Sainsburys PetCare Pet Insurance Reviews - www.sainsburysbank.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Sainsburys PetCare Pet Insurance www.sainsburysbank.co.uk

Sainsburys PetCare Pet Insurance www.sainsburysbank.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute Bobbins”

Written on: 27/09/2022 by saladoor (1 review written)

The portal is pure shambles, I need to be able to to contact somebody via email. Should be able to have a joint ownership of a pet on the system, as it's near impossible to get any information from them if your the other person, and if you did what did by accident and have an animal under each person's name the system seems to break and they are as helpful as a chocolate shoe on a hot running course. Gonna cancel as soon as I can and find somewhere else!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money of nothing ”

Written on: 20/06/2021 by Kelmitz (1 review written)

Sainsbury's pet insurance, they don't mind taking your money, but never want to pay out, when your pet gets to an old age they cut back most of the benifits so the policy is worthless,but they don't tell you this untill you want to claim, they say we sent you a letter explaining this and you agreed to it, but the did not send any letter. They know they are taking your money and they will not pay out, but they don't think this is wrong. Just pray on people how love and care about their beloved pets.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sainsbury’s exploitation of their pet insurance...”

Written on: 12/08/2020 by alannewbolt (1 review written)

I just happened to notice an unusual withdrawal on my online banking account, which had been taken by Sainsbury’s Bank. Investigating I found it was my pet insurance premium, but the premium seemed somewhat higher than it should have been. Asking Sainsbury’s for an explanation, the following was given: In the significant changes document enclosed within your renewal policy documents, we informed you that the company underwriting your policy has changed from Allianz Insurance to Pinnacle insurance. Pinnacle has calculated your premium using automated decision-making to provide you with the insurance service under the contract. In order to provide you with an efficient service, the pricing process is automated and your premiums have been calculated using the information supplied by your previous underwriter. The passage above must be Sainsbury’s definition for treating customers with contempt, explaining away their exploitation by claiming they had informed me of the policy changes, yet, I was neither told about the shift in underwriter nor that my premiums had increased from £659.64 to £1022.64 per year. Of course, the new underwriter unconcerned and without my knowledge was quietly dipping into my account to extract the money. Just what are Sainsbury's playing at, installing a new underwriter whose intention was to be underhanded and exploit their customers? I would have thought Sainsbury’s obligation to their customers was to use an underwriter that would have provided better value not instead install Pinnacle Insurance who financially has run amok. Pet insurance companies have become renowned for operating unethical practices since, without concern to even long-standing customers, they will increase premiums to an extent whereby the customer no longer can afford to pay them. Of course, it is transparent that some pet insurance companies use underhanded methods in an attempt to get rid of the bad investment of providing insurance for older pets. The pet, in this case, is a 10-year-old Cavalier King Charles spaniel called Millie. Millie shares our home alone with two other Cavalier King Charles spaniels Maddie and Amber. Maddie is the eldest and is now a wobbly 13-year-old and Amber the youngest is a boisterous 6-years-old. Looking at the insurance situation with Maddie her last yearly premiums increase was a far more reasonable £90 and this despite Maddie making several claims over the years. Millie, due to her age, has cynically been shown the finger of contempt by Sainsbury’s, who is now exploiting a trapped policyholder.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Peterpan111's Response to alannewbolt's Review

Written on: 09/06/2021

Same thing has happened to us. For our Cat. It went last year by 50% and now it’s gone up again this year by 50%. It’s costing us a fortune. It’s now a thousand pounds a year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful don’t take out pet insurance ”

Written on: 08/04/2020 by Ainsley29 (1 review written)

Dreadful people will add exclusions after you put a claim in.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY WELL CLEAR OF.”

Written on: 29/07/2019 by Bradford136 (1 review written)

Had sainsburys pet insurance since 2001. During the last 3 years, suddenly have to pay (yearly)excess for a cat with the same heart condition. Nothing what so ever in the conditions booklet about paying yearly excess. Never payed every year before and sainsburys helpline try to wriggle out of this. The rules clearly state this excess should not be paid as it is the same illness condition every year. We are trying to claim our money back, which is looking hopeless as staff on helpline are totatally disinterested and talk over you and don't listen to what you are saying. We will be taking our custom elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Steer well clear of them!”

Written on: 27/03/2019 by Clarke10 (1 review written)

This lot lure you in with a competitive premium and then when you want to make a claim they wriggle out of it with spurious superstition about pre existing conditions and tenuous links to declared conditions. My claim was a small one not as if I was claiming for a lifetime supply of expensive meds or anything like that its actually less than a hundred pounds. All the correspondence Ive had is polite but patronising with the aim of not answering the reason why the claim has actually been denied so as to make busy people just give up I guess. Ive now been referred to an appeals handler and ive got a good idea how that's gonna go! its just disgusting that a company such as Sainsburys treat customers in this way really. AVOID THIS POLICY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Utterly appalling.”

Written on: 19/12/2018 by Davom (1 review written)

I've been paying out hundreds for our cat in insurance over the years for our cat. he got sick this year - once - and I made a claim on the vets bills. Sainsbury,s did everything thy could to get out of covering the amount and then refused. If you want some advice just go somewhere else as they are an unfriendly bunch. They just want to take your money and laugh in your face. Appalling, just absolutely appalling. Can I give zero stars as one seems abundantly generous for these idiots.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 11 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sainsbury’s Pet Insurance Avoids paying legitimate...”

Written on: 03/09/2018 by nrPatton480 (1 review written)

As is the case with many of the reviews for Sainsbury’s, our experience has been appalling. They sign you up and take your premium, but curiously show no interest in the medical history of your pet during that process. That is until you claim, which is when they do want a full and unbroken medical history from all previous vets. This is then scrutinised until they find any little reason not to pay the claim. If Sainsbury’s goes into human life insurance, stay well clear as they’d wriggle out of paying a brain cancer case if they found you’d been given a paracetamol for a headache 20 years earlier. If you go to this company (a third party rather than Sainsbury’s), please expect to engage with the ombudsman and trading standards - that’s unless your pet remains perfectly healthy and you never need to engage with this so called insurer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 11 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT INSURE YOUR PET WITH THEM”

Written on: 11/07/2018 by VW51JAN (1 review written)

THIS COMPANY IS VERY GOOD AT TAKING YOUR MONEY AND ALSO VERY GOOD AT MAKING EXCUSES FOR NOT PAYING OUT ON A CLAIM, THE STAFF HAVE A DON'T CARE ATTITUDE THEY ARE A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME THEY ALSO DON'T LET YOU KNOW WHATS HAPPENING YOU HAVE TO KEEP RINGING THEM ALSO TOLD ME THEY HAD NOT RECEIVED MY CLAIM FORM THOUGHT THEY WOULD BE A GOOD COMPANY TO INSURE MY DOG WITH BUT SADLY THEY ARE NOT PREMIUMS JUST KEEP GOING UP AND UP BUT WHEN YOU WANT HELP THEY MAKE EXCUSES AFTER EXCUSES WHY THEY SHOULD NOT PAY OUT ON A CLAIM AND WHEN I SAID I WOULD BE CANCELLING MY POLICY I WAS ASK WOULD YOU LIKE TO DO IT KNOW. TERRIBLE SERVICE

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lizmschnau's Response to VW51JAN's Review

Written on: 10/08/2018

Couldn’t agree more! Money grabbers. I no longer go to Sainsbury’s for anything disgraceful behaviour

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Go Elsewhere!”

Written on: 10/03/2018 by AnneOliver (3 reviews written)

Wanted to transfer a fully paid up pet insurance policy to my address, as we were adopting a dog who's owner had died. Simple enough?... nightmare. After numerous letters, all from the same Head of Department, some of which were quite threatening, a member of staff took it upon themselves to refund the payment for the policy to the deceased persons credit card so therefore my pet was now not insured, but they hadn't told me. After letters, e mails, conversations, we finally sorted it out and Sainsbury's offered 11 months free insurance as an apology for their appalling service. Sadly our dog died and we had to make a claim on the policy. After some toing and froing and requesting more information, which I supplied immediately, the claim was eventually paid. I paid the cheque into my bank last week. This morning I received a letter from the same Head of Department asking for the same information and saying if I didn't send it, the claim would not be met.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They owe me money”

Written on: 16/12/2017 by ebDowd460 (1 review written)

I cancelled my dogs insurance as the price went up too much. I was told I would be refunded my monthly charge.. this was over 2 months ago!!!!! I get told something different every time I phone. I would not reccomend for this reason. It's awful that they are keeping good of my money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful pet insurance”

Written on: 26/11/2017 by kwharton (1 review written)

We have insured with them for years and when we tried to claim £200 they went into the pets complete back history from 8 years previously and slapped on many exclusions for problems my pet had had for 15 minutes 8 years earlier - yes I kid you not!My pet had a completely healthy check every year and vet had noted that he had no problems - yet they continued with exclusions despite my vet writing to them to tell them not to!Two vets have confirmed the exclusions not valid. Have gone to ombudsman. I have paid over £600 a year for this rubbish service. Complete waste of money and dreadful service - they just want your money and to not pay out. Do not use at any cost.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND SAINSBURYS PET INSURANCE”

Written on: 22/11/2017 by baKenney237 (1 review written)

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND SAINSBURYS PET INSURANCE! I have a beagle that was in obvious pain in its front legs. I had to wait so long for approval that the only option was to pay myself and claim back. So at the cost of over £2500 all told we went ahead. After many calls to get an answer Sainsbury's have now refused to pay. Finding any minor ailment in our dogs history to exclude from the policy. It is my experience that they seem to actively seek to not pay out for anything. Basically you should not take out a policy with them, unless you have a puppy that has never been to the vets as they exclude any part of the body that the vet has had reason to examine. They are very slow to process a claim and will use a variety of excuses as to why they are not proceeding with a claim. This has lead me to the conclusion that they look to find reasons not to pay a claim whether or not it is related to any other condition.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I have insured my pet lab with Sainsbury's some 13...”

Written on: 02/11/2017 by johnlloyd03 (4 reviews written)

I have insured my pet lab with Sainsbury's some 13 years now made very few claims over the year very happy taking my premiums but I have had to make a few small claim's over the last 2 years premiums have always cone up way over inflation but the last 2 year's after claiming last year up 25% this year up 55% Premium at the start was £113.16 this year £1357.88 + £120 excess also 20% of every claim so if you put a claim in of say £200 you are lucky to get £50 back

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Greedy company”

Written on: 16/10/2017 by PatDanBar (1 review written)

Have just received my policy renewal. Shocked and disgusted by the increase. I have two Bengal cats and although my female has had health problems in the past, I have not claimed anything for three years. For the two cats they are charging £158 monthly. The policy for the female has gone up £23.00 a month. They know how difficult it is to go to another company if your pet has had health problems and certainly take advantage of this. I tried speaking to someone on the phone who was very patronising and not very helpful. After reading other reviews I realise that I am not the only customer with such a poor opinion of this company. Greedy they are, caring they are not.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont do it!”

Written on: 07/09/2017 by Nellie31 (1 review written)

Do not go with sainsburys pet insurance. They will use any excuse not to pay out. Not only have they managed to worm their way out of paying for my dogs cancer treatment they have now added an exclusion on death payment!! Cruel, heartless and greedy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnlloyd03's Response to Nellie31's Review

Written on: 16/09/2017

You are right there My premium as gone up from £99 to £1000. in 12 years excess up 20% of claim as well so if you send a bill for £200 you pay 20% + £125 so you only get £35 back

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Sky high premium increases.”

Written on: 15/08/2017 by Bumblebee151 (1 review written)

I have generally not had a problem with my claim being paid, except the occasion when they paid my vet, who had already been paid, having had the payment returned by my vet it took much longer than Saintsbury's told us to get my cheque. My main complaint is the extortionate premium that I am now paying. My dog is on daily medication and has also had surgery on her knee for which I expected a rise in my premium. What I didn't anticipate was increases of £15 per month resulting now in me paying just under £1000 a year. She has just reached her 10th birthday and I am not looking forward to this years renewal. Also my excess has doubled. Any query regarding increases have been met with abrupt "well you've made acclaim" retorts. Would really think hard whether to go with them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnlloyd03's Response to Bumblebee151's Review

Written on: 16/09/2017

Your not kidding same here over 12 years mine went from £99 to around £1000 only had to claim over the last 2 years they told me the claim did not make the premium go up it was age of dog would use LV next time

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Go to any lengths to avoid paying claim”

Written on: 18/05/2017

Took out a policy for my dog in Jan 2017 (~£400) and disclosed a previous treatment from Dec 2015 - no exclusions were applied and money was taken. In February he picked up gastro-enteritis and we made a claim. The claim was rejected and an exclusion was then placed referring to the Dec 2015 treatment as a "pre-existing" condition. Our vet contacted insurer to confirm the two incidents were entirely unrelated. After weeks of review and complaints procedure they did not budge. I cancelled remainder of policy. Definitely seems they have a policy to reject claims on any grounds possible and to delay processing any complaint until customer gives up. Absolute waste of money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Premium increases”

Written on: 23/12/2016

Last year my premium increased significantly. When I challenged this I was given a number of reasons. I was specifically informed that they do NOT increase premiums due to a claim. This year I have had to make a claim. My first. My premium has rocketed a further 33%. One of the reasons stated is due to having made a claim. I find this incredible, but having made a claim it now seems that it will be very difficult to change the cover to another company. The premium is now 4 and a half times more than it was 8 years ago. The cost,well exceeds fully comprehensive car insurance for two cars.....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bumblebee151's Comment

Written on: 25/09/2017

I was told the opposite when I asked why my premium had gone up by over 30%. I was told categorically that "well, you've made a claim". My premium was £18 per month in 2007, in 2013/14 £48.46, 14/15 £53.79, 15/16 £65.56 and last year £82.99. Not small increases are they?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of time”

Written on: 03/12/2016 by Labrottie (1 review written)

Cancelled policy today. Do not insure your four legged friends with this company, they're only interested in taking you for a ride, quick enough to take your money but make a claim for vet bills?? You've more chance of winning the lottery. Furious doesn't even cut it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by sarah.oxford on 28th April 2014 Report this content
Is it Sainsbury's normal procedure to contact any 'alternative therapists' who have done maintenance checks, ie McTimoney chiropractor (for a dog who does agility). These have been checks to maintain good fitness and veterinary consent forms were filled out at the time. The chiro they have contacted saw the dog twice - approx 3 years ago. The claim is for x-rays which have shown some moderate wear and tear to the right elbow. This claim was rejected roughly 2 weeks after the claim, they said because records show 5 years ago the dog pulled a shoulder muscle on the same leg, (which was resolved within a week and only needed 5 days of Metacam). There has been no other lameness during dog's life, until the limp which started late February '14 My vet wrote to say there was no connection between the 2 events mentioned - as the x-rays show the source currently is the elbow joint, shoulder etc all normal. (In the vet records from 5 years ago it said 'shoulder uncomfortable on extension, elbow not sore'.) The re-assessment process has brought the total time since the claim to 6 weeks, and now they have asked for info from this chiro, who has said she will look up records and get back to them. They only asked chiro last week, and seem determined not to pay for my dogs treatment. (looking for excuses?) I am very embarrassed as vet needs paying directly, and has waited too long, for a process that Sainsbury's advertise as taking approx 3-5 days. Please help!! Is there anything I can do? I e-mailed ins. co. yesterday, and said if not resolved by end of today I will be notifying the Ombudsman that I may need this looking into. Is there anything else? Advice appreciated.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content martg Written on: 29/04/2014
I'm afraid that if you want to get anywhere with this you will have to go to the ombudsman. This will take months. Sainsbury's will not pay out if they can connect anything from the past with a current condition. My dog, as a pup, started chewing his feet for a while (what dog doesn't ?). Went to the vets who said it was nothing. Several years later (about 5) my dog developed digital cysts. They wouldn't pay out because of when he was a puppy. They are a law unto themselves.
overview