Bank of Scotland Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.3 / 5
7% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bank of Scotland - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bank of Scotland

Bank of Scotland
Bank of Scotland

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“The bank keep insisting that I take out a business...”

Written on: 29/07/2019

The bank keep insisting that I take out a business account. This is not a legal requirement for a sole trader. After complaining to one branch I was sent a letter saying I was sent a letter telling me that they will not deal with me unless I open a new business account and pay them a fee.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible!!”

Written on: 05/10/2018 by Scott423 (1 review written)

Avoid at All costs these people are beyond words.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful liars ”

Written on: 15/09/2017 by 90Shepherd (1 review written)

Ruined my credit score. Went to a branch asked for a closing balance for my credit card PAID IN FULL. 3 months later received a letter from debt agency saying i had failed to pay my credit card for 3 months in a row a grand total of £15.30. Apparently thwy requested it each month tgey didn't... First i had heard of it. Spoke to Some woman called nico for 2 hours said it was their fault and they would fix credit file and close account. They didn't one month later...debt collector later how dare they. Evil liars . Financial ombudsmen and lawyer contacted

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Refused to cancel direct debit”

Written on: 20/04/2017 by Diya362 (1 review written)

Phoned to cancel direct debit for Kwikfit insurance who sneakily make payment pending 5 days before expiry of policy ,as I had already reinsured for a third of the price with a new company and Kwikfit had doubled theirs for no reason .l was told that I had to contact Kwikfit and that they were now in control of the direct debit ,however they were not answering the phone for 2 days prior to the expiry of the policy and bank of Scotland despite my instruction paid them anyway .who,s money is it ,do I now have to buy insurance from those people for ever ? New banking for us ,is this what cahoots means

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dw80's Comment

Written on: 13/06/2017

Your review is under Bank of Scotland, but maybe it should be Kwikfit?

I had a similar issue a couple of years ago. Most insurance policies "auto-renew". This means you have to specifically tell them you do not want to auto-
renew it. I now do this whenever I take out a policy. Kwikfit were not being sneaky, it would be in the policy documents they sent you originally, and they should have sent you paperwork in advance which should also have told you this.

The Bank of Scotland were right to tell you to contact Kwikfit as you should always try and cancel through the company rather than the bank (although you could also have cancelled the direct debit via online banking) as that could result in missed payment charges being applied by Kwikfit. It's best to cancel with the company, and then the direct debit stops automatically. If you are unsure you can cancel it yourself after the final payment has been taken but you should still tell the company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Mortgage under payments complaint”

Written on: 04/04/2017 by Jaylin85 (1 review written)

Received letter stating mortgage in arrears and that several payments had been missed. Called up as I have never missed a payment in my life. Was told all payments up to date but in arrears by £30 due to payment amount change last August when b of e rate changed. I told her I was in a fixed rate mortgage so this was impossible, Didn't have a clue, don't think she had heard of a fixed rate mortgage. After checking was told it was cos I took a payment holiday last August so payments had increased by 5 pounds a month. I never received any correspondance about this therefore requested a formal complaint be raised, Got put through to the rudest person I have ever spoken to said he was a manager and that they don't have time to contact everyone that doesn't pay the right amount for their mortgage and that he had done hos job correctly by not contacting me for the last 8 months and I was in the wrong. I had him on speaker phone and my daughter was listening she was disgusted at how he spoke to me she works for Tesco Bank and says no one in her department never mind a manager would treat a customer like that.At the end of the call I said I think this might be a case for judge Rinder and said goodbye he put the phone down and it transferred back to the original person who said hello hello and all we could hear was a group of staff laughing in the background so it was clear that I had been put on speaker phone and they clesrly found my predicament a source of entertainment which they will sorely regret.Refusing to pay the arrears and will put in a formal complaint about the manager I spoke to. Awaiting outcome and if not satisfactory will take this matter to the banking ombudsman. Disgusting service will be taking my custom elsewhere following the end of the fixed rate period.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip-Off Halifax Bank of Scotland Mortgages”

Written on: 10/02/2017

I took out a Bank of Scotland interest only mortgage in 2008. After my discounted period finished in 2011 they put me on the SVR of 4.95%. I asked to switch to a lower rate and they told me I didn't qualify. In 2016 on the advice of my broker I again asked to be switched to a lower rate. The FCA advise that "TRANSITIONAL RULES allow customers who took out mortgages to switch rates without having to pass affordability tests, provided they don't require further borowing" and also that "the type of or lack of a repayment vehicle does not need to be considered for a new rate". I was refused on both counts TODAY!!! This bank flouts FCA rules and the government lets them get away with it. Are you listening Prime Minister??? Do you care?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They do not listen to customers or even their own staff ”

Written on: 24/01/2017 by dennis.mccallum.1253 (6 reviews written)

I have repeatedly asked if I could have a plain replacement debit card without the picture of the standing stones on it which makes the card number difficult to read. I have asked at the branch, they know of the problem as it is a common complaint, but can do nothing and management will not listen . I wrote to the CEO in London and got passed to a lady in customer services who had never seen the card - and abruptly got fobbed off. So now I have moved banks.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“She was amazing”

Written on: 11/07/2016 by DestinyBaxter (1 review written)

Had a problem with a company taking money out of my account since April and not one single customer adviser could help me with my problem, it is now July and again the company had taken money, called the company for the millionth time then called the bank again, spoke to a lovely lady and it took her the matter of 5 minutes to fix my problem, there is some people who just can't be bothered to their job but she was more than happy to help and she did, thank you!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Tricked by the Bank of Scotland - Check your Insurance”

Written on: 19/05/2016 by kittikat (1 review written)

I've been a loyal customer with the Bank of Scotland for over thirty years and have very recently discovered I have been tricked into paying extortionate house contents and building insurance fees, which were tied into my mortgage payments - a mortgage I have been making overpayments to in order to pay it off quicker. Only due to the advantage of online banking have I actually became aware of this underhand method of extorting money from me. Please check your own details as I was never sent a building or contacts renewal notice informing me of the cost (this year nearly £800 for a very modest ex-council house with no additional high cost items included). It is fair to say, I will be transferring all my accounts to bank, who treat their customers with respect -shame on the Bank of Scotland.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Service”

Written on: 14/05/2016 by Cadenj184 (1 review written)

Long queues with staff walking around with a frown on their faces. They look as if their at work as a form of punishment. Terrible don't bank with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“poor care and no standards”

Written on: 01/04/2016 by Rasmussen482 (1 review written)

Moving home is stressful enough but add the bank of Scotland into the mix and stress goes off the scale. I ordered a new card, only problem was it had the wrong name on it. When did I discover this? when I was trying to transfer funds to complete a house sale. It was taken 5 months and the new card has not arrived, the house sale date had to be moved as we could not settle as the bank had issued a card to me with the wrong name, this has caused untold stress and cost but the bank can only offer a derisory £100 but the costs were £700 and the new card will be with me in another week. No wonder it is in such a mess. Hardly efficient, carrier pigeon could do better. Service wqith a smile, no chance.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting ethics and fees”

Written on: 12/03/2016 by Welchap492 (1 review written)

As a Halifax customer, I was happy for about 5 years, but they aggressively got me to open a BOS current account which suited me temporarily due to hating my other bank and living in Scotland where they were few of its branches. In the last 7 years, HBOS have - taken £200 fees over going overdrawn by under £1 in times of hardship; refused to apologise, let alone give back money - which was only redressed by housing benefit; took away an unused credit card and overdraft (before the other things), got my address wrong for 6 months and didn't send a new chequebook; been slow, rude, unhelpful and deeply unethical. Their charges are £1 a day for even a tiny overdraft - £5 if unarranged, and still no cap. I will leave as soon as I find a better bank.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I wish that they would listen..........”

Written on: 12/01/2016 by dennis.mccallum.1253 (6 reviews written)

I use my BOS debit card often now on the internet to order goods. The shiny plastic card has a pretty picture of the Stones of Callanish on it with the card number printed over it. This makes the numbers very difficult to read. So I went into the local branch and asked for a plain card please without a picture. "Not possible" I was told, "but this is a common complaint that we get." "But what about people with sight difficulties, unlike me, they must surely have access to legible cards?" "No, they just don't exist and there is no way of pushing the problem to a higher level." So, there we are, isn't it good to know the that mandarins in high places hold the needs of everyday customers so close to their heart?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“a sham”

Written on: 26/09/2015 by gregorgz (15 reviews written)

As my title suggest this bank is a complete joke. I cancelled my account after 6 months - mysterious bank charges pop up out the blue, the call centre seem to be full of people who cant speak english, they are slow at doing things and just generally suck at everything to be honest. Steer clear at any cost please.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible”

Written on: 04/09/2015 by Reynab186 (1 review written)

Service has been terrible waited 2nweeks revived my card on Thursday its now Wednesday and I've not received my pin so I phone up and they haven't sent me it out so I have to wait for another 4 working days so won't receive till next Tuesday absaloute joke of it was quicker I would change my mind

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disappointed customer”

Written on: 23/08/2015 by HunterSerrano (1 review written)

This bank should not be operating and dealing with people's money AT ALL.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Impersonal bank”

Written on: 11/06/2015 by Silvanf269 (1 review written)

I've given up thinking that Bank of Scotland will ever treat me as a valued customer or even address me by name despite my doing business regularly in the same branch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst customer service ever ”

Written on: 02/06/2015 by Meganb97 (1 review written)

I recently had to go in into the Branch in Renfrew town centre to withdraw money as I had forgotten my card, as I did not have my card the staff refused my withdraw which is fair enough I understand their are security precautions even though I have withdrew money from the Glasgow branch without my card without a problem before. But the customer service I received from the woman behind the desk and another young girl standing behind the desk with her was shocking they made me feel as if I was lying and the younger girl basically shouted I am going to refuse your withdraw so the whole shop could hear, they then both looked at me as if why are you still here I just stood up and left the shop without either one of them saying sorry we couldn't help you today or even goodbye. I will be making sure to avoid this branch altogether I was made to feel very uncomfortable. Although every time I have been in to the Glasgow city centre branch the service has always been very good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Archaic systems and dreadful customer service”

Written on: 16/05/2015 by DawsonMcKinnon (1 review written)

I have a credit card with BOS. I tried to change my address, but you can only do it by going to a branch or writing a letter including an original utility bill. I don't live near a branch, so the only other option is to write a letter. When I suggested that this was a little archaic I was told that this is a very safe method of doing things. They wouldn't agree that it was archaic, and suggested that their underwriters have sanctioned this process as secure. This was after the third attempt at contacting them by phone - the first time I was on hold for 15 minutes, the second time just over an hour, and I finally spoke to someone on the third attempt. If you'd like really poor customer service AND really archaic systems then the Bank of Scotland is for you!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst business banking ever”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by davidsgreengrocer (1 review written)

If you are just starting out in business as I am, please do yourself a favour and DO NOT open a Bank of Scotland business account. It took me a month just to get the account open. That was after dozens of calls because it was taking so long. Luckily I got my account number from someone on the phone, otherwise I would still be waiting for it because over a month later, I am still waiting on my welcome package with in the account details. I only got the account number because I threatened to go to another bank. As soon as the account was open five weeks ago, I called to ask about a start-up loan. Spoke to a very nice lady who told me to send my business plan to a manager in their business department, which I did that same day. Five weeks, and numerous phone calls later, I can't get a hold of him. I even tried going to my local branch. Waste of time because still nobody wants to even talk to me. Everything must be done through him because he is my account manager I am busy setting up my company so don't have time to deal with it, but Bank of Scotland, know this. You have not only lost me as a business bank customer, but I will be pulling my personal accounts as well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Felixubaka's Response to davidsgreengrocer's Review

Written on: 17/03/2015

bank of scotland is the worst bank when it comes to business banking. it takes more than 2 hours to even speak with the businee team via phone. please don't use it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview