Esso Petrol Stations Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Esso Petrol Stations
★★☆☆☆
1.7
17.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • How do you rate the customer service?

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Esso Petrol Stations - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Esso Petrol Stations

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Rooley Lane Station the worst.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BlaineSmith135 on 30/11/2023

Never normally use this station unless desperate but they had a nectar offer on for 5 times the points for every pound and didn't even get 1 point per pound. When questioned staff member he said some offers wasn't on at his garage. Think someone is making up thier own rules BEWARE. Will not be using again as staff are useless.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 366Moreno on 05/05/2023

I went there for car wash today. I put £2 coin, machine swallowed then I put another £1 twice then machine started. Gave me 6 minutes when time is going to finish I put another £2 coin. Machine gave me any time. Then I spoke to the staff about this problem. She accepted problems with machine She said manager isn’t here so she said I will tell the manager. Can’t refund u. I went back spoke to the manager he said machine had no problem. So he refused to refund money. I believe they’re tricked customers. So be careful if you’re using their service. Manager is rude, ill mannered, ignorant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Cost ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 139Steele on 20/12/2021

I live in the town of vauxhall . The pumps are shut off when I head to work at 5 am so I fuel up in brooks now. Esso in brooks is 10 cents cheaper. Too buy items in store are esy to much. The store has nice people that work thier very friendly I feel bad for them having to deal with how much stuff costs I could imagine the people that would be rude too them. So I'd u need fuel go coop and other items go down town .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“5p a litre off”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Salvadorp243 on 09/11/2021

Made the offer of 300 nectar points for the 5p a litre, guy behind counter took the 300 points of but never took the 5p litre off, I had 66litres, ask why and guy told me it was the system that's gone wrong not him, manger was on holiday? Could I come back next week.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“No review of the esso petrol station on the A382,but...”

★★★★★

written by canine6 on 17/11/2017

No review of the esso petrol station on the A382,but to the customers who stop as they came out to tell me that they had seen my little dog who had run off after being frightened,and a special thanks to the man in the black 4x4.We got our dog back.Thank you all so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Thingwall esso garage Wirral ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by AlecZel on 28/06/2016

I arrived at the petrol station for the intention to use the Hoover service point located on site as I went to get change for the machine I asked what appeared to be the manager if it was still in working because last time is used it nothing happened, but all this manage could say was no sorry it's wet and will be no point hoovering, I replied but I still want to hoover my car because it's dirty inside, then he suddenly decide after looking and thinking of a random time saying it's turned off now when I could clearly see it was still switched on, I'm really disappointed with the service of this garage, located on the Wirral thingwall, that manager is not worthy of that position in the way his attitude was with me. Disappointed

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Esso Ermont way Banbury”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MaximoDalton28 on 30/03/2015

I went to this petrol station as I iften do in Monday's, it's convinient, but on this fateful day I'd forgot my wallet! I immediately realised I was in the dog house, I explained my situation and offered my phone as collateral until I returned from home to collect the money but I was told no. I asked them to call the police at least so they knew I wasn't stealing fuel but I declined yet again, the end result was I left my car overnight got the bus back in the morning. The number of times I've used that station without incident is staggering. The duty manager and his assistant took pleasure in telling me to leave my car and take a bus, I will never use esso ever, they treated me like filth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Esso station in Stafford by ASDA ”

★★☆☆☆

written by hsBishop1959 on 30/03/2015

I filled my car there on 27/03/15. Though I put 55 litres of diesel, which on numerous previous occasions filled it up to the brim, this time it didn't even reach 3 quarters of the tank! Appalling, I also noticed that the speed of the fuel delivery was quite slow. Conclusion: AVOID THIS STATION and other ESSO stations if I can help it. It's a false economy. They try to sell you fuel cheaper and than reap you off. In my case I lost approximately £15 worth of fuel. It's also difficult to prove, which is very convenient for them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Containated fuel”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Robsonnox on 11/11/2014

I filled up at esso station with a tesco express on York street in heywood Lancashire on 15/10/14 I put £65 of diesel in at this station shortly after I broke down ...the rac towed my vivaro van to Vauxhall who checked the van and they said the Diesel was contaminated I phoned esso stating I had my receipt as proof I had purchased there fuel they were very dismissive and will not accept responsibility I am left with a £2000 repair Bill

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nanimoyo's Response to Robsonnox's Review

Written on: 28/03/2015

I am not surprised and will be writing a negative review soon but bottom line is stay far far far away from esso

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ESSO WORSLEY AVOID AT ALL COSTS should be called WORSE'LY'”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Averie362 on 10/11/2014

Well where do I start with this one. I more often than not refuel at Esso in Worsley due to it being convenient and have noticed some really bad customer service from some of the staff that work there(i`ll use the term work very loosely)and if i`m honest its seeing what goes on there has kept me going back for more because i`ve thought anytime now a camera crew will dive out and its been part of a tv set-up because some of the things i`ve seen have been that unbelivable. #1, Customer notified cashier that the door mat at the entrance was all ruffled up and somebody might end up tripping over it, to which this horrible little man (the cashier) replied 'well put it straight then' the customer basically told him where to go and the next thing is this cashier started to shout and swear at him stating he was making fun about his religion and that he obviously told him about the mat as he uses one to pray on. Now thats one conclusion I still can`t work out how he got to. #2, Same cashier (another time and day) finally got round to serving me and I say finally as he really only has one speed, so I handed him my fast pay lotto card exchanged money etc. Long story short i`d matched 4 numbers yet when I went to cash it in i`d been given a lucky dip. Obviously fuming by this the cashier (she`s one of the two people who are actually polite and helpful) asked if I had bought the ticket there and if so who served me, when I told her she wasnt shocked and informed me that the man who served me cant grasp how to use the card so he just prints off a lucky dip but then she followed this up by half the time he tells customers the lotto is down because he basically cant be bothered. #3, Over the last few weeks or so i`ve noticed the place is more like a obstacle coarse/jumble sale/insurance claiments idea of heaven. It looks like a tornado has run through the place with empty cardboard boxes lay scattered about like lost souls and obviously the cashier is to transfixed on hearing the sound of her hugg boots shuffling on the floor whilst treating these boxes like an old school friend who she`s seen and by not directly looking at them pretend they`re not there and shuffle pass whilst playing at 'shop' #4, Forget Lourdes I witnessed a miracle. Had to put this little gem in as it involves as she has become to be known in our house as 'old sour face'. I`ve seen her wobbling around the shop whilst using her cruches (not seen any signs of a cast so presume no broken bones involved on this one) so as she`s wobbling around the shop and dodging all these cardboard boxes and weaving in and out of them like a downhill slalom skier heading for the finish line at the winter olympics and on the next aisle you got the hugg boot shuffler playing at shop and creating more obstacles for Eddie the Eagles wife who by now can see the finish line insight, the finish line actually being a fag outside. Now I actually thought she must have had a new hip or the likes of but then witnessed th Lourdes effect, a customer must have left there wallet on the counter and as I was just going through the entrance I thought I was entering the eye of that tornado, you know the one I mentioned earlier, but thankfully it wasn`t what it actually was old sour face giving it Linford and running after the chap who had left whatever it was behind. I bet it was more than 'Ooooops' going through her mind at the so called its a miracle I have use of my legs again and praying she isn`t busted as these crutches are fantastic at getting me out of doing any work. Actually a pet hate of mine are work leaches like this as over the years i`ve employed people who turned into them and its a drain on the company and that position could be filled by someone who actually wants to work. #5, Had to double check what year it was when I saw this as this borders on the dark ages and in all my years have never seen such appauling behaviour. It involved a chap (who by now have found out he is the new manager) talking down to a lass who works there (the other one of the two people I mentioned earlier). He basically had this lass in tears with his name calling and saying how useless she was and this was while a line of customers where waiting to be served. Now stepping in would have caused more problems because I would have just hit him and more than just the once for actually speaking to another human being like he did but to bring her to tears is a proper bully boy tactic. I`ve wanted to say something to this man?? when i`ve seen him there after what happened but 1 he has a serious odour problem and 2 if he is anything like that horrible little man who did me out of a lotto win he would just use the 'race card' and if i`m being honest its 'them' who are the racist people here and clearly think they are far greater and can speak to dare I say it white english people #6, So upon my last visit/encounter I fuelled up and must have caught myself on the petrol pump. Pants/shirt and now seats full of caked on dirt from the surround of the petrol pump and hose. Not worth mentioning when I went to pay as I didnt want to interrupt the ultra busy cashier from using her phone. The place has become a bit of a talking point for people like myself who live locally but obviously talking about it for all the wrong reasons, its like the owners want to shut it down as its only recently its taken a nose dive anyway not my problem and from now on and will avoid this establishment and if this place isn`t lined up for closing then it should be used as a test centre for how to not run a business and I feel for the genuine people who work for these bunch of clowns

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Over Charging ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jefferson318 on 12/10/2014

I was using the Esso, 49 Hounslow Rd, Hanworth TW13 6QA, I put in £12 worth of fuel and got charged for £90.18. I found out when i was looking at my bank account and saw the payment was too high. Unfortunately, I did not check the receipt in the shop. The staff are STEALING from people! It is not the only time, i was in there a while back when and man came in shouting about getting over charged. I WILL NEVER USE THE Esso, 49 Hounslow Rd, Hanworth TW13 6QA, AGAIN I WILL NEVER USE THE Esso, 49 Hounslow Rd, Hanworth TW13 6QA, AGAIN I WILL NEVER USE THE Esso, 49 Hounslow Rd, Hanworth TW13 6QA, AGAIN

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Jet Wash Disaster”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LukasDobson1970 on 19/09/2014

Could not believe how much the jet wash was at my local Esso garage in Mold, North Wales. £5.50 for 10 mins. didn't even get half way round the car. I had to drive home covered in soap. The brush was also kept on the floor due to the bracket being to small resulting in a nice gritty brush. great for getting off those stubborn flies. I felt like basil fawlty in the (smacking his car with a branch) episode.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Utterly inept in Totton”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alec58 on 15/08/2014

Happily went to fill when was told they were swapping shifts - it was 10:57 - and I would have to wait 5 minutes. He then asked me to replace the fuel pump - which I did. I Looked around and there were a couple of customers in front already filling. And no-one else around. Why could they not wait for me?a - there was still a few minutes till 11pm. Anyway the man took ages with the customers and I am sat there like a lemon waiting getting rather frustrated. When I challenge him about it he says I could always go elsewhere. That kind of riled me and I said I had things to do and could he hurry please. To which he then said he would refuse to serve me and to leave. No sense of customer service at all. How do they choose these people. Still no-one waiting after me at end. He could have served me and not been a problem at all. Disgusting - I hear they have a very bad reputation in Totton

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rude cashiers (x2)”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TheFords on 15/06/2014

Filled up our car this morning and because the filling station was really busy we thought we would be helpful and move the vehicle away from the pump to allow someone else to use it and park next to the store before going inside to pay for the fuel and to purchase coffee. Me and my husband entered the store and went straight to the coffee machine and selected our drinks. Whilst stood at the coffee machine we heard the cashiers talking about someone who had parked at the side of the building and that they were now in the store. Obviously, we gathered they were talking about us and became slightly confused at this. Once we had our coffees we stood in line so that we could pay for the fuel and our drinks and was approached by the lady that filled up her car after us who told us that we were 'in trouble' because they thought we had left without paying for our fuel, which is totally absurd if they had checked there security cameras, they would have seen where we were at all times. However, when we got to the cashier desk we were met by a pleasant lady who greeted us very politely, but unfortunately the gentleman stood beside her decided to interrupt and using an irate tone, TOLD us that next time we were not to move our car from the pump again (however no explanation was given). A further colleague then arrived from a door to the rear of the cashier area and told the gentleman 'to leave it now'. Feeling very shocked at the attitude of this male my husband informed the cashiers that we had recently returned from living in Europe and it is common practice to fill up your car, move away from the pump, park up and enter the store for refreshments and to use the facilities before paying and as we have done this at a number of petrol stations within the UK we no trouble we assumed this would be acceptable in this one also, but obviously we now know that it is not, seeing as the lady that emerged from the door to the rear of the cashier area said that we could always go back to Europe then and walked back out of the door. Both my husband and I were obviously very shocked and annoyed at these comments. We understand that they may have thought we were driving away without paying, but they would have been able to see on their security cameras where we had parked the car and that we had entered the store and not driven away. The way we were treated was completely unacceptable and totally degrading seeing as this was all said and done in front of a long line of other customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rude!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Amyuna on 12/04/2014

Rude !! Used the one in Totton Southampton and the man gave us are items and then asked for. Drink due to forgetting it and he refused to sell it to me !! It was not busy etheir!!! Terrible and it's not the first time !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Esso Race Discriminatation”

★☆☆☆☆

written by londonmale123 on 17/03/2014

I have been using the Esso, 610 Barking Rd, Plaistow, London E13 9JY for over 20 years now. One Monday 17th March at around 22.30hrs, I drove in to fill my car with petrol and witnessed a racial discriminating incident... I noticed a another car & a driver of asian appearance already filling his vehicle. A another driver, of west indian origin, drove in, picked the petrol hose and placed it in his car to fill up. To my shock, his pump was not authorised for petrol and the asian cashier at the kiosk pointed to a sign saying ` PAY FIRST` The man then approached the kiosk and paid money and asked the cashier why the other driver was allowed petrol before paying? He just ignored his question and as an answer was not coming, he just walked away. I then saw the asian driver draw some cash from the cashpoint machine there and approached to pay for his petrol `after filling`. This goes to show that the asian staff in Esso are discriminating people of West indian/black african backgrounds. If this the image that Esso are portraying, then we all need to boycott their stations and use other petrol stations, such as Tesco, Asda etc, which are cheaper..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“vacuum cleaner”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 25/02/2014

I use the Broadway petrol station in Horsforth Leeds 18 regular for petrol and car cleaning, as i live in a flat i often use the vacuum cleaner,in the last 4 weeks it has been out of order , when asked when it was going to be repaired only to be told each time I asked "The vacuum has been broken for a while don`t know "no explanation or any thing. E.R Mace. email [email protected]

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“good customer service”

★★★★★

written by on 11/02/2014

On Friday I went to get my diesel, only to be greeted by a lovely man called prabhkran, we had a chat and he made me feel very comfortable. I do think he should be at my petrol station, everyday. May I suggest if you haven't given prabhkran a bonus please do because he is the reason for I am coming back to esso bookham. Thanking you kindly prabhkran

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ESSO GARAGE SITUATE ;- BRENTWOOD...”

★★★★★

written by on 13/01/2014

ESSO GARAGE SITUATE ;- BRENTWOOD ROAD,INGRAVE,ESSEX,CM13 3NY MY DEBIT CARD WAS COMPROMISED AT THIS ESSO GARAGE. PAID FOR PETROL BY WAY OF DEBIT CARD PAYMENT ON 08 JAN.14 ONLY TO FIND THAT MY CARD HAD BEEN CHARGED £30.00 NEXT DAY AT THIS GARAGE FOR A TESCO MOBILE TOPUP (I'VE NOT GOT A TESCO TOPUP) MY BANK THANKFULLY PICKED THIS UP VERY QUICKLY AND STOPPED MY CARD OTHERWISE I MIGHT NOT HAVE FOUND OUT FOR AGES. THE SHOP WHERE YOU PAY AT THE GARAGE IS A TESCO OUTLET. WHILST AMOUNT TAKEN MIGHT BE SMALL IF 40-50 OR MORE DRIVERS ALSO SUFFERED SIMILAR SMALL LOSSES OVER A FEW DAYS THIS AMOUNTS TO A LOT OF MONEY BEING TAKEN. SO BE FOR WARNED IF YOU HAVE TO USE THIS ESSO OUTLET AND PAY BY CREDIT/DEBIT CARD

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Pump not working and assistant did nothing about iit”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Alibaba19 on 11/01/2014

I went to Belmont Circle petrol station in Harrow.My fuel indicator was showing I had 62 miles left, so I knew the fuel light will be on soon . I stopped in this petrol station.I went to the refiller number 1. I did not realise until I stepped out a big paddle of fuel on the floor. Nevermind, with my shoes already dirty with fuel i started refilling my tank with 10 pounds I had lef.I knew it was not much but enough for my journeys for the next two days. After paying in the cashier i started my car.The fuel level was the same as before,62.I switched off the car and started again....same fuel indicator. It was imposible so i went bak to th shop and ask th assistant to check the pumper as there was fuel on th floor so perhaps the machines were not working. Th shop assistant seemed relactant to believe me but I insisted so much he came outside to the pump with me. He said to me that with 10 pounds I could not get much fuel(fair enough but at least I should get something,right?. I insisted to check the pump. He came outside and when he saw the fuel on the floor he just smiled and asked if it was from my car.I told him it was there when I arrived. He checked the screen in the machine(not the pump) and said it was working fine otherwise would not show the litters you have filled in and the price.He would not test the pump. He said, that when the tank is empty as soon as i started driving it would show. I was not getting anywhere with him. So I drove home expecting to see my 62miles increased but only 2mn after, the fuel light came on advising me to fill the tank. I could not go back to the shop as I needed to pick up the kids. But obviously there was a problem and they would not make the smallest attemt to check. It was frustrating they did not want to do anything about it.I just threw 10 pounds away. I wish I knew where to complain as other customers may encounter same problem.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by MsParker42 on 24th June 2014 Report this content
On the 23rd of June I stopped to fill my car at the Esso. The pump reset to 0.00 before I started to put my petrol in my car. I tried to stop at £10 but it when over to £10.04. I was charged £18.47. The shop cashier man told me that the £10.04 was the customer before? How can this be? Does it reset before you can even use the pump? Cost of unleaded 128.9 at 7.79 litres came to £10.04.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview