American Airlines Reviews

★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
12% of users recommend this
  • Flight on time?

  • Customer service

  • Comfort on flight

  • Quality of Entertainment

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
American Airlines - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for American Airlines

American Airlines
American Airlines

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Reduce flight fee hacks”

written by ulPeacock202 on 09/09/2022

I remember signing up with my Opensky Secured Card for cheaper airfare hacks and lodging.Rocketsky team is a certified cyberspace expert who specializes in hacking and lowering airline tickets for people. Travel the world for almost half the price of the initial price. I experienced these topnotch services when I booked First Class tickets {return} and hotel reservations at cheaper rates when I traveled to Auckland, New Zealand last August. That saved me about $3800 from my expenses. They also save you less time and stress in getting available reservations, which is why I recommend it to everyone you can reach out via telegram {rocketskycredit} for your cheap tickets and accomodation fee

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“horrible communication”

written by Medeirosaa397 on 15/08/2022

I used this airline for a flight to Sevilla, Spain with a layover in Barcelona. In Barcelona, I was not allowed to board my flight due to it being overbooked and was then told that there were no other flights and to get a hotel room. The representatives at the airport were extremely rude and not at all understanding. I had things I had to be at later that night so I took a train down to Sevilla and have been trying to get refunded for both the flight and inconvenience of having to take the train for the past three months when I was originally told I would receive the refund in 7-10 business days. I have called multiple times and spoke to multiple representatives, all of whom were helpful or at least tried to help but found out that my refund was denied, and no one bothered to reach out and let me know. I am extremely disappointed in the lack of communication and will not be using this airline anymore. I have been telling friends and family to avoid this company as well.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Loyalty Program and Using Award Miles”

written by on 26/02/2022

American Airlines website touts their loyalty program as easy to use. My husband and I have 450,000 award miles and we wanted to buy coach tickets for a trip in October to Europe and upgrade to Business with our miles. We were told by 4 different airline representatives that this was not possible. We were told the following by various representatives: the award seats have not been released yet; there are never award seats on these flights; we were too late as people started booking the award seats a year ahead of time; we could buy coach and be wait listed in case business opened up; we should just buy business seats; we could use all our miles to get one free business ticket and then buy one--but when we said ok, she could not actually book it. We feel the website is false and misleading and the loyalty program is pointless. We are very disappointed by AA and the representatives who gave us so many conflicting stories.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid AA. Lost my bag and will not resolve”

written by LondonHopkins50 on 13/01/2022

AA lost my bag and it is impossible to speak to a live agent to resolve the issue. I have been placed on hold several times for 2+ hours, only to have the agent transfer my call to be placed on hold for another 2+hours. They give the option to call back, but do not call back. I have been unable to contact them for four days. Avoid this airline. They are short staffed and it shows. Customer service is the worst.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Airline Ever”

written by Skunked on 12/01/2022

My wife and I flew first class on American Airlines from Dallas/Ft Worth to Jacksonville, Fl. on 01/03/2022. We witnessed our male and female flight attendants engage in touching each other the whole flight. They were deep kissing and rubbing each other all over, very disturbing to watch and I don't think they cared one bit that we could see them. She stood in front of him while he put his hand up her dress, then sat on his lap while he did the same thing. They spent more time with each other and on their phones than waiting on passengers. We wachted her drink wine and eat peanuts while her feet were up in the air on the back wall showing her panties to all and her boyfriend. When I contacted A.A. by email (the ONLY way they let you), I expressed my outrage and disappointment and demanded that someone call me. A week later I got a call from someone WHO TOLD ME that they would look into it but that we would NEVER hear back from them and that was the end of our conversation. Find another airline to fly the friendly skies but not with aa. I didn't want to give my review. a one star, I wanted to give it a negative 5. Flight 1270 on Jan 3. /2022

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A wonderful experience ”

written by NathaliaHorton on 12/01/2022

I want to give a shout out to the young lady who worked the ticket desk at gate 5 on Dec 3, 2021 Roanoke, VA. I was returning home from a business trip. My original flight didn't depart until after 4 p.m. Due to my work ending early this day, I got to the airport and asked if it was possible for me to go on standby for a flight that departed at 12:34 p.m. Not only did this AA employee accommodate me in making this flight but, she also placed me on standby ahead of time for my connecting flight in Charlotte. Consequently, I was able to make the next flight as well being the first one on the standby list with only one seat becoming available. The outstanding service this wonderful employee provided to me is absolutely second to none! Her wonderful attitude and willingness to help is something I won't forget. Thank you so much for going the extra mile in helping me make both flights! Please hire more workers like her. The flight out of Roanoke, Virginia was AA 6124 that boarded at 12:04 p.m.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Thank You ”

written by SharonCollett on 27/02/2020

This is a big shout out for an American Air lines employee. On Feb.20,2020 I took a flight with American Air Lines from Harlingen Texas to the Dallas FT Worth airport. We landed in E and I had to get to C14. There I was catching another plane to Toronto Ontario. I had 41 minutes to get to that connecting flight. I actually ended up with 30 mins as my carry on luggage got tagged and therefore I had to wait for it. This was my first time to be in the Dallas FT Worth airport. I was travelling by myself. Thank God for this employee. I approached him and said I really need your help. He took my boarding pass and confirmed my situation. Then he got a passenger cart and told me not to worry he would get me there in time. We had to boot it. He did get me there and I can honestly say I would have missed that flight without his help. Thank you to him. I know you see a lot of people so just a reminder I was the white haired women who approached you appearing a little anxious. You truly were my saviour.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Thank you!”

written by ZFamily on 19/02/2020

My family and I missed a connecting flight last week due to our first flight getting delayed. Charlotte airport was a mess and we were told time and time again that there was no way we were getting to Fort Myers that night. In fact, American automatically rebooked us for the next day back to Philly and then to Fort Myers. We left from LVIA, and I was incredibly disappointed with the prospect of flying north (essentially back home) to go south a day later. We would miss over a day of a three day vacation and I had visions of my children and I sleeping in the airport. Everyone was tired and cranky and none of the employees were willing, or capable, of helping. It was craziness, until my husband talked to an AA employee. She was able to put us on stand by initially, and then I got a call from her after she was done for the day. She was able to find us all seats on the next flight out of Charlotte. It was such a kind gesture, an unexpected bit of help that she certainly didn’t have to take the time for. She really went out of her way to help us. I will be forever grateful! Although she may never see this, I want to say Thank you to her! American should be proud to have you as an employee!! Many thanks,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Always delayed”

written by Pmoyer1964 on 11/07/2019

Everytime I fly this airline there's a problem, my last 4 flights were all delayed. One flight some time ago had 3 plane changes and 5 gate changes. What a horible airline. Just go out of business already, I only fly American when I have no other options. I fly Southwest quite a bit, they fly circles around American. One ticket agent fave me that smug look and attitude when my bag was .2 lbs over and wanted to charge me $100, I made an adjustment then proceeded to tell him how much this airline SUCKS.Now I'm sitting here in Denver delayed once again. I will not fly American after this flight.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible, cancel anytime,Worst airline”

written by Jennaz179 on 14/04/2019

Horrible service, worst airline to ever fly, CR not able to announce cancellation or even face customer or announce cancellation and just vanish in thin air minute before cancellation from the gate. This is my 2nd time flying with American and to say the truth they don’t bother or care about there customer at all and are only a money making company for themselves. They cancelled our flight a day before we were supposed to board. On reaching customer support they were not able to give any option. Only option they provided was to fly to a nearby city 4 hour drive away with no car rental or hotel booking. Since we wanted to reach our home city on time for next week official assignment and school test we decided to take it even. After reaching airport and checking the flight to the near by city again got cancel. Now they are selling the available tickets in the available spot for tomorrow on a higher price on Expedia. They know how to trap customer and then dig deep into there pockets to earn more money. I won’t fly American air again ever. We are on there customer service line for an hour now to reach home on time.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Employee JaTasha Johnson”

written by Daugherty296 on 18/03/2019

This employee went up and above her job. I lost my corporate iPad at Sky Harbot airport. After her flight to DFW, she returned to Phoenix and found my iPad where I thought I had left it! Called me with the great new! Who even does this anymore, great employee with a wonderful experience!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancel flights and leave you in a airport for days!”

written by shawnmertz on 25/02/2019

Was stranded in an airport for 3 days when flight was cancelled.. No accommodation. And it took a week to get a partial refund. So i sat in an airport broke for 3 days. Can any other business operation do this without a huge lawsuit? I will NEVER fly again!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Deplorable!”

written by PukkaWorld on 05/12/2018

How unbelievingly uncaring can American Airlines be to unnecessarily separate a 95-year-old women, who required a wheelchair, from her son for a 3.5-hour flight? Deplorable! Outbound flight: could not check in or select a seat so my wife and I were separated NYC to Atlanta though I could see empty seats. Return flight: Could check in and pay for seats together, fine from Liberia to Miami but Miami to NYC was an unnecessary inconvenience caused by AA. We had about a one-hour layover in Miami so sat in a cafe near our gate where we could see and hear all flight schedules. Our flight was scheduled to leave 7:35 pm so got to our gate 25 mins ahead to find nobody there. We asked an attendant who said the gate had been changed last minute, though we heard or saw nothing to that effect. The gate change was miles away and though we got to the gate with 15mins to spare they had already closed the gate that wasn't supposed to close for another 5 mins. Bang! Missed our flight. The gate women claimed that she made an announcement well ahead though we and two other couples disagreed. None of us had heard the announcement. We figured people at the first gate were told to go to the new gate so made their flight but us naughties who just wanted a coffee apparently were deaf. This is where it starts to get interesting... We had to go to another desk to change our flights and the not so pleasant attendant says she can put us on standby for the next flight. Standby!? It was then I noticed a monitor behind her that showed the list of standby passengers and there were 14 of us! Unlike the guy behind us I hadn't totally lost it yet, stuff happens, so pleaded to have confirmed seats, which she hesitatingly agreed to. I told her we had paid extra for two seats together, but she looked at me as though I was asking for an upgrade to 1st class, so we were once again separated. After a 2.5 hour wait, we got on our next flight okay, as did at least one of the other couples, so things were looking up. Though we had paid for seats together (our missed flight we would have had two seats on their own, no third seat even!) my wife was squashed in the middle of two people, which she is really uncomfortable with. I always give her the window seat. In the meantime, I'm looking around for two seats together and had to go to the toilet at the back of the plane. I had to wait for a gent to come out and saw that he was sitting in a middle seat towards the back, next to a very old and frail looking woman in the aisle seat (found out she was 95!). To get in his seat, the woman's son had to get out of his very back seat about 4 rows back, unstrap her, lift her up, while the other gent got into his seat, put her down and strap her in again. When he came back, I asked why he couldn't get two seats together, he had been told there weren't any spare or pairs. Suddenly I didn't care so much about our seating position and was thinking how terrible it must be for the old women and her son. When I got back to my allocated aisle seat, there was nobody in the other two seats, so I figured I'd stand until they got in. In the meantime, I asked the gent in the seat next to my wife if he would mind swapping, which he happily agreed to. Passengers were talking and moving around and I realized another four couples, just around us, had been separated and were all working together to swap seats! Then the strangest thing happened. Though the guy in my original seat had no one next to him, it was announced we were about to take off!? He had the all 3 seats to himself the entire flight! I looked around and saw quite a few empty seats and gauged that, every single couple could easily have been seated together! WT!!?? Can you believe when we finally got home, our Consumer Report mag waiting for us, had a feature article on why we were all just treated so unnecessarily badly! Did you know there is a new kind of economy class? We didn't, and it's called "basic economy". We figured we had bought regular economy tickets, where treatment can be bad enough but wait until you get stuck with "basic economy"! It's why we couldn't check in or choose seats, even if we wanted to pay the extra. Our return leg was regular economy so we could, and even that didn't work out so well. In a nutshell, it is a ploy to unnecessarily tick off people so much that you would prefer to pay more for regular economy, where you can choose your seats, though at an extra cost. And it works! We will never buy basic economy again! And hopefully never fly American Airlines again. BEWARE of that crazy "cheap" ticket and NEVER TAKE BASIC ECONOMY! Unless you want to be treated like a piece of dirt and in the end, possibly, with all the hidden costs, pay more than regular economy. And It's not just AA doing this of course.  BTW: any kind of refund for paid seats we didn't get, impossible!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Delhi to Goa flight ”

written by EsmeraldaAdams on 07/09/2018

Goa is amazing spot to chill out along with its awesome beaches. It's really easy to find accommodations there. If you want cheap flights in Goa, you can make a research online and obtain holiday packages without any travel agents. So if you are planning to visit Goa then book cheap flights to Goa. Online booking of cheap flights takes a few minutes time only. In addition, you can also avail amazing deals on the booking of hotels, car rentals and various vacation packages in Goa. There are many low-fare flights available for Goa from Delhi. After a little research on the internet, you can easily manage to book the cheapest flight that offers lowest air fares. Even if you have missed the advance bookings, you can get last minute airfare deals. Goa is the smallest but wonderful state of India. It is a dream destination for everyone who loves traveling. It’s best place to go for everyone - young, old, children, newly-weds on their honeymoon etc. Each year large gathering of tourists from all over the world come to India for making their Goa journeys. Although Goa is widely known as a beach destination, it’s also known for its unique culture, tradition, history, monuments, forts, palaces, churches, temples, etc. The cheapest Delhi to Goa flight and various other cities of India are available by online booking. Sale on Travel offers air tickets to India top destinations at extremely affordable rates as well as regular discounts and special deals. Trips to India will always continue to be the best choice for your Indian vacations.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Honeymonn Saved!”

written by on 02/09/2018

The person I dealt with from MDT airport saved our honeymoon from stressful travel situations. Our flight canceled and then rerouted to a neighboring destination city in Mexico due to inclement weather. We were relieved to have this lady help get us back on track. She went out of her way to give us a voucher for a 2 hour taxi ride to a nearby airport so that we could catch our connecting flight to our honeymoon destination. Her kindness and generosity will never be forgotten by this happy honeymooning couple. We had a lovely honeymoon and when we returned, we got to thank her personally. We deeply appreciate her friendly and helpful service. We had an excellent experience overall with American.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AMERICAN AIR....TRAVELERS BEWARE !!!!!!!”

written by on 11/06/2018

I wanted to just share our story in order to forewarn travelers about American Airlines... I'm a pastor in Rhode Island, in March I was asked by my oldest daughter if I would fly down to Tennessee the last weekend in May, with my two young sons, to officiate her wedding and was so Honored... I booked our flights in April and planned the trip so that we would arrive the day before the wedding in order to do the walk through rehersal and picture time. it cost me over $2,000.00 for these three round trip tickets, however, what price do you put on such an amazing life event for one of your children ?! our trip started off fine, we arrived at the airport in Providence an hour early and boarded our first plane to Philly where we would have 55 minutes to reach our connecting flight... however, this flight was delayed on the runway before departure and so arrived 30 minutes late. Because I was traveling with two young children and our carryon bags, I knew we would be pushing the time to travel from terminal A to terminal F so I asked the boarding agentto phone ahead to our connecting flight gate and inform them that we were on our way. she did call ahead and also called for a cart to meet us... the cart took my sons and I to our gate with time to spare, and thats when we found out that the flight had been overbooked and that they had given our seats away. now I have two young sons upset and crying (this was their first time flying) the agent appologized repeatedly and told us that she had seats on the next flight to our destination which would be leaving in 2 and half hours... what could I do? I had NO CHoice, and agreed to take the next flight ! I calmed my children and then called my daughter to tell her what had happened and that I would be late getting in, she immediately called everyone and informed them that they were going to have the rehersal dinner prior to the actual rehersal to give me time to arrive... we stayed at the departing gate to ensure that we had no more mishaps, however when the time came to board we were informed that again they were grossly overbooked and were offering $1,500.00 per seat for those passengers who would give up their seat, they then asked who was traveling with children and we were asked to come forward to board, AND THAT'S When I Was Told That Another Mistake had occurred, the Agent who printed out our boarding pass had accidentally listed us as standby and for that reason not only could we NOT Board, and that there would NOT be another flight until the next day (wedding Day)... SOOOO... We Missed Part of My Daughter'S Wedding Celebration, my entire family was caused great stress, memories that cant be replaced have been taken from us, and on top of all of that the American Air customer service representative NOW refuses to honor the $1,500.00 per seat that we were promised by the booking agent because of the mistake with our boarding passes. myself and those close to me will never again fly with this airline.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad Air Lines”

written by LNCLE5 on 14/05/2018

Bad air lines to use, I just feel so sorry to get some credit cards with AA Advantage, I will stop using them and try to use all of my earned miles before it expires. AA I will never ever book a flight with it. At first when I book my flight using my earned miles every thing looks just fine but later in a few months they keep modifying my reservation and I ended up to wait for almost 24 hours to catch a connecting flight at one stop on the outgoing flight and the same thing for the returning flight. It is horrible, who want to earn miles from the AA Advantage???? Just don't get any credit card that earns you AA Advantage miles, you will be sorry.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible ”

written by Quinlan1980 on 03/05/2018

It was such a mistake for American to gobble up USAir. USAir was soooo much better. AA personnel are so rude and un professional. If I treated my customers the way AA treats there’s I’d have no business

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I'd give a half star if it were applicable”

written by buChandler114 on 10/04/2018

The customer service representatives are very rude, and unprofessional. They were with the responding to questions as if I was already supposed to be equipped with the answers. Maybe they've been doing the same job for too long, and are just going through the motions, I believe they don't genuinely care about the customers. I'm not referring to all the customer service reps, I'm sure some are doing a very good job, however I called two days in a row and was linked up with two very rude women. Please work on rectifying this problem, as I would have gladly flown with another airline, had I known American was so seasoned and rude. Thank you.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Missed Flight worked out”

written by kimberdean on 16/02/2018

I have flown with American Airlines over the last decade since my husband joined the military. I go home to Northern California to visit my family 2-3 times a year. Today I was 5 minutes past my flights check in time by the time I made it to the desk. The desk clerk for AA told me I couldn’t do stand by with my infant and that I had to call customer service. This wasn’t true, ultimately leading my to a lot of stress. I am also, 8 weeks pregnant and had a hard time not crying. Fortunately I called customer service and the supervisor on duty, April, and she worked with me to get me on the next flight out. Thank you so much april. I cannot thank you enough for doing such a great job.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview