Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder

Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder
Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder

Specification for Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS:
Overall Length: 2,160 mm
Overall Width: 815 mm
Overall Height: 1,090 mm
Wheelbase: 1,450 mm
Ground Clearance: 140 mm
Seat Height: 680 mm
Dry Mass: 126 kg
Fuel Capacity: 13 litres

ENGINE:
Engine Type: Air-cooled, 4-stroke, single cylinder, SOHC, 2 valves per cylinder
Bore x Stroke: 57.0 x 48.8 mm
Max Power: 11.7 PS (8.6 Kw) @ 9,000 rpm
Max Torque: 9.6 Nm @ 7,000 rpm
Piston Displacement: 125 cc
Compression Ratio: 9.5 : 1
Carburettor: Mikuni BS26 SS
Lubrication: Wet sump

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:
Ignition Type: Electronic
Starter System: Electric

TRANSMISSION:
Clutch: Wet multi plate
Transmission: 5-speed
Drive System: Chain, 132 links

CHASSIS:
Front Suspension: Telescopic
Rear Suspension: Twin shock absorber, adjustable spring preload
Rake/Trail: 32.5 degrees / 140 mm
Front Brake: Single priston caliper, 275 mm single disc
Rear Brake: 130 mm drum
Front Tyre: 110/90-16
Rear Tyre: 130/90-15

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Plucky little bike”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by Cullen398 (1 review written)

Nice little bike to start with if your in to your custom cruisers and have just done your CBT. Very basic which is never a bad thing because there is not a lot to go wrong which helps keep life simple and pleasant. Unfortunately, they don't come with a fuel gauge which mean if you haven't filled up lately. Then your living on a prayer. There is not much in the line of storage but there is something under the seat for storing something, Not sure what though. But it's a cruiser and I expect if you were worried about the storage space, you'd get yourself some saddle/tank bag to hold your lunch for work. Health top speed of 65mph but they do seem to start acting like a heavy smoker at 55mph which I myself am not to worried about that as I've found a couple of upgrades for the marauder engine. Also have a great potential for bobber.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“very decent bike”

Written on: 16/09/2014 by chezequerz (1 review written)

Good points: - Handling is pretty damn good. - Insurance is dirt cheap. - Extremely economical on fuel (£10 lasts me about a month given my regular commuting needs which are maybe 75 miles a week). - This bike looks the real deal as a cruiser. - Sound is pretty good, although mine came with the baffles removed and hence sounds a deal nicer and more importantly louder which frankly helps make me feel significantly less nervous about a car not noticing me on the road. - Parts for these bikes are very cheap. - Had very few issues with parts failing in general beyond the effects of general wear and tear Bad points: - These are pretty heavy bikes particularly for a 125. - As a result of the weight and the engine size you'll soon notice hills can be a little trickier than on most other bikes. - Can be tricky to start these after replacing a battery which of course you'll have to do every now and then and the purely electronic ignition really does not help in the least with this. - This bike has a pretty big turning circle. In total the Suzuki Marauder 125 is a great bike, I really enjoy mine but I'm not blind to the shortcomings, and you do get used to them and work out ways around them in time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“jinlun wheels to put on my gz 125”

Written on: 24/04/2014 by cnTodd468 (1 review written)

Hi does any obe know if the jinlun 125 wheels will go on a suzuki maurader gz 125 as i have tried to find info about this and its no where please if any 1 knows anything thanks

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★☆

“Bulletproof reliability, owned for 2 years and still...”

Written on: 11/05/2013 by Dace1987 (1 review written)

I bought my Suzy a couple of years ago needing something to take me to college (about 10 mile round trip there and back) 3 days a week and also a part time job that was a 30 mile round trip 3 times a week come rain or shine this bike has been fantastic. as you will notice with the trend from other reviews its not the fastest 125cc bike out there, but the lack in speed is compensated with a bike that will be a reliable workhorse and just keep going (and its pretty on the eye too) Pros You can pick up one for under 1k easily (mine had 6000 miles on the clock 01 model I picked it up for 650 and its now up at 10000 miles and still no major problems running as sweet as a nut.) As i have said my bike is an 01 model but she starts first time every time Cheap insurance (I only have CBT and its still only working out at 110 for the year TPFT) only 12 gbp to fill the tank and i would say it gets around 90-100 miles to the gallon only 16 gbp to tax for the year sails through every m.o.t with minimum fuss timeless looking cruiser which looks a lot bigger than a 125cc plenty of accessories and parts available for cheap as they are still making this bike (which to be fair is a testament to how good these bikes are 15 years and still going) Comfortable ride, I have a lot of friends who are into their bikes and they all say the same thing its like riding a sofa, big plush leather seats gives your back and crack a break on long journeys. Cons Speed can be a bit annoying when you get on a national speed limit road, if you could get and extra 10mph out of her i would have rated this bike 5 stars As efficient on petrol as she is she gulps down the oil. I refill with a 1ltr (14.99) bottle every month

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Had this bike for nearly a year now, absolutely...”

Written on: 15/04/2013 by stiggysaurus (1 review written)

Had this bike for nearly a year now, absolutely fantastic! rock solid, crashed it twice, once in back of a car (in first week haha!) and a 35mph slide and yet the bike still worked with very minor damage, very impressed on how solid it is! I get around 250 miles on a £13 tank and have covered over 10,000 miles and has not broken down once! only parts needed replacing were the general wear & tears, chains, sprockets, tyres etc. and parts are super duper cheap and insurance is very low! i pay just a little over £400 a year which equates to £26/month! cheap as chips! the only issue is the speed, it can lack it up hills but it copes well all round, i ride a lot over mountainous roads with big hills and twisty roads and its really fun, except the hilly parts lol i've had 80mph out of it down a massive hill and a lot of wind behind me, usually it does 65mph on flats, 70-80mph downhill and around 50 up hills but if you use it for commuting it's perfect, parts are cheap, insurance is practically nothing, and petrol is practically nothing too, i woulld highly recommend it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★★★★★

“probably the best bike in the world”

Written on: 16/02/2013

as a full licence holder i bought this bike as a stop gap now several years later i still have it 100+ miles to the gallon i am 6 foot 17 stone and i still get 55mph out of it the only items that needed to be replaced chain and sprockets rear tyer rear indicators and the speedo cable this goes every few months so buy the cheapest dont take on m-way dont forget this is only a 10bhp bike but it is ideal for learners like i said probably the best bike in the world and spares are plentiful as they still make it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★★

“Reliable fun learner bike”

Written on: 06/11/2012 by K3_fan (1 review written)

I bought my GZ 125 K3 for under £700 taxed and mot'd, a previous owner had left it out regularly in rain (uncovered) so it has some rust on handlebars, wheels and exhaust but nothing that takes away attention from it and I loved the look of it, so I bought it. The gear changes can be a little clunky, in that occasionally you can push up for second and end up in neutral (although once you get used to this quirk you can easily compensate by pushing the gear lever up slightly harder), and while the bike will do 65 miles per hour it's happiest doing between 50 and 55 especially on a long run. Just last week alone I did 600 miles on my Marauder and have to say it eats up the miles very well, once started it will keep on going for as long as you can and it handles abuse of the clutch (which learners inevitably inflict now and then) with ease. It can accelerate quickly, gets lots of people staring and asking if it really is a 125 as it looks bigger and, despite being just shy of six feet tall, even I fit on it nicely. It drives well and fuel consumption is very good at around 100 miles per gallon and the bike seems to have a character all of its own. If you want a speed machine this isn't the bike for you, at around twenty stone in weight and with me (weighing seventeen stone) and a large heavy rucksack it easily hits fifty to fifty five miles per hour which is fine for me but if you want a reliable dependable nice looking bike then definitely consider a Marauder. You'll either love it or hate it, I've been through floods, hail storms and heavy rain on it and it is always reliable, it genuinely impresses me and I've grown to absolutely love the bike. It's one of those bikes where you know, whatever the weather, it will see you right and that's good to know. Basically it's a big heavy but endearing bike that won't out run the faster 125's but will get you where you want to go comfortably, reliably and in style.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“good bike maintain it yourself”

Written on: 02/09/2012

ok the gz125 where do i start i have had 2 of these bikes and i find them great i am 5 foot 10 inches 11 stone so i fit perfectly on this bike anybody taller should look for a honda cg125. i thing i should point out about these bikes is that if you are a beginner like i was you have to get dirty with this bike and learn how to maintain it. leave it over winter it will turn to rust so keep it coverd in acf50 and regular washes. the front brakes need looking at you have to learn quick with this bike or they will seize if you have a pressure washer this will help clean out the calipers winter will rust this bike if you dont have it garaged i got a service manual and learned all the basics so to keep this little mouse roarer from squaking and grinding i have traveled from yorkshire to edinburgh and just came back from a camping trip from pitlochry back to edinburgh and about a month ago went to fort william back to edinburgh so this little bike can tour along with the big bikes only much slower saying that get going to pert from edinburgh and you can get to 70mph with the wind behind you but comming back isnt so much fun full out in fourt at 50mph ha ha think dumb and dumber on the monkey bike. but thats where i am with this bike done my cbt a year ago and need t5o move on to bigger bikes. for the street this bike is great suzuki delerships are not avoid them and try to find a good garage and look after the bike yourself. ok not really a great review but i am here to help anyone thats needs advice on this bike so after readinging the average fuel consumption of the gz125 is 85mpg can anyone give there take on this as i have had 2 gz125 and they havent lived up to the quote from a motorbike article i read . any input would be helpfull for all gz125 owners let us know what you are average is

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Dont think I could have picked a better bike. :0)”

Written on: 14/04/2012 by Harvey123 (1 review written)

After having passed my CBT on Friday 13th 2012 (eeek)on a Suzuki VANVAN 125 and sort of muddling my way through it (first time on a bike, information bombardment etc)what an absolute pleasure it was to finally get a good run on my Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder (03 plate with 4300 miles on the clock, for £800...bargain)which I had bought a couple of weeks before.The Marauder doesnt so much pull away as let you glide along with it and let you know "relax son your gonna be alright" as being a small cruiser (not me, the bike)this adorable looking little machine gently builds up its speed giving you time to take in the beauty and feel of the bike as well as your surroundings. Being on the heavy end for a 125 but lighter than a normal cruiser: suits the bike and rider alike in my opinion,you sense when you come to junctions etc, the Marauder just asks for that gentle touch and takes you where you want to go,(the 125 VANVAN seems to be in far too much of a hurry...hey maybe at 44 im just getting old and like the more relaxed pace of the GZ)Roundabouts are a breeze ,feeling like you are on a "carousel", whereas the day before I was sure I was entering the "wall of death" hey same company different bikes, its a demographic thing I suppose.It doesnt so much eat bends, more welcomes them and savours them which leaves the rider only hungry for more.(having put her to bed for the day...IM STARVING!!! I have heard it said "clunky gear changes" and in part I suppose thats true but I thought that went with a cruiser style machine and for me only added to the experience of being on a bigger bike,having said this I was commiting a "faux pas" by riding with baseball boots on (hey it was sunny in Scotland today...need I say more!)and of course when these baseball boots came to a stop, where were they? Yip on the tarmac, not almost up on "tippy-toes" with other bikes I could mention.(short-stop) Hitting 60mph is fine with me, do I feel I need more power, hey maybe in the future when I attain my full licence, but for the time being im happy on this learning curve but I am even happier this curve is being taught by such a gorgeous,well made machine with all HER curves in the right places. Verdict:OH YES

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Victorjones's Response to Harvey123's Review

Written on: 02/09/2012

hi there i have had 2 gz125's i have toured them from yorkshire to edinburgh and just got back from pitlochry from edinburgh on a camping trip.. i am wondering what fuel consumption you are getting .. this is a good dissusion point as to learn what we are getting mpg

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great looks, Inexpensive to run, Fast enough round town!.”

Written on: 17/03/2012 by HartleyBiker (1 review written)

If you want a speed machine.... Do one!.... Go and buy a sports bike!. Now back on point... If you want a great looking bike thats well made and cheap to run this must be the bike for you. It's fast enough about town and gets there swiftly. It's a very enjoyable ride as soon as you get the hang of the niggly well documented neutral gear issue!. I bought a 2000 reg under a week ago and i'm finding myself sat up at stupid o'clock in the morning wanting to go out for a ride... I'm totally loving this bike!. In my opinion people that are slating this bikes build quality must of bought a dud coz mine is 12 years old its been very well looked after. It really does look like it rolled out of the factory yesterday coz its spotless!. I would tell anyone to go ahead and find a marauder that's been well looked after... Don't buy a cheap chinese immitation import just because its cheap... I nearly did and now i'm sooooo glad that i didnt!. Shop around and bag yourself a bargain!. Mine cost just £850.00 I would rate this bike a 9/10. I would have given it a 9 and half if it hadnt took me 3 days to get used to the neutral gear.. Lol. Go buy one now!.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“what a sack of rubbish this bike really is, glad i...”

Written on: 12/01/2012

Wow, this bike has to be the slowest most cumbersome bike ever made. Marauder Suzuki 125 Given it is a Suzuki, and had been kept in a garage I was a bit taken aback at how much rust it had on it. But it was cheap and I knew I could make a swift profit on it so I bought it anyway. I paid 300 quid for it with a years MOT and Tax and sold it for 750 so I did ok out of it - but compared to my Lexmoto Vixen the Suzuki is rubbish. Too slow on the flat. A nightmare going up Anderson Drive in Aberdeen. Well it really did struggle with hills. A real bone shaker. And literally no response to kicking down a gear to accelerate. Now, I found a guy with the same model same year and rode his - just the same!!! Slow and cumbersome and I think badly built with really poor quality metal and chrome given what it would have cost brand new. Marauder - Lol - well it didnt Maraud me!! The guy asked if I would sell him my Vixen - eh No way Matey!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

K3_Fan's Comment

Written on: 06/11/2012

Not sure 2 days ownership is long enough to give it a chance, it can be tough getting up very steep hills (I live in Wales so we have plenty) but even the steepest I can get up at at least twenty to thirty mph.

It is slow compared to a number of other 125's, definitely not a speed machine, but then it is a heavy bike so you'd expect that to be the case. Mine is a K3 and I've actually found it extremely reliable so I'm surprised you've put two stars for reliability but it's definitely a bike people will either love or hate :-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Suzuki GZ 125- Great starter bike”

Written on: 25/10/2011 by marshello16 (1 review written)

I bought my 125 marauder about a month ago now and I'm absolutely in love with it. It's not the fastest bike out there and being a heavier chap (14 stone) it tops out at around the 55-60 mark so for speed you're better off getting a sports bike. That being said, it looks lovely, many people thought it was bigger than it was and guys that hadn't even considered riding bikes before have taken a few sneaky glances at it. The chrome does take a lot of looking after but as long as you have the committment to keeping the bike nice and polish it about once a week/ fortnight it'll be fine Good Points Looks great- as mentioned before the chrome makes it look superb Comfortable- I occasionally suffered from back problems on me old scooter but after an hours riding I still felt very fresh from riding Easy to Handle- As a learner it's great to have such an easy to handle bike that I can get used to at my own pace. Fuel economy- Ride it well and you can squeeze a lot from a relatively small fill up Bad points Neutral- It seems a common feature but you can look a bit of a prat when you think you're in 1st the neutral light is off yet you're not going anywhere. If it happens just boot it down solidly and it should find 1st. Finding neutral when parking up can be difficult, I found the best way of finding it is gently tapping down from second while approaching the stop. Speed- It is a bit slow, and will be outstripped by most of the skinnier bikes but good enough for town riding. Maintenance- It does take a lot of looking after to keep it in good nick

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cal61's Response to marshello16's Review

Written on: 24/03/2012

I love this bike too.Yeah it can be a pain getting into neutral but you kinda get used to it. Can be a bit clunky changing down gears too. By the way its 24 stone in weight not 14 stone. It gets a lot of admiring looks and comments. Who needs speed anyhow....It is a cruiser after all and looks great.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A brilliant commuter and all-round fun bike”

Written on: 06/07/2011 by Rumpleproofskin (3 reviews written)

I've had this cool-looking Marauder for a month now and I'm thrilled I made the right decision. So here's my review in bullet points: • The low centre of gravity and low-slung seat makes this bike very confidence inspiring – an ideal learner bike. You don't fly around on it like a bat out of hell. It induces a more considered style of riding. It's not called a 'cruiser' for nothing! • It's large for its engine size but strangely not heavy or cumbersome. In fact it looks more like a 500+cc bike. And that's got to be a good thing. •Finding neutral can sometimes be tricky when coming to a stop but nothing that causes a hassle; besides I had the same thing on a Yamaha YBR. A quick half-pump of the clutch rectifies the problem. •Being a car driver, the comfy feet front ride suits me down to the ground. Going round sweeping bends is a joy – you really feel like an Easy Rider. Balance is excellent. And you can easily place both feet firmly on the ground at lights. •It could do with a little more oomph during acceleration but, hey, it's fast enough to leave cars at the lights and secure your position on the road. •Top speed is around 50mph. That may seem slow and I'm sure one day I'll wish for something with a higher top end but right now it's no problem at all. •It's a perfect bike for commuting. •It's well built, starts first time and is simply great fun to ride. It sounds great too and I've heard some aftermarket exhausts that sound sublime. •Crucially, it feels SAFE. You're sitting back in the seat, not over the handlebars. The whole riding position makes you want to ride at a sedate pace. Why rush? Occasionally I'll filter past static traffic; other times I'm happy to sit in the queue. •I guess older car drivers like me will go for this more than whizz kids who love their speed. •The fat tyres grip nicely, soak up blemishes in the road and don't get guided by road ruts like skinny-tyred bikes. •In a nutshell, it's the perfect learner bike that's brilliant to ride; fast enough for towns, fabulous round long bends; easy enough on tight corners and it looks the part. Now, where to find some panniers…

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I bought a 2004 GZ 125 Marauder to commute to work and...”

Written on: 17/05/2011

I bought a 2004 GZ 125 Marauder to commute to work and college, also for the occasional cruise to develop my riding skills prior to taking my full bike test.

Performance
This is a 125 styled cruiser, if your looking to be a speed demon, avoid this bike as it will only disappoint. However if your looking for a comfortable, stable ride that will get you up to 60mph at a healthy pace, this might be the bike for you. Its low centre of gravity will make handling easier in novice hands.

The braking is responsive and solid, the gearbox/clutch can be a bit dicky getting into neutral.

This is probably the only issue I have with this bike, and speaking to more experienced bikers, its a common issue for the model and its something you either learn to live with or will make you sell the bike within weeks of owning it. Personally I can live with it.

The best way I've found so far to get into neutral whilst moving forward to a stop is to slow right down in first with the clutch engaged, then pop the clutch and visit second with the clutch half in, then disengaged and very gently tap into neutral. It doesn't work every time but it has more success than trying to find it from going up from first. Beware false neutrals that will see you either struggling to pull away from junctions or even worse, stalling the poor beast.

Economy
Even in my inexperienced hands I managed just over 100 miles off a full tank, which is about £15 in gas, without playing petrol roulette. A well maintained bike and prudent riding style should see about 110 miles from a tank.

Reliability
My bike has been in almost daily use since I purchased it and has not failed to start first time. No issues with throttle, clutch, brakes, lights, speedo, or indicators.

Comfort
Even though I'm quite a large chap (6'4") this bike is quite comfortable to ride and the riding position does not feel awkward or difficult.

In short if you are looking for a reliable, comfortable and enjoyable 125 cruiser, a Marauder should suit you well.

Get some AutoSol for the chrome, polish her up and hit the open road!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 09/09/2011

i have had my marauder for 1 month now as a first bike using it as a learner bike. i agree with everything you say here and would like to add that so far i have done 117 miles to this tank and still have about a third of a tank left. the only thing that would improve this bike is a fuel gague but other wise a sound bike.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Getreal's Comment

Written on: 17/01/2013

My Son is thinking of the Marauder 125 as a first bike and as a commuter ,I enjoyed reading your review I myself have a Susuki Savage LS650 and the neutral negative also applies to my Bike and can be a pain,my Son really needs reliability and your review has been most helpful, thank you,just caught sight of the next review which states the absence of a fuel gauge as I thought this Bike had one ,the Savage has not got one either so another negative but I am sure He can overcome it as I have thanks once again

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE! ”

Written on: 06/03/2011

DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE!

out of all the 125 cruiser choppers these have to b the worst. got the bikefrom bradford 2010, after the first couple of goes it felt like heaven, everyone i knew thought it was stolen due to me being only 17, comfy, looked good, sounded ok.
but then the problems rolled in,
:no petrol gauge
:dickie neutral
:back brakes a bit slack
:no kick start and the electics are terrible
:slow, 50 at a push
:chugs
:4th gear was a nightmare
:i found a towel in the petrol tank, what the chuff
:starter motor like dumbleores farts.

good points though
: gorgeous, i ad a version without the back rest or extra little seat bits and it made it look smoother
:great tyres
:comfy as hell
:nice chrome
:easy to get to engin and other parts,afetr 8 scooters that was handy
:good throttle, nice and delicate

overal 4.5/10 great summer bike, but get a honda anyway.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 25/07/2011

this is just you buying a rubbish bike and not giving it a good check. "towel in the fuel tank". how much did you get it for?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

K3_Fan's Comment

Written on: 06/11/2012

I'm not sure lack of a petrol gauge is really a problem, I have dne 200 mile trips on mine and never emptied the tank plus it has a healthy fuel reserve so unless you rarely refuel it shouldn't be an issue.

But yes neutral can be a little awkward at times, though I wouldn't agree the back brake is slack as I use it more than the front and it does a good job.

I disagree about its speed though, I'm seventeen stones and the bike weighs about twenty and I've had it at sixty five mph (on the flat, not downhill) though usually I stick to fifty or fifty five but it gets there very easily.

Also not sure what you mean about fourth gear being a nightmare as not found that to be the case.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Organic321's Comment

Written on: 01/11/2011

Sorry mate but it sounds like you bought a melon in the 1st place, i mean age, condition etc... quote \"i found a towel in the petrol tank\" unquote! unless the towel had the \"Suzuki\" emblem stitched onto it i would suggest its had nothing at all to do with their production assembly! (-:

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 24/08/2011

Such a low and vague Rating for this bike, Not all Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder's come with towels in the tank as standard. Thats an issue with the bike seller not the Suzuki GZ 125 Marauder.

This is a BIKE REVIEW SITE ABOUT BIKES NOT ABOUT BIKE DEALERS!!!!

Very good Bike, Looks alot bigger than a 125 (124cc)and sounds heafty to. Currently have a 2008 reg.

Ignore Idiotic Reviews

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 4 Comments
★★★★★

“I bought a 2002 marauder 125 about a week ago for £700...”

Written on: 10/02/2011

I bought a 2002 marauder 125 about a week ago for £700 absolute bargain as all it needed was about five hours of work and a bit of polish to have it looking great again. Mine came with a sissy bay and a pannier support rack (panniers in the mail) and I would recommend you buy these as well as they give the bike a bit more character. I too, like a lot of others was told these bikes could reach 75mph and cruise at 60mph, well after a week of varied riding I cant tell you that 75mph is VERY optimistic, I'm quite light and I could just about get a little over 60mph, but, the bike will sit at 45-50mph quite happily. But, like someone said before, if you want to bomb along at 65-75mph either buy a £2500+ tempremental sports bike or deal with 50-55mph. As for comfort, spot on, I'm just under 6 foot and the day I bought it I rode it home for an hour and a half with only a quick fuel stop to break it up and to my suprise, no numbness cramps or backache- it is literally like riding a leather armchair.

These bikes look and sound beautiful with a few of my mates mistaking it for a 400cc when I first got it. This is my third bike and being used to two strokes I was a tiny bit dissapointed with the lack of performance over 40mph but again, If you want a fast bike don't buy a cruiser. Insurance is dirt cheap, as is tax £15 a year. Fuel economy is brilliant as well.

Alot of people here seem to be suprised by the fact that their chrome is covered in rust... that's what will happen if you don't keep them clean and polish them, that is a little annoying though, I had to learn the hard way from my previous bike that where chrome is concerned, shiled it from rain as much as possible and if it does get rained on or dirty wash it with warm soapy water and dry it within the day or expect to lose your shiny bike to rust. Also, sorry to blab on but just a note, if you do get surface rust on the chrome (There was a lot when I bought it) take a small bit of kitchin foil, scrunch it into a ball and rub the rust lightly- that works a treat and gives you a good clean surface to polish- it doesn't leave any scratches either.


All in all a great little bike, sharp brakes, reasonable performance with an adequate crusing speed and it costs about as much as my old 50cc scooter to run-would def reccommed for someone looking for a reliable bike that looks and sounds great and turns heads.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I've had a full bike licence for years 12 years but...”

Written on: 21/01/2011

I've had a full bike licence for years 12 years but stopped riding about 8 years ago but recently decided to get back into it, a friend of mine said he had a 98 marauder in his back garden, it hadnt been used for nearly 8 years and said I could have it for 100 quid. I threw it in my van as all the brakes where seized. but basically I just filled it with fuel, stuck the jump leads on it and it started up within seconds. i've had to change all the cables as they were rusted solid and clean the carb and get some second hand forks as they were all pitted but it still worked out a really cheap bike and all the electrics and the engine were still perfect after 8 years of rain uncovered in the garden. its a joy to ride and being only 5ft 4 its a perfect low down cruiser. I wont be upgrading to something bigger as i'm perfectly happy cruising around on it or doing 60 mph on the motorway or dual carriageway. lovely looking bike and great seating position. If your a speed demon look elsewhere, but if you want comfort and looks i'd highly recommend this bike... :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Suzuki Marauder 125 is my first bike and I chose...”

Written on: 02/12/2010

The Suzuki Marauder 125 is my first bike and I chose it as it is the type of look I was after in a bike, and after Reading around, including the reviews from here,it was obviously a good, dependable model which had proven itself an. Been going for years.
I agree with some of the other comments about the speed, mine has touched 65mph on a good day/hill, but most of the time my commute and riding has been through London or on a roads since moving outside the m25, so it suits fine. In fact, even once I pass my test I would be loathe to take this on the motorway as it just doesn't have the power. But as long as you accept this, and enjoying the ride is more important to me than speed, then when you're sat astride it, with the chrome speedo just in your vision below the back of the big chrome headlight reflecting the passing trees and sky, it makes you smile.
For a 2002 model it has been a great wee runner, bearing in mind it has gone from what was obviously a good weather weekend rider (only 6000miles on the clock when I bought it) to doing about 46mph round trip mon to fri and weekend miles, she's got pretty faultless performance.
Plan was originally to use her until I passed my test, but now tempted to keep her as a second bike either for commuting or just local runarounds as it's just fun to ride.
Would definitely recommend to any new rider wanting a good, dependable, good-looking ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Love my GZ125 K8 very much, i upgraded to the classy...”

Written on: 02/11/2010

Love my GZ125 K8 very much, i upgraded to the classy look after having my Honda SH125i nicked in early 2010.

In terms of speed it hits 40 easily but from there its literally an uphill struggle, any issues i had were due to neglect from the previous owner / mechanics who have dealt with it.

I have never had weather related start-up issues and have ridden it in all weather conditions (owned it since march, god bless british summer) and the only thing i want to complete it is a pannier / topbox kit to make travelling easier for me.

Overall i would highly reccomend this bike to any L Plate warrior or commuter, i do 25 miles round trip to work each day no worries

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have a love hate relationship with my bike when its...”

Written on: 10/10/2010

I have a love hate relationship with my bike when its working its fantasic but now its getting on a bit i seem to be pushing it a lot even though I have spent time and money on it, my main problems have been the clutch and choke, its a fantastic comuter with rediculouse mpg return. This bike is fantastic in towns and citys struggles with hills but still keeps up with traffic yes it will do 60 + but if riding at this speed constantly you will have more problems in the long run, its haappy at 50 will cruise all day at that speed. Crohme is a nightmare if you ride it in all weather like me I just painted it all looks good as well, I do well over 300 miles a week with this bike and the handling is rearly good and very forgiving, tyres are expensive but last a long time, they keep there money rearly well I paid 11oo pound 4 years a go and its still worth 600 now and I have done over 48000 miles on this bike which is amense for even a normal bike.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by fencer51 on 16th October 2015 Report this content
Would you recommend it to a 56 year old born again motorcyclists?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by rdm4 on 1st July 2015 Report this content
The 2010 speedometer stopped working and not clocking the mileage. All cables look in order. What could be the problem?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by wainus on 12th June 2014 Report this content
I've been looking at buying one of these and there seems to be different variations ie a k6 or a h or an lo and I was wandering what the differences are?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by davidcarbutt on 16th May 2014 Report this content
I live in a hilly area, how is the bike going up-hill? I've heard reports of 20mph

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview