Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
1.6
14.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Summary

Write a review of Wickes DIY and help other consumers! What is the selection of merchandise like? Is it easy to find what you are looking for in the shop? How is the customer service? Once you've added your thoughts to this page, come to our DIY Forums to talk about all things DIY and Home Improvement related.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk

Latest Reviews

“Wickes product quality disgusting”

★☆☆☆☆

written by silviuccia on 12/04/2024

First I said one thing: I have laminate in my whole house, good laminate, installed less than 2 years ago and it is still in perfect conditions, no holes at all. We are a family of 5 and everything is falling on the floor in the house but never a problem with the laminate. The laminate in the house is NOT from wickes!! I bought instead a laminate from Wickes for my conversion garage. I wanted some light color and it was the only options even not so cheaper. A builder installed it, not a problem (that I know!!!) The problem started when I went there for the first time basically, after we just walked a bit of time in this laminate with shoes. I was going to do a deep clean and I found this "lovely" imperfection in the laminate, in less than 2 weeks!!!! I mean when the builder installed it it was fine, we just WALKED in the room a couple of time and this is the result!! They should put in the description: don't walk with shoes, don't make children walk on it, don't make anything fall on it....don't use basically!! I complained with the customer service and the only thing that they were able to tell me (after 4 months!!!) is "this is an impact damage, we and the manufacture don't care about it". EVEN, and I am said EVEN, if it is an impact damage which I really can't recall because this room is still close not in use and even without furniture, is that normal? So if a toy will fall on it I will have another hole? at the end of the summer I will have to change again the laminate!!!! I can't stress enough, I have laminate in the rest of the house NOT Wickes brand, NEVEVE EVER THIS PROBLEM, it is a wickes issue with quality and they even do not want to admit. They gave me a good will gesture of a refund of a box.....if you considered that at least I will have to pay again about £600 to make a new flooring in the next couple of months this is a drop in the ocean!! Wickes products, Never again!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Order not delivered after 12 hours of waiting.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Ronbase on 19/03/2024

Ordered a trade professional ladder on 16/03/24 from the Bolton branch. The ladder is not stored at the branch but is ordered and delivered direct to the customer. When i understood the situation I was reluctant to place the order. Once these people have your money they don't care about fulfilling their commitments. I have a bad experience when I ordered some windows. I was told two weeks for the order to be completed. They then informed me they had to make them and they turned up seven weeks later! Back to the ladder. I received emails confirming the order and informed by the courier the ladder would be delivered Tuesday the 19th March. I booked time off work, waited for 12 hours for a delivery that never happened! The tracking shows it's come from Bristol to Haydock and was out for delivery. i suggest it's a pack of lies. I've lost money by not working on the Tuesday and now no one will be in to take delivery for the next two weeks! I will have to go and buy another ladder from somewhere else to get the job finished and I've not received a text, email or phone call to inform me where the ladder really is. This has cost me a lot. If i'ts in store and it's what you want buy it, but if it's an order go somewhere else. No more orders from me!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“6 weeks to fit bathroom estimate fit time 2 weeks!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jewel312 on 19/03/2024

Installation started over 2 weeks late. Took 6 weeks to complete & then Wickes approved installer VS had to return to put right 5 issues found. 5 extra packs of tiles used to complete job. Installer worked half days not the full & will work ‘just on yours until completed’ as promised. Took 2 weeks holiday to cover installation & started 2 weeks late. Had to juggle work so someone was at home for the following 6 weeks it took to complete. Wickes manager came twice to check on installer. Never asked our opinion of installation or queried time taken to carry out installation. Incorrect shower diverter installed. Informed correct one no longer available although still in Wickes catalogue. No hippo bag provided for removed bathroom until week 5. Remove bathroom blocked driveway. Customer services not interested in time taken to complete or all the issues that had occured during that time. Gave me refund for diverter & tiles + £200. They are not interested in the poor time keeping or lack of communication. All issues backed up with photos, receipts etc. DO NOT USE THIS WICKES! Keep your sanity & go elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Go elsewhere and save your money and sanity”

★☆☆☆☆

written by vxJoyce445 on 17/02/2024

Don't waste your money, go elsewhere for your kitchen/bathroom! Product is good but their installers and customer service are beyond dreadful. Botched the installation of our kitchen. Left with a kitchen nightmare rather than our dream. This company takes no responsibility for their mistakes. Process started 2022 and is still on going in 2024. They have NO IDEA how to deal with customers (when you can actually get to communicate with someone that is!)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Still waiting for my refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HigleyHigley0 on 02/02/2024

I had the misfortune of ordering a wicks bathroom recently but overnight my circumstances changed .I cancelled it within 45 hours and was told my 1645 pounds deposit would be back in my bank account shortly. I am still waiting we are both pensioners with health problems. And I have been fighting cancer for a while now .and wickes knew about this .every deadline for my refund has been and gone now they dont answer my emails and when I wait on the phone to customer service for 45 minutes as soon as they answer they cut me off .I am now at my wits end .I suppose my next route will have to take them to court .this company seems to go out of their way to get bad publicity and pick on vulnerable people. For your own sanity avoid at all costs

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Stay away from them at all costs ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Existential on 27/01/2024

Worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. Sales people gave spurious advice costing us time and money. Installers were totally incompetent. The bathroom was handed over to me dirty and dusty; with a long list of faults, too many to mention here. They sent the installers back to sort out problems but they caused more, including damage to my property. Forced to go through external mediation because other than standard email responses they wouldn’t answer my complaints, despite contacting them at all levels of their organisation. Once I had paid (in advance) they couldn't care less. Utterly useless and unprofessional company, and I will never have them in my house again. If I could give a minus score I would!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Appalling bathroom installation and customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by gdMcCarty295 on 31/12/2023

We purchased a complete bathroom from Wickes for installation in early October. The design stage of the process was very good, they assisted us in creating a bathroom layout that we were very happy with and had CAD renderings so we could se how the bathroom would look. They said the work would take two weeks to complete and found a fitter who would complete the work for us. The work started late as the fitters previous job had overrun. The building work started well however during the replastering work the toilet was removed and replaced incorrectly leading to a large leak which flooded the kitchen below. To make matters worse we were away overnight when the leak occurred so came back at mid-day the next day to find the kitchen awash with water. I contacted Wickes customer service team in relation to the leak that occurred but they were unhelpful saying that we would have to contact the fitter to rectify the issue and provided no further assistance. During the next stage of the installation we had two more leaks, this time from the shower/tub, resulting in another flood in the kitchen which caused significant damage to the kitchen ceiling. Once again Wickes customer service team were unhelpful and said we would have to resolve the issue ourselves with the fitter. Thankfully the fitter took responsibility for the leaks and we are now expecting them to replace our kitchen ceiling in the New Year at their own cost. The bathroom is still not fully completed after three months. Additionally the final fit of the bathroom components was very poor. The bath panels did not fit correctly and the shower screen leaked. There were many other small issues that really affected the finish of the bathroom. Once again we contacted Wickes customer service to resolve but we still have not heard back and have resigned ourselves that we will have to source and fit replacement parts ourselves at our own cost. At one point Wickes did respond to is, but they had incorrectly sent an email to us in response to someone else's complaints! Even after this they did not send a response to our query , simply an email saying "sorry that email wasn't intended for you". Clearly we're not the only ones having issues. Given it's been nearly three months since the work started and we still don't have a finished bathroom and have been unable to get a response from Wickes we would definitely not recommend anyone using their design and fitting service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Terrible customer service ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Cooney455 on 29/12/2023

Terrible customer service We placed the order on the 16/7/23 at Wickes, Waltham Cross. We were told that it would take 8-10 working days to complete kitchen install. The install was booked for 23/10 with delivery of kitchen booked 17/10. The kitchen delivery was cancelled on the due date with no explanation, and re-booked 21/10. The installers asked if they could start on 20 October to remove old kitchen. The kitchen was removed and placed in our front garden, was due to be collected 23/10. This collection was cancelled due to cost, and sat outside the front of our house until 27/10. We could not get into our rubbish bins and missed collection of household refuse. When the old kitchen was finally collected, the van sent was not large enough to clear it, so we still had a large amount at the front until this was collected nearly a week later. 26/10 fitters informed us there were items missing from delivery, and also damaged items. They were re-ordered to be delivered 3/11 but not fitted until the fitter could fit in visit to do this. Template measurements for the worktops were booked for 1/11 but received a phone call on 30/10 to say it had not been booked, and would have to wait until 7/11. We knew that from date of templating until actual installation could be up to 10 days. This meant we were going to be without proper worktops for a week longer than expected. On 1/11, a rep from Marble Building Products arrived to start the templating even though we had been told that this date was cancelled. We were not ready and had to rush around removing everything from worktops. We were in as this was our lunch break, otherwise he would not of been able to gain access. On 10/11 the fitters removed temp worktops, tap and hob in prep for install of worktops. Work surface fitters arrived and brought all four worktops in. It was clear that the main length of worktop for sink and drainer had been measured incorrectly by nearly 1 inch. After consulting with office, it was decided that 3 worktops in the cooking area had to be returned to the factory, so the main sink section could be remade with the correct measurements. The kitchen fitters had to refit all the temp worktops, tap and hob. When delivery of missing and damaged parts arrived there were still items missing. The fitters then re-ordered them for the third time and we still had cupboards that were unusable. After a phone call to Wickes Customer Experience Centre, I was advised to email any further issues/complaints and to say that it was an official complaint. It was at this point in our emails that we did this. Also, when we were quoted for the installation at Wickes it was not made clear that the dry fit was not the total installation cost. This turned out to be another £3000 extra paid directly to the installers. 17/11 the work surface installers scheduled to arrive between 8am - - 10am. Kitchen installer arrived at 7.30am to remove temp worktops, hob and tap. He left to go to another job. When they had not arrived by 10am we rang the company to be told, actual appointment was between 10am -2pm. Had to inform kitchen fitters this so they did not waste their time returning until they had been fitted. When installed it was too late for kitchen installers to return that day so we were without water and hob in kitchen that evening. The installer returned the following morning to re-fit tap and hob but could not commence with the tiling due to other work commitments. He did not return until the 27/11 and spent the next two days tiling and completing the install of the missing parts that had arrived. On 2/12, removed the plastic protection from the kitchen doors to find damaged drawer front. Contacted customer experience that day and new part was ordered, this arrived on 6/12. We opened the package before asking the fitter to re-fit part, the wrong part had been ordered. Partner had to contact them again to re-order the correct part which arrived few days later. Fortunately, our fitters who throughout the process have been nothing but amazing agreed to return to swap the part over even though the job had been closed off.Overall, install has taken over 8 weeks and we have received dreadful customer service throughout which we feel justified to request adequate compensation. Wickes have offered us a full and final offer of £325, which is pitiful when you think that the kitchen has cost us in total £26,000 including the £3000 paid directly to the kitchen installers. Not only this, it has been extremely stressful and we have had to take annual leave at short notice which is not easy for either of us and spend money on takeaways that we did not need to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Annoying & Pathetic online order process”

★☆☆☆☆

written by SilasThompson on 20/11/2023

Absolutely annoying order process on the website. It doesn’t allow the user to amend an order. I performed a clear history and website data in my iPhone settings hoping that would clear and erase the order so I could make a new order…but No such joy there either. Pathetic Wickes online service!!! Why Wickes…why?!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Awful after sale ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kenton-16 on 17/10/2023

Don't use EVER Awful to deal with ! Wrong item delivered but as my joiner didn't start until after the 30ish returns they don't want to know !!! Be warned they have a zero people skill and will not admit to their ineptness ! And even after exhaling what had happened they still said the same things, I'm glad you outsourced your customer service it's reaped dividends for the sake of a £34 swap Date of experience: 02 September 2023 Don’t use the website for sales

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Ripped off for delivery charge”

★☆☆☆☆

written by WidgetKaraHoney on 09/10/2023

Placed an order online to the value of £85 so that I got free delivery, one of the items I ordered was damaged so I refused to accept it, they have now taken £7 delivery cjharge from my refund even though I asked for a replacement item, they chose not to replace and only offered a refund. Seems like a sham to get extra money from customers. Complained but so far got nowhere. Won't be going to Wickes again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Wickes will get on you wick! Don’t let them assemble. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Morgany330 on 27/09/2023

Words fail me. Never use them to install anything. They use shoddy contractors and take no responsibility. 5 months down the line they respond after I start court proceedings.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Kitchen installation”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Warwick23 on 25/09/2023

I wish I had read all the Wickes reviews before embarking on a new kitchen. The Designer was excellent and we could not fault her. However, from then on it was a horrible experience. What should have been a two week job has finally been finished after nine weeks. We are not completely happy with the finished result but could not cope with having the installer in the house any longer. The installer always arrived late, didn't turn up every day and often promised to come on a certain day or a certain time and then cancelled. He was obviously doing other jobs at the same time as our kitchen. Customer Experience Centre were fairly unhelpful. They were always very sympathetic to the problems but never actually did much to solve them and rarely called back unless they were constantly rung or emailed. The Managers that got involved called on a couple of occasions and then lost interest. No contact has been received by anybody for the last 2 weeks to check on how the job was progressing, or even completed despite being assured that I would be contacted. I will not be recommending Wickes to anybody and would suggest that they review their new customer experience service and review how the installers are appointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Bathroom Cardiff ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Cardiif123 on 21/09/2023

Don’t ever use Wickes I had a Wet Room installed about 2 years ago during Covid, I was going through a difficult time with in my family and got married however I did contact wickes within the guarantee period I complained to Wickes due to poor tiling in my bathroom and I have even gone to the Furniture Ombudsman and Won I am a year on and they still haven’t resolved my complaint, they offered me £2000 to retile 2 walls as they couldn’t find a fitter to rectify the work , but it is a wet room so the likelihood the whole bathroom would need to be retiled and I would be out of picket when I paid £10k for my Wet Room, they don’t listen. How can you pluck a figure of 2k out of the air the tiles I ordered were discontinued and they are saying it is cosmetic well yes it maybe cosmetic but looking at a Wet Room when none of the edges like up, the pigeon holes in the walls are not straight and hold water, the tiles are chipped because they wasn’t cut probley surely this is a simple job for qualified bathroom fitters? Wickes also said that I had lived with it for nearly 2 years well sorry Wickes for going through a difficult and happy period in my life and I explained why I didn’t contact them sooner, although I was within the guarantee period, I have tried to contact CEO but no reply so my next step is to take legal action , the best thing is they admitted the work wasn’t up to standard and was poor, the black paint have come off the shower and plug hole , don’t ever use them honestly go else where the finish on my bathroom is terrible and I have had 3 people come out from Wickes and I even had the tiler who carried out the work come out and they all said it was poor work and wasn’t acceptable. Also Wickes were on the one show because of the above issues poor workmanship and poor service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Appalling customer service - after kitchen purchase ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Brettkey on 20/09/2023

My parents are in their mid seventies and purchased a kitchen from their local Wickes. Six weeks after the first agreed delivery date and 3+ failed deliveries they are still waiting. Wickes customer services number takes over an hour to get through to and then they fob you off with its a logistics issue that sits with a third party not with Wickes. Honestly avoid Wickes and go to another supplier it will save you a load of stress.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Rubbish”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Blueberry1954 on 11/09/2023

The Exeter Wickes bathroom design team took months to deliver my bathroom materials. The cabinet mirror was broken upon delivery. I was told to go online and take photos etc rather than Wickes offering to exchange or refund the item. Wickes recommended Contractor took six months to install half a bathroom as they were too busy doing other work. The Wickes recommended contractor installed the boiler incorrectly with pipes joined to the wrong parts of the boiler. The stud and plasterboard work had to be ripped out and started again as they used ordinary plasterboard instead of waterproof green plasterboard. The small shower room shower was not installed properly and cuts out after a few minutes. The wall tiling meant the bathroom door would not open, so the door had to rehung on the other side. After a month of the contractor not turning up at all I had no option but to cut my losses and start again. In all, Wickes cost me a £15,000 loss.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Worst customer experience - never again”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ji99ers on 05/09/2023

Ordered £560 worth of kitchen cabinets only for the wrong item to be delivered. Wickes are refusing to pay a refund, six weeks later despite constant chasing. Wickes seem unbothered around consumer trading laws which require refund within 30 days of non-delivery, and specify that refund is not contingent on the return of the goods. Of course, that wouldn't matter as they were collected weeks ago (despite messing us around with two incorrect collection dates). Constantly being told this is their 'internal process' being followed, which seems irrelevant when they are clearly in breach of the law. Would give 0 stars if possible

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Awful Kitchen Fitting Experience ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Pilou93 on 01/09/2023

Wickes initially priced our kitchen fitting, the final fitting costs were twice as much. The fitters were rude and unreliable, left us without a kitchen for months as opposed to the promise week to 10 days. They did not even finish a third of the kitchen and are nowhere to be seen. The portions which they did finish had poor finishing touches and were missing some pieces.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Shower room design and installation .”

★★★★★

written by Briliant777 on 26/07/2023

I had a shower room designed and installed by Wicks .From the design and installation it went perfectly I was so pleased with the final result .All the units arrived on time. The installers were perfect .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Appalling Custtomer Service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Bwes on 22/07/2023

Please beware of spending anything significant amount with Wickes if you need any form of customer assistance you’ll be left on your own, I own bought a few items which I needed to return my receipt had blown away as I was carrying the items to car but I paid with Apple Pay and could show the store my transaction but they did want to know, Spoke to someone at the Caerphilly store who said he was the manager but clearly wasn’t and then found out the manger was there but conveniently in meeting. I would have been happy with credit voucher or something I didn’t expect a refund but they could be less interested. Tried to call customer services whilst at the store and numerous times since but no one answers, emailed their customer service but they don’t come back either. They clearly have no customer care whatsoever thankfully it wasn’t an expensive item like a kitchen i bought.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by kitchenissues on 14th January 2016 Report this content
Wickes Melbourne kitchen supplied and fitted in 2014, within the past 6 months suddenly various draws and doors are not closing properly, I've been told they may have warped due to temperature change? Anyone else having these problems? What shall I do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview