Southend on Sea, Westcliff High School for Girls Reviews

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Southend on Sea, Westcliff High School for Girls - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Southend on Sea, Westcliff High School for Girls

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“It's just hell in here”

★☆☆☆☆

written by HassanBeebe on 12/10/2022

I can not even describe how bad this shcool is. We are treated as if we are in prison. The headmaster and staff wish we would go back to the victoian times because trust me if they could hit us they would. Racists get away with racist words even in the classroom in front of the teachers and they do nothing. They will instead lose their minds if you turn up wearing a skirt above your knee or wear jewelry or paint your nails. Students have panic attacks in class and are told they are pretending. Many people are treated bad and have tried to kill themselves. The bullying is very bad and not taken serious 99% of the time. Some people even moved to other shcools because of it. Every day is hard to get up and go there. The education part is overrated because students will have tutors to get the grades. They let you to get on with it because of the 11 plus so there is no effort from the teachers to teach properly - you can count the really good teachers that care. They blame you for not understanding instead of helping. Im sure some teachers are not qualified. They just want the grades and easy life for themselves. They think they have control but lots of people smoke in the bathrooms and self harm. You have to be more than strong to survive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

“most painful experience of my daughters life”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Elsie492 on 10/05/2017

My daughter did attend the school for 5 years however, she came home and cried most days. We couldn't find any spaces in other schools and knew the benefit of having 'Westcliff High School for Girls' on her CV would give her so she stayed. The school treated students as though they were only numbers on a spreadsheet, another girl in my daughter's year was asked to leave the school because her grades weren't good enough. To me this is astounding, instead of providing support they asked her to leave. The teachers spoke to the students as though they had no feelings and no grade was ever good enough. There was never a 'well done' only 'could be better, you could have got that 1 mark you lost'. My daughter hated her entire experience and I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy to see what she's gone through. Luckily, for sixth form she's been accepted at another school, for which she can't wait to attend. I would seriously advise you to rethink your options if you're planning to send your child to this school.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 8 2

“I think the school is good although there are some...”

★★★★☆

written by on 10/11/2010

I think the school is good although there are some draw backs. The rules are quite strict but they are there for a reason 9and to stop us looking like someone from St. Trinians!) It is a very good school for most subjects although I think they could improve their eco-friendlyness. Most subjects are exellent, especially Music and Science. I like the building, and now they have the new block it is very extended, although the toilets could be improved. i would have likes have know how scary the Headmaster, and some of the teachers would be before I went to the school. i also think they could improve on their transport of studentd, because i have to catch a public bus, but would much prefer a contract one. Overall I love WHSG (Westcliff) and will spend a happy time there. Everything is great, especially the canteen! (and the food)!!! :)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“You have ups and downs just as you would have...”

★★★★★

written by on 25/10/2010

You have ups and downs just as you would have anywhere, but the friends you make here last. We work hard here, but we play hard too, the atmosphere around the school is friendly and fun, easygoing and relaxed, teachers are easy to get along with, to chat to and at times even banter with. The teachers are brilliant, respected and looked up to and we as pupils are given responsibility, privileges and repect from them. Hard work is rewarded and those struggling are given help. I couldnt have asked for a better school to spend my years. I am proud to have been given the chance to go to Westcliff because its helped me find out who i am and helped me on my way to becoming the best person i can be.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I would definitely recommend Westcliff to other people...”

★★★★★

written by sevenUK on 09/03/2007

I would definitely recommend Westcliff to other people and I have nothing but praise for the school.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“The rules are so strict- too strict, and you are not...”

★★☆☆☆

written by yogyag on 16/10/2006

The rules are so strict- too strict, and you are not even allowed to wear shoes with coloured stitching on them, or dye your hair. It's ridiculous! Quite a few of the teachers are not very good, although there are a couple of really good ones. The bullying policy does not work. When I was bullied the teachers didn't do anything about it. It was only acknowledged that I was being bullied when a supply teacher reported it to the head of year, and even then nothing was done about it. The extra curricular activities at Westcliff High School for Girls in Southend on Sea are rubbish. Hardly anyone goes, and the house system doesn't actually work very well. Charity week is the only good thing about the school. They set WAY TOO MUCH homework, and all they care about is the grades you get and where they are in the league tables.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 1

“The previous reviews don't seem to have given...”

★★★★☆

written by Apocalypticat on 24/07/2006

The previous reviews don't seem to have given Westcliff High School For Girls in Southend On Sea full justice. The last one about 'unwashed hair' is ridiculous and simply inaccurate, not to mention trivial. Plenty of girls wear make-up and do things to their hair; the rules are there to prevent people from looking like St Trinian's girls. However, another previous review about the school being somewhat oblivious to student's general well being does have a point. I was extremely unhappy in Year 8 especially, and I found there was no one to go to for help. The CHIPs scheme, for all the fanfare, comes across as pretty useless. Provisions are better in the sixth form, with a counsellor available each week. On the other hand, I came out of compulsory education with 9 A*s and 2 A's for GCSE thanks to this school, and I think that speaks for itself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Most of the girls wear no make up at Westcliff High...”

★★☆☆☆

written by flynn04 on 31/03/2006

Most of the girls wear no make up at Westcliff High School for girls. They have extremely long skirts, and do not wash and/or straighten their hair. This may be a seem a bit silly to include this, but it has to be said. Most people will look at us 'the students' and think of us as 'geeks'. It's quite depressing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 3

“My review of the whole school is that it is VERY GOOD!”

★★★★★

written by Trinklet1 on 11/10/2005

My review of the whole school is that it is VERY GOOD!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“My review of Westcliff High School for Girls is that...”

★★★★★

written by Trinklet1 on 11/10/2005

My review of Westcliff High School for Girls is that it is VERY GOOD!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have just finished my last year at Westcliff. I...”

★★★★★

written by young miss on 21/06/2005

I have just finished my last year at Westcliff. I attended right through from year 7 till the end of 6th form. I feel that I particularly enjoyed the 6th form, I would very much recommend it. The teachers I had were very friendly and professional. You felt you were treated on the whole as an adult. I was much involved in the extra curricular activities throughout years 7-11, and I thoroughly enjoyed them. The new head has given a breath of fresh air to the school. He really takes an interest in all departments.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I attend the Westcliff High School for Girls school...”

★★★★★

written by soccerprincess on 01/01/2005

I attend the Westcliff High School for Girls school and I am very happy there. It has a great atmosphere and everyone is friendly. Teachers maybe try to dissuade students from taking certain subjects but this isn't really just so they do not show up badly on the league tables, it is because they want what's best for students and if they might not do so well in a subject they might not want to take it as a subject as it wouldn't benefit them so much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Westcliff High cares only about league tables. ”

★★☆☆☆

written by Pseudonyms on 15/03/2004

Westcliff High cares only about league tables.
It will force your daugters to drop a subject if they threaten to damage the league tables by not getting an A to C.
There is a very high emphasis on university, which is helpful if this is what your daughter wants.
There is also the "voluntary contribution" - if you cannot or decide not to pay it your daughter's name will be read out.
I hated my time there and was not alone.
In short, if your daughter does not need to be pressured to work and does not easily conform she may well be better off elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

194328_Ready Student's Response to Pseudonyms's Review

Written on: 22/05/2005

i totaly agree with you! the school is way too strict in terms of behaviour and education. I still suffer depresion from it! even if you chew gum or eat that will be an automatic after school detention and that is a bit out of order!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

220309_Cooljj's Response to Pseudonyms's Review

Written on: 09/12/2005

I agree as well!! I go there and all it cares about is exam results! It is meant to have an anti-bullying policy but it doesn't do anything - I was bullied earlier this year and the head of year didn't do anything apart from speaking to me telling me that it was the bully that was "in the wrong" - somehow I think I already knew that! As for the "voluntary contribution" well if you don't give money the first time you are asked for it -for whatever reason you are given fairly regular "reminders" that you have not contributed to this fund! I personally think that by being so strict they get more bad behaviour than they would if they were not so strict!
<br>
<br>ps. if you like hugging boys or even looking at them then DO NOT go to this school - it is quite literally illegal to even look at a boy at this school!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

205222_Missmiss123's Response to Pseudonyms's Review

Written on: 07/08/2005

I totally agree with your review, i started there in 2000, and I have hated it ever since, the school only finds time for results that is all it cares about. It is not there to help the childrens needs and the students there are very unfriendly and has resulted to bullying, unfortunately I had to witness it. The school does not teach students to work together but to gain better results than your friends. The school is suited for students who do not enjoy having a happy, friendly time at school but for students who only are looking forward to becoming rocket scientists

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 4 1

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Anonymoyo on 29th April 2014 Report this content
Is bullying common in Westcliff High School for Girls?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content imthatgirl Written on: 12/10/2022
Yes. absolutely. It's relentless. The school doesnt even care if students make racist remarks in front of the teachers. Girls are constantly telling others to kill themselves. They give preference to white girls all the time so if you have a hint of colour be prepared to be treated differently to the white robots and emo fairies. The racism starts from the top. The new headmaster is a bully, the rest of the staff are 95% bullies too even the dinner ladies think they can shout at you and treat you as if you are in a prison. they are more worried about the lengh of your skirt and if your are wearing mascara than the mental health of students. It's bad, rreally bad. the education part is average to be honest and not worth the hype they get for being a grammar school. They assume that because you passed the 11+ that you know it all and will offer no support if you struggle even a little bit. because some of the parents can afford tutors that's how the few students get the grades. I wish I could move schools but around this area that are not many options. It's hell.
overview