Renault Traffic Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Renault Traffic
★★★★☆
3.8
83.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Renault Traffic - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Renault Traffic

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Great ride, good economy, but would I buy another - NO!”

★★☆☆☆

written by Adrianthejoiner on 13/10/2013

I bought a Renault trafic, long wheelbase, in 2004, brand new. What originally sold it to me was the capacity and the ride quality. A very smooth ride, punchy engine and very comfortable cab. I have now had it for 9 years and can't wait to get shot of it. You ask why? The answer is that this has to be viewed on a commercial basis as it is a commercial vehicle, you have to take into account reliability and maintenance costs, both of which are appalling in my experience. If you are considering buying one, your best advice, based on experience and information that I have since found out, is that you will be fine until you hit 60,000 miles on the clock. After that, you need an open cheque book on maintenance costs and a flexible diary for when your van will be in the garage being fixed! There are significant weaknesses in the Renault Trafic. The gearbox has a life of approx 60,000 - 70,000 mile. My van has 114,000 on the clock and has had 2 genuine gearbox replacements in that time. They're not cheap and mechanics hate doing the job, thus you don't get much change out of 2 thousand a time. The electrics are a nightmare. In the last 18 months I have had to spend over £5k- to keep the van on the road. It does therefore make a bit of a mockery out of the 'cheap' price tag to buy it in the first place! As an aside, it is possible to damage the back door in normal operation (side hinged doors version). The staple that the lock fixes into on the slave door, can hit the leading door and dent the edge quite easily. When I originally bought the van, this had accidentally happened to mine within 6 months of owning the van. I complained to Renault UK who vehemently denied a problem exists. However, if you are thinking of buying one, take note of the amount of Renault Trafic vans that have a dent on the edge of the slave door, around where the handle is and make your own mind up. I have now ordered a new van. Needless to say, it isn't a Renault Trafic, or another manufacturers version of it...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Froggit's Response to Adrianthejoiner's Review

Written on: 28/11/2013

Likewise, I bought my van from new (59 plate) just reached 43.000 miles. Firstly had to have new rear discs because they rusted out at just 18,000 miles. Had to battle with Renault to get some contribution which in fairness they did. Now both front strut tops have collapsed at this low mileage! And I was charged £96 for the privilege of telling me this yesterday.
Would I buy another...certainly not
I was under the impression that they are built to last, like hell they are
Froggit

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have to tell you all i bought a 1984 traffic camper...”

★★★★☆

written by on 31/12/2010

I have to tell you all i bought a 1984 traffic camper short wheel base 1.6 petrol engine with 50000 miles its been the best van i have owned i was a bit unsure at first as it was very basic but less to go wrong parts are cheap and you could do most stuff your self as its so basic, ok you dont get any where quick but has been very reliable, the van is 26 years old and there are still a few on the road so cant be that bad and best of all the parts are still ready availlable

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Renault Traffic has good reliability, running...”

★★★★☆

written by on 19/08/2008

The Renault Traffic has good reliability, running costs and no bad points I've found yet. I am searching for a replacement traffic lh29 and came across this review site and I just had to place some comments.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“My family got this Renault Traffic Van as a rental...”

★★★★☆

written by possb on 25/07/2004

My family got this Renault Traffic Van as a rental vehicle when the wagon we had reserved was unavailable. I was skeptical at the time, but quickly changed my mind. The vehicle handles very well, has good visibility, and is fast enough to be safe on the autobahn / interstate. My family wondered if I (Mom) could drive this machine with its six gears. The answer was a resounding YES. I give it a thumbs up!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have compleatly striped my Renault Traffic van down...”

★★★★☆

written by triplecorp on 13/02/2004

I have compleatly striped my Renault Traffic van down to its last nut and bolt and found that it is built very well.
yet it does require large amount of looking after as the previous owners somtimes dont do.
any oil discrepancys ie. oil filter changes, new oil, or even adding adatives to clean the fuel jets is an absaloute necesaty with this engine.

The cylinders and pistons are built bang on 10 out of 10 for that. Note that this engine has a special way of injecting deisel and is based on designs taken from the formula 1 engine.
This engine can be turbocharge nitro injected and specialy oiled to handle very high presures as turbos usualy give.
fuel consumption well yes it gussles it like no buisiness in normal operation but the more weight the more fuel and the van itself weighs a hell of a lot as it is built like a brick house under the bonnet.
Use a wynes fuel additive to clean valves and take your foot off the pedal while using it for 2 mounths and you use much much less deisel.
also make sure you have some good oil clean and free from sout as it will use more deiesel to run.
a good oil with a possible oil additive will give 20 30% better compresion and run very well

All round one of the best van designs in the past 15 years very good on you renault. Nice one.

i just got to referb the cylinder head and 1.4 gasget it and boy itll fly and be reliable at the same time good investment in many cases..

C Cooper

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chook's Response to triplecorp's Review

Written on: 15/05/2004

What year Traffic are you talking about?
<br>The new Traffic seems to be quite good with fuel efficency.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Covering 20,000 miles a year for the past 4 years now...”

★★★★★

written by white van man. on 13/04/2003

Covering 20,000 miles a year for the past 4 years now brings the toatal up to 210,000. It has to be the most reliable van around as not one thing has gone wrong since i have had it. they arnt the most economicle van by far or the fastest, but they last for ever with only a service every 10,000. unlike the recommended 6,000.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Zebedee3212002's Response to 88728_white van man.'s Review

Written on: 12/02/2004

It would have helped me no end if i knew the age of the van , early or late model , and whether it was petrol or diesel.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 3 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview