Pontins, Camber Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
23% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pontins, Camber - Ask a question now

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“A complete over haul of apartments are much needed!”

Written on: 31/07/2021 by Zieglerup433 (1 review written)

I haven't had a Holiday in 26 YEARS!! and I thought I would take my 6 year old for his first! I was so very disappointed in the cleanliness of the (so called Club Apartment!) I had to clean everything including the windows! I had to request the voucher that was supposed to be in the envelope on checking in!? NOTHING was explained i.e. where to put your rubbish, where to put your keys on leaving. I had to request and argue for a Broom Mop & Bucket, which was meant to be standard in Club class, and various other items that were not available/given in this package. I could go on and on. On top of all of this, A cleaner was quite vocal when moving from room to room, talking loudly about prior holiday makers, and another cleaner when asked directions moaned and pointed? I believe that the owner of Pontins needs to go undercover and see for himself what this site is all about, It really needs an overhaul. Some Holiday Makers paid 400 for the week I paid less, and left early. I am very sure I will not return to Pontins while it is so run down, instead, I will book private accommodation just so I could return to the beach, the highlight of the Holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away!!!”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by xmissnawtyx (1 review written)

We arrived on Friday at 3pm and had left next morning by 7am next day, the apartment was disgusting dirty with broken smoke alarm, lock on front door broken, stink of mould, food inedible, staff were muppets & facilities a joke. I have emailed a complaint to Pontins only to be offered 50% off another holiday, what a joke!!! Wouldn't step in that place again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“beaten ”

Written on: 31/08/2014 by fordp100 (1 review written)

I travelled to pontins with my wife last night 30/9/2014. In the main hall I was told by staff to move so kids could see him I immediately moved and sat on a chair in the isle again I was told to move within 2 minutes the situation escalated with possibly 10 bouncers dragging me out also assaulting my wife bouncers dragged me kicked me sat on me and told me they were going to beat me at the gate I shouted for help and was told" no ones coming mate "the pain was unbearable at which time I must have passed out as when I came round all the bouncers were sitting on me and couldnt breath as I was dragged to the gate from top of metal stairs they told me it is a long way down im going to throw you over mate the only chance I got of help was outside reception I saked for people to all police and ambulance but was roughly dragged untill a lot of people told them they d called police this is when they seemed to stop hurting me a bouncer named mick i believe kept on poking me in face today my wife and I are badly bruised Police came and I was not arrested as loads of people told them I was asaulted but these bulliesi was not aressted but demander the police reviw footage I would like to thank all the people who did help me and filmed it I believe without you helping I would have been more badly injured theses security need to re assessed and lets hope this does not happen to anyone else if you could write a review if you witnessed this event it will help my case afer police review footage at my request

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful dont go!!!!”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by 58Garrett (1 review written)

We went on the 11th July with my two young children and came back a day early! When we arrived in the apartment it smelt of sweat and cigarettes. The pillows had pubic hairs on them and there were unsavory stains on the mattresses! Lucky enough for us we bought our own lining as it would have cost us £30 to borrow it off pontins. After looking around we found mould on the walls and the place was generally grubby. In the morning our clothes were damp it was like we had been sleeping in a tent. The next day we spent the day in Hastings which is a beautiful town just to get away from pontins! We had half board with our holiday and the food was disgusting I wouldn't feed it to my dog! The entertainment was OK at night my eldest she enjoyed that :0) the staff were lovely also. The swimming pool was good although we waited an hour to get in after a one in one out system. When advising maybe doing a band system a staff member said they have asked headofficw but they said it would be too expensive!! What a joke!! The windows of the apartment are unsafe and only single paned on most apartments so much so I saw a young lad fall through a window and an ambulance had to be called! I've taken my complaints to head office and they have apologised but refuse to refund my money!! Instead they are offering 50% off my next stay with VIP treatment they can dream on!! Absolutely disgusted!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful dont go!!!!”

Written on: 23/07/2014 by 58Garrett (1 review written)

We went on the 11th July with my two young children and came back a day early! When we arrived in the apartment it smelt of sweat and cigarettes. The pillows had pubic hairs on them and there were unsavory stains on the mattresses! Lucky enough for us we bought our own lining as it would have cost us £30 to borrow it off pontins. After looking around we found mould on the walls and the place was generally grubby. In the morning our clothes were damp it was like we had been sleeping in a tent. The next day we spent the day in Hastings which is a beautiful town just to get away from pontins! We had half board with our holiday and the food was disgusting I wouldn't feed it to my dog! The entertainment was OK at night my eldest she enjoyed that :0) the staff were lovely also. The swimming pool was good although we waited an hour to get in after a one in one out system. When advising maybe doing a band system a staff member said they have asked headofficw but they said it would be too expensive!! What a joke!! The windows of the apartment are unsafe and only single paned on most apartments so much so I saw a young lad fall through a window and an ambulance had to be called! I've taken my complaints to head office and they have apologised but refuse to refund my money!! Instead they are offering 50% off my next stay with VIP treatment they can dream on!! Absolutely disgusted!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting ”

Written on: 10/07/2014 by cbMcClure468 (1 review written)

This place needs knocking down and re built. Terrible place to come un safe and un clean. Came in to a radiator hanging of the wall cigarette burns in the bath tub. Then for the next night to the fridge blowing up. Staff done nothing about the horrible situation that we left. No where to eat only certain time and only set 3 course meal no good for children over prices horrible food. Double sofa bed was dirty had to clean ourselves was not a double more like a single piece of cardboard single beds where no better very un comfy even for small children to complain. Cigarette butts everywhere that my 2 year old kept picking them up trying to eat them. Would not wish anyone with children to come hear it is not suitable. NEVER COMING HEAR AGAIN formal complaint is being made

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bbarribal's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2014

We went on the around the same time as you we have complained but they won't give me my money back the place is an absolute joke!! They are trying to give 50% off my next stay and VIP treatment! Never ever returning and am going to write to watchdog about the situation!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible condemned pillow”

Written on: 03/01/2014

Had condemned pillow neighbors that were noisy small always ate away at restuarant next door because it was sickly the pillow in our room had a label marked condemned was bitten to death bye bed bugs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“filth”

Written on: 15/08/2013 by callery (1 review written)

me and my friend took our children on a day pass to pontins in camber never in my life have i been so disgusted with the conditions. the only good part about this park was the various little play grounds dotted around but other than that the whole place is shambollic. decor falling down, food outlets closed( not that we bothered eating there, too dirty) and the swimming pool and changing rooms were dismal, smelling like a sewer and absolutley filthy. so glad we were only there for a few hours and hadn't booked a holiday with them. will defo be sticking with butlins at least its clean.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely awful”

Written on: 12/08/2013

Took my 2 kids as wanted a break but when arrived was dumb founded the place is dirty everyone is unfriendly and the room absolutely disgusting ants everywhere no pillows or quilts no plug for bath or sink all in all a awful time never again and will be putting in a formal complaint

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 02/08/2013

Where can I start had a week hear with my husband 3 year old n 7 year old boy n my mum n dad, don't believe the photos this place is dirty n not well looked after as for the chalets like prison camp there not even swept or moped throu toilet was distgusting, don't get me wrong beach is beautiful rye is a stunning place but its completely deceiving n not how it looks on web site , on on top of all this my 3 year old come down with bug then my mum then me not sure weather was from pool or food but pool wasn't very clean n after. My 3 year old got ill we cooked at home I would no way stay hear again regardless of how much u did or didn't pair should be clean n we are not only ones at the time we stayed that got ill so draw on conclusion but for me be caravan next year lol

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sndeedee's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2013

It was the food as we went from Mon-fri end of July. We ate in the restaurant on Tues but because didn't taste right I didn't eat and took food away from my son but my partner as men do carried on eating. That night was lying on bathroom floor with stomach cramps violent vomiting and loose backside (sorry to be crued). The family in chalet next to us had it on the Mon and after partner having food poisoning we noticed more and more people becoming ill. We didn't step foot near the swimming pool and glad we didn't after reading your comment. Place should be condemned shut down and totally re developed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T BOTHER, ESPECIALLY IF DISABLED”

Written on: 12/07/2013 by warf25 (1 review written)

We booked a Mon to Fri mid week break through a coupon offer so it only cost £40 but even at that it was a disappointment. We had booked two chalets together, one for myself and my disabled hubby and one for my sister and children (17, 14 and 9). When I made the booking I was very explicit about my hubbies disabilities and the need for wheelchair access. We were a little late arriving so there weren't many people at reception and we didn't have to long to wait. The receptionist seemed friendly and welcomed us to the park and we were pleased to find we had been given adjoining chalets. Armed with our maps and the obligatory pen circle denoting our block we set of. Unless you have a GPS, compass, ordinance survey map and good knowledge of orienteering do not attempt this without a guide. The block numbering is almost indecipherable and after driving around the site twice we parked up in the only disabled bays we could find and asked a Pontins Bluecoat.............who had no more idea than we did. Finally after 20 minutes our chalets were located. The chalets were ok, sure they were old and tired but they were clean and seemed alright. Or at least they would have done if it hadn't been for the 6inch step to get into our block and then another 6inch step to get into the chalet itself. Then once inside the bathroom was anything but disabled friendly. The wheelchair barely fit through the door and when you did get it in there required a lot of manoeuvring to turn it to get to the loo. If my hubby needed to sit on it I had to lift him across as there were no handrails. The bedroom was no better with no room for the wheelchair to go by the bed, instead he had to get on at the end and drag himself down the bed with my help (my hubby has had both legs amputated at the hip). The beds themselves looked fine, despite the ripped quilts and flat pillows (I cant say about the sheets, we took our own), until we lay down on them. I am sure the floor would have been softer. On site facilities seemed ok at first, like everything else, until we looked deeper. There were supposed to have been 4 or 5 different eateries on site, good luck finding them. The main restaurant/canteen is in the 'Entertainment Centre' and initially the prices, although not cheap, seemed reasonable for a park.........until you ate the food. If you like hospital food you should be alright. We enquired about the other food premises and were told there was a hot dog stall, but that didn't open until the restaurant closed or toasted sandwiches in the pub. Other than that there is a Chippy, Indian and Pub off site and only 100 yards up the road. We didn't get chance to try the Indian or pub but don't bother with the Chippy, believe me! There is a cinema with 3 showings a day but the films are so old they are still using video. The Games Room has a couple of dart boards, couple of pool tables, giant chess and a couple of TV's. The arcade is tiny, maybe 20 machines and from what I was told half of those either didn't work at all or didn't work properly. They have bingo for about half an hour twice a day but the Evening Entertainment doesn't start until 9.15pm, and that is for the children. The Adult Entertainment doesn't start till 10pm. Unfortunately, even if you wanted to keep the kids up or stay out that late for it, the entertainment was pretty bad as well. The Activities were almost non existent, do not go by the brochure, half the activities listed have not been on site for years. We were told this by a Bluecoat. The pool was nice and did have a short slide but water walkers and inflatables........they don't do them anymore. Don't look for the Archery or the Climbing Wall........been gone for 4 years (still advertising them though). What you do get is Family bikes (£15 a time), Go-Karts (£2 tokens, make sure to get them before you go over there as they are miles from the only token machine), Arcades (1p to £1 machines), Trampolines & Inflatable Slide (tokens again and only open 2 hours a day), Pool (10am to 5pm) and a couple of Activity Parks dotted around the site. We should have left on the Friday but we went on the Thursday in the end as we couldn't face another day. We tried very hard to enjoy ourselves for the kids but they were very soon bored. We live at the seaside so a large empty beach wasn't of any real interest to them and there is no other entertainment nearby. I found it very telling that the Staff didn't ask why we were leaving early when we handed the keys in. In conclusion, for the £40 we paid I suppose we got what we paid for. Would we go again, even at that price.................not a bloody chance!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Flash250473's Response to warf25's Review

Written on: 12/07/2013

As the sister who went along too........... I agree with nearly all of it, but the food....... I would've loved the hospital food instead, it was awful

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Julie72's Response to warf25's Review

Written on: 20/07/2013

me and my family are due to go to cambwer sands next week im dreading it

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Warf25's reply to Julie72's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

Go with an open mind, if you have young children they should enjoy it, older ones may get bored. When you get to the gate pull up at the barrier, you will need to show the guard your booking confirmation, follow the one way system around to get to the entertainment centre where you book in, it is a long way round, almost back to where you come in. The pans in the chalets are definitely not non stick, lol. Hope you manage to have a good time.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Julie72's reply to Warf25's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

That's what my husband said , he said as long as the aprtment is clean we will make sure the little ones enjoy themselves we are in a classic I have heard so much negativity about the popular and even the club ones. And even about the park and the staff .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Warf25's reply to Julie72's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2013

We were in the popular so can't comment on the classic apartments. We found the staff to be lovely so no problem there and the beach is apparently only about 5 mins away which the little ones should enjoy. Good luck, hope you have fun.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Theft by staff !!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 08/04/2013 by simoneon (1 review written)

We have just come back from a weekend away at pontins . We had to leave a day early as , we were broken into and had 2 ipads stolen . There was no sign of force entry so it could only be a staff member . Curtains door and windows were shut and we was only gone for 30 minuites to go carts . Manager was no help and would not except he has theives working for the company . Never will we go again not only is it still run down , they have theives working there with access to your room !!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Had my daughters Galaxy Tab 2 stolen and it was inside...”

Written on: 31/03/2013 by JimmyMacL (1 review written)

Had my daughters Galaxy Tab 2 stolen and it was inside a drawer, curtains were closed and we left the light on, there was no sign of forced entry and I triple check all the doors and windows were shut when we go out, I also do this at home, the manager, [name removed], was no help what so ever saying there looking into it, even got a crime ref from the police, bet there policy is they'll forget about it when we leave, now afraid to leave the chalet, has someone got a spare key? the staff were just not interested, would like to hear from any others that have had similar problems, been going there for 25 years and the last few years the place has been going downhill. Staff are just on holiday and have no interset in doing any work. Must rub off from the manager.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“refurbishment ? ! stayed in one ! still dirty,...”

Written on: 22/09/2012

we arrived for late break .were told cant get in chalet till 4 ,walked about nothing open apart from the arcade !!!! then we were all told to line up in one of the halls like cattle to collect keys etc .on first view of the chalet we were pleased .it looked nice ,lovely flooring and decoration but on inspecion soon found out this was just a cover up , the chest of drawers was broken and dirty in side , the bedroom window cill was so dirty i wiped it with tissue and got loads of black mould and dirt off ,and took a photo of. the walk in shower was so high from the ground. was scared to use it but had to ,it was at least 10" from the floor .with no hand grips or safety rails at all'.bedding was missing ,when we found housekeeping and got some .we found they were sheets instead of duvet covers and were full of holes , RIGHT then we go onto the "entertainment " what a joke ,every thing was closed .tables and chairs were put in the childrens pool to prevent use. childrens evening entertainment was ended with one character instead of at least 4 ( kids were told that would be there ) leading the kids around the hall marching to songs (not ! "Good night children" " or croc song" .then they line them up for a photo, we tried to take a photo ourselves but we were told we were not aloud . money making !!!. during evening kids entertainment, they were told to get the parents up to join in ,and instucted if they dont join in ask for £5. or £7 , which they can spend in the trick or treat shop.lots of things they can buy for a pound . Wow ! emagine how many things you could buy for £5. or £7 ,so much presure if you have two three or more kids ,just money making all the time .Disgusting !!! no bars were open during the day apart from the "tradional " queen vic , no entetainment ,!! and an empty bar reggi music blaring ?? tradition ? went to next hall ,bar closed ,a few kids playing wii chalenge ,went upstairs to main hall . closed ,went for a coffee in sands restarant , closed open meal times only ,took my grandson to leasure zone ,closed . infact the only thing open was PART of the swimming pool !!! the hire shop ,which i was able to hire my grand son a kind of go kart thing .but only for half hour as they were closing .cost £6 .no competions ,no talent shows, not even a good morning from suited staff or any one else ,,my family have had holidays at pontins for 30 years and more ,we would never have had a holiday if we never had the beauty of camber beach,and hasting , them places were our saviours , pontins should go and leave holidayu to butlins etc. dont go there , !!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WOULD NEVER GO THERE AGAIN”

Written on: 19/09/2012 by Kayscott1 (1 review written)

We went on Holiday to Pontins and had such a bad experience so we sent them a complaint letter. I waiting over 30 days to receive a letter back from them giving us 10% off our next visit to you. This is not acceptable and we will defiantly not be returning to this holiday park, we wanted a full refund and if you were to read the letter below I feel that our bad experience would defiantly warrant a full refund. I feel that my complaint has not been looked into or taken seriously - Our Letter of complaint to Pontins- Dear Sir / Madam, I am writing to you following our recent holiday with Pontins Camber sands from Friday 3rd - Monday 6th August under the name of Ian Ambrose (chalet number 155). This is a letter of complaint as we were extremely unhappy with the service and the facilities provided. After settling in on Friday and attending the shows / arcades we arrived back at our chalet at approx 11:00pm, we were rudely awoken at 1:00am by a group of approx 6 teenagers between the ages of 15 - 19 years old who were screaming / shouting and drinking alcohol. This woke the whole house including our 2 youngest children aged 8 & 10. After listening to this for about 2 hours this was obvious that they were going to continue this all night so it left us no choice but to call security by this time all members of our household had been up for over 2 hours. Shortly after the phone call the security guard arrived to have a word but not before handing them a lighter to light their cigarettes but also had a joke and laugh with then which was extremely unprofessional. Not only did we get little sleep but we were woken up again at 6:00am due to the upstairs packing and dragging cases around the floor. During Saturday day we bought some earplugs as we did not want another sleepless night. Again after returning from an evening out we were woken at approx 12:30am by loud noises and music coming again from the group of girls, not only were they just as noisy as the previous night but they were also leaning up against our front room window where 2 x members of our family were sleeping. Due to the loud noise the earplugs made no difference, we immediately called security whereby they arrived again and offered the girls a lighter and have a general laugh with them. The security asked them to turn of their music which they did but did not reduce the noise that was coming out of their mouths. We then called them again at approx 3:30am when a female and male security guard attended but they were still making a noise after they had left. So once again we had another really bad nights sleep, the following morning there were beer cans, champagne bottles and cigarettes butts outside our chalet. On Sunday morning my daughter went to reception to discuss this matter and was told by the deputy manager (who was more concerned about it being all men we were complaining about) that he would arrive at the girls chalet at 10:00am that morning to have a word. Unfortunately by 6:00pm Sunday night they had already started drinking and shouting so we made a decision to pack up and leave straight way (1 x day early) as we were so exhausted and did not want another bad night sleep, upon leaving the park we headed to reception to hand in the keys which turned out to be closed and when leaving the reception area we made conversation with another family who could see that we were not happy and advised us that they had only paid £89 for a family of 5 whereby we paid £289 (which was halved from £578) for a family of 7. I have always understood that Pontins is a family orientated park but this was definitely not the case. I am absolutely furious that as a single mum of 6 who can only afford 1 x holiday a year could be so disappointed and upset with not only the service provided by members of your staff (security guard) but also your facilities that were not well managed or maintained to a basic standard. I attended this exact same park over 7 years ago and I can confirm that it is no where near as clean, well kept and managed as it was back then, it has actually alot worse, when your website states that your holiday park is newly refurbished and fun for all the family! When driving into the park on Friday we were all gobsmacked by the sight of the surrounding chalets and entertainment facilities which we could only describe as a prison! Driving around the park to get to the main entertainment building we viewed 1. the sports court, which is all falling down and the sports facilities had seen better days. 2. Work being carried out on chalets fridges, ovens and carpets left all over grassed areas and skips overflowing with rubbish. 3. General waste, cigarette butts, beer cans and glasses. On seeing all of this we decided to go in the entertainment building with hope that things would change on the inside. We were sadly mistaken! On realizing we could not check in until 4pm, we decided to take a walk around the park and view other areas. We entered the games room and was disgusted with what we could see. Stained carpets, litter, dirt on every window and playing table, pool tables ripped, about 10 ceiling panels missing with wires hanging out. Approaching the service desk of the games room we were served by a member of staff who was more concerned with his mobile phone! Leaving here disgusted we walked to the children's play area and golf course which didn't look too bad from eyes sight. We also visited the swimming pool, which once again looked like it had seen better days and was extremely dirty. We then visited the outside activity area. From a distance we could see what looked like a building site construction area- which when we got closer soon realized this was the rock climbing wall! Entering the hire shop we was kindly greeted by two members of staff having a laugh and joke and swearing! Both members of staff were not friendly or helpful and after looking at the prices to hire out bikes etc we walked out even more disgusted. After leaving the camp to find somewhere to eat, we came back to collect our keys and unpacked hopeful that the night time entertainment would be our uplift for the day. After suffering a bad first night sleep we awoke to the decision of what to do for the day. We decided that it would be best for the children to visit Rye for the day as I felt that the camber sands camp would not be able to keep the children satisfied and happy for the day- let alone safe! We got back to the camp at around 4:00pm and decided to give the games room a try. After once again being served by the rude member of staff, the boys in our group went to play snooker. My 3 daughters and I decided to have a game of pool and table tennis. Well the table tennis tables were collapsed in the middle and the pool tables were either ripped, didn't have the right amount of balls or the whole side of the table had fallen out and was Lying on the floor. When asked abut the pool tables and the balls for them, we were kindly helped by a shrug of the shoulders. We then asked for golf clubs for us 4 to play golf. Well all I can say abut the crazy golf was that it was not at all "crazy" more disgusting, filthy and an infection pit! After playing the first few holes we decided to return the golf clubs and balls. Every hole on the crazy golf was filled with dirty, stagnant water and thick with mud- to the point that we had to fish the balls out with our golf clubs as we was afraid that the children would end up catching something from the water. We returned the clubs covered in thick mud and carrying the balls in tissue. When handing these over at the service desk, I told the member of staff that we could not continue playing and the reason why, once again to have the shoulders shrugged at us. We then took the children to the outside play area. All was well with the play area apart from the fact that the smoking area for the queen vic pub was right beside the play area, the outskirts of the play area was covered with cigarette butts as there was only one ashtray provided which was on the surrounding fence of the play area, and there was a deep hole in the play area where the frame had come out of the ground. This was blocked off by a metal fence which didn't even cover the area. Walking around the camp we could also see many glass beer bottles and glasses from the bars spread around that had not been cleared away! The following day we visited Hastings for the whole day. As a single mum of 6 and spending £289 for a weekend away I didn't expect to be spending out unnecessary money to spend days out of the camp site although I felt this was the only way to make good of what was bad and try to make the holiday a little bit enjoyable for my children's sakes! I have attached some photos taken as proof as to how disgusting the play area, golf course and games room was. This is definitely not a safe environment for any child or family. I have never been to a holiday park so badly run and disgusting as which Camber Sands is. I am still in shock with the fact that I stayed for two days in a place where I had to go and buy disinfectant and cleaning products to clean our chalet before I would let my children settle, and a place where I carried around disinfectant wet wipes in my handbag and was constantly worrying about the health of my children and the other people in my party! I feel that I should receive a full refund back due to the very bad experience i have had on this holiday.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Prison camp Shortest holiday ever”

Written on: 08/08/2012 by S-hard (1 review written)

Do not do it. Immediately as we drive in it felt like a Prison camp. Countless kids unaware of cars in road. Chalets looked like prison camps. Booked in. No queue wonder why!! Took ages to find chalet but when we did, we were horrified. Dirty smelly cramped two beds given for four of us. Electric tokens given £10 worth?? Why, are we not worthy of having electric. We lasted 5 mins we walked out gave keys back to staff. She was a little surprised and asked if we wished to speak to a manager. I apologised said know the only thing to do in this place is knock it down and start again in the 21st century.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“horrible place”

Written on: 03/08/2012 by bevmum (1 review written)

on arrival was dissapointed, it was not welcoming, just looked tired and drab. the reception eas the same not inviting at all. we were told,' we are here your accomodtion is here ',a circle drawn on a map. ther was no greeting ect. we were supposed to be in top range accomadition, we couldnt bloody find it, the signs and numbers didnt go to 786, we drove round 3 times, in the end had to ask again at the gate. on finding it, there was no numbers on our block as was on all the others. the room was ok, quite clean, apart from grease in frying pan, a dirty pillowcase, a broken draw . a tiny tv, dirty microwave. we had 1 key. my son said it looked like a prison camp. the shop was so over priced. tin of tomatos £1.29 bottle of wine £9.14 echo falls. there is a lovely shop over the road, which we used. i saw 1 bluecoat the day we arrived, didnt see her greet anyone ect. we have been to Butlins so i guess i expected something simular, but it certainly was not! it was discusting. should either be updated or closed down asap. the staff are not friendly the beach is lovely, but just dont stay here.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“never ever again”

Written on: 08/04/2012

Pontins at camber sands was meant to be our first family holiday since our son was born five years ago and what a disappointment it was!! where to start is the question, on arrival the main entrance was closed so we had to drive around trying to find the other entrance . once we eventually found it we then had to drive all around the site to bring us back to reception to check in then when tryin to park outside the room it was terrible having to trek half way across the site with suitcases and bedding is not what i wanted after travelling two hours!! After walking up the tatty iron stairs which have big gaps and holes in (not brilliant for children) when we entered the room the smell was awful there was mould growing on the windows and the curtains, the cupboards were dirty and the washing up hadn't been done. As it was so cold in the room we decided to put the electric heaters on which were provided only to discover the had not been health checked in over a year!! I was very disappointed with the facilities the go karts were never working and the crazy golf always "ran out" of golf balls. We didn't even attempt to try the food as the smell was enough. the only good thing about this holiday was the beautiful beach which was only a five minute walk and the bluecoats and the evening entertainment for the children had it not been for them i would not of stayed. we will never be returning again!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Disgusted”

Written on: 21/09/2011 by strawberry_baby (1 review written)

I used to come to pontins, camber sands, as a child and loved it, it was a fantastic holiday every year. I now have 2 young children (aged 2 and 4) so thought I would take them to my favourite childhood holiday!!! Needless to say I was horrified, I got here Monday (in room 390) and unfortunately don't leave til Friday although if it wasn't for my little ones who seem to be half enjoying themselves I would have left this morning :( I drew the curtains in my childrens bedroom to find the curtains have mould all over them which also lay on the pillows so I had to move the beds away as my daughter has asthma. Then Monday night my little ones were cold so I turned the heater on and a few minutes later they turned themselves off and until the morning I couldn't put them back on again where they yet again go off after a few minutes... The light for the mirror doesn't work and there is mould growing round the bath. I'm taking pictures of all of this as well. The entertainment for children is great but there are quite a bit of time in the day where you can only really take the kids swimming or play in the park or arcade which is weather dependent and expensive (for the arcade). I always remember there was so much more to do. I do however recommend the bluenoses as they were great, and my children really had fun although there are doors open right through the complex and even though a blue coat was stops by one he just watched my 2 year old son walk straight outside on his own!! As a single mum of 2 running around after both children that are going different ways is difficult and I expected someone would have stopped my son running outside... I had an excellent time at haven a few years ago so will carry on going there from now on...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Hi my friends and I went to the 48 hour party on the...”

Written on: 28/03/2011 by Danny wallet (1 review written)

Hi my friends and I went to the 48 hour party on the 25th March for 2 nights
All I can say is the accommodation is terrible the music was quite cheesy but what a good weekend we had and would certainly recommend it to groups of friends

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview