Kodak DC3800 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Image Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kodak DC3800 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kodak DC3800

Kodak DC3800
Kodak DC3800

Specification for Kodak DC3800

Main Features
Resolution 2.1
Optical Zoom 2
Battery Type Rechargeable

Features:
  • 2.3-megapixel CCD creates 1,901 x 1,212 images for prints at sizes up to 8 by 10 inches
  • 2x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash card holds 19 images at default resolution
  • Connects to PCs and Macs via USB CompactFlash card reader
  • Includes a USB CompactFlash card reader
    Platforms:
    Windows 2000, Windows 98, Windows NT, Windows, Mac OS 9 and below, Mac OS X
  • Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “I find that the Kodak DC3800 digital camera takes...”

    written by Jack. on 30/12/2001

    I find that the Kodak DC3800 digital camera takes excellent indoor and outdoor shots. In low light the auto settings are lowered, so the subject must stay still during the exposure. To "stop the action" you must use the flash. But for "portrait-style" pics I often find the softer light of no-flash is preferable. If you want a small, easy to use , inexpensive point & shoot camera, this is it!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 0
    ☆☆☆☆☆

    “I am trying to connect the camera to a Mac with...”

    written by Stephanie. on 21/11/2001

    I am trying to connect the camera to a Mac with absolutely no success at all. I phoned Kodak before buying to make sure it would work with my computer and was assured it would.

    Maybe in a few days I shall be calm enough to try again.

    Maybe not.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★★

    “I had a Ricoh Camera b4 this 1 and the quality on that...”

    written by Gary. on 16/07/2001

    I had a Ricoh Camera b4 this 1 and the quality on that camera was very poor and in the end it stopped working and i had to send it back. this wee gem of a camera takes great pictures especially if you are a novice like me. I recommend getting the rechargeable batteries because normal batteries just don't last, also get a bigger smart media card.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★★

    “The Kodak DC3800 is an excellent point and shoot...”

    written by Barry Jesson. on 02/06/2001

    The Kodak DC3800 is an excellent point and shoot digital camera. It's compact and lightweight making it ideal for any occasion. Picture quality is outstanding, if a little distant. 2X zoom is helpful if used sparingly. Can drain batteries extremely quickly if LCD screen is used often. Overall an excellent, value for money camera.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    21294_Gareth Jesson.'s Response to Barry Jesson.'s Review

    Written on: 26/04/2002

    Brilliant review Barry, couldn't agree more, right behind you! Keep it up!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Barryjesson's Response to Barry Jesson.'s Review

    Written on: 18/08/2003

    Having had a good, what, 18 months to sit back and fully appreciate my own comments aswell as those from gareth and the other fellow, see below, i must say that this is the most accurate, informative and, to use the words of a former great, blob-on review of a camera to be found on the net. Thanks especially to m'lo for his vast array of skills, including sponging white jeans clean of mud.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    52794_Mlo.'s Response to Barry Jesson.'s Review

    Written on: 22/11/2002

    Having not long submitted the initial review I find myself have recently heard about the camera from Bongo.
    It's nice to see people taking an interest in the written reviews and giving feedback. Many have been heard to say that Gareth speaks nothing but NONSENSE. I say Phooey to them. Keep it up.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    52559_Gareth Jesson.'s Response to Barry Jesson.'s Review

    Written on: 21/11/2002

    I have sat back and considered the review carefully. I must confess that the review is as vibrant, true and ultimately 'blob-on' now as it was then. Nice to see some solid support from M'Lö, a man whose knowledge of cameras is MONSTER!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    49896_Mlo.'s Response to Barry Jesson.'s Review

    Written on: 10/11/2002

    On the whole I'd have to agree with the review, what with the camera being so very ace and everything.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 0
    Read 5 Comments
    ★★★★★

    “Very handy little camera ”

    written by Roger. on 05/04/2001

    Very handy little camera
    Fits into your pocket and is ready almost instantly.
    Picture results excellent

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★☆

    “This is a lovely little camera. Designed for the...”

    written by Gazza. on 04/04/2001

    This is a lovely little camera. Designed for the point-and-click brigade rather than the professional, it is incredibly simple to use and gets great results nearly every time.

    The standard 4mb card can take between 30 and 60 pictures on it (there is a very high res mode which means 15 shots but the difference between high and very high is negligible). If like me you get a 32mb card as well, then you'll have enough shots to keep you going for a few weeks away from home without having to download your pics back to your hard drive. High and Very High res pics are 1792x1184 pixels, with the lowest res being a still acceptable 896x592 pixels. In real terms, the higher res means a 1200dpi inkjet will print a pic onto a full piece of A4, and on glossy paper you've got yourself a 35mm rival for sure.

    The rear LCD screen can be used whilst taking pics as well as reviewing pics already stored in memory. It's a nice little screen although it's hard to see in bright sunlight. The built-in digital zoom is practically worthless as it just crops part of a high res pic and makes it a lower res version, giving the impression of zooming. Don't be taken in!

    Transferring pics from memory to your pc involves using the usb card reader which comes with the camera. It's literally a case of dragging your jpeg pics from the card reader device to your c: drive. Having said that, it would probably have been better to have a direct usb link to the camera for portability between different PCs.

    Outdoor pictures taken in good light are always the best, but there aren't many places where the camera won't take a good picture. The most frustrating thing about it however is the slow exposure time, meaning fast-action shots have a tendency to get blurred quite easily, especially indoors with the flash on. It is also annoying having a small delay between pressing the button and the picture being taken. It might be only 1/4 of a second but it can mean losing the shot you've been waiting for.

    Battery life is not very good with standard Alkalines or rechargeable NiCd's, but with a set of NiMH's in you get 5-10 times the battery life and is well worth the investment.

    In summary, this camera "does exactly what it says on the tin", ie. it's for those who want quick pics without SLR complications. The tiny size and low weight make it ideal as a go-anywhere do-anything camera, and with it's sleek sexy curves and shiny silver body, it's a nice show-off accessory to boot!

    I definitely recommend it to anyone new to digital photography who wants something better than the entry-level models.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 10 0

    Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

    Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

    Thanks for asking a question.

    Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

    We will email you when the question is on the site

    overview