then a couple of years. I sent to retail customer services a Per una handbag that was in good condition except for the under part of the handles where the material was crumbling/peeling . Received a letter back from the person I dealt with saying it was not a manufacturer's fault. I left a message for her to call me back in which she did. I explained that a lot of ladies have shoes and handbags that are years old, so was she implying that M&S bags should only last a year. I buy my clothes from M&S so were they the cause of the bag crumbling/peeling of the handles on my shoulders? Bags I have bought from M&S for years have never caused me this problem. If she had checked the bag properly or had a bit more experience in her job she would have seen the material covering the handle is extremely thin and stretched compared to the rest of the bag which is made of a lot thicker material which includes a belt that goes around the bag - funny how the rest of the bag hasn't crumbled/peeled. So lesson learnt not to buy handbags from M&S and wouldn't recommend anyone else to do so as their products don't have a longevity for normal wear and tear. Perhaps that is their strategy so you go and buy another.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“So far behind!”

Written on: 18/10/2017 by Robbings (1 review written)

My father was diagnosed with coeliac disease when he was around 5 or 6 years old, not because he felt unwell or had a sore stomach but because eating gluten was slowly killing him!

 That was 50 years ago.....since then so many people are being diagnosed or telling themselves they are gluten intolerant in order to eat bread without actually eating bread! Nearly all shops can now cater to coelia'c EXCEPT M&S!! 

Marks & Spencer's make an extremely poor effort to offer gluten free sandwiches. The only ones ever available are Piri Piri wrap. Don't get me wrong, they are very nice, but being THE only gluten free selection ever available, it starts to become very boring. 

We have asked on a number of occasions different members of staff why the lack in choice, to which the only reply is an apology. I don't think we are asking for a lot seeing as M&S are very established and offer such a great range of normal sandwiches! 

SORT IT OUT M&S!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Review of Milton Keynes M&S ”

Written on: 13/10/2017 by Yadiray67 (1 review written)

If you're a long standing customer of M&S, DO NOT expect good customer service from the female Manager of Menswear. This member of staff is not only rude but also has very little knowledge of tbe refund policy on M&S loyalty vouchers. Not the type of service I expect at all!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Shirleyrosie18 on 15th September 2017 Report this content
I wanted to buy a present for a close friend for his birthday on 15.9.2017.As we always shop at M&S we checked the website,and found a great present for him,it was the Reserve De Sours Sparkling Rose NV Magnam,at a discount price of £28.14 which was great.But when shopping at M&S in Milton Keynes we were told it was for delivary only,so cost another £4.Why do you advertise these items at a discount then charge for delivary ?  Have to wait till the 16.9.2017,so will miss his birthday.In future we are not looking on M&S website,we will look elsewhere. very unhappy.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Reviewifihaveto Written on: 19/09/2017
This is Very typical of M&S. They never honour their price and commitments. I am with you as well as I have not purchased a single item from them after the ill treatment I received from them and feeling cheated by this company. Honouring online prices or free delivery to store should be part of their services- they might want to listen to you , me and their customers in order to know how best to provide services - unfortunately that's not going to happen .All the best!
Asked by erikajhanley on 29th May 2014 Report this content
I have rather an unusual question: I took an item back to M&S Worcester on Friday 23rd May and because I didn't have the receipt with me I was given a credit voucher for £27.50. I returned to the store on Monday 26th to use to take advantage of a 20% friends and family voucher. When I handed in in the credit voucher I was told it had been redeemed. I hadn't redeemed it and was told they had no way of tracing this supposed redemption. I was obviously really angry and dismayed about this and rung the friend who had been with me at the store on the Friday when I was given the voucher. She happens to be an employee at the store and noticed that the original procedure had been unusual in that 2 credit vouchers had been produced and I was given the 1st one, so obviously something had gone wrong. I returned to store on Tuesday to ask for this to be investigated. I have not heard anything and phone calls aren't even picked up! I live 7 miles away from Worcester so each visit is costly. What is my position on this and furthermore has this happened to other people?  Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content 1katya Written on: 30/05/2014
I would try emailing them, and ask them to pass on your email to a manager ... I never ring with complaints anymore, unless it is a free number, as the customer shouldn't have to pay for the cost of complaint calls. Isn't it usual for credit vouchers to be retained or marked as spent when they are redeemed?
Report this content rayk43 Written on: 30/05/2014
It seems to me that M&S are refusing to honour the voucher without providing any substantial reason. Of course they will have a record of when and where the other voucher was redeemed, they just can't be bothered to find out. Emailing or ringing M&S is waste of time. They always respond to emails by telling you to ring in and when you do the people answering the phone are clueless and disinterested. In your position I would write to Marc Bolland M&S CEO asking for an explanation and pointing out that if you get no response to your letter you will ask your local Trading Standards Department to look into it. Be prepared to wait because M&S ignore letters for a while in the hope that you will go away and stop bothering them. Their customer service really is the pits these days. Good luck.
overview