Natwest Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Natwest
★★☆☆☆
1.7
19.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Natwest - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Natwest

Latest Reviews

“I called into my barnstaple branch of nw on 7-5-2024 &...”

★★★★★

written by qiLawrence1993 on 16/05/2024

I called into my barnstaple branch of nw on 7-5-2024 & was warmly greeted, he was so kind & helpful much appreciated as i was having a very stressful day he made me feel that i was not just another customer

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Shambles. Not to be trusted with simplest of tasks”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 190Baird on 12/11/2023

Tried to open fixed rate ISA. Applied online with screen saying "close tab and proceed" which it didn't as the page was now closed. Pointless activity obviously not tested. Called up to be eventually told cannot deal with online application on phones. 1 hour wasted. Attempted to use Cora, their online bit but there is no obvious place to click like "click here to speak to Cora". Eventually get through and nothing could be sorted. Meanwhile, I had email to say there was a message waiting for me and all I had to do was log on. The message would have said this is your account number but the irony is that I did not have my account number. Can you see where all this is going? Another Cora visit and after another hour the agent said call back tomorrow. No letter came through for me but my wife had hers and we opened at exactly the same time. Jumped through hoops to set up the app to then be told it was a much lower rate. Aagh. This company is awful. No way are we going to trust them with our money. Don't deserve bailouts or any help until they have the basics sorted. Went with Tipton instead which by comparison was an absolute joy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Terrible bank”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 12/06/2023

Decided they would not allow a bill payment to a very good local company that fully met the bank's own own checks. No reason given except it might be a suspicious transaction, no basis offered for that. Had to get someone else to pay it for me as I had promised prompt payment. Now they won't let me do any transfers to pay other bills ( or the person back who paid my bill for me ( with no problem at all from Santander incidentally even though they also appeared to do thorough checks ). This was three days ago and account is still basically useless. Will get out quickly (after 50 years I would say) and take my business elsewhere. Disgusting way to treat a customer. This shower must be the worst bank in the UK today.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“No body cares any more ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 002313squirrel on 24/05/2023

I have written several letters to nat west customer services regarding a claim under section 75 of the consumer credit act. This has gone on for over three months now and I have stil not received a reply. I have now closed my Account and gone to a bank who proud,s itself on customer service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“ARRESTED ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ayaanw74 on 30/03/2023

I WAS ARRESTED YESTERDAY IN THE NATWEST BANK IN BOLTON .I AM AN R.B.S CUSTOMER AND AFTER CALLING THE CUSTOMER HELP CENTRE TO ARRANGE A CASH WITHDRAWAL [QUITE LARGE] FROM MY SAVINGS ACCOUNT I WENT THROUGH THE PROCEDURE OF THEY REQUIRE WAS ALSO TOLD I MUST PRODUCE INVOICES TO PROVE WHY I WANTED MY CASH OUT I TOLD THE AGENT I WANTED THE CASH TO ENJOY MYSELF AS I WAS 69 BADLY DISABLED AND HAD WORK ALL MY LIFE AND WANTED TO ENJOY SOME OF THE MONEY I HAD IN SAVINGS. HER RESPONSE WAS JUST LET THE COUNTER STAFF KNOW THAT . I WAS DIRECTED TO COLLECT MY CASH FROM A NAT WEST BANK IN BOLTON TOWN CENTRE TO CUT A LONG STORY SHORT THEY REFUSED TO GIVE ME MY CASH I REFUSED TO LEAVE UNTIL I HAD MY CASH THEY CALLED THE POLICE TO HAVE ME REMOVED WITHOUT MY CASH . THE STAFF WERE ARROGANT AND WERE DEFINATLEY DISCRIMINATING AGAINST ME BECAUSE I WAS OLD AND DID NOT USE TECHNOLOGY .I FIND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR THE ELDERLY AND DISABLED DISGUSTING

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

“Terrible”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tonyr123 on 30/03/2023

Applied for a Credit card online and the rigid online system was appaling. No consideration or support from the staff. Don't bother!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“after12y account being closed without any explanation ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 415Flood on 14/12/2022

Unfortunately after 12 years as a customer, all my accounts are being threatened with being closed without any explanation and with no possibility of appeal or response to any email. I think it's horrible, against all international legal standards I'm a small company of Courses and I've never had any problems with the bank and I've never failed to pay any debt strongly advise, any business owners to don't open a business account in because of a lack of stability and trustability, you never know when they are going to close your account.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Absolutely terrible bank. They messed up my loan...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MichaelHowes on 26/11/2022

Absolutely terrible bank. They messed up my loan repayments and they are expecting me to pay for their mistake. Law suit! They broke our agreement and they expect me to pay them for what they messed up. I have never missed a payment in my life untill natwest screwed me over. Stay away from these terrorists.they broke our agreement and arrangement, they lied to me consitantly, what created more issues. A issue they created. And they want me to pay them back the erras they created after they lied, missinformed, misleading and failing to contact me to tell me this and that is happening as we agreed upon. Im taking natwest to court and By god help me i WILL sue you for your lying and incompetency and lack of professional integrity.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“DO NOT OPEN AN ACCOUNT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Samson300 on 08/11/2022

Absolute Joke!!! Block access to all my accounts 48 hours ago with no warning or explanation. I have no access to money or Payee details, not to mention declined card payments and direct debits. After numerous phone calls I'm told a certain department with no name or contact number will be in touch.....Still waiting. I will be switching my accounts and I would think very carefully before opening an account with these utter clowns...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Not customer focused ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MadelinePrater on 26/07/2022

New debit card received with contactless payment allowed. I have alway had this removed from my debit card, today I was told the bank will not issue replacement without it as all cards must have contactless payment irrespective of their customers wishes. They would rather I moved my banking business elsewhere. I will comply with their wishes. Not had a great experience over 40 years of banking with them, not a bank I would recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Avoid at all costs. Terrible bank.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JH006 on 01/04/2022

Been with NatWest 2 years, had about 20 frauds in that time. Sometimes before even receiving the replacement bank card. Customer service are very rude, bad mannered and unhelpful. Go into the bank for a solution and they just ring customer service and put you on the phone! I haven't been able to use my card or any online payment in a month due to me being blocked access to my card, but the fraudsters get full access. Tried online complaints and they actually rejected the complaint! All my bills are extremely late, I can't buy anything, and the last of my cash has been wasted on phone credit to be on hold for an insanely long time with no solution. I'm closing my account asap and going elsewhere, this is shockingly bad service. They don't even tell you how or why fraud happened, nor do they stop it a lot of the time, they just stop you - the card owner from accessing money. Don't use NatWest unless youre ok with not being able to access your own money, and having serious attitude thrown at you in the bank or on the phone when trying to resolve their mistakes. I never write reviews, this is how livid NatWest had made me. I wish I'd been warned how bad this bank is 3 years ago.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Inept doesn't begin to describe it.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Phoenix2147 on 01/04/2022

Spoke to a Natwest employee in branch to ask how I go about making a money transfer to pay for a motorcycle. Was told to log into my online account, fill in details and use card reader to confirm request and it would go through, she even said she'd put a note on the system and I told her the exact amount I would be transferring. When I did the transfer it left my account ok but did not go into the recipients. After a while I received a text to say they would not transfer the money until they'd spoken to me to confirm I had made the request apparently for security reasons. Bear in mind I had given my client number, my PIN number, my password, used my bank card and my card reader to carry out this transaction. I tried ringing the 0345 number I was given to no avail. Having driven a 140 mile round trip at a cost of £40 to purchase this motorcycle plus waiting on the phone for 45 minutes whilst being played awful music interspersed with "one of our agents will be with you shortly" at an extortionate rate when that was clearly never going to happen. This on top of waiting on another 0345 number to Natwest two days earlier for 1 1/2 hours and eventually giving up which cost £14.40. This isn't just a poor service, this behaviour is costing customers money at a time when they can ill afford it with the rapid increase in energy bills, petrol and pretty much everything else. We are your customers, our money keeps you in business so have the decency to give us the service we deserve.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Bank looks like its run by bank robbers. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Sida.Yaquob on 23/09/2021

Worst bank in the world. Natwest bank looks like its run by bank robbers. Customer services is no good. Wish everything could be done by machines than to put up with natwest customer services.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Utterly appaling”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Rush71 on 13/09/2021

Online payments kept pending for 24 hours with no communication from bank as to why! Unable to contact anyone by phone Digital chat service worse than useless Biometric security does not work Been with bank for fifty odd years will be closing my account tomorrow Would give zero stars if I could

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“NatWest Do Not Care”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Nevaeht168 on 02/09/2021

Very bad service, My problem is simple and is to submit my new business account application, still though no one sorted it out yet. I received over than 4 different solutions over some days in which none of them worked. During those days, they say they will call back if line cut and they never do although I had to ask them to call me back if line cut, and still no one cared to call me back. I am tired from repeating my story to every person i speak to; i spokje to over than 10 different people within 3 days only. I wrote a formal complaint and emailed it to them, I received a reply to contact business team in which my complaint is about them. And, when I went online to write my review, I even notice about other people bad experience with Natwest; this fact made me feel I made a mistake opening my first business account with Natwest at the first place, and I should now consider transferring all my 3 accounts with them to another bank who cares. All what I am angry about is the personal time that NatWest had wasted for me along with the delay that they had caused in getting my business running with things that needs to be done such as VAT registration, etc. there is nothing that can describe this situation except that NO ONE CARES, hence there is no reason not to consider a bank transfer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Online banking problems”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/01/2021

When I try to log into online banking ,more often than not I get refused entry as I have apparently entered the wrong information. I double check and treble check and get my wife to check as well but still no joy. Eventually I get locked out and have to apply for a new pin and passcode. I have now had enough and will be changing banks due to this terrible system. I have another account with Barclays online banking and have no problems whatsoever with their user friendly system. Wake up Nat West before you lose all your customers.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“discriminative bank ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Douglas231 on 03/12/2020

I have been personal and business banking with NatWest more than 9 years. I am an interest free person so I didn't apply any loans but they get benefits from my money as long years. When I apply a business account for my new business, they refused my application. The officer who assed was very rude and discriminative. When I complaint about it to their supervisor, I received a reply next day as "We’re writing to you to let you know we’ve reviewed your application for a Business Current Account and we’re sorry but we won’t be able to take it any further. As a result you’ll need to make alternative banking arrangements for your business. There isn’t an opportunity to appeal this decision". While ago, when I try to open a personal account to my wife, a banking officer in NatWest Alton branch has discriminated her because she didnt satisfy with the documents. We had opened with the same document in another branch in London. I am taking action to switch the bank immediately. I understand this will not affect the bank but I need to consider a fair bank for my daily banking activity.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by catorolea on 19/11/2020

After 10 years of banking with them, Natwest closed down my accounts (rewards, business help to buy - and now I'm gonna lose my accrued interest on savings and help to buy scheme! ) without giving any reason. It's a terrible time to go against their own customers especially for ones like myself who always maintained a good credit rating, constant income in and have savings accounts as well! They're an absolutely ridiculous and vile bank. Stay away as much as possible

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Samsung Pay”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Charlespls58 on 06/07/2020

This is a review of setting up Samsung Pay on a Nat West current account. I’ve never received such appalling service from a bank. There online support for setting up Samsung Pay, are quite frankly disgraceful. There lack of knowledge in how to set up this payment method was alarming. I was told it would take 2 hours to activate Samsung Pay on my current account. After 2 hours and a chat with online support via messaging (Nat West have stopped telephone support for this service), I was told it would take a further 24 hours to set up. please please avoid this bunch of amateurs claiming to be a bank. This is not a bank. Customer support is non existent and there technically knowledge is primary school level. If your thinking of switching your account to another bank avoid Nat West at all costs. In the long run it will cost you time and many many frustrated hours.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 3

“Does what it says.”

★★★☆☆

written by dmreviews on 02/06/2020

I’ve been with natwest for about 6 years now. I’ve had my ups n downs with them if I’m honest. They’ve majorly messed up my accounts in past, and when I wanted to start saving money, they don’t really have any decen products. That being said, they’ve always sorted out my issues, and compensated me more than generously. All in all, I’d say they’re not that bad. And the app is good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview