Phones 4U - www.phones4u.co.uk

Phones 4U - www.phones4u.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
1.6
17.0% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Phones 4U - www.phones4u.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Phones 4U - www.phones4u.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

“Terrible ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Annoyed1234321 on 16/02/2024

Sham site selling poor quality goods

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jodiecoll on 05/04/2022

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY. Their customer service is so bad and the PRODUCTS DONT WORK! i purchased a pair of AirPods from here for £60 about a month ago, they were faulty so I emailed and asked for a return label so I could get a refund…after about 4 weeks I still didn’t get my money back as they kept claiming never received them! Then randomly I got sent a new pair of AirPods from them which is all great except the AirPods they sell have drained batteries and only last a couple of hours . I DID NOT WANT A REPLACEMENT I WANT MY MONEY BACK! when I emailed about this they literally just dismissed everything I said they are so rude . I’m still waiting for my money back!

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“I am really disappointed with this company. I ordered...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by kjAndrews316 on 22/03/2022

I am really disappointed with this company. I ordered two 20a apple charger units. Only one was delivered in small packaging big enough for one unit maximum. I immediately reported this to the company who wrote back apologising and said they would send the second unit asap. A week later nothing arrived. I emailed them again and to my surprise they say that they sent two in the original package. I explained that was not the case. They said “ As per the record we have checked all the details that was recorded as per the standard practice and the package was complete” Basically they want me to pay for two units and only send me one. Terrible service.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ketts1 on 16/02/2015

After purchasing a phone from phones 4 U about 18 months ago and taking out their Phones 4 U Care insurance i thought everything was fine that was until i needed to claim on the insurance!! After ringing and reporting my phone's damage i thought it was going to be an easy process after being told they couldn't replace it with the same phone i could chose from 3 phones they had and ring back after choosing which 1 i wanted. I chose the phone i wanted and rang back to be told i wasn't allowed any of the phones i was just told and was given another 2 phones to chose from which i had to research and ring back. I rang back (as this was the 3rd time i had rang i was annoyed at this point) again i was told i couldn't have any of the phones i was just told and given another 3 phones to chose from which were nowhere near as good as the phone i already had, at this point i was livid and expressed this to them, i ended up on hold for 5 mins so she could talk to the manager just to come back and say the manager wouldn't do anything about the situation. So after paying my insurance every month for 18 months and not claiming when i needed to claim i got nothing out of it. What a waste of my money!!

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Absolutely Terrible! Jump Customers read this!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/01/2015

I would never recommend this company to anyone and I am so glad it has gone into administration. I took out a 2 year jump contract where apparently I was told I could switch to any phone I wanted within 2 years and it would be the same price. After a year I switched from a Samsung to an iPhone, not only did they put the price up, they tried to convince me at the end of the 2 years that since I took out the iPhone 1 year into the contract, that it had restarted the whole thing! And when i rang customer service about it they promised to get back to me which my original recorded conversation to prove they had outlined the contract properly (which they obviously hadn't) and I never heard from them again. I recently rang back about it and they haven't even got a customer service number anymore. I looked into my contract today and I could of cancelled it as of October, but did they tell me that on the phone? Of course not! Anything for money. Anyone who has a Jump contract with Phones 4 u I strongly suggest you cancel it as you no longer have to pay it. Link to FAQ's

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I upgraded my phone and was told I will get a free...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 434Coyle on 22/09/2014

I upgraded my phone and was told I will get a free tablet in 28 days and still no sign of it phoned customer service 5 times last week to get told to phone back on 72 hours for an update and then they tell me to phone back in 7 days for an update so I'm very upset about it

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“cold calling idiots”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jerimiahj291 on 19/09/2014

its of no supprise to me phones for u have gone into liquidation. i get very fed up with them cold calling me when my ee contract comes near to end. allways deal with ee direct. they only have themselves to blame no sympathy from me.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ it is wastage of time ,misleading continuously ,”

★☆☆☆☆

written by brandrange on 17/09/2014

I bought a phone online ,honestly speaking the phone4u company in not know what they are selling we ask him 3 time that I have a 3sim card and I want to buy a phone they advice my to buy nokia 106 ,I placed the order and after 2 days I have received the phone when I put sim card in no signals I call customer support and they advised this phone is not supporting 3 sim card and advice that I need to go there shop and return , when I go to their shop they were telling me a different story that I have bought this phone online I need to return it online after that I call again phone4u company and they advised that they will not take the return because the 7 days is over , this company misguide me 3 time ,I have print all the conversation of chatting which I have done with this company, if in this company any one need the proof please welcome, it is wastage of time ,misguiding continuously ,waste of money .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Phones 4 U stop trading - perhaps there is a God after all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mmx554 on 17/09/2014

The only really surprising thing about Phones 4 U stopping trading is why it has taken so long to happen. My experience of purchasing a phone from them was that the customer service culture was to sell, sell, sell and fob off or ignore any problems resulting post-sales. This really was one of the very worst retail organisations that I ever dealt with. If there is any natural justice in the world it will not reopen. My experience was obviously not unique judging by other reviews on this site, and on other sites too. It takes real commitment to be so bad when the majority of reviews give it the lowest possible rating. Thanks to Vodafone and EE for pulling the plug. It's a pity they didn't do it much earlier. It might have stopped many customers from enduring the nightmare of dealing with Phones 4 U. Yes, Richard Branson, there might be less competition on the high street as a result of this closure, but in the interests of consumer sanity this organisation should not be resuscitated.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Very impressed”

★★★★★

written by Julie.N on 30/07/2014

This is the first time I have gone to phones4you. Ive always used carphone warehouse or the mobile company itself. My experience with the Bridgwater store was very impressive. They were helpful, and listened to what I wanted/used a mobile for, and suggested the sony z1 compact. And helped me move providers. I Went back a few days later and they helped sort out my voice mail. Would definitely use them again. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble. Based on my experience I would recommend phones4you, especially the Bridgwater store, where the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Took mobile back to store as it had stopped working...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by krms70 on 16/07/2014

Took mobile back to store as it had stopped working (under 6 months old) manager and his colleague checked mobile over, found no water damage around phone,camera lense, sim card tray, phone wad also kept in a case. Mobile was sent for repair and would have it back in 2 weeks. What a surprise phones 4u want approx £400 from me because of water damage, condensation or SWEAT. Requested proof of this in the way of pictures, yet anothet surprise, they cant send me any, they have been asked 3 times for pics, time is up, not interested in the pics or their feable excuses, the phone had no water damage when it went back to the shop

Jojo99's Response to krms70's Review

Written on: 25/08/2014

I took a phone back to Phones4U as the one off the speakers was not working, they sent it to the repair centre and after 4 weeks they return it back to store informing that is would cost £250 to repair and said it was no longer under warranty, even though it was still under contract.

Decided not to have work done, but the external condition of the phone when it was sent back was disgusting, it had been scratched, dented and chipped, the phone shop said they will send it back, but said that on the form sent to repair centre it did state that the condition stated "USED" to which I state that there was only two boxes, so it could not have been "NEW" and questioned the Manager at the Swindon office, who is rude and seems to have that classic condition of "Self Importance" in overdrive, with no capacity to listen and makes outrageous statements that when challenge is incapable off answering.

He stated that the repair centre could not have damaged the external condition of my phone, but eventually agreed to send it back for assessment, as an outcome the repair centre sent it back after 8 weeks, a note with the phone stating "that this was the condition received, they have no liability.
I've requested on several occasions, for evidence to support their outcome, these requests have been ignored.

Whilst they had my phone for two months, they constantly phoned me with costs of repairs, replacement phone, internet connection cost and all different parts costs for repair, or calling me to tell me that they can’t find any fault etc., after losing my temper, they finally understood the reason they had the phone, and sent the phone back the next day, stating they were not to blame.
The phone should have been return to store, however they returned to my home address, and on collection, they had damaged the screen and it had pixel death and they had disconnected the camera.

I believe they know they had caused additional damage, and sent it to my home to ensure or make it harder for me to prove they had broken my phone completely, i am now fighting this!!!!

I have been told they are an independent contractor that is used by phones4U, however, the stores side with the repair centre, and the call themselves phone4Urepairs.

This is the second time, I’ve experienced the repair centre and the first time they said my phone had water damage, even though it was all over the internet that an update was causing this Samsung phone to malfunction.
I will never use Phone4 U again, so doggy, and aggressive when you have a problem.

Reply to this comment

Krms70's reply to Jojo99's Comment

Written on: 26/08/2014

Contact trading standards, it worked for me, as did a few other things I tried. They ended up agreeing that they were at fault and replaced the handset. The new handset was also delivered to my home address, but I took it to phones4 u and got them to open the package.

Good luck

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They've Lost us as Customers”

★☆☆☆☆

written by davonorman on 12/07/2014

My partner's Samsung Galaxy S4 stopped recognising the sim card so we visited out local branch (Whitely) and after an hour of making checks they confirmed our thoughts and the phone had indeed stopped recognising the sim and so needed sending off. Fortunately we had an old handset he could use in the meantime, so the handset was sent out and we were told within 1 week to 10 days we would hear back with an update from the repair centre. With two weeks passing we went online to find the status of the repair was "please call to discuss the repair". This morning we called the number provided to be told that the sim card tray had been damaged by the user and therefore carries a £44 charge to fix. What the repair company were completely unwilling to do was to allow us to speak to an engineer to find out how this might have happened or to have a report of the damage as evidence, and we were quite frankly fobbed off and that only the customer services could help us further. Customer services said they couldn't help because they are not engineers and had to go on the word of the repair centre as to any faults. Eventually when speaking to a Manager they offered a "gesture of goodwill" of £22 towards the cost to fix. We are now getting the phone back but this is not over!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Just interested in sales”

★★☆☆☆

written by Triston240 on 09/07/2014

They are just a sales force. Not interested in helping you out. You will never get a repalcement phone you are happy with. Be very wary of any information you are told. Be especially wary if you are told: "It's the latest Android software" The sales person asks a colleague to verify any information. "It's the equivalent/better phone" Especially if you ask for a specific phone. Chances are they are on commision for that phone. I have reluctantly gone annonyomous as, I could be tracked from my comments.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely pants”

★☆☆☆☆

written by boBeasley1994 on 03/07/2014

I would never recommend going with phones 4 u.. It's is as rubbish as it's lame name. I was put on a jump contract, exaggeratedly promised it was a great contract with no catches when I wanted to change my device in so called 6 months after starting new contract. However I was not told I'd have to pay the remainder of the previous device as well as the new device ( what makes them think customers would want that? ) Plus I have had a seperat bill for my talk minutes which I've had to upgrade 3 times as I found the phone I have uses and excessive amount of data. Now I am in the last 30 days of paying for this jump contract, I called to give notice and the customer service team had me on hold for a good 15 minutes then finally came back saying I missed 5 payments? Although I have a debit set up which would notify me if any payments did not go through? And how come the collections team haven't hounded me for these "so called" missing payments? Surely after 2 year contract they would of seen this so called "missing payments", and would of told me sooner? Never again with phone 4 u ... Customer service-- pants In store service --- worse Products --- great stock but garbage offers!

Jojo99's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2014

Doggy and will blatantly lie to customers

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Both Clacton-on-sea stores staff need more training”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 195Bolton on 19/06/2014

I will not be using or recommending phones 4 u in either Clacton-on-sea stores their staff do not know about consumer law with regard to returning faulty phone and when shown letter from their own customer service people about exchanging phone tried to charge me when I wanted different phone which was showing at same price!!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service! Coalville store.”

★★★★★

written by BettyJE on 16/06/2014

Brilliant customer service, although the store seemed busy staff made sure I knew I was not forgotten and would be served soon. When I was served, my problem was dealt with efficiently with great customer service. Although I was not happy with original replacement phone that was in stock, I was offered a delivery phone swap and all the newly available phone choices were shown to me and I was guided in choosing the best phone in regards to what I used the phone for rather than just being told what phones I could have which left me feeling that the staff member cared about me getting the best deal rather than just fobbing me off with the easiest option for them. Would defiantly recommend both the Coalville store, the helpful staff in there as well as getting the phones 4 you insurance! Overall it was exceptional service!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor customer service, just want yr money thats all”

★☆☆☆☆

written by monsignor14 on 13/06/2014

This company are atrocious. My experiences of their front desk & main office has been frequent over the past 18 months. Every time I visit with the exception of one branch in Bristol, it takes forever to get served, & most often they either don't know the answer to the enquiry or its computer says no. Worst case was last xmas at Bristol, Bedminster branch where I waited 20 mins at the front desk to be served, one employee was just shooting the breeze with a friend, pretending to serve him as a customer. Yes I could have walked out but I needed the problem I had sorting out with them on the day, so I had to stand & suffer. Even then they failed to resolve the issue. If theres no commission in it for them, the staff just are not interested in you, period. Whats worse is you cant even complain to the head office without paying them. That's right, good old 0870 number so you have to give them 15p a min just to complain. Emails to them just go unresponded to. In my humble opinion this company is a bag of it & well worth avoiding, theres plenty of other options in their market to use which is where im going in future. Use them at your peril.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Free Gift Still not arrived”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/06/2014

Went to phones for u oxford, ordered Samsung galaxy note3 with free galaxy gear. This was the Thursday before easter, still not received after several promises of it being sent, then now told sorry cant supply it as out of stock, Samsung says no issues there end it must be phones4u as I could order 1 and be here tomorrow. Still waiting for a manager to call 4 days later

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“never buy from phones 4 u”

★☆☆☆☆

written by dotty68 on 30/05/2014

bought a phone from them in december and after 4 monthes the phone stoped working , went back to shop with it and the sent it to there repaire centre , after 3 weeks of haveing no contact from them i phone the repaire center myself who i was then told they couldnt rapaire it at the center so they sent it back to the manufactures , another 4 weeks of waiting i got a call back from phones 4 u , saying to come and pick my phone up , after ariving home with my phone founds out the ariganol phone couldnt be rapaired so the gave me a grade A reverbished one ,only for that to have scratches and damage on the hand set , so i goes back to the shop to comlaine only for them to send that one back , today i gets a phone call from them saying the phone we bought is no longer in stock and the gave us 3 cheeper rubbish phones to choose from , i told them we wont are money back as were not excepting what they have offered or the same phone that we bought in the first place , they have refused both so i rang head office to compalaine only for them to be very rude and fobed us of and told i can take them to court ,. i am fumming , i will never buy from them again , and i have now been in touch trading standers who are going to help us sort it out. so please keep this in mind befor you buy from phones 4 u they are a very bad company to deal with .

Jojo99's Response to dotty68's Review

Written on: 25/08/2014

Totally Agree:-

I took a phone back to Phones4U as the one off the speakers was not working, they sent it to the repair centre and after 4 weeks they return it back to store informing that is would cost £250 to repair and said it was no longer under warranty, even though it was still under contract.
Decided not to have work done, but the external condition of the phone when it was sent back was disgusting, it had been scratched, dented and chipped, the phone shop said they will send it back, but said that on the form sent to repair centre it did state that the condition stated "USED" to which I state that there was only two boxes, so it could not have been "NEW" and questioned the Manager at the Swindon office, who is rude and seems to have that classic condition of "Self Importance" in overdrive, with no capacity to listen and makes outrageous statements that when challenge is incapable off answering.
He stated that the repair centre could not have damaged the external condition of my phone, but eventually agreed to send it back for assessment, as an outcome the repair centre sent it back after 8 weeks, a note with the phone stating "that this was the condition received, they have no liability.
I've requested on several occasions, for evidence to support their outcome, these requests have been ignored.
Whilst they had my phone for two months, they constantly phoned me with costs of repairs, replacement phone, internet connection cost and all different parts costs for repair, or calling me to tell me that they can’t find any fault etc., after losing my temper, they finally understood the reason they had the phone, and sent the phone back the next day, stating they were not to blame.
The phone should have been return to store, however they returned to my home address, and on collection, they had damaged the screen and it had pixel death and they had disconnected the camera.
I believe they know they had caused additional damage, and sent it to my home to ensure or make it harder for me to prove they had broken my phone completely, i am now fighting this!!!!
I have been told they are an independent contractor that is used by phones4U, however, the stores side with the repair centre, and the call themselves phone4Urepairs.
This is the second time, I’ve experienced the repair centre and the first time they said my phone had water damage, even though it was all over the internet that an update was causing this Samsung phone to malfunction.
I will never use Phone4 U again, so doggy, and aggressive when you have a problem.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“poor customer service and no cooling off period”

★☆☆☆☆

written by vsHuber323 on 21/05/2014

absolute disgraceful company, I wouldn't even recommend your services to my worst enemy. cant wait for the day phone4u get shut down. the only reason you have any money is because of the way you have treated your customers scamming them into contracts that they cant get out off and not repairing their phones.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Kerr2578 on 13th November 2023 Report this content
I need to make a complaint I took a contract out and now they have got me in a load of debt. How do I do this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Jahangir1980 on 9th March 2015 Report this content
I did an upgrade with O2 sim contract cash back system but I didn't receive my cash back yet. What should I do?  I've tried to contact customer services. 

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by t.j.meakin on 4th March 2015 Report this content
Why has my contract with life being going up to £15.60 per month instead of being at £13.54 as it no longer functions as the card is a US sim?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by DOCUMENT on 1st October 2014 Report this content
I have bought an iPhone 5 from Phones 4U with contract and I had some problem with this phone. The phone was then changed because of the same problem. I need a document about this change because I am from Turkey and so we have to register with this document in our country. Would I be able to get documentation for the first phone and second phone? I really need this document. How can I have this document?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content TheRumBaron Written on: 02/10/2014
You will need to contact phones4u administrators, if you visit the phones4u website there is a screen with all the contact information. 
Asked by RebeccaYeandle on 23rd April 2014 Report this content
I had a phone call today about an early upgrade on my phone and I decided to take the offer however I've now changed my mind and would like to cancel my order how do I go about doing this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content TheRumBaron Written on: 23/04/2014
You are well within your right to call back and cancel the order, just make sure you do this as soon as possible :), do not let them talk you into not cancelling. It is always best to go directly to the mobile phone provider for a contract.
overview