Renault Scenic 1.9DCi Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Renault Scenic 1.9DCi - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Renault Scenic 1.9DCi

Renault Scenic 1.9DCi
Renault Scenic 1.9DCi

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“shocking of renault!”

Written on: 06/03/2014 by jennylav (1 review written)

would never recommend this car, all electric windows have now gone, quote £400 each window by Renault garage! Renault are aware of the design fault and as a good will gesture!! offer you a percentage paid by them, NOT GOOD ENOUGH RENAULT!!!!! they are well aware of this fault in these cars so they should do the right thing I pay for the whole thing to be fixed, if it was the brakes or something the cars would be recalled and fixed for free, this should be the same ,i cant believe they actually think they are doing YOU a favour by doing it as a discount, will never buy another Renault again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“windows play up”

Written on: 15/09/2013 by cdafonseca (1 review written)

the windows motors can break on this cars but its easy to fix yourself. i got this car with to broken regulators just done a research how to fix them cost me £60 . but having fixed that I am quite pleased so far with the car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“2005 1.9 Grand Scenic Priv.. - DON'T BUY ONE!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 03/03/2013

I've owned this car for 2.5 years and paid £5500 for it but I can honestly say that this is the worst car I've ever bought and I will not be buying another Renualt ever. I've been to the main dealer 7 times as windows keep dropping and each time parts were changed and the problems fixed (bearing in mind there are only 4 openable windows on the car!!). Driving at night on the M5 and the dashboard went out, meaning I didn't know what speed I was travelling at, how much fuel was left etc. - Renualt paid some money towards the cost of replacing the dashboard but it still cost me £100. The dashboard and window issues should be sorted free of charge as they are such a common fault. Then the turbo has gone and Renualt want an astronomical amount of money to fix it. Depreciation is also terrible as I was offered £850 part ex as my milage is up to 150000 (based on the thing being fixed and roadworthy). Renualt should recall all these cars and scrap them which is what I'm doing with mine this week.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Triggers broom”

Written on: 16/02/2013

After many breakdowns a new engine.. and pretty much most things changed... its back in the garage again! most unrealiable car i have ever had the pleasure of owning

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“sh~t car”

Written on: 15/12/2012 by gaudonville (1 review written)

All the windows broke and was recalled for seat belt problems, engine computer went, all of theses were fixed under warranty and extended warranty. then turbo went which caused damager to engine, so a recon engine and new turbo were fitted by Renault garage along with a new fly wheel and clutch. €5500. Soon after a part that connects front wheel to steering fell of onto the road this was due to threads being reamed of by Renault garage. I repaired this my self as did not want to to take it back to the same garage. soon after it developed an oil leak on the sump. took it to a different Renault garage. They put mastic round the sump some of which squeezed into the bottom of the sump and blocked the oil pump which caused the big end to go. These are just the main problems. The same turbo problem seems to be very common here in France where I live both with UK and French cars. And all French mechanic tell you not to buy one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 14/02/2012 by uitsig19 (1 review written)

This is not just a car for me it is sience very intelligent(all that features) and extreamly comfortable.It is the strongest friendliest 2.0l i ever drive. now that i am in a position to buy this type of cars i will never buy something else. thanks RENAULT SCENIC 2.0 PRIVILLAGE it is realy a privillage to have you in my presence

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Not a problem so far”

Written on: 11/02/2012 by KenQuinn (1 review written)

Bought my 2001 1.9 DCi a year ago, and so far I've encountered none of the problems that people write about on various internet forums. Mine was a 1 lady owner car, ( I rang her to confirm it.) with full service history, and it came with 108k miles on the clock. I've just passed the 119k miles mark, and it's just had a minor service to keep the book up to date, and it's been so good at the time of writing. It regularly returns 45mpg, and I've had it up to 52mpg when driving sensibly. With the back seats removed, it's like a large van, and has carried an array of large items with ease. Although mine is only the Alize model, it came with power steering, remote central locking, twin sunroofs, air con electric front windows and I sourced a 6 multi changer cd player, with all the leads and under seat draw, for £35 off E.Bay, and fitted it in under an hour. I looked around before purchasing one, and yes there are some rough ones out there, but look carefully, and you will find a one that's been looked after, don't rush into it. OK so it's never going to win the traffic light grand prix, but for a car that's so versatile, you can't fault it. I certainly can't to date. Would I buy another of the same model? Yes, if I could find one as good as mine, and alright it is a Renault, but it's no worse that some other big names out there.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“I have a 2007 1.9 diesel Grande Scenic bought through...”

Written on: 12/03/2011

I have a 2007 1.9 diesel Grande Scenic bought through Motor Provider at a big discount four years ago. It is a fantastic family car with a great view out for the kids when they were little and storage areas for everything. Now the kids are older there is huge space for an entire drum kit and other musical parapheralia. Great performance from the big diesel and average of about 45 mgp on a long run and about 38mpg on the school run. Light bulbs occasionally fail and the radio has lost the security code every time the temperature has dropped to minus 5C this winter. Renault have just offered to replace the radio free of charge. I have received excellent service from Wokingham Motors over the years with very reasonable prices. They recently replaced a tyre free of charge after accepting that they had not set the tracking correctly. My wife wants to buy another Grande Scenic to replace this one later this year. Sorry to hear about other people's bad experiences but cars are mass produced to a price and there is always going to be the rogue.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ! I PAID 9 GRAND FOT THIS CAR...”

Written on: 24/02/2011

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ! I PAID 9 GRAND FOT THIS CAR AND HAVE SPENT A FORTUNE ON IT. Instrument cluster coost over £400, problems with valves, air con not working, gave garage £350 yesterday to fix some bits now need to find another £800 to replace engine bush, dangerous to drive. Absolute rubbish car, will never buy another Renault. I see other people have mentioned wipers not cleaning all the windscreen, I have this problem too. In fact one of my wipers flew right off one day. Anyone else who has had instrument cluster do you know that Renault will now give you back £300 if you have receipt and proof of ownership, thats if you are unfortunate enough to still own the car. Don't know how I would get rid of it, I could'nt sell it on to anyone, as I wouldnt wish it on my worst enemy. Oh forget to mention the engine pulleys are faulty now too and the exhaust is hanging off. OH yes and be prepared to fork out for lightbulbs every month or so, I have other cars and never had so many bulbs replaced. If you still want to buy a Grand Scenic after this ARE YOU CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“PLEASE READ IT MAY SAVE YOU LOTS OF ££££. Ive got a...”

Written on: 22/01/2011

PLEASE READ IT MAY SAVE YOU LOTS OF ££££. Ive got a December 2004 Scenic 1.5DCI 80 BHP WITH FAULTY ELECTRIC NEARSIDE WINDOWS.

FOUND OUT BY ACCIDENT THAT IF YOUR CAR HAS FAULTY ELECTRIC WINDOWS IE DROP INTO DOOR CAVITY NEVER TO BE SEEN AGAIN & YOUR CAR IS UNDER 7 YEARS OLD & UNDER 100,000 MILES RENAULT WILL REPAIR WITH A SMALL CUSTOMER CONTRIBUTION OF (IM QUOTED £60-£70) TO FIX. THIS IS A £300 JOB & THIS REPAIR BY RENAULT I DONT THINK IS WELL PUBLICISED & I WANT EVERYONE TO BE AWARE. WHATEVER RENAULT YOU OWN IF YOU HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH YOUR WINDOWS & YOUR CAR IS UNDER 7 & UNDER 100,000 ITS WORTH CHECKING. I would also recommend ringing two or three main dealers to see if they all tell you the same thing.
Regards

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cdafonseca's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2013

I got a problem with windows myself used ebay to get a used regulator change myself prety easy job £30 pounds and one hour job.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Scenic 1.9 DCI,2004 ”

Written on: 19/01/2011

Scenic 1.9 DCI,2004
The previous review is uncannily similar to my experience - bought second hand and 1 month after the warranty ran out the dashboard went, then the power setting on the fan (needs the dash out again) and now we have just had a new turbo fitted but the thing keeps smoking when accelerating (not idle or revving on standstill) - spent a grand trying to fix and still no clues/solution. We loved the car to start with but it has proved a costly mistake in the end as aside from these various other bits and bobs have failed in the past 3 years too. We were going to upgrade to a grand scenic this year before the turbo issue but I couldn't now risk another one of these.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/12/2011

same problem had new turbo fitted cost me a grand but car keeps on smoking feel ashamed driving it around also 2day a warning sign showing plz check injection thats more money in bin next time will stick with jap cars instead

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I have had a 1999 senic TDi and with only a few faults...”

Written on: 22/11/2010

I have had a 1999 senic TDi and with only a few faults so on balance not 2 bad then got a 05 senic Dci thought we should up grade LOL. What a mistake Dash stopped working Air con fan control had to be changed then the door windows X2 stopped working Next check injectors come up, then a 150mile trip on the back of RAC truck at 3am. Found the car in the car park with the window going up and down the wipers going and the lights on, Central locking would not let me in so had 2 get the back up key out. When I got the car open no power so jumped started the car so we thought still no power and the steering was locked to the right. At home found the foot well full of water and the car is still dead on the drive . RENAULT SHOULD BE TAKEN TO COURT FOR TRADE DISCRIPTION THESE ARE NOT CAR THEY ARE MONEY PIPT FOR RENAULT.can,t wait to trade this pile of ~###### if anyone will have it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Spinrek's Comment

Written on: 21/02/2012

I have had exactly the same problem's,fuel pump and injectors had to be replaced, window faults,central locking system faults had to drive car with door tied up to head rest as door wouldn't lock,Turbo inter cooler went, total electrical failure when wife was driving car, lights went on and off,window wipers on and off central locking open close and worst of all steering lock, locked on while the vehicle was still in motion and engine running, alternator had sparks coming from it. this car costs me approx £1,500 every year from the day we have had it.... Renault have a lot to answer for

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“baught this friday grand scenic 1.9 diesel and kept...”

Written on: 06/09/2010

baught this friday grand scenic 1.9 diesel and kept cutting out or loosing power at low revs/gears. after persistant starting on sat morning and driving 1 mile while jerking as if we were in the wrong gear the car cut out as if we had stalled it.
rac called out and say its an egr valve and turbo is gone on way out - on the drive now un driveable.
and from all the reviws and sites they are minor and the start of more to come im fixin it and sellin it asap

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dshaw647's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2010

can I recommend some spelling lessons!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“There appears to be 2 known faults :- ”

Written on: 17/08/2009 by titanic1966 (2 reviews written)

There appears to be 2 known faults :-
1.top engine mounting gives a droning vibration at about 3-4 thousand revs before changing gear. This is due to the rubber in the old engine mounting going hard, passing vibration through bodywork. The new mounting has fins and additional bits to stop this problem.

2. The resister pack for the heater fan on both my 53 and 54 plate scenics both went wrong due to a design fault. There is a replacement pack with cabling mod to fix the problem which Renault know about and so email Renault if you have either problem.

Apart from the above I would still buy another 1.9Dci Scenic as fuel consumption is excellent towing a trailer on Motorway giving sometimes 56mpg. but usually around late 40's and has lots of power for hills. The semi auto handbrake is also very good once you are used to it, allowing you o pull away without touching the handbrake, but putting it on is by pulling the lever on the right with a finger etc. or switching the engine off.

It is worth getting the Renault fuel additive every month or 2 , as it cleans out the diesel system and gives better power and fuel economy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to titanic1966's Review

Written on: 27/07/2011

Just been on to Renualt re the heater and was told no known fault i do need to get it into the garasge to check exactly the problem but it sounds like many others the resistor how can they say no known fault

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I am very satisfied by this car (Renault Scenic 2003...”

Written on: 22/04/2009 by cobbvd (1 review written)

I am very satisfied by this car (Renault Scenic 2003 ), a lot of space, powerfull motor , comfortble drive. I was driving from Lithuania to Finland in one day ( 800 km) and not tired at all...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Renault Scenic 1.9DCi offers comfort, ideal travel...”

Written on: 28/01/2009

The Renault Scenic 1.9DCi offers comfort, ideal travel car, gas/oil consuming very moderate (6 lit / 100 km in city). I even travelled from the south of France to home with a gasoil consume of 4,9 lit / 100 km ! With 4 persons and a lot of package, this car is very spaceful. With 126.000 km on the counter within 8 years, I had no problem with this cat that is worth a mention (perhaps a halogen lamp and a little exhaust pipe connection) I would recommend this car to everybody, but you have to have some luck. My next car will be a Scenic again !!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We changed from a Focus C-Max Ghia 2 litre turbo...”

Written on: 26/09/2008 by angusmcsporran (1 review written)

We changed from a Focus C-Max Ghia 2 litre turbo diesel for the 1.9 DCi Grand Scenic Dynamique when we had another child. Although the car had a lot of extra space, it has proved worse in almost every other respect. Renault customer service is worse even than Peugeot, which I thought was impossible. Very poor value for money. A great shame as this car had potentially so much going for it - but the build quality and customer service is just dire.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is a great car! I drived almost 1000 km in one...”

Written on: 09/08/2008

This is a great car! I drived almost 1000 km in one day, and I was not tired at all when the ride has finished. I wood never change the brand!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“I would never buy a Renault again. I have had nothing...”

Written on: 06/08/2008

I would never buy a Renault again. I have had nothing but trouble with this car, in fact during the year that I have owned it, the garage has probably had it more than me. The pistons went on it which cost 1200 to replace and now the turbo has gone and the whole engine now has to be replaced with a recon which is going to cost 1500. I will be glad to see the back of it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

468881_Tonyralph's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2009

hi, my 2005 scenic has just blown its engine too. where did you get your recon one sorted, and what price. many thanks. tony

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“I own a 04 Renault Scenic 1.9 dci it has gone through...”

Written on: 11/07/2008 by philstar10 (1 review written)

I own a 04 Renault Scenic 1.9 dci it has gone through 2 cv joints 2 sets lower ball joints 3 sets of window motors, I'm on my 5 th set of keys the dash board needed replacing at a cost of £600 and now with 78k on the plate the engine has blown with a cost of £5800. I would never buy another one in my life. This is just a few things that I have experienced the list is endless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview