Sony NW-E3 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sony NW-E3 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sony NW-E3

Sony NW-E3
Sony NW-E3
Sony NW-E3
Sony NW-E3

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Good work Sony”

Written on: 22/01/2002 by Tom Hoogeveen. (1 review written)

Good work Sony… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

11896_Ski Freak.'s Response to Tom Hoogeveen.'s Review

Written on: 05/02/2002

I am going to buy one of these mp3 players but i need pictures, plus i think sony is the BEST choice.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123456's Response to Tom Hoogeveen.'s Review

Written on: 18/08/2003

I was thinking about a sony player but I'm really put off by the fact that it doesn't take mp3s. The main reason I want an mp3 player over a minidisc player is so that I can add music to it really quickly just before I go out. The site says that it accepts mp3s but it said that for my brother's sony minidisc player and when he got it it turned out that the software will automatically convert it to atrac. But this is just an unnecessary complication and when there are a lot of songs it can take a while to convert them, besides, the software is *A*W*F*U*L*, it's slow and crashes a lot. This can be solved if you have a player which supports mp3s since you can use third party software but this is obviously not the case with the sony players. All in all, sony are shooting themselves in the foot, I would get one if it wasn't for that but I'm looking at others now.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“This is a great player - the 64mb flash memory takes...”

Written on: 11/04/2001 by Steve. (1 review written)

This is a great player - the 64mb flash memory takes less than a minute to fill and sound quality is to audiophile standards. The display is backlit and can be used as a freq. display. It exudes class and quality.

The only problem is the software supplied - it will only work with MS Windows 98. It will NOT work with any other version of Windows. Also, it will NOT work with a 98/2k dual boot. Having said all this, Sony are releasing an update to rectify these problems, supposedly at the end of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

1779_Steve.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 21/04/2001

Since I wrote my original review of the NW-E3 the supplied software has been modified to support MS Win2k and ME.
<br>
<br>Users who wish to upgrade to Win2k/ME can find an upgrade for their NW-E3 software at www.support-nwwalkman.com - this will upgrade OpenMG to version 2.0.0.2.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

63539_Geoff.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 08/01/2003

Sorry guy's I hate to rain on your parade, the walkman is great. The software has been designed by a 3yr old - Open Mg is the most cumbersome slow and incompatible thing I have ever used.
You may be able to transfer 64mb in under 2 mins but only after having to convert all your songs to their format this, means you need twice as much hard disk for your mp3 collection and omg files. Please don't ever try and re-install windows to your computer as open mg will forget all the copyright info for all your songs making them unplayable! In summary Player good software absolute PANTS!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

38342_Cman.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 18/09/2002

The software works on WinXP.
<br>Too bad the the biggest memory stick is 128MB.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

20956_Steve.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 24/04/2002

The above comment has obviously been written by someone who cannot read. Try reading all the comments and you'll see that I amended the review when the 2k/ME patch came out.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

20618_Jules.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 22/04/2002

This review has been written by someone who obviously does not have full access to the internet, otherwise they would have found out that there is and has been for about six months an upgrade for the software to Windows 2000. I used to have this model (until I left it on a plane) and the software upgrade I received worked perfectly.
<br>
<br>I now have the newer model - purchased in Hong Kong and it is even better.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Special_Dx.'s Response to 1635_Steve.'s Review

Written on: 07/01/2002

I have an NW-E5 the extra 32 MB is very useful, I got mine for £100, there was a mix up, I got the E3 box with the E5 in it! the E3 was on clearance in a High street retail outlet. I have mine working on Win. ME with v1 software, which I prefer to v2 (both work on ME, but must be on a machine with OEM installed windows which ever version of windows you have). For the price I payed; 11/10

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
Read 6 Comments
overview