Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com Reviews

★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
68% of users recommend this
  • Quality

  • Value For Money

Summary

''AVAST Software leads the security software industry – protecting 145,767,938 active and 190,544,154 registered users around the globe – by distributing FREE antivirus software that makes no compromises in terms of protection. Dependable and fast, with a small resource footprint, it often outperforms competitors’ paid-for antivirus suites.''
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com

Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com
Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com
Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com
Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com
Avast Antivirus - www.avast.com

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Best Antivirus Software”

Written on: 10/06/2021 by SierraO'Neill (1 review written)

Best antivirus software to date. I have been using it for a decade and it detects an error as fast as it could.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“security”

Written on: 06/05/2021 by Durbin-m (7 reviews written)

Provide security for your computer, wifi network connection to prevent cyber attack, unsafe websites, etc.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“keep on up selling!!! what you buy need constant...”

Written on: 04/02/2021 by Tannerv187 (1 review written)

This software came pre installed on a Gaming PC, so ive been a Mac user for some time so i paid for the upgrade after the free trial. Well once you have paid for the most comprehensive a all i one pc protection software it appears you need to buy an adition module to complete protection ....ok did that . surprise!! no I have too need yet more additions. Just Buy Norton

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Deceiving advertising. Will never "purchase"again!”

Written on: 02/10/2019 by SammySaxOfTheSouth (1 review written)

I thought I was purchasing a great program. Well, I was totally blown away AFTER the PURCHASE and realized I had to "Purchase" much more to get what I had already paid for.$$$ for this $$$ for that $$$ for other things that ordinarily come with other PAID programs. I actually "PAID" to be on a totally worthless program. Shame on Avast and shame on my stupidity!  ( I bet this review will never see the light of day or the dark of night. Let me know if you want my name, phone number, and address).

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★☆☆

“The one flaw”

Written on: 09/06/2019 by bricespears (1 review written)

Overall I have a high opinion of AVAST. The one flaw is the NON-STOP popups telling me my PC is running slow. I am quite literate when it comes to PCs. One simple example to check pgms in the startup category. But I wish AVAST would stop telling me EVERY DAY

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DONT INSTALL”

Written on: 30/05/2019 by 34Pollard (1 review written)

It will slow down your computer (a lot!), and it is annoying to uninstall (you have to download another program to uninstall). Once you uninstall it, it will slow down your computer for no reason and mess up your other programs. 100% regret.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use this pile of garbage.”

Written on: 21/05/2019 by Cailynd109 (1 review written)

Do not trust or pay this company, they are overpriced and ineffective. Furthermore, any company (Avast) needing to sneakily install their software attached to legitimate applications, should not be trusted. There are many other anti-virus packages out there. You all would be better suited to choosing a cheaper more reputable company. STAY AWAY from this company, they are not worth the waste of time, money and lack of security.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“Laughable”

Written on: 13/02/2019 by Bentley181 (1 review written)

I use Avast free anti virus. It's forever coming up with amusing security violation messages to tempt me to buy the full version. The latest one said that anyone could easily see my location at Salisbury - only about 200 miles out - I'm in Sheringham, Norfolk. Loved to have seen what the other 3 were but it wouldn't show me. Otherwise it seems to function OK

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“never use again”

Written on: 03/11/2018 by Owen336 (1 review written)

I paid for one year and It slow down my computer. I receive very often message from Avast, if I want better result I have to pay more. Impossible to use.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 2
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless until they remove bugs they didn't care they...”

Written on: 06/09/2018 by villandra (1 review written)

Avast used to be a modestly good antivirus, would help stop viruses from downloading, defective web sites from loading, together with Malwarebytes that I would never be without. I had the security version - don't have the title to look at since it's no longer on my computer, obviously, because my computer is working and I can surf the Internet. The advertising is defective. You get to use a license with three devices - but one of them can't be your cell phone, you need to purchase a separate product for that, I got a different brand's antivirus for that. I don't think so! If you don't cover my phone don't even think you're getting more money off of me - and don't try to get me to buy a more expensive product telling me THAT will cover my cell phone, because you needed to include that to begin with. Then, they made changes in the software, allegedly improving it. It allegedly needs to scan EVERY file that opens in my browser, even though I turned that feature off. It takes FOR EVER to open almost ANY web page, complete with all twelve ads at any place on the page, like all of them have. Eventually, it breaks my internet connection. Then it freezes my computer. I uninstalled it and ALL of the problems disappeared. I reinstalled it and they came back. I uninstalled it and ALL the problems disappeared. And don't even mess with what operating system or browser I'm using, because if they are going to charge good money for Avast and say it works, it has to work on all of them. So Avast has NO legs to stand on. Worthless product. Worthless ---- (you fill in the blank) who created it. Don't even PRETEND to be human. I should complain to the Better Business Bureau and demand a refund, because my license is good until February! And I definitely WILL, if ANYONE pushes me on the matter.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They're CHEATERS beware ”

Written on: 25/07/2018 by Parrishpb378 (1 review written)

BEWARE THOSE CHEATERS, THEY CHEATED THE MONEY FRON MY VISA CARD BUT MY BANK WHEN I WARNED IT STOPPED THE TRANSACTION AND BROUGH THE MONEY BACK TO MY VISA, THIS ISN'T ANTIVIRUS SITE, THEY ARE GANG AND CHATERS.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Never safe with Avast”

Written on: 15/06/2018 by Karin70 (1 review written)

I just upgraded from a free Avast antivirus software to a paid version. After installing the paid version I kept getting messages I was still not safe and need to add additional coverage to protect my computer. I feel like they are nickle and diming their customers every step of the way. How do you sell an antivirus program that comes in multiple parts to ensure safety while browsing? I called customer service to ask what it would take to be safe and their explanation made no sense at all. Don't use them. I am sorry I did.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Charges. Discourteous.”

Written on: 16/05/2018 by Goodeil205 (1 review written)

I called the no. I was rudely treated. I was told that I was talking to sales. I said all I needed to know was does Avast work with Windows Vista. She said she would transfer me to tech support and that I would have to pay to speak with them. I told her no I don't want to pay to ask that simple question. Your windows-vista-antivirus states that it does work with Windows Vista and I am having trouble installing it on my computer. She insisted that I had to pay to find out!! If AVAST states in their website that this download is free for Windows Vista then wouldn't a consumer expect to be able to speak with tech support for free to complete this download. I wonder how many innocent consumers are paying for AVAST who states on line and in their advertising that they are a free download virus protection? I have heard enough from AVAST. FREE ISN'T REALLY FREE, IS IT?

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 2
★☆☆☆☆

“Would you pay $100 to get back $86.33?”

Written on: 18/01/2018 by Eyeofthetiger (1 review written)

I agreed to a "60 day free trial of Avast Antivirus." At first I was very pleased with the product but decided to go to someone local because I needed to get my backspace key to not stick. I decided to use the local company and asked them to remove the Avast and purchased their required anti-virus. Then I tried to cancel the 60 day free trial but was unable to find a phone number anywhere!! I got one from my reputable computer company, but the person said it probably wouldn't count. Then my credit card came and I found out I was charged $86.33 after just 3 or 4 weeks. Again, no phone number on the bill. I could not jump through their hoops of cancelling since I no longer had the product on my computer. I got the phone number from my credit card company for Avast, and they suggested I call Avast to straighten this out. I hour and thirty minutes later the best I got from "Mohammad" in India was that I would need a technician, after allowing him into my computer and putting it in safe mode, and giving remote access. The technician would cost me $100! In other words to get the unauthorized debit of $86.33 back I'd have to pay their technician $100!! He even said "I know that doesn't make any sense, but then you can also stop the auto-debit". I said No, nada, not doing that! I called my credit card company and let them know how the "refund" went. The credit card company said they would stop the auto-debit and give me my refund. However, no one will be able to pay me back the wasted hours I spent on this! Beware!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“MALWARE”

Written on: 17/12/2017 by ElyseAdair (1 review written)

This program installed itself, without consent, and denies access to anyone who wants to remove it or even close the application.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You get involved with AVAST you'll be sorry!You will...”

Written on: 22/11/2017 by roadbilly (1 review written)

You get involved with AVAST you'll be sorry!You will never be able to get hold of anyone to help you after they get your money.They will renew your service over and over on your credit card.They are like a TICK! Their products suck!don't believe you are buying protection for your computer!They are the problem!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hold On To Your Wallet!”

Written on: 06/11/2017

The free version of AVAST! Antivirus was recommended to me by someone I trust, who is quite knowledgeable about all things "Computer." I used the free version without incident for several years, and then upgraded to a paid version for better protection. Still good; no problem. Since I don't have access to anyone who can solve problems that normally crop up on a computer, I was thrilled to find that AVAST! offered a Paid Engineering Service, so I signed up for a year, paid the fee and was extremely pleased with the high level of expertise and service I received. When I went to sign up for another year, I was directed to call a totally different number and a completely different way of doing business ensued. That should have been a red flag; after years of doing business one way, they suddenly shifted to a completely different method? I made the mistake of assuming that they had a new CEO, and new guys at the top always implement drastic policy changes, so I signed up and paid $159.99 for 15 months of "Paid Total Care." Even the designation had changed; it went from Paid Engineering Support, to "Total Care." That should have been a second red flag, but I again I made the mistake of assuming, so I didn't think to dig into what these drastic changes meant. It was the worst computer-related mistake I ever made. The first time I tried to call for help, I was told I had to submit a ticket by email, and was given the website to do so. It was days before anybody got back to me, and by then I had called a friend for help. I finally found a number to call, and five calls later for other problems, they still have not been solved; in fact it's WORSE! Yesterday I reached the limit of my patience, and called for a refund; I had "used" their lousy service for five months out of the 15 months I paid for, so I expected to get a pro-rated refund. But they gouged me. Despite my vehement protests, the supervisor I had to speak to, to get a refund, claimed that they had fixed the problem every time I called, and now he could only refund me $40. I stated emphatically that $40 was not acceptable, and after trying to stonewall me he finally asked me to hold; he would see what he could do. Coming back on the line minutes later, he said $59.99 was all he could refund me. That was still not acceptable, I said and asked to speak to his supervisor. Couldn't be done, he said; he didn't have a supervisor. Long story short, they refused to refund a reasonable pro-rated amount, and I got "tattooed." I strongly suspect that AVAST! was sold to someone outside the US, and being offshore they can get away with taking our money and there's nothing we can do about it. There is no higher "court of appeal" within the AVAST! structure, as it now stands. WORD TO THE WISE: DON'T GET TANGLED UP WITH THIS COMPANY--YOU WILL LOSE!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Slow Down”

Written on: 26/09/2017 by WhitneyDaugherty301 (1 review written)

Slowed down My computer to a crawl not happy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Took paypal payment when account closed ”

Written on: 09/09/2017 by treborgonzo1 (1 review written)

I had avast security for a short time then closed my account because I was given free internet security by my broadband provider - unfortunately I did not cancel my pre approved payment to avast - they have recently taken £44.99 from my paypal account - I have searched the net inorder to contact somebody at avast but the only way I can do that is pay 25$ to speak to somebody which will compound the money I have already lost - they have no contactable email address or postal address. I have now given up and lost my money but I hope this serves as a warning to anybody thinking of using them - they are uncontactable, unapproachable and a very bad company to do business with - you have been warned.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely no customer service”

Written on: 06/09/2017 by MacPhersonhf271 (1 review written)

I received an email saying my credit card needed to be updated. Since the email didn't come from avast I tried to contact avast to verify it. There is no way to update card info online, or verify the email, so I called 888-951-7679. The person who answered identified the company as "provides support for Avast". He had me download control software and then began rooting around the computer. When I told him to stop he became abusive and then removed the software and hung up. I don't like people rummaging around my computer without telling me what they are doing and he seemed to be doing things completely unrelated to identifying the email. My computer would not reboot until I restored from a restore point. I called back and told him what happened he asked what proof I had that my computer wouldn't restart. Then he apparently disconnected my account. My computer is still not working like it did before. I'm not sure if this phone # is really Avast support but it's impossible to talk with a real person at Avast so I will never know. I'm going with another company. Even if Avast gets good ratings I'm going with a company that has some customer service.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview