Minolta Maxxum 9 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
80% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Photograph Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Minolta Maxxum 9 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Minolta Maxxum 9

Minolta Maxxum 9
Minolta Maxxum 9
Minolta Maxxum 9

Specification for Minolta Maxxum 9


Manufacturer: Konica Minolta
Features:
  • 35mm SLR camera with built-in flash
  • High-speed film drive of up to 5.5 frames per second
  • Very fast 1/12,000-second shutter speed
  • Body only; compatible with all Minolta AF/Maxxum lenses
  • Dust- and moisture-resistant construction
  • Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “Minolta Dynax 9 - Whilst they are still available- get...”

    Written on: 19/06/2011

    What a camera this is. Always wanted one, but could never afford one when brand new. Had to settle for the Minolta 800si; 9000(2nd hand) 600si; then the Dynax 7. I do not know why Minolta never caught on in the UK. They were at the front of technology development. I finally got the Dynax 9 in the last few weeks. Second hand, but well looked after. I did not even have to look at the manual supplied with it, in order to work out how to use it. Just look at the top plate and you can see what to do. It is simple and similar to the 9000, and then the later Minolta 600si. Three AF points ? So what, later cameras have 11+ up to 40 something, yet the three on the Dynax 9 have never failed. The films I have 'put through' so far have been good results. First film, - Shots No. 1 and No. 2 - failure - correctly exposed, etc., nothing at all wrong with the exposure. The fault was that the shutter button is

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “The Minolta Maxxum 9 is the strongest camera ever...”

    Written on: 25/01/2008 by pg435 (1 review written)

    The Minolta Maxxum 9 is the strongest camera ever build and exposes 100% in variable conditions.
    Take it to extreme heat or cold and it will leave all others behind still today.
    January 2008 no doubt!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “As a working pro, the choice to go Minolta was not an...”

    Written on: 19/01/2002 by Nick Carroll. (1 review written)

    As a working pro, the choice to go Minolta was not an easy one. The F5 and EOS1NRS had me tempted for a long while, and it took me to actually road-test a Maxxum 9 to make up my mind. I use the 9 every day, and I can honestly say that it has never failed me.
    I will say though that to get the best out of this camera you will need to use Minolta 'G' lenses. If you simply can't afford to go 'G', try one of the new 'EX' pro range from Sigma. If you only buy one camera in your life, make it this one.
    One last thing: I'll tell you about an experiment that some very rich people performed when the 9 was released. They dropped an F5, an EOS 1N, and a Maxxum 9 from a height of one meter onto a concrete floor. While the Canon went to cam heaven, and the F5 to the prism repair store, the 9 suffered only cosmetic damage and continued to function.
    My loyalty to Minolta is set to continue and I have just ordered the Maxxum 7. I will review it as soon as it's been on a few jobs with me.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Neil Brosnahan.'s Response to Nick Carroll.'s Review

    Written on: 14/11/2002

    Review helpful. Looking for more information on ease of focusing.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Hac's Response to Nick Carroll.'s Review

    Written on: 24/09/2010

    I found this review very helpful because.I went straight out and purchased a dynax 9 on ebay complete with battery grip for £340.00 its been a gem for the time i've had it.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Djaferisp's Response to Nick Carroll.'s Review

    Written on: 17/09/2006

    wonderful and colid camera; mine did drop a couple of times from at least a meter height and no damage was apparent; now after 20 years, the shutter is acting up and some frames are blank; is this repairable? I love my 9000 and want to keep using it.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Maui Boy's Response to Nick Carroll.'s Review

    Written on: 11/05/2006

    The Maxxum 9 has a true 100% veiw finder that very few other pro cameras have. Even though they claim to, only the Maxxum 9 has tested to be a 100%. It also has very good materials in its construction. Things like a stainless steel shell, and carbon-fiber shutter blades which gives it one of the fastest shutter at 1/10,000 of a second!!! Minolta after all was the first to develope and pioneer the auto-focus camera. It needs to be looked at when buying a camera.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    51506_Nick Carroll.'s Response to Nick Carroll.'s Review

    Written on: 17/11/2002

    Hi Neil.
    The 9 performs well in all but the dimmest conditions, but even these can be tackled with a decent f/2.8 lens. The focus motor is strong and fast, and the assist lamp has saved me several times. I once had to shoot a corporate conference in almost total darkness, and the 9 managed to nail every frame.
    When shooting sports I select one of the three focus areas, rather then using them all at once. These areas are marked very clearly in the bright viewfinder. Occasionally when there is a burst of action the focus will hunt, but I put this down to my hands shaking from the adrenalin rush, and not a camera failure!
    I hope this was helpful. Let me know if you need any more info.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 14 0
    Read 5 Comments
    ★★★★★

    “I don't have anything to compare it to as the last SLR...”

    Written on: 20/11/2001 by J.D.. (1 review written)

    I don't have anything to compare it to as the last SLR camera I bought was the minolta 9000 , it was and is still a good camera , But things have really changed . I have read many reviews on many cameras and they never talk about operation only the fact that their purchase was the best . I suspect that whatever you buy today and don't drop will work for everybody if it is in this price range , give or take a few hundred dollars for ego . Being able to select mode and meter settings quickly is a real advantage , being able to bracket exposures is nice but we did this by our selves before - now you can do it automatically , I wonder how many people use all these new features , excuse me this is more of a conversation then a review, Lets just say the Minolta Maxxum 9 SLR camera is great ,have fun and you will need to study.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 8 0
    ★★★★★

    “The Minolta Maxxum 9 is a great camera. changing film...”

    Written on: 03/06/2001 by turtle. (1 review written)

    The Minolta Maxxum 9 is a great camera. changing film in middle of roll is great addition. the body style is also great. As you can see I am a minolta maxxum user. I also have a maxxum 600si camera.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Etan.'s Response to 2379_turtle.'s Review

    Written on: 10/02/2002

    BE MORE SPECIFIC!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 11
    Read 1 Comment
    overview