Mercedes Benz SLK 320 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.6 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Mercedes Benz SLK 320 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Mercedes Benz SLK 320

Mercedes Benz SLK 320
Mercedes Benz SLK 320

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Mercedes Benz SLK 320”

Written on: 23/03/2013

I have recently bought myself a 13 year old SLK. Love it! Looks, performance, handling. you name it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“Where others fall short in its class...”

Written on: 11/01/2012 by daytona56 (1 review written)

This classic re-invented roadster based off of the original of the 50's does not fall short in anyway. It outperforms all cars in its class. Minimal problems in 10 years of ownership. This car outperforms its specs. tested in a controled atomosphere, the horse power registers out above the listed hp at 225 at 0-6 in 4.2 seconds. I would not trade this for the 2012 model which I have driven and falls short of the classic roadster feel. this particular model and body design will be that of which you will soon see soaring in price as they are becoming highly collectable. It has an extened range of options and variations, all of which again out weight the 2012 Slk magic sky roof... If you want a reliable stylish and very VERY fast covertable hardtop thats not affraid to take on a mustang or random BMW this is that car! Downside the painted interior (which is on most all cars of the early 2000's) that is it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Good Points ”

Written on: 18/04/2011

Good Points

- Generally excellent and solid build quality (unlike newer R171 models)
- Great interior and exterior shape (honestly prefer it too R171 with awful nose and plastic interior)
- Great V6 engine - bit lazy but plenty of power on tap when required to leave most cars at the lights!
- Great sounding exhaust note (especially good with the roof down)
- Decent pace when required.

Bad Points

- It really isn't a sports car - the gearbox (mine is an auto) and steering are just not sharp enough - it's more a GT.
- The paint finish peels off parts of the console - this is the only build quality issue I have found
- It is beyond hopeless in snow - don't even think of taking it out in snow - you won't get home again!

Overall

This is one of the last models produced by Mercedes before their high build quality and engineering standards took a bit of a tumble. Its a great everyday GT car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Love the handling of the Mercedes Benz SLK 320, the...”

Written on: 02/04/2009

Love the handling of the Mercedes Benz SLK 320, the ride and the exhaust note

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★☆

“Not a sport car, just barely sporty overall. A car to...”

Written on: 16/02/2008

Not a sport car, just barely sporty overall. A car to enjoy life under several aspects however. Happpy owner of a 200 SLK Komp 192 hp and currently driving a 320 SLK 2001 (both 2 nd hand). Far too expensive when new and ABS. Not worth the money. Made to fulfill many diff. Askings by quite diff, markets. ABS worth buiyng it used today (by a MB concessionaire I'd suggest).

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“We have an Audi TT as well, and I must say Audi...”

Written on: 28/05/2007 by jacksslk (1 review written)

We have an Audi TT as well, and I must say Audi customer service and garages in general are much better than Mercedes dealerships. Merc seem reluctant to help in many instances where as we find Audi will break sweat to help you and what they say will be done is done. I am disappointed in the Mercedes experience, mainly down to our local Merc garages who are all owned by Reg Vardy so maybe that is why we would not buy another Merc. SLK is a lovely car however I feel that BMW and Audi are more interested in looking after you in the event of a problem. Merc are delighted to help if you hand them an open cheque book. Battles over warranties were not expected !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“The dealerships are a bit of a culture shock, their...”

Written on: 21/07/2006 by jsf (1 review written)

The dealerships are a bit of a culture shock, their tendency to turn a visit into an event is pleasant if you have plenty of time, but can be very annoying when you want to get in and out in 5 minutes.
More practical than I expected, with the roof up there is a lot of space in the boot for a car of this class, and with the roof down, there's still a reasonable amount of space, it's just difficult to get to.
I bought the auto because second hand manuals are like hens teeth, the auto is growing on me, but I would still prefer the manual. The gear select on the 5 speed auto is woeful and has not been used after the initial play period.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I previously owned a SLK 230, which was a very good...”

Written on: 23/07/2003 by Clitheroe Kid. (1 review written)

I previously owned a SLK 230, which was a very good car. However, I recently swapped it for a 320, and I'm converted. The 320 engine is much smoother, with more torque, which makes overtaking easier. However, the best thing about it is how it sounds. The 230 engine, though a good performer, sounds like a dishwasher, while the V6 emits pure music.

Nobody would pretend the SLK's an out and out sports car like the Boxster. But most people, including myself, don't want to drive fast all the time, and want a car that also cossets its driver after a hard day at the office.

The steel roof gives it a significant advantage over most of its rivals, and for everyday use the SLK is an excellent choice.

One word of warning, though - if you're considering buying a new one there's a new range out next year, which may damage resale prices of the current model.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

209's Response to Clitheroe Kid.'s Review

Written on: 17/02/2004

the slk 230 can be an out and out sports car all it needs is upgraded supercharger pullys. plus it still gets better gas mileage and the engine is lighter then the 320 with only a 20 horse power loss. A.Z.-

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 10 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview