Motorcycle Direct Motorbike Insurance Reviews

Motorcycle Direct Motorbike Insurance
★☆☆☆☆
1.1
3.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motorcycle Direct Motorbike Insurance - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motorcycle Direct Motorbike Insurance

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“WHAT A SHOWER”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Paigev330 on 19/07/2023

what a shower, cancelled online in "chat" (14 days prior to renewal)then found my policy had been renewed 12 days before it had expired!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????? went online to be told that they were charging me,great customer service eh? never heard such tosh , you cant argue so you're stuffed insure with anyone else but not this lot please, Devitt are a fantastic company to deal with, so guess where i have insure & they're cheaper!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Unreasonable terms and charges”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sjpf on 06/03/2023

Unreasonable terms and charges Set the policy using a comparison site 22 days before it would start but needed to cancel the next working day, £40 cancellation charge in the 14-day cooling off period. The reason for the cancellation was due to the comparison site auto-filling the wrong NCB information. Said site then quoted £220 with the correct information, but during the web chat they quoted £326. I was told that I should have read the small print. Be warned! In addition to the cancellation charge they also don’t refund the policy set-up fee (not sure of the huge cost incurred here). So a total of circa £55 was lost on a £115 policy! I will steer clear of this organisation in future.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My take on this Company”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JudahWatson on 11/02/2023

Jeez .Has anybody got anything positive to say about this Company.lol

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Useless”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Steveb2808 on 01/04/2022

Europa Group Limited t/a MotorCycle Direct Insurance company An 18 year old, who we wont name for legal reasons, received a brand new motorbike for his birthday from his parent He was told to insure the bike asap just in case, not knowing about insurance and legal documents, he went online an secured insurance through the above name, at a cost of around £1900, he used his motorbike to get a job. Beginning of March his motorbike was stolen, he notified his boss and his boss said he couldnt keep his job open as he only been in the role a couple of months and still in probationary period. He notified the insurance company of the theft and of losing his job, he couldn’t keep up payments, which was around £152 a month with no regular income anymore. His bike was recovered, he was told to contact another party to come and collect his bike, they contacted him, after they checked the bike and said the bike was in disrepair, the bike was still younger than 6 months, they would give him a full payment of the bike cost usually they would replace it with a new bike, but because he had an outstanding balance on his insurance they would pay him out in the form of a check, minus the excess of £750, remember the bike was only £2499 Yesterday they phoned to say that they wanted payment for the outstanding balance of the direct debit which is £700, and would be sending a debt collecting agency for this. He still has not received payment for his bike the £2499 minus the excess So now not only has the lad been a victim of crime, he has now becomes a victim of circumstances, then to be threatened to be put on a debtors list, when the lad has never had any credit in his life, the ordeal alone from having his bike and losing his job caused him anxiety and stress alone, only for Europa Group Limited t/a MotorCycle Direct put the icing on the cake Bike cost £2499 Insurance Cost £1900 Total £4399 Payout £2499 -Excess £750 -Outstanding Insurance £700 - Debtors charges Priceless This is the type of company that Europa Group Limited t/a MotorCycle Direct is, anyone reading this, knows this is wrong on all levels, to avoid a similar ordeal take your business elsewhere, otherwise you might be the next person to post something similar

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Phone calls”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BIKERSTEVE20 on 14/10/2020

There were two phone calls made one for 14:11 minutes and another for 10:44, on there website they have written that calls from 0844 number  will cost 7p per minute, but what I didn't know was that my network provider will charge me an extra 65p per minute plus VAT, Total cost per minute costing 76p. Total cost £15.54 + VAT = £18.65, when I asked them why do they need to have a phone number that burdens there customers with extra costs, they said they are a motorcycle insurance company and not a phone company! last time they get my money.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Motorcycle Insurance renewal ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AlanJones4257 on 17/02/2018

I retired from full time employment and notified Motorcycle direct that I had retired and owned a property which I let. They refused to re-insure me. I have been a customer of motorcycle direct for about 10 years without a claim. I was grateful in the end because I acquired identical insurance from Bennetts with the same insurance company for £40 less

Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Avoid MotorcycleDirect insurance... wouldn't cover my...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sabrina424 on 05/02/2018

Avoid MotorcycleDirect insurance... wouldn't cover my new bike with the existing underwriter and then wanted over a grand for a year with a new firm when the next nearest quote was about £400. They then proceeded to charge me £120 in admin fees etc to cancel the policy and were incredibly rude and condescending on the phone. Absolutely criminal. I'm so glad I never needed to make a claim. What a bunch!!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“useless/ incompedent /rude /unprofessional/”

★☆☆☆☆

written by aubreyperks on 28/07/2017

was messed about from start to finish told to send information to be told it was not on headed paper sent them a picture of my licence about three times then to be told to send in my no claims bonus at least three times then to be told had not sent in right information seid on form I was a house wife genuine mistake phone up to sort out problems that they had emailed was wrong on my policy details. phoned up to be told all sorted just a problem that I was unemployed was due to go on interview seid to me let them know if I got the job had to let them know in seven days could not let them know in seven day due to they could not let me know if I had job in seven days to be told oh well you have gone passed your 14 days cooling off period were going to cancel your policy and charge you £29 pounds cancelation fee and also took £17 deposit what a joke insurance company

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Appalling useless rude”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Donaldsonfk278 on 05/05/2017

Told me they had set up my direct debit but did not, then charged me twenty quid for missed payment twice!, Do not use !

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“The worst motorcycle Insurance Brokers I hav ever...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Coffeypu51 on 08/08/2016

Too many issues to even write JUST DON"T USE THEM.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Worst company I have ever dealt with, never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Robles379 on 01/06/2016

Worst company I have ever dealt with, never again!! Will charge you for everything, customer service are rude, abrupt and aggressive, clearly on commission.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shockingly bad”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Onceuponatimeinamerica on 26/04/2016

Do not use this company, whatever you do. Premium rate lines for changes to the policy or cancellation. Misrepresentation of the terms. Sky high cancellation charges. They tempt you in with competitive rates and then extract the cash via other ways. I understand they have to make a living, but it all feels a bit sneaky to me. I can't think of anything good to say about Motorcycle Direct.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor Service”

★★★☆☆

written by Averiee198 on 04/04/2016

Realised within minutes I had made a mistake in insuring with them,but had to keep the policy for a year. Phoned up to cancel after renew letter came in and met with the same could not give a dam attitude. As a customer I like to be treated with a little respect as I can and have taken my business elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Insured my BMW k100 in December 2014 with a one off...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Magirus1970 on 15/02/2016

Insured my BMW k100 in December 2014 with a one off payment,. Declared bike SORN in October 2015, let the insurance slip(or so I thought!)in December 2015 as I wouldn't be riding over winter. Received a phonecall in Feb 2016 thanking me for renewing my insurance! Called complaints department, to be fobbed off with a story that I should have received a letter, stating that I had to call them if I didn't want to auto renew. I received no such letter! When I informed them that my bike was sorn, they informed me that they cannot insure a sorn bike, promptly cancelled my premium and reimbursed me £7,50 out of an original premium of £127. When I askedthem to forward my no claims bonus, they informed me I didn't have any with them, as for the last two months of the policy my insurance was invalid as my bike was sorn! £120 for two months insurance

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A shockingly bad service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Duncan132546 on 06/02/2016

Shockingly bad company to deal with. I called them today for a change of bike, they took all the details and then said they couldn't insure it and would have to refer it which they couldn't do until Monday. I have held a full license since 1988, I have no points at all and am a former DSA approved motorcycle instructor. The bike is a £1500 Honda Firestorm, hardly a high risk machine. I told them that I could insure the bike straight away online and could they please cancel the policy? They said I would get no refund at all, despite the policy being less than three months old so I told them to leave it running and I would keep the years no claims bonus. They said 'No, we're going to cancel it anyway now'. I told them that I didn't want it cancelled as I still have my previous bike but they refused to discuss it and insisted that they were going to cancel it anyway. They have now left my current bike uninsured for no reason and at a moments notice. Dealing with this company is a bit like dealing with a spoiled child having a tantrum. A disgusting company, I will certainly be avoiding them in the future.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cancellation of policy = ROBBERY!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by dkid on 17/11/2015

Sold my motorcycle so called MCD to cancel policy as no longer required. I had been paying via monthly direct debit and had zero missed payments. Was told that I would be charged £94 to cancel the policy! I said I wasn't prepared to pay this amount as it seemed excessive, was told I had to pay or debt would be passed to a debt collector... Basically threatened. I said I would refer the case to the financial ombudsman and/or trading standards to which I was told "we are regulated by the FSA, we wouldn't be allowed to charge this fee if it were illegal. It's all in our terms of business". They weren't interested in waiving or even reducing the amount. Reluctantly I conceded and paid up. lesson learned, check cancellation fees before buying a policy!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Modern day Criminals ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Saffakid on 10/11/2015

My partner recently decided to buy herself a motorcycle, we found one at a good price and went ahead with the purchase. However the motorcycle had to be insured before the dealer would deliver it, at the time neither me nor my partner possessed a CBT however we had it booked for a month later. I went on gocompare(there are other comparison sites available) filled in all our information as we were both going to be named riders, I clearly stated that neither of us possesed CBTs at the time, and obviously I received quotes, took the one from Motorcycledirect, paid in full. To then have the policy cancelled by them 4 days later because we don't have the necessary licenses. And ontop of that they charged me a cancellation fee and over £20 for the four days the motorcycle was insured. So I rang them up, and they refuse to accept that they're in the wrong despite the fact that they offered me a quote with the information I provided. I would suggest that everyone should keep as far clear as possible.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“These guys take your money, then provide no means to...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Colby83 on 01/11/2015

These guys take your money, then provide no means to log on to your account to upload the required documents for the policy such as NCB proof etc. Then after about 10 days you get an email warning you that they are going to cancel the policy as you have not provided the required documents. To cancel the policy is about 50% of the cost paid so they get half your money for absolutely nothing. I can't believe they are allowed to operate like this.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Appalling. Avoid at all costs (or it will!)”

★☆☆☆☆

written by nkBurnham299 on 13/10/2015

My son attempted to buy insurance online but their website crashed. He phoned them and was put on hold for 10 minutes and then cut off. Not surprisingly he went elsewhere. Two weeks later he got a letter saying his policy would be cancelled if he didn't pay. He rang them and said he didn't know there was a policy and didn't want it. He heard nothing more from them until two months later when a debt collection agency started chasing for money. Not sure if they  just totally incompetent but will fight them through the courts in necessary.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The worst for service & price”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ivan331 on 15/09/2015

I was under the MISS understanding that as I was an exciting customer,I would get good service. Here are the salient points. They are by far one of the most expensive on offer. Their contact phone line kept me waiting for over 20 minutes at 7p per min + phone charge Could not hear the operative as it was so noisy THEIR end,so she kept repeating everything. Just to change ANYTHING on your policy i.e. phone number, they charge a minimum of £30.00 The whole company is a rip off and are only after your money. If they didn't charge £50.00 to cancel, I would go elsewhere. I wil NOT be renewing next year. My advice. STAY AWAY

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Dave49N on 5th June 2015 Report this content
I've just spent 10 months taking Motorcycle Direct through the Financial Ombudsman Service. MCD had said I had cancelled my Direct Debit mandate. I had not and my bank confirmed it. The FOS said they had behaved within the law i.e. 7 days notice, as I was on a 6 weeks holiday responding to 7 days notice is never going to happen. Even after sending my Bank details again on the 9th day they still cancelled. Never got through on the phone and they never replied to my e-mails. Now after almost 12 months a debt collection agency is demanding the full premium. My policy ran for 1 month and I'd paid this cost upfront. I'm so incensed with this company I'm hoping Watchdog will take it on. In the meantime I'll need to wait for a court appearance. Any other ideas?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview