Specsavers Reviews - www.specsavers.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Specsavers - www.specsavers.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Specsavers - www.specsavers.co.uk

Specsavers - www.specsavers.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Too profitable , too busy to worry about me..or you ! ”

Written on: 05/12/2017 by JohnnyMurcia (8 reviews written)

Optical staff at my local outfit are fine....but it all falls down with the sales/admin staff. If you like sitting and waiting , being ignored you will enjoy the experience....! I must stop now I can feel my blood pressure hitting dangerous levels.............. very busy business , massive profits , why worry about you....well they don't. Should have gone to any(f----ing) where, apart from Specslavers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bedford specsavers”

Written on: 28/11/2017 by Ldavis99999 (1 review written)

I had an appointment today in Bedford (i28th November) and both operatives I saw were so lovely. I didn’t get the First Ladies name but she was lovely, and I can’t praise the second lady enough. She was helpful, friendly and knew her stuff. It was a pleasure to been seen by both staff today and think they should be mentioned as I feel the world needs more people like them. :)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish varifocal fell apart in shop when I went to...”

Written on: 13/11/2017 by 347Beebe (1 review written)

Had eye test and ordered new glasses from Specsavers in Aug 17. Been wearing varifocals for 12 years also from Specsavers First pair of glasses- couldn'the see to read without tipping my head right back and only then had very narrow field of vision. They decided that they had got the measurements wrong and ordered a new pair. They have since had several attempts to provide glasses that give me reasonable vision, with the problem variously, being measurement or lens shape issues. When I got… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Sincere thanks to Godalming branch for all your support”

Written on: 26/10/2017

Visited the Guildford branch for an eye test but subsequently chose to go to Godalming branch for glasses as didn't like attitude of one member of staff at Guildford; not friendly. didn't engage in any conversation and showed frustrations with machinery malfunction. Have no problems with Godalming staff despite a couple of issues. Service and support received from all at Godalming branch was professional at all times; staff friendly, polite and true to "no quibble" policy. Had a couple of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 25/10/2017 by Meemamonty (1 review written)

Went to Specsavers Guisborough for an 11am appointment. Got a text message telling me to come for 10.50 for pre test checks. I arrived at 10.35 and reported in offering to go away for a while because I was so early but was told it was fine somebody had just gone in so it would be about 10 minutes. 40 minutes later no one had even spoken to me again no pre tests done when querying what the delay was I was accused of not booking in! Walked out in disgust will never go to Spe savers again!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ndugu1's Response to Meemamonty's Review

Written on: 27/11/2017

Exactly the same thing happened to me at the Hayes branch. Went in at 2.55 for a 3.00 appointment but prechecks done until 3.30 when I was told I will be next but I overheard this guy saying to the girl tha I was the 3rd in line. Walked out in disgust.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Specsavers Ebbw Vale”

Written on: 24/10/2017 by Susanbelvedere (1 review written)

I feel that I was misdiagnosed when I visited the Ebbw Vale store.I went back because as I had told the optician in my appointment I was seeing double but they did not seem interested to put things right.Another optician picked up the problem straightaway & told me I had double vision.I had this for 18 months & had even stopped driving because it was so bad.Specsavers knowing this were not willing to put things right & give me new glasses nor about the condition of my eyes all they wanted was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service or more acurately, lack of.”

Written on: 24/10/2017 by JesseTorres405 (1 review written)

Went into the Basingstoke branch for an eye test appointment, turned up 10 minutes early and was told there was a ten minute delay. I didn't mind as I had allowed 45 minutes with my parking ticket. Just after I had been checked in, someone turned up saying he had missed his appointment (by nearly twenty minutes by my watch) as he could not find the store. The person serving him said they would fit him in at some point. After waiting nearly twenty minutes the guy who couldn't be bothered to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Abrupt Optometrist”

Written on: 07/09/2017 by BrooksDriscoll149 (1 review written)

Visited Birmingham New Street Branch. Reception staff downstairs seemed uninterested. The reception staff upstairs were more polite. Optometrist S.K Sandhu was abrupt and rude, this was raised to the reception manager however I doubt this will be highlighted as she seemed to have a "sweep it under" kind of attitude. Based on the experience with the Optometrist I walked straight out. Will be sticking to Boots… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Mugged off Today”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by greglee (10 reviews written)

Just been mugged i had a 8303 free eye test voucher so when i rang my Spalding branch to make a eye test appointment explained to Ronnie there i had the voucher said its a standard one used in all branches will be fine to use.So today when booking in said i have a voucher they said just show after the eye test ,well after my eye test did show was told cant use the 8303 voucher as not accepeted in all branches really well i said i was told and by whom when i booked my appointment .Said will take… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor quality frames”

Written on: 01/09/2017

You feel as though you are getting a great deal, buy one get one free. But actually I feel the quality of the frames is poor compared with a pairs I have purchased from an independents previously ( 5 year plus They at still going strong ) I haven't had a pair in the last 4 years that hasn't either come loose, or required adjustment, or in the case of my last two pairs. Arms fell off... When you add on Scratch guard tint etc etc. The glasses aren't actually that competitive. Shop around. And… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dennissa14's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2017

Agree with this comment, I purchased glasses from specsavers this year, within six months both arms fell off. Returned to store and told not a warranty issue. Which it obviously was. will never return to this store as quality is very poor.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Prescribe glasses when not required”

Written on: 05/08/2017 by Greta431 (1 review written)

I went to my local specsavers and had an eyetest my eyes were .25 &.50 they insisted I needed glasses and it was of the up most urgency that I got them.asap I believed them and as I only needed them for reading I went for the cheapest possible glasses but the assistant kept insisting that none of the cheap styles suited me she kept pushing me to the £79 range after 45 minutes of pressure selling I ended up with a £79.pair of glasses. Two years later I went back and they claimed my eyes were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My visit was scary”

Written on: 04/08/2017

I was moved swiftly from cupboard to cupboard. A girl puffed air into my eyes four times and threatened she would continue to do so if I did not open my eyes. I had not been asked! A man who had two names told me I had astigmatism on my right eye. He refused to answer my obvious question. After a search of many disorganised cupboards I was sold glasses which were much too strong. I eventually contacted someone in Guernsey who advised it was a franchise. Yesterday I took advantage of the no fuss… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“eyesight test LLanishen Cardiff”

Written on: 15/07/2017 by Rolandj118 (1 review written)

In 2016 I was referred to the eye clinic in Cardiff in February 2017to have my cataracts removed.It was discovered that I had wet AMD. My driving licence was revoked and I had the course of treatments. The DVLA wanted proof that my eyesight was suitable to apply for my licence again so when my eye test was due I went to Specsavers. I was told that my eyesight hadn't changed enough from my last test and I was told it was not worth having new glasses. I came away with the prescription and noticed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service”

Written on: 04/07/2017 by Lara62 (1 review written)

I booked an appointment online, and received a confirmation email of my booking. On arriving today for my appointment the assistant had no record of any booking for me. I was not given an apology; I contacted Specsavers over my appointment, and they have not replied. The assistant I spoke to looked like she had just left school, and couldn't understand simple English; having to repeat myself several times to each question. This didn't exactly instill confidence in me. I found another company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor”

Written on: 30/06/2017 by Kadenq261 (1 review written)

Varifocal glasses very poor, the varifocal areas are totally wrong can't see much all blurred, glasses poor fitting and too heavy on nose causing headache, then fell apart after only 3weeks. Very expensive for designer range and poor quality. Definitely not recommend to anyone to go specsavers - also kept waiting for over 15 minutes to see optician and get eye test then she said I had dry eyes - of course I did after sitting waiting with the air conditioning blasting at me!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Bad practice”

Written on: 28/06/2017 by TonyWalk (1 review written)

I have been a Guernsey Specsavers customer for six years now and recently on purchasing a further two pair of glasses I was told after paying the requested price that 1 pair would be made initially and if happy with them the other pair would be supplied. Why then have I been asked for a further payment for the second pair? Apparently I had only paid for the initial pair to be fitted with tinted lenses !!! how is that possible when I have a 2 for 1 deal on exactly the same glasses. I think that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“specsavers appointment time”

Written on: 17/06/2017 by Macie43 (1 review written)

I had an appointment at 09.40 and realised I was running a bit late and would not be there on time. I phoned ahead to let them know and was told that this was not a problem as long as I would not be later than 10 minutes after my appointment time. I arrived with 2 minutes to spare, to be told that I would not be seen and would need to book another appointment. If I had been told when I phoned ahead I would not have bothered wasting my time and fuel trying to get there within 10 minutes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“RUBBISH HEARING AIDS ”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by gazza999 (1 review written)

I am now 60 and thank you nhs for throwing us hard of hearing people under the bus now as for spec savers hearing aids errr rubbish can't hear with them went in to complain and got well we can't turn it up any more go back to your doctors ....what for staff pleasant but I'm not there for smiles just want my hearing aid that works oh and I've at to go on eBay buy one well what's my other choices… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by Greenedf464 (1 review written)

As soon as they found out we were NHS customers and not 'paying' customers we were treated like rubbish at the Crown Point store, they more or less asked us to leave as we were taking up full paying customers time! We have both worked all our lives and now, due to unfortunate circumstances have found ourselves on disability benefit, its not through choice! We were talked to abruptly, treated rudely and all done in the waiting room full of other customers, we weren't even took into a separate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Both marshmills + plymstock outstanding”

Written on: 09/06/2017 by Postbridge (1 review written)

Broke my glasses went to both stores on a Sunday and the service I was given was brilliant! I was so impressed with their kindness and the service I was given. Thanks so much… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview