Zen Internet Reviews - www.zen.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
60% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Customer Service

  • Speed Consistency

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Zen Internet www.zen.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Zen Internet www.zen.co.uk

Zen Internet www.zen.co.uk
Zen Internet www.zen.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Diabolical Steer Clear”

written by 146Gallagher on 09/07/2018

Joined Zen 2013, service now diabolical. Tech support guys, read flow charts & blame YOUR equipment/router/Ethernet cable/micro filter/computer=never their fault & despite buying new router, micro filters & Ethernet cables, 1st guy I spoke to failed to diagnose trunk outage in area affecting many residents. 2nd failed to walk me though setting up new router I was told to buy by 1st guy blamed them for fault, I was asked,(despite telling the 2nd guy that I had had a stroke & heart attack & was struggling physically, to kneel on floor) to unscrew phone socket on wall to get at test socket + he had advised me to unscrew wrong one, so had to trace wiring to feed socket in garage-other side of house, he asked me to unscrew that, try phone in it, so had to go back to other side of house for phone then I was asked to go & get router from other side of house. Struggled to plug phone/router into a live test socket hanging off garage wall, 2nd tech guy decided it’s outage in area as both phone lines & internet by this time down he books BT, saying if I don't pay £120 to get private Broadband specialist out-check internal wiring I might be asked to pay BT £140-£178 for call out. Called Broadband specialist = £120, this + having to pay computer shop £75.91 on router, Ethernet cable & micro filters. Broadband specialist after he’d tested internal wiring asked neighbours if they’d any connectivity, they didn't. Called PC repair guy out=was suggested by 1st Tech guy it may be my computer =cost me £50, I’m losing income from booked in clients on busiest night of working week. PC repair guy migrated away from Zen Internet as found them rip off & incompetent-same problems. Phone to lodge complaint, 3rd tech guy=smarmy, condescending, rude & disrespectful, so lost my cool, he tried to justify actions of 1st & 2nd tech’s, as if I was at fault. I demanded manager called me Monday 11 am- 12 noon as started work at 12 noon. At 12.54 pm Monday Nick called claiming to be a Zen manager-he was only supervisor, he was equally obnoxious + unhelpful so asked for complaint to be escalated above him, he refused to reimburse for costs incurred from Broadband specialist PC repair man, only offered to pay for router claiming no tech guys recommended calling out Broadband specialist, fact is I never knew they existed until 2nd tech guy said to do so, so they endlessly back staff, have zero respect for customers. Support=diabolical amateur, useless, no 24/7 tech support. I pay £67.67 per month for 1 phone line + broadband & 1 without, no more than 5.85 mbps download speed & 0.84 mbps upload, diabolical customer service ,they know I‘m self-employed & if I'm late paying bill, billing Rottweiler spams me with nasty threatening emails. Threaten to leave Zen & in smarmy voice they rudely tell you, you’ll never find as good a deal. I am done with Zen Internet they’re a disgrace, my advice steer clear utter rip off utter rubbish, rude unpleasant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Quite disappointed with the service”

written by on 11/10/2017

Disappointingly slow speeds. Customer service hasn't been very good either - when I've had a problem resulting in no broadband, it's been down for 4-5 days each time. I took out a phone contract with them too, unfortunately, and if there's a problem with the line Zen don't seem to push too hard to get it fixed. I'm disabled and rely heavily on my phone and broadband service, but this doesn't seem to galvanise Zen either. I had high hopes for them following their scoring in Which? surveys etc, but my expectations haven't been met.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Taking No Responsibility & Are Totally Incompetent!”

written by 439Morgan on 03/02/2017

I have been using Zen Internet services for many years now and every time there is an issue - of which there are many - their technical team provide a wishy washy reason as to why the issue could not be resolved; this includes years of business data having been completely lost due to their incompetency and inability/unwillingness to solve the problem. Here are my reasons for leaving them: 1) Unreliable servers 2) Incompetent technical support team 3) Taking no responsibility for their shortfalls 4) Overpriced 5) Never being given the reason as to why the issue had been created in the first place and what to do in order to avoid it in the future

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent in all ways”

written by eddduck1948 on 30/11/2015

Zen provided all information for the switch very quickly. The switch happened quickly and with no problems at all. I changed routers when I had an email from them (via my mobile) and within minutes all was up and running. Broadband speed was the same as BT. I like the simple charges (lower than BT), and there are no teaser rates and do you don`t have to `beg` every year to get a new contract. When Zen contract is up (1month anyway) the charge is still the same. They are not on comparison sites and found them by trawling computer magazines on line. I like it the customer service id UK based. I purchased a suggested router from Zen because it was programmed by them. The router was good value.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Eddduck1948's Response to eddduck1948's Review

Written on: 31/08/2016

About a year with ZEN so time for an update. There have been no problems with broadband or phone service. Direct debits working fine. `NOW TV` box working via broadband - no problems. 10 out of 10.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Eddduck1948's Response to eddduck1948's Review

Written on: 27/03/2019

I thought i would search broadband deals - ZEN is best for reliability on BROADBAND.CO.UK

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Eddduck1948's Response to eddduck1948's Review

Written on: 27/03/2019

Just an 2019 update:- have had no problems with broadband service and router so have had not to call custoer service. Speeds in my area are very good...no problems using streaming services. Price still very competative. I find it nice to use a company that dont seem to use teaser rates.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Threatened with Debt Recover - 2 years after I stopped...”

written by on 29/05/2014

May 2014 - a letter was sent to me saying I owed £57.46 and threatening me with Hornets Debt Recovery Agency if i didn't pay up in 14 days. I have no account with these people - I paid twice for a web space rental on behalf of a voluntary organisation more than 2 years ago. I am very disappointed - they were good when I used them and I let them know it was going to be paid by another person. I am very unhappy to be threatened nn a letter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Zen blames the victim”

written by on 17/05/2014

I am disabled and rely on a BT line with extension cable from the master socket into my bedroom. The line often disconnects, and ofcourse, there is a possibility that it's due to the telephone, a cable, or a splitter. So I've replaced everything, several times. Today, after a disconnection, I rang up but the engineer was unfriendly, let me hang on for five minutes while he read the reports on the recuurent faults, (I asked him to ring back when he was finished but he wouldn't), and then he blamed me for not having tested the phone when plugged directly into the master socket for a week or two. The problem is that I don't have the strength in my legs to keep walking from my bedroom to the office or anywhere else and struggle around the house. It wasn't build for a disabled person and while I wait for a sheltered home, this has to do. I've done the best I could but I was treated like a stupid airhead for not testing long enough and frequently enough. Zen used to be great. Some people don't understand us and are unkind. I should be used to the 'why don't you do as an able-bodied person' suggestions but even after 50 plus years, I'm not. Like many friends can attest, some people make you feel like a waste of space. they can't accept you cant' keep walking to and from rooms. The broadband isn't great either.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful, overpriced service”

written by AngryQueen on 04/12/2013

Terrible service. Essential the same as BT, but more expensive and with a similar 'couldn't care less' service. Got passed from pillar to post repeatedly. Call centre tried to blind me with science despite what they were saying being total nonsense and having nothing to do with my actual service. Also overheard one of the staff refer to me using a homophobic slur, I assume he thought I was on hold. I gather this sort of nastiness is not uncommon. My complaint, of course, has been given lip service. Terrible service, avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DONT USE IF YOU WANT GOOD CUSTOMER CARE”

written by on 16/11/2013

daniel293829382's Comments Summary: DONT USE IF YOU WANT GOOD CUSTOMER CARE November 16th, 2013 (Last Edited: November 16th, 2013) You pay a premium to these people and yet you get rubbish customer care. I dare say its one of the worst in the business. Primus give me better customer care and that's saying something. They even addressed me by my middle name in one email. The whole company is a joke. I regret joining them. The reviews on half of the review sites do not reflect the terrible time you will have been a zen customer. If this review saves 1 person from the torture of bad service and one of the worst customer services known to man I will be very happy. NPOWER & primus should be given the gold medal in customer services if you compare them to zen. That is saying something really. BAD BAD BAD INTERNET COMPANY AVOID. P.S The way these people talk about money they sound like they would be happy if there customers don't eat or heat there homes as long as they get there cash. Greedy and bad company. Micky Mouse could provide better customer services.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Real people - that I find helpful”

written by globelink_admin on 20/08/2013

Been with Zen for many years and consequently they are with many of my customers also through my recommendation. I have used a variety of their broadband services and some of their hosting services. Not tried their VoIP services though. When talking to them whether in technical support, billing or sales I talk to real people who are really from the UK that have no trouble understanding what I am saying, and I have no trouble understanding what they say either. What a delight. I have found their technical support excellent, even solving issues that turned out to be nothing to do with them like one problem we had that was related to to MTU and nothing to do with Zen. So top marks there. If I have had a problem, it is that they are pedantic to an extreme where account security is concerned. They needed faxed letterheaded note to allow me to get on the account that I setup for a customer. I supposed they could have made it more secure by requiring a named director from the company to present themselves and their passport in Rochdale before the allowed me on it. So I suppose I should be grateful. Also I have had to phone technical support to get help navigating a messy and difficult to understand web interface to change DNS settings for MX records or setup SPF records, maintain and manage websites and such like. I always have to "gird my loins" before doing further changes. Which reminds me that a domain I transferred into Zen I need to make sure is pointing to their hosting package. That will not be a trivial task. Overall happy with their service. A bit behind the times with their portal for managing things, especially if you have multiple services for multiple customers. But their customer support makes up for that big time. 4/5. Nice.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Best ISP I have ever had”

written by dean7711 on 19/08/2013

I have had BT, Plusnet, AOL and just switched from SKY to these guys. I live in a village and SKY offered me up to 8 meg. Problem was when the evenings came (after 5pm) I was getting speeds of less then a meg. Problem is these big companies do traffic shaping to share there massive load of customers. Great thing about Zen is they do not do this. After day one testing in the evening my 1 meg speed was 6.5! That speaks for itself! You want a decent ISP dont be a sheep and pay that little bit more for a decent connection! not to mention how good there customer service is! Send them an email and they are back to you in 15 mins! Really customer focused too! Friendly and understanding!! Get them!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent - long term user & used for my clients too”

written by david.matthewson on 05/08/2013

I'm a long term - 15 years or so - Zen user and I recommend it to my clients too. I appreciate technical support from a guy in Yorkshire who knows what he is doing, is friendly and has access to BT tools and stats. A million miles away from 'scripted service' of many other ISPs. I've not used them for domains or voice and am surprised at some of the negative comments about that on this review site. I also agree they are not cheap and if you just want a home ISP I'd probably look elsewhere. But for business class systems, I'd go with Zen every time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Impeccable Provider”

written by on 14/07/2013

Not the cheapest in the market, but never had a problem since the beginning (more than 10 years ago). Excellent Customer Service and Tech Support. Website user-friendliness can be improved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Zen - Let down big time by accounts department”

written by CADMAN1959 on 01/05/2013

I have been with Zen for 10 years, generally their technical service was excellent, however we have always experienced difficulties with the billing department, consistently failing to effectively collect direct debits, not a major problem, but an irritation. This year we wished to close down one of our domain names registered through them, the accounts dept. called to say that they had not been able to collect the funds on this DD (taken against a credit card, we informed them that we wished to close the domain and didn't want to pay for it anyway, we had not renewed the domain and had not received any renewal notification. As a matter of principle we refused to pay this account (£11.99), as we felt they were in the wrong, and advised them that we would close all of our business with them (about £1,000 per year in value) if they persisted in demanding it. They then closed down all of our company accounts and all of our home systems. WHAT CLEVER PEOPLE!!! So now we have taken all of our business elsewhere and have paid them the £11.99 - What a business! They used to be so good.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID - Paying customer threatened with debt recovery!”

written by on 22/03/2013

I took out an account with Zen and set up direct debit. They failed to collect one payment and sent me an email asking me to pay by credit card. I had some emails back and forth since I expected that (like every other company on earth) they would use the direct debit to try and take the payment again and I didn't want to double pay. They said I had to pay by card. I said that's dumb but ok and I paid. 2 months later the same thing happened, again I wanted to confirm with them before I paid and ask if there was anything that could be done to stop this silly mess. Before I know it I came home to a very threatening letter saying I owed them for 2x payments (wrong), that they had repeatedly tried and failed to contact me by phone and email (false) and that they would cut off my Internet in 7 days and forward my 'debt' (nonexistent) to Hornets Debt Recovery Services. THIS IS AN APPALLINGLY BADLY RUN COMPANY YOU MUST AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I have had bad customer service in the past and bad ISPs but Zen takes it to another level. To top it off the broadband speed was at 2/3rds of what it should have been and they did nothing to rectify it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer service and billing”

written by Throttlejockey on 12/02/2013

We had no end of issues with billing and were cut off on numerous occasions with no warning. Final straw after leaving Zen was to receive a letter from a debt collection agency to recover less than £30 on a bill we never received. Zero communication for a company in the communication business !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Excellent home broadband, rubbish business support”

written by on 13/10/2012

I use Zen for my home broadband - I cannot fault them with excellent quality of service and good customer service. I represent a large organisation and we wanted to register a number of domains. Sales said no problem and efficiently set up account etc. We, however, can only pay by purchase order (as stated from the outset) - they said no problem. However it now appears that Zen don't seem to know how to deal with this and kept send credit application forms and providing details to pay online - despite being as clear as we possibly could (using simple words in the end) it just did not seem to get through. Have pretty much given up which is a shame as this could very well have lead to some larger contracts as we are in a review process at the moment.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Zen voice service (beware!)”

written by westcoaster on 01/06/2012

I have been with ZEN for more than 4 years and found tech support first class. However, between June 2011 and May 2012 all my phone calls were made through BT at a total cost to me of £559.13 after line rental costs. During this time ZEN were billing me for their Voice service which of course I thought was still functioning as a "voice service". I pay BT by DD and unfortunately I failed to keep track of the relevant a/c. When I finally discovered that BT were billing me for calls I thought I was making using Zen's Voice service I contacted Zen and it was explained that the router "must have reset itself" and I was instructed to do a factory reset and all would be well. I was then advised to log in to my Zen a/c on a regular basis where I could monitor my call duration against my monthly allowance of 1000 minutes just in case this should happen again. I was also informed that I had no claim against ZEN, although their terms and conditions are not clear on this matter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cannot fault Zen”

written by on 29/04/2012

Been with Zen for years and years, I cannot praise their technical support enough. We moved premises along with telephone lines and Zen moved the service across at no charge. They sorted out all the problems that we had (that were all to do with the BT line). I then upgraded to their Fibre service even though BT would not install it because we are too far from the exchange. However Zen stayed on the line whilst it was installed and made sure that the engineer had everything working before letting him go. Now they have upgraded my service by doubling the speeds and of course that equates to a change in the price (but wait, the price is going down !!. Yes speed up, price down). I would highly recommned them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Reliable and brilliant customer service”

written by ggrimer on 18/04/2012

If you are running a business from home or working from home and those conference calls and other things are mission critical then Zen are an excellent choice. Not the cheapest, but they have been VERY reliable over the last 8 years. I am not interested in saving less than £100 per year if it means that every year I lose a day of work or miss a critical conference call or e-mail response. For home based businesses and home offices DO NOT be pennywise and pound foolish.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unethical and unprofessional”

written by on 21/02/2012

I'm speechless. I've been bombarded with calls from Zen saying I'm in arrears with payment for domains. I wasn't, but they like to take payment 2 or 3 months early! After chasing me I decided to pay them online but to my horror I found they'd taken away ALL my domains (even the ones that weren't due for payment), taken them off the DNS and therefore rendered me website-less! I have a business to run! When I called they were basically holding me to ransom. My domains had been taken off-line for 15 days. I'm speechless. I'll leave you to decide whether Zen.co.uk are professional or not. I won't be doing my business with them again. I had to pay up (in advance by the way) so they would put all my other domains back online. Never again. I'm now going to transfer my domains away from them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview