Apex Car Rental New Zealand - www.apexrentals.co.nz Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
64% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Apex Car Rental New Zealand - www.apexrentals.co.nz

Apex Car Rental New Zealand - www.apexrentals.co.nz

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Thank you, Apex!”

Written on: 23/04/2020 by kmnm (1 review written)

I hired from Apex twice just before the covid lockdown in March 2020, first to make a run from Queentown to Christchurch to try and catch a plane home when my original flight was cancelled and then the next day back to Queenstown when I was refused boarding due to boarders shutting down and no other immediate way to get home. The Apex team in Queenstown and Christchurch were completely amazing, kind and sympathetic to the jam I was in. When it looked like I could be stuck for a month they made… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“GOOD SERVICE, REASONABLE PRICE, COMFY CAR”

Written on: 30/03/2020

We had booked a Toyota RAV4. Collecting in Christchurch City Centre and dropping off at Auckland Airport 19 days later. Reasonable price. They booked the car and us onto the Cook Straits ferry and happily changed the ferry booking when we changed our itinerary a bit. We had requested a luggage space cover so that our cases wouldn't be on show while we were on the road. The lady at the pick up managed to find one for us. I have to say that the car was not squeaky clean. The driver's seat and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service and car. Amazing value.”

Written on: 31/01/2018 by sharonpowney (1 review written)

Hired a car from Wellington and then drove through NZ and dropped off at Auckland. Just the basic Corolla but it was a really nice car. Very clean and tidy. Staff were all great. Paid out on top insurance and miles and the price was still way under all the other companies. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit sceptical but my experience was great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Range trickometer?”

Written on: 01/01/2016 by HungryTom (2 reviews written)

I experienced a bizarre incident when I returned a hire car to Apex at Queenstown (NZ) Airport. I had just refuelled the vehicle but was not believed because the (faulty) range indicator was showing less than 500kms. The fuel gauge showed full and I produced receipts for all fuel purchases made during the hire period. But I was still not believed and was told that I had to either leave it for Apex to decide if the tank was full and therefore risk a refuelling charge or return to the filling… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE COMPANY ”

Written on: 06/12/2015 by MaramenaBallantyne (2 reviews written)

During my recent trip to Christchurch, where I had a booked a vehicle from Apex Car Rentals, I arrived at their Christchurch branch expecting to hire a car from them, and I was ABSOLUTELY DISAPPOINTED. As a person who does not own a credit card, I was told that even though I had the money required to hire the car I had booked from them, that because I did not have a credit card, I would not be able to hire from them unless I paid them $2000. Unfortunately I am not the type of person that has… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Twelve week hire....”

Written on: 10/04/2015 by SandsJ (1 review written)

Just back from 12 week trip touring North & South Islands. Rented a Roadtrip Nissan Sunny from Auckland and dropped off in Christchurch having done 9000km trouble free driving. Great wee car. Easy booking process, helpful friendly staff throughout - pick up and drop off quick and efficient. Very competitively priced especially the inclusion of the ferry ticket. Would highly recommend using Apex to anyone especially if considering an extended rental as being able to take the car between the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Timely Service”

Written on: 28/01/2015 by FabianOdum567 (2 reviews written)

I have rented different cars from Apex Car Rental and I am happy with their punctuality and prompt responses. Anyhow, I had a friend who had had a bad experience with this company because one employee had messed up with the dates… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Mixed experince of customer service”

Written on: 31/05/2014 by Jacksonfr372 (1 review written)

My initial query by phone, after looking at website prices. was treated terribly, (I wanted to know if the cheaper prices coming in in 2 days time would apply to my rental if collected that day - I was hiring for a few weeks). I was told bluntly NO. Fortunately I went back to them and spoke to a different person who was very helpful and assured me that the price would be set at the "new rate". Subsequently a minor accident (not my fault) was dealt with very well and then a minor accident (my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Outstanding Customer Service”

Written on: 12/04/2014 by Finnbarr (1 review written)

My wife and I had booked a car from Apex some time ago for our trip to Wellington. Unfortunately because of weather we were unable to land at Wellington in spite of two attempts and returned to Auckland where our flight was cancelled. I then advised Apex that we would not be travelling as available flight time would not have allowed us to be present at the celebration, a 50th wedding anniversary. Apex were very prompt in their communications and have subsequently provided us with a full… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Apex....SAD customer service!!!”

Written on: 05/01/2014

We booked a car from this company not long ago. The staff member who made the booking assured us that, as per their website, the car is a *GUARANTEED* Toyota Corolla 2006/2007!! I re-confirmed via email that the car was a 2006/2007 Toyota Corolla. Yet, on the day, we were given an older Nissan Sunny. The SAD bit of experience with Apex, is the attitude of the branch manager on the day. We waited for 2 hours after initially being told that that we had booked just as ecomony car as opposed to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor costomer service”

Written on: 28/12/2013

We hired a Corolla from Apex for 10 days. it had done 192,000KM on meter and wiper made constant noise, which was annoying during long distant drive. But the most disappointed thing was Apex customer service. When our car's front wheels stuck in water I called Christchurch office for help. Instead of useful advice, the manager keep emphasis I will get charge for toll truck, car damage, etc. If you call for rescue, what you hear from the other end is charge for ambulance, helicopter, huge… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Fuel Discount Scam”

Written on: 11/11/2013

One thing to watch out for is the fuel discount they offer you. They offer you a 20% discount off a tank of fuel, meaning you can return the car empty. What they don’t tell you is that it is based off the manufacturers total tank capacity (that includes the portion below the red line). In other words it’s no discount at all if you fill up when the car indicator/gauge is on empty. This annoyed me when I couldn't work out why I was filling up the car elsewhere during our travels from 'empty'… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Helpful with kids”

Written on: 01/11/2013 by EvelynKemp (1 review written)

Deciding to take the kids away for school holidays I needed to get a rental car. I found Apex on the internet, and booked a Camry sedan to fit us all in. The booking was easy to complete and I noticed they had free child seats so I went with them (good price too). When I got off the flight, I called the phone number for them to collect us. They told me to go outside the terminal and the van would be there soon. To my amazement, when I got outside the van was there already. The man told me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great Experience with these guys”

Written on: 28/10/2013

I hired a Toyota Corolla for 17 days from Apex at Auckland Airport. Fantastic, near new car - service was outstanding. Pick up and drop off smooth as the proverbial Thoroughly recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“GOOD SERVICE, GOOD PRICE GOOD CAR”

Written on: 02/10/2013

Easy to choose a car, easy to pay, the car was good as expected, I changed my booking and they were so kind for me to do so, they can actually say no, everything was nice and I will use them again. thanks paul and laura… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great service - wonderful people”

Written on: 22/06/2013 by DavidKFromNSW (1 review written)

Hired a Ford Focus from Apex Christchurch Airport for a week. Excellent value - wonderful friendly service and very very helpful. To my huge surprise they delivered the car to our airport hotel. We were still asleep lol, after a 1:30 am arrival, but I had booked the car for 9 am and they brought it to me. The staff were extremely good - and the car was in excellent condition for its age. People who book an older car, for a very very cheap price, cannot expect to be given a new vehicle. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car Breakdown Missed flight.”

Written on: 28/04/2013 by rodfw (1 review written)

Car brokedown 10 mins from Auckland Airport. Took over an hour to get replacment car. Replacment car came from Auckland Airport Branch. Breakdown made us miss flight… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Could not fault Apex”

Written on: 04/04/2013 by JeffVickiGoldCoast (1 review written)

We were able to book our car online from Australia, and arriving at Christchurch thought that it may be difficult to get the Apex depot. Not so, there were signs outside the arrival area, plus a phone. Outside the terminal, there was a coach waiting to take us there. We were treated so well by Jacqui, who answered all our questions, gave us maps, sim card, print out of a google map showing us how to drive to Akaroa, and assured us that we would not get lost. We didn't. The car was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“No problems at all”

Written on: 20/03/2013 by VEROUK (1 review written)

To be honest I'm a Hertz man, feeling re-assured by their worldwide brand, however like all the majors Hertz requires you to swap cars when you travel between North and South islands which seems a bit of a hassle. Apex does not - which is what first attracted us them. Apex is also very competetive on price. We read some decent reports so we went with them and I'm pleased we did. We were given a manual Corolla with about 40k on the clock which proved totally reliable. Their service is good and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“No hassle, no fuss”

Written on: 19/02/2013

Maybe it was my luck, but I am more convinced that Apex is a reliable car rental company. Booked a Corolla 2010 with decent mileage of 37,000 km from Wellington depot for northward travelling towards Auckland. The car was in good condition, 2 child seats were given for free and CDW was competitively priced. The legal mumbo-jumbo sheet was easy to read if you wanna know your consumer rights and another sheet is provided detailing out what to do in case of breakdown, accident or tyre… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview