Troy (15) Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4 / 5
89% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

This years big epic starring Brad Pitt, Orlando Bloom and Diane Kruger.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Troy (15) - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Troy (15)

Troy (15)
Troy (15)
Troy (15)
Troy (15)
Troy (15)

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Interesting battle”

written by naliedsa on 21/01/2022

The film ignores the existence of Greek gods, turns its heroes into action movie stereotypes, and shows that we've had enough of them. What an interesting battle it is?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best movie ever!”

written by alicewhat420 on 30/11/2021

The storyline is superb!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A long watch, but just about a worthwhile one”

written by RiaKatoka on 02/04/2021

A long watch, but just about a worthwhile one. I enjoyed 'Troy', in short. A film, interestingly given his recent exploits, written by a certain David Benioff. It definitely has more than a few pacing issues, but they only affect the enjoyment factor minorly - at least to me.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“A long watch, but just about a worthwhile one.”

written by NoahaLeon12 on 17/03/2021

A long watch, but just about a worthwhile one. I enjoyed 'Troy', in short. A film, interestingly given his recent exploits, written by a certain David Benioff. Troy is a 2004 epic historical war film

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“not that better”

written by ShazamJetty on 21/01/2021

Poor role models, of course, some nudity including the threesome, nude butts here and there, cheating wives/husbands, useless violence, overall a movie with not much to offer...goes to show there are egotistical idiots even way back then.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Has pretty enthralling battle scenes”

written by AdelinaBelarus on 05/01/2021

To be honest, this movie is beyond disappointing, nonetheless, has pretty enthralling battle scenes, along with scenes that portray wisdom, honor, glory, bravery, and much, much more. Yes, of course there are scenes here and there that are in need of emotion in certain areas, but you need to understand that characters like Achilles, are meant to be battle-heartened, sure, there could have been a little more emotion, but this is the case.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Incredible”

written by DissHansen on 25/11/2020

Incredible set pieces, excellent battle scenes, and overall an enjoyable and entertaining film. For a parental guide, I agree with CSM on the content and age suitable for this movie BUT I do warn everyone the Director's Cut of this film is much more graphic.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Story of love”

written by Nova-44 on 10/11/2020

Its an epic story of love, betrayal and planning. One of many flim which can not be forgotten over the years.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best action”

written by KalingaKeshariRath on 07/11/2019

Great time, Great movie. It is the best war movie i think war lovers should watch it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great real Story ”

written by Jordan_Green on 21/01/2016

Great catch from history.Everyone like this movie ware for love.Great films for everyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“ Helen of Troy, she of the face that launched a...”

written by Frank_Matinez on 08/02/2013

Helen of Troy, she of the face that launched a thousand ships, has company in Wolfgang Petersen’s Troy. Brad Pitt, who I always considered to be a little too much of a “pretty-boy”, is growing up, getting older, maturing, and it looks good on him. Looking well-tanned and quite buff, Pitt stars as Achilles, one of the most famous warriors of all time, in this summer blockbuster. But is Brad’s pretty face and studly body enough to carry the film? Not to worry, there’s so much more to Troy than at first meets the eye! In case you’ve forgotten the Iliad, let me give a very brief recap to refresh your memory. Paris (Orlando Bloom) falls for Helen (Diane Kruger). Helen is the Queen of Sparta, married to King Menelaus (Brendan Gleeson), much older than the beautiful Helen, and not a particularly pleasant man. Helen runs off to the walled city of Troy with Paris and his brother, Hector (Eric Bana). Menelaus asks his brother, King Agamemnon (Brian Cox) to help him avenge his honour. The ever greedy and power hungry Agamemnon agrees, wanting to seize Troy, where King Priam (Peter O’Toole) rules, and thus take over the Aegean. Achilles is called upon to help the Greeks defeat Troy. Achilles, who seems to fight only to have immortality, to know that always his name will be known as a magnificent warrior. Pitt gives a pretty convincing performance as Achilles. With a range of emotions that I honestly thought might be beyond him, he played the warrior well. Not that its an Academy Award performance, but he did a commendable job. The supporting cast of this movie is superb. Eric Bana plays Hector with a convincing nobility and an honesty of character that was completely believable. Orlando Bloom did a good job playing the cowardly Paris, definitely giving more depth to his acting resume. Brian Cox as Agamemnon was superb, a greedy, power-hungry, uncaring and ferocious man. Peter O’Toole ruled his scenes with a true nobility and grace that brought out the best in Pitt in one very moving scene in the film, which may seem a bit of a surprise in such a summer spectacle as Troy. Wolfgang Petersen (The Perfect Storm) directs this movie perfectly. This is an enormous movie, awe-inspiring, elaborate, and realistic looking. You really do feel like you’re watching 50,000 soldiers, shields and spears and swords clanging and crashing, battles elaborately done, heaving bodies, shields, swords, all crashing and slashing, blood and gore and all. Yes, this movie does have the expected amount of violence and bloodshed required for so many huge battle scenes. But there is more to the movie than battle scenes. There are touching love scenes with Achilles and Briseis (Rose Byrne), Paris’ cousin who has been taken prisoner, as well as tender moments with Paris and Helen. There are intimate moments between family and friends, powerful moments without any battle scenes at all, and a story that moves along quite well. The movie runs over two and a half hours, and I have to admit, when I heard that I wondered just what I had gotten myself into. But I really didn’t find that the movie dragged all that much. It seemed to move along quite well without losing steam; the storyline made sense, and the transitions from scene to scene went seamlessly, without any really abrupt, jarring changes. The script was written by David Benioff (who also wrote Spike Lee’s 25th Hour), and although there was some dialogue that seemed hokey, it didn’t hurt the film that much. I did find that the Gods of Greek mythology didn’t play much part in this film, being reduced more to little extras, and either revered by some or looked upon with cynicism by others. I didn’t find that to be a problem with the film, just something that I noticed. What did my companions think of the film? I took my son (twelve) and my brother to the sneak preview tonight. My brother really enjoyed the movie, and didn’t seem to feel it dragged at all. My son was bouncing in his seat, alternating between hoping the love scenes would end soon (which they did), to thoroughly enjoying the rest of the storyline and the battle scenes and one on one fights throughout the film. I really enjoyed the movie. There’s something for chicks and adventure movie lovers in this flick. We all recommend it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great all round film, wooden horse very good, good...”

written by on 06/07/2008

Great all round film, wooden horse very good, good battle and fight scenes, good storyline and great scenery views.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Troy - Following the publicity, this film should have...”

written by bigdeer on 04/08/2004

Troy - Following the publicity, this film should have been an epic to rival the likes of Gladiator. Talk about false advertising. Save for a couple of good fight scenes (Pitt v. Bana for one) there is nothing else going for this film. The dialogue is forgettable, the music is unremarkable and even the gratuitous shots of Brad Pitt's naked backside were overdone and robbed from Legends of the Fall.

If you really want to see this film, rent it on DVD when it has already been out for six months, or better still, if you have a friend daft enough to buy it, borrow it from them for free!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Compared to other epics along this line i.e. Spartacus...”

written by thegriff on 22/06/2004

Compared to other epics along this line i.e. Spartacus and Gladiator, Troy has now become my favourite. From the start Achilles as you gripped and the story portrays him as he was a great fighter not a god. In Helen, Paris really did find a beauty and the Greeks rose as a nation to fight for her back. The fight scenes I believe are as good as the return of the king battles and the story is spot on apart from one slip when the Greeks emerge from the horse inside Troy.
All in all the best film I have ever seen.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Troy is OK. It's not fantastic but it was definitely...”

written by shakytumbleweed on 10/06/2004

Troy is OK. It's not fantastic but it was definitely watchable. Bana played Hector superbly, really brought the doomed hero from the Illiad to life. And Pitt, give him his due, played Achilles well too. It was just that the movie seemed to lack something. A certain zing. "...Va-va voom" as Thierry would put it. I think that too much emphasis was put on the fight scenes. The LOTR trilogy worked so well because the story was the main thing and the huge impressive war scenes worked within that story. I suppose this movie actually being about a war meant that there wasn't much more to be told than the fighting. I don't know, I think that maybe if Agamemnon had been more believable, his lust for power, his hunger to spread the Greek Empire etc, it might of linked the big battle scenes together a little better, given the film a reason rather than just to blow some more special effects dollars.

Have to say though that the battle between Hector and Achilles at the gates of Troy was fantastic. One of the most skilled, well choreographed and intense sword fights I have ever seen.

Lastly, I have to say however that Orlando Bloom was pony. Pony, pony, pony! He is a cardboard actor. He was woeful in Pirates of the Caribbean and he is just as woeful in this. Worked in LOTR because you kid yourself that that is just how elves are (or would be if they weren't just fictional characters), but here... C'EST TERRIBLE!!! I think Wolfgang Petersen (director) twigged too, he even tried to capture past glories by giving him a bow and arrow at the end.

Overall: Fair to middling, worth going to see, but I wouldn't porn my grandad's war medals to buy a ticket.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Troy is very good. The only thing I expected which...”

written by cjrog20 on 05/06/2004

Troy is very good. The only thing I expected which wasn't there was that there was no explanation of Acilies, like why he is immortal and why his heel is his weekness. Nor did it talk about the young price of Troy's dream where he is shown Acilies' weekness. It is a brilliant film and the story line is very good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Troy is a thoroughly enjoyable film, that certainly...”

written by principessaleah on 31/05/2004

Troy is a thoroughly enjoyable film, that certainly takes liberties with the story as Homer wrote it, and steals more than a little from Gladiator, but is nevertheless worth seeing at least once.

Brad Pitt is fantastic as Achilles, the greatest soldier of them all. Spoilt, vain and ferocious he's not a hero - he's a fighter. He pouts and preens, and also involves himself in a rather touching romance.

Orlando Bloom shows surprising willingness to play the weakling Paris, the man who causes the war by stealing Helen, wife to a Greek King, from under his very roof. He's cowering fear in hand to hand combat is fantastic and although I doubt he'll ever carry a film alone he shows again that he's a perfectly capable ensemble player.

Eric Bana is occasionally wooden as Hector, but it's difficult to bring life to this honourable character who is the real hero of the story. He's a good father, a good leader and a good brother. What a guy!

Plus there's a who's who of English character actors, including Brian Cox as the villain of the piece, the expansionist Agamemnon, Peter O Toole (a bit starey eyed) as wise old King Priam and Sean Bean as the tricksy Odysseus (yes, the one who goes off on the Odyssey). It's great to see so much talent on screen, and although the script is occasionally cheesy, generally its not wasted.

The special effects are fantastic, almost unnoticeable until you start thinking about the fact that there are so many soldiers on screen or the fact that the sea is literally covered in barges. The fight scenes are wonderfully choreographed, and although there's no holding back they certainly aren't gratuitously bloody. Indeed, the battle between Hector and Achilles is actually remarkably bloodless, yet no less affecting for all that.

The music is unfortunately unmemorable apart from the fact that it bears a striking resemblence to Gladiator - but I guess in a film this big they couldn't get everything right.

All in all I would highly recommend this film. It's an experience to behold on the big screen.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Troy has a great opening sequence narrated by Sean...”

written by Vasilis on 24/05/2004

Troy has a great opening sequence narrated by Sean Bean, who plays Greek warrior Odysseus. Stunning visuals keep the viewer hooked while also showing originality in many of the scenes.
As for the feel of the film, Petersen has done a remarkable job in visualising Homer's world. From the detailed costumes and weapons to the impressive reconstruction of Troy itself, everything has a remarkably authentic and textured feel. With CGI used in tandem and realistically with good old-fashioned stunt-work, the battle scenes easily rival anything Peter Jackson's 'The Lord Of The Rings' trilogy managed to conjure up.

Evoking a similar feeling to the opening of Saving Private Ryan, Petersen manages particularly to capture the terror of fighting on the beaches when arrows, spears and swords are flying at you in all directions. Added to this, the film has what Lord Of The Rings lacked - a series of jaw-dropping one-on-one duels performed by the actors, rather than stuntmen and scenes -a- plenty of great screen acting and character development.

Despite being a lengthy, yet appropriate 163 minutes, Petersen paces the film expertly. With the film dominated neither by action nor dramatic scenes, he ensures there's time to become involved with all the major characters, and he shows no bias towards either warring side. (Though Brian Cox's character, Agamemnon was perhaps wrongly portrayed as a bit of a war-mongerer).

This brings us to the film's high point - the cast. There's not a bad apple in the barrel here, although Orlando Bloom turns in the film's weakest performance. If you can get over blond-haired, blue-eyed Pitt playing a Greek, you'll be fine. (In the Iliad, Achilles is described as having yellow hair) He is, after all, portraying a legend-in-his-own-time, and who better to fit that role? In perfect physical condition, Pitt conquers the combat scenes with ease. That he masters the dialogue with similar skill comes as more of a surprise.

With the likes of O'Toole, Cox and Gleeson adding nobility and stature to proceedings, other standouts include Bana, who gets better with every film. Only Kruger, as Helen, appears to be overawed by the importance of her role - though given that she's playing the woman whose face launched a thousand ships, perhaps that's understandable.

With Benioff's script toying with the relationship of man to war ("We men are wretched things," notes Achilles), the contemporary resonance is not lost on the audience. This is a film of unprecedented scale and deservedly presides at the top of the movie spectrum alongside classics such as Gladiator. While Petersen's Troy may not last as long as 'The Iliad' in the memory, the chances are it will be remembered for some time to come.

In a time when 'epic' has become a lazy prefix to any large-scale film, Petersen's effort truly deserves the label; not only for its startling battle scenes but also for a series of powerful performances by three generations of world class actors.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vasilis's Response to Vasilis's Review

Written on: 14/07/2004

This guy knows what he's talking about. Incredible review.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview