Banjul Highway, Palm Grove Hotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.2 / 5
64% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Banjul Highway, Palm Grove Hotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Banjul Highway, Palm Grove Hotel

Banjul Highway, Palm Grove Hotel

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“I have to say there are far to many nice places to go...”

Written on: 03/10/2009

I have to say there are far to many nice places to go in the world than the Palm Grove hotel. If you like terrible food a crabby lagoon and the same dance entertainment all week then this is the place for you. Did I mention the bumsters ?. One bumster even offered the services of his sister and was shocked when I told my wife. I would rather not go anywhere than go here again. Air conditioning that rattles all night is fantastic too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“just got back from a two week trip and was...”

Written on: 26/02/2008 by stevejc1956 (1 review written)

just got back from a two week trip and was disappointed, the hotel is old and badly needs a re-furb. programme.
the pool is tiny and water cold. the beach outside the hotel is black at low tide and the sea itself is dirty with mud. little crabs running everywhere.
relaxing location as its well off the main tourist areas and costs 300 dalasis to banjul (return) and 600 to serakunda (rtn.) where the shops are so budget for this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“After reading some of the reviews on the Palm Grove I...”

Written on: 22/02/2008 by sennelager (1 review written)

After reading some of the reviews on the Palm Grove I was slightly worried about the hotel but I did keep a open mind, and glad I did. The holiday was great, the hotel was great and the staff were really helpfull throughout the holiday without expecting a tip all the time. The selection of food for breakfast and evening meal was great, and it was so nice not to see chips every single day on the menu. If you have a sense of adventure with your taste buds the food was really nice and you will… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to sennelager's Review

Written on: 31/05/2011

I toatally agree with you I think a lot of the bad reviews have been from people who call an adventurous trip a trip to a different super market I havent been to palm grove in a couple of years but I am still in live with place and that it is one of the best places I have ever been I'm planning on going again this year before I go backpacking around Australia

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“We were so disappointed after spending last year at...”

Written on: 11/02/2008 by jeangoering (1 review written)

We were so disappointed after spending last year at the Sene Gambia that we found fantastic, but thought we would like to try another location, thinking standards would be the same, hygiene was terrible my husband was so ill and had to get a doctor in the middle of the night. I needed to wake up staff at reception who wanted me to wait till 9am after insisting he eventually managed to get hold of our rep who contacted the doctor to come. When he arrived he was not too pleased and told me I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“i would never go back to the palm grove hotel again...”

Written on: 05/01/2008 by maggie may (1 review written)

i would never go back to the palm grove hotel again and i would never tell any of my friends about it eitherit is in the middle of nowwhere you had to get a taxi every where the prices in the hotel doubled when we got there i didnt go to gambia to spend so much on taxi's, but there is one thing for sure it wont happen again as i dont think we will go back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This hotel was awful and what I consider to be...”

Written on: 29/10/2007 by davidtebay (1 review written)

This hotel was awful and what I consider to be essential items in Gambia such as room fridge and air conditioning were extra and would have cost us an extra £250 for our two weeks. We immediately transferred to the Senegambia at Kololi where aircon and fridge were included making a much finer hotel actually cheaper. I would recommend the Senegambia to anyone but the Palm grove to no one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“For me personally 7 days is long enough for me at any...”

Written on: 14/06/2007 by claudette pryce (1 review written)

For me personally 7 days is long enough for me at any one time. I cannot However, I can't fault the service of the hotel as entertainment was provided each night, juggling acts, dancers etc. Although it was our first time to Gambia and we didn't know what to expect it was much better than we had expected. We had read up on reports before we went and one of the suggestions were to bring books, pencils and sweets, which we did and this really went down well with the children, it brought… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We love Gambia as a country but will not stay at this...”

Written on: 20/04/2007 by c1192con (1 review written)

We love Gambia as a country but will not stay at this hotel again, if you like a bit of life, stay at Senegambia Hotel, which we will do from now on, I have stayed there many a time, our friends booked us in at Palm Grove this time, they didn't know how good it was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“We went to the Palm Grove Hotel in the Gambia for the...”

Written on: 06/04/2007 by slartibardfarst (1 review written)

We went to the Palm Grove Hotel in the Gambia for the sun.

We will be going back because of the wonderful African people we met… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have never had a bad holiday at Banjul Highway, Palm...”

Written on: 03/04/2007 by Patricia Allan (1 review written)

I have never had a bad holiday at Banjul Highway, Palm Grove Hotel - the thing I love about it is that once you have been and returned, the staff and people in general never forget you. They know you by name and the service only gets better.

I wouldn't go through the tour operators for excursions - hire a guide and a taxi/jeep for the day and explore the real Gambia and people - very safe and worthwhile.

The Gambia will be the next hot-spot - Cape Verde is already up and coming and property… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I can't wait to go back to Banjul! I have travelled to...”

Written on: 14/02/2007 by Dianna Gunby (1 review written)

I can't wait to go back to Banjul! I have travelled to many places in the world but this was my best holiday ever! It's a great place to chill out by the pool, beach or in a hammock under a palm tree! If you prefer to be more active there is plenty to do. Try to make friends with a local person from the hotel, it won't be difficult, and get them to take you on trips rather than paying the prices through the tour operators. We would recommend a visit to the Crocodile pit to see Charlie, the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Emmaboyt's Response to Dianna Gunby's Review

Written on: 08/03/2007

Hi Diana, I'm really sorry to contact you this way, my friend and I are booked to stay in the Palm Grove, Banjul in November this year for our 30th Birthdays. We are desperately looking for some advice on the area from someone who has been there and can give some wise and useful tips etc.
<br/>
<br/>If you don't mind, I wonder if you could email my hotmail so I may ask a few further questions about this hotel.
<br/>I found your review helpful and informative but am a little worried because I have seen so many bad reviews about this hotel whilst searching!
<br/>
<br/>I understand this is a very odd request but I can assure you I am a genuine traveller who needs some help!
<br/>
<br/>Many Thanks
<br/>
<br/>Emma
<br/>
<br/>[email protected]

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

284262_Patricia Allan's Response to Dianna Gunby's Review

Written on: 03/04/2007

Don't worry about not enjoying your birthday out in The Gambia - be sure to visit the African Queen in Senagambia and Yok which is an eastern restaurant. I will be going to Palm Grove on 09 April of this year and again in November - my review will be going on site within 24 hours - have a look at that which might give you some useful tips about visiting in November.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“I have decided to break my comments about the Palm...”

Written on: 04/05/2006 by herbiebird (1 review written)

I have decided to break my comments about the Palm Grove Hotel in the Gambia into defined areas:-

Flight and transfers:-
I have previously arranged my own transfer to and from the airport. This was hell on earth due to the number of bumsters hassling me at Banjul to carry my bag. This time less bumsters, and the transfer was arranged through the tour operator. Please bear this in mind

Hotel accommodation:-
Palm Grove has fallen into disrepair since my last visit. However, this was at the end… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Overall, having done a great deal of research online;...”

Written on: 02/05/2006 by burleybob (1 review written)

Overall, having done a great deal of research online; reading many many reviews and looking at pictures from several websites including Palm Groves own we were expecting a relaxing and enjoyable time. We had, within the last 6 months visited Mombasa, so we thought we had a good idea of what to expect, HOW WRONG WE WERE!

The hotel staff were only helpful if they thought they were going to get a tip, you had to ask for your change back after buying drinks, although all sales include a tips… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Davidtebay's Response to burleybob's Review

Written on: 29/10/2007

I agree with this review. Having just returned from Gambia,we found one night at this hotel was one night to many. This review is accurate and I only wish I had given it more credence before I booked. The Senegambia in contrast worked out cheaper and was great.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The Palm Grove hotel is absolutely fab! It is clean...”

Written on: 17/03/2006 by birkett (1 review written)

The Palm Grove hotel is absolutely fab! It is clean and friendly; the food is good; staff are very friendly, and they cannot do enough for you. My husband and I have stayed at the Palm Grove Hotel in The Gambia 7 times. We last went in March 2006. We are due to go back in November 2006. Can't wait! We love the place and the people. The weather is just so hot.

If you want to chill and be very very relaxed then the Gambia is the place to go, especially the Palm Grove.

They have a few beach… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Palm Grove Hotel is a good base for your holiday ,ask...”

Written on: 24/02/2006 by sargeant (1 review written)

Palm Grove Hotel is a good base for your holiday ,ask for mo to walk you to Banjul market(via beach) on his day off,(top bloke)long walk but worth it. Trips through tour guide expensive but worth it ,take pens pencils sweets etc and make sure you go to a school to hand out and meet the school children. Turn right on beach and you will find 2 cheaper and very good bars which serve food,and behind this a small but full of hassle market (be firm but friendly a good no thank you does the trick)have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“My boyfriend and I went to the Palm Grove Hotel,...”

Written on: 14/02/2006 by blondeyem1 (1 review written)

My boyfriend and I went to the Palm Grove Hotel, Gambia for the first time in February, it was a bit of a culture shock, especially the airport, it was a nightmare, people literally grabbing your cases off you in order to get a tip but we just said no and held on to them, then the people loading and unloading the cases wanted a tip so we was a little unsure when we first arrived but after arriving at the hotel, we were pleased. Our room was lovely (we had a suite) but I think other rooms were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jane Williams's Response to blondeyem1's Review

Written on: 19/02/2006

hi were going in november any more tips would be much appreciated

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Palm Grove Hotel: ”

Written on: 25/04/2005 by suzin tanay (1 review written)

Palm Grove Hotel:
Okay, so all in all I had a lovely time.. all I wanted... lots of sun and relaxing.... but there always a few points which aren't so good... firstly I read on this site before I went and it does not prepare you for the hassling you get when you touch down, locals trying to look in your plastic bags for magazines, papers (locals then try and sell these for £2 (100 dalasi each in hotels!!!) ask you if 'you got anything' and we had three different people take our luggage and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Palm Grove Hotel had its good points and its bad...”

Written on: 25/03/2005 by martinhockings (1 review written)

The Palm Grove Hotel had its good points and its bad points.
The rooms were quite basic but always clean and were spacious. The pool area, bars and gardens were great and well maintained by the staff.
We did find the hotel expensive. Air-conditioning is £9 a day extra, a fan approx £4-with nighttimes temperatures hotter than you'd care to imagine they've got you over a barrel really!!! We stuck it out and sweated the nights away though!!!
The hotel food was not really up to what we would have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“We stayed for 1 week at Palm Grove Hotel could have...”

Written on: 30/01/2005 by wildcataly (1 review written)

We stayed for 1 week at Palm Grove Hotel could have stayed longer. We found it hard to find cheap food, the tourist taxis outside cost £5 return to Banjul to eat out and you get hassled constantly so need to take a guide with you that cost 50D an hour (£1). To stay in the hotel and eat will cost you around £5 for burger and chips at lunchtime to £8 for the buffet evening meal. The drinks are expensive too but there is a hut in the taxi rank that sells bottles of pop for 15D (30p) and large… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“”

Written on: 11/07/2004 by spuudercat (4 reviews written)


Gambia rates in my worldly eyes as one of the if not the top location anyone not looking for a Spanish chips and egg holiday should go to. The people are one of the friendliest and most honest I have ever met, for instance I left a camera and my wallet on the table (as all daft sods do) and went for a swim in the sea for a good couple of hours with my wife. Upon my return it was still there, a local pointed out that the only real trade of the country is Tourism and they are desperate to try and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview