Sony MDR-V700 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
65% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Comfort Level

  • Value For Money

Summary

Cable
Professional
Stereo
3000 Mw
Over The Head
5 - 30000 Hz
24 Ohms
107 Db/mw
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sony MDR-V700 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sony MDR-V700

Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700
Sony MDR-V700

Specification for Sony MDR-V700

Main Features
Style Headband
Style Headband
Connection Cable
Connection Cable
Purpose Professional
Purpose Professional

Features:
  • Reversible swivel earcups for DJ and remix single-sided monitoring, and an auto-return swivel mechanism
  • Supra-aural design ensures excellent comfort and creates a controlled environment for better sound
  • Huge, 50 mm drivers deliver deep bass down to 5 Hz and provide outstanding dynamic range
  • 3,000 mW power handling for the most stringent professional applications and daily use at very high output levels
  • Detachable 10-foot, single-sided cord made of oxygen-free copper for high conductivity
  • Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “brought a pair when they first came out,had them 9...”

    Written on: 16/11/2010

    brought a pair when they first came out,had them 9 years,only broke last year at the swivel point,but hey nine years of hammering out breaks/trance you name it-it's been played through them.never had a sound problem with them ever,so thats why i just brought another pair from hard to find for £89,all smiles peoples

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★☆☆

    “The sound quality of the headphones is about as good...”

    Written on: 12/08/2010

    The sound quality of the headphones is about as good as my in-ear earphones (sony MDR-XB40EX), but the sound levels i an achieve with these are much. much higher.

    For comfort they are the best i've ever had, fit's snuggly around my ear lobes, and i love the vibrations they give when they are loud, however, some people may find the heat that accumulates uncomfortable, but for me, not a problem. Also, listening to them for hours (and falling asleep with them on) proves to me they are superbly comfortable.

    Build quality is excellent, however, keep an eye on the hinges if you buy, they may become damaged if not properly cared for.

    Value for money is good, but buying them direct from sony cost me £99.99, whereas Amazon is under £70. However, if you are looking for Headphones with bass, quality of build and comfort, i think you will be happy with these.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “These are very god headphones, I like the sound...”

    Written on: 14/02/2010 by catalin123m (7 reviews written)

    These are very god headphones, I like the sound quality very much although somethime they hurt my ears if i listen too much!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★☆☆☆

    “Within not even a month of having these, i started to...”

    Written on: 12/02/2010

    Within not even a month of having these, i started to only get sound out of one headphone, then the other went within a week, so for the past month, ive had to hold the headphones in a certain way with my hands to get the sound out of them. Yes they got great sound quality, but the jack is messed up. Ive read other reviews where people read the same thing. I would never buy a pair of these again, i would only use them if i got another pair for free. I would not recommend these to a friend. I suggest buying different headphones. These are very poor although they have good sound quality. I REPEAT DO NOT BUY THESE HEADPHONES! Probably made in china in the back of Mcdonalds bathroom. I am giving my honest opinion. This is not a joke and im not exagerating.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I have owned a set of Sony MDR-V700 for almost 5 years...”

    Written on: 22/09/2009

    I have owned a set of Sony MDR-V700 for almost 5 years now and they are still going strong! (only a slight crack on one of the swivel joints)

    One driver on the original pair I had stopped working after about 2-3 months, but Sony's customer service was great (as always) and sent a brand new pair promtly. Pretty much perfect for what they were design for, a DJ. They easily produce a loud, clear sound which makes them great for use in loud environments, ie. clubs. My only gripe is that they become uncomfortable during long periods of use (2+ hours) but nothing unbearable.

    Having said that, if these headphones were to suddenly stop working for whatever reason tomorrow, I would buy another set of these headphones, brilliant!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★☆☆☆☆

    “The Sony Sony MDR-V700 are badly designed,they are...”

    Written on: 25/08/2009

    The Sony Sony MDR-V700 are badly designed,they are knowing to break at the swivel
    points.Sony deny it's a design fault because they would have to replace so many of them.My advice is not to buy them just check on the internet and you will see for yourself.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “if you want to hear true quality, ”

    Written on: 30/07/2009

    if you want to hear true quality,
    specially dB intensity,
    these sony mdr-v700 is perfectly for you...

    smokin'''

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “The Sony MDR-V700 have a great sound! Little bit heavy”

    Written on: 09/06/2009

    The Sony MDR-V700 have a great sound! Little bit heavy

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★☆☆

    “"audiophilic jazz freaks won't like them".”

    Written on: 03/06/2009 by referb1001 (1 review written)

    "audiophilic jazz freaks won't like them".

    Wish I'd read the reviews before purchase. The above quote could not be more true.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “Sony MDR-V700 are a quality set of headphones. As...”

    Written on: 23/05/2009 by Songwraith (1 review written)

    Sony MDR-V700 are a quality set of headphones. As noted by others, they are great for listening to IPod or ITunes music and tend to make the music "larger than life." They accomplish this however, by emphasizing the bass. They do not offer a true sound representation. I use these in the studio for composing and arranging and rough mixes--but the mixes are rough. After the composition and arrangement solidify, I often offset their bias with a master EQ that rolls off the bass and start the rough mix. This gets me closer, but it's ballpark math. Due to their bias, they can only get me in the final mix ballpark.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I like listening to the Sony MDR-V700 on my hi-fi,...”

    Written on: 15/05/2009

    I like listening to the Sony MDR-V700 on my hi-fi, they comfortable to wear and have a great sound. I would recomend them.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “Essentially the MDR-V700's are DJ headphones, and...”

    Written on: 09/05/2009 by djianscott (2 reviews written)

    Essentially the MDR-V700's are DJ headphones, and probably the best ones on the current market in terms of value for money. Sound quality is okay, nowhere near as good as open-back or studio headphones from the likes of Sennheiser or Bayer, but as a working DJ in a loud environment these are perfect. I'm on my second pair (twice-weekly use) and would definitely buy again.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “i just bought another pair of these Sony MDR-V700. i...”

    Written on: 13/04/2009 by marcusneal (1 review written)

    i just bought another pair of these Sony MDR-V700. i love em and they especially sound great for dance and trance music!i personally dont think for around the 80 pounds mark you will find a better set of headphones.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “These headphones are primarily designed for DJ use and...”

    Written on: 27/02/2009 by SimonJames (1 review written)

    These headphones are primarily designed for DJ use and unless you are a DJ or listen regularly to dance music, I would look elsewhere as these tend to portray music in a slightly "larger than life" way, which while initially may grab your attention, actually drowns out smaller details found in more acoustic music. Sounds like fingernails plucking on a guitar string, or someone coughing in an audience will be harder to detect. Open back designs from companies like Beyerdynamic tend to offer a more of these details and little more openness.

    If you are a club DJ, or feed on a diet of pounding dance music however, there is really nothing better at any price, and when you listen to these, it becomes instantly apparent. The frequencies important to DJs are found in the lower bass, the midrange "clap" sound, and the mid treble and it's here where the Sony's excel. Each of these areas are delivered with breathtaking clarity, and the punch in the bass is phenomenal.

    With regard to the durability, I know this has presented some problems to some users, but mine have now just entered their fifth year of service. The brackets where they are known to break are still fine, but the padding is now fraying on the earpads and the headband.

    In short, I have no complaints whatsoever for the job they are designed to do, and for dance music, they are just perfect. If your tastes are more in the direction of acoustic and classical music, your money will be better spent elsewhere.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Sony MDR-V700 are music lover's headphones, although...”

    Written on: 26/01/2009 by paulgarrard501 (1 review written)

    Sony MDR-V700 are music lover's headphones, although audiophilic jazz freaks won't like them.
    Fabulously musical headphones especially when used with iPods and personal stereos, in which application they are far superior to much more expensive designs due to their better electrical characteristics e.g. sensitivity and impedance: you can obtain generous but safe volume levels. Senheiser's HD650 and HD555 are no good with any personal stereos I've tried whereas the Sony's make them sound fantastic. The Sony's sound a touch boxy but only in the bass. They're a closed design whereas hi-fi buffs favour the sound of open designs - all very well as long as you don't wear them in a public place such as on a train, in which case noise leaks in and music leaks out if. The Sony's are much more practical for everyday use: they keep the noise out and the music in.
    Slightly muffled or boxy bass and smaller sound stage than an open backed headphone of similar price: nevertheless offset by superior midrange and treble and greater musicality. A more convincing sound. With an iPod or a Sony personal CD player I would say these headphones emulate the 'musicality' and pure pleasure of a high end active audio system convincingly at a fraction of the cost.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★☆

    “I got my headphones from Amazon UK for £42 with...”

    Written on: 26/10/2008

    I got my headphones from Amazon UK for £42 with delivery and after reading about the z700s and also fake version of these headphones i was quite worried about not getting the real deal. (If you are not aware of the z700s then research before buying). However they arrived in all their genuine v700 glory. I bought these for personal use, on the train etc, as i'm not a DJ and i never will be.
    Firstly, the sound quality is amazing. The frequency range is astonishing, it goes from 5 - 30,000 hertz which is well beyond a human's hearing range which is 20 - 20,000 hertz. The bass in particular is awesome.They also look great and have a really handy coiled lead which is short but can extend to a good few metres at a stretch and fold up to quite a small size which is handy for carrying around. And a sexy little case to put them in. They're reasonably comfortable but might hurt after a while, i wear glasses and they hurt my ears after an hour or so but should be ok otherwise.
    The only concern i have is the hinges are already squeaking and i can't see them lasting forever, so if you are a full time DJ doing 3 gigs a week or whatever you may need to replace them once or twice. But to be honest, it's got to be worth it. I have a pair of Beyer Dynamic DT 770 i use mainly for studio recording and these aren't far off those. I can seriously recommend these headphones for personal use at least and i would imagine they would be perfect for all you DJs out there.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Great headphones for the amount of time I've had them....”

    Written on: 25/10/2008

    Great headphones for the amount of time I've had them. Great sound, had them for 4 years now, still going strong, although i had to rig the left headphone with a tie wrap. Heavy... real heavy for constantly using them.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★☆☆

    “The Sony MDR-V700 are absolutely brilliant if you are...”

    Written on: 07/10/2008

    The Sony MDR-V700 are absolutely brilliant if you are the only user, and they are lovingly cared for. The sound quality is way beyond anything I have ever heard. Not cheap - but seriously worth it.

    Dont buy, if like me you leave them lying around or they get knocked about. They will break easily.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “Great sound, right side speaker broke!!! I didn't even...”

    Written on: 28/08/2008 by flowflower (1 review written)

    Great sound, right side speaker broke!!! I didn't even drop them or anything. I've noticed maniy other reports of the same. It must be a manufacturing defect or concise engineering design to make you buy another pair because you love the sound so much. Lame??!!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I have been a professional DJ for over 20 years now...”

    Written on: 30/07/2008 by darrenjames140 (1 review written)

    I have been a professional DJ for over 20 years now and I have not found a better head phone. The mounting points are weak but Sony have now introduced a mark 2 with reinforced joins.
    However, my major problem is the amount of fakes that have flooded the market - I have so far been sent three sets of fakes that have been sent straight back.
    They are loose, the cups rotate and the sound is poor. If one side of your Sony's has dropped out after only a week or whatever, chances are they are fake. Its virtually impossible to blow the drivers in these headphones!!.
    Only buy from a Sony dealer and avoid ebay like the plague.
    Basically if you see these going for less that 70 quid, they are likely replicas.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    overview