Kodak DC3200 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Kodak DC3200
★★★★☆
4.0
82.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Image Quality

  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kodak DC3200 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kodak DC3200

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Kodak says the DC3200 is a 1.2 megapixal, but truly...”

★★★★☆

written by kamloopsboy on 17/09/2003

Kodak says the DC3200 is a 1.2 megapixal, but truly its a 995,000 pixal unit. Yah it takes relatively good pictures (very good outside, not so good inside), but what do you expect for $100 bucks or less. I would say spend the extra $50-$75 and get a 2 megapixal or better. But if money is a problem and you only want Ebay pix or for email, this is your camera. USB transfer of internal shots would of been better or a faster 4mb or better compact flash card would of been perfect. Probably why its discontinued. Anyway for me it works.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Kodak DC3200 is a pretty good camera for a...”

★★★★☆

written by Prem. on 25/04/2003

The Kodak DC3200 is a pretty good camera for a beginner. The pictures could be clearer for my taste, and less bright. It downloads slowly with a serial interface. The need to doctor almost every pic to decrease the brightness slows down the process greatly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The Kodak DC3200 digital camera has good image quality...”

★★★★★

written by Sam. on 15/05/2002

The Kodak DC3200 digital camera has good image quality for Email and keeping photos of friends and family. Even though it's only a 1 megapixel camera I think its pictures are very good.
Not for professionals but for the rest of us it's a great camera.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I just purchased a Kodak DC3200 for $60 (with a $70...”

★★★★★

written by Thomas. on 28/01/2002

I just purchased a Kodak DC3200 for $60 (with a $70 mail-in rebate now in effect). My wife and I wanted a simple point and shoot digital camera for e-mail and to reduce our sizable photo processing costs. The DC3200 is a simple, well-made camera with limitations: LCD use really toasts batteries quickly, the artful subtlety of the flash is not unlike a 105 millimeter illumination round and the software is cheesy.
That said, this is a wonderful buy. How can one go wrong for $60? I've used higher end Kodak cameras (like the DC 3400, which has many more bells and whistles) but the DC3200 certainly does yeoman duty for the casual activities I'll use it for: vacation outings, fishing trips, sending e-mail snapshots to the rellies, etc. The DC3200 certainly does not deliver high-end digital photography but I think those who minimize this nice little camera for that reason are missing the boat: it's cheap, it works and is very functional.
I do plan on getting a USB xfer, waiting for high definition pictures to load through the serial port is indeed very slow. Thanks for your opinion on the USB, Dennis!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“After seeing Georges comments I wanted to add some...”

★★★★★

written by Dennis. on 01/01/2002

After seeing Georges comments I wanted to add some more. I did get the USB xfer at Best Buys for $29 for compact flash previously but didn't mention it as it wasn't standard with the camera. The xfer is fast and we use it over several networks with the USB adapter just hooked to one computer and it works just great.

I have contacted Kodak but seem to never get an answer for a lens cover and haven't found one at a camera shop as of yet.

If you cover the flash with one or two layers of 20 lb. paper (just scotch tape it over) on the flash it works much better tones down the flash to a pretty much acceptable level. After taking many photos now, it is almost imperative that you tone down the flash indoors. Otherwise, you will literally have to go into a graphics program and reduce the over saturation and hue. - - As far as outside, we find it takes excellent photos and you have the options of having the camera on auto, daylight, fluorescent, tungsten.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“I purchased this digital camera for my daughter who...”

★★★★★

written by Dennis. on 03/12/2001

I purchased this digital camera for my daughter who will soon be 14 years old for a Christmas Present.

It is extremely easy to use, almost goof proof. It is well worth the money and I only paid $88.50 for mine since it was the last on the shelf and a demo. I did get everything it came with as they had the box and all the unopened software, cables, etc.

It takes good photos, but they can be over-saturated until you adjust to what setting you want for the white balance and flash. If you are familiar with any photo editing graphics programs, you can just about make any of the photos from this camera perfect. Most photo editing programs have a digital camera box setting to adjust for digital pictures also. A lot of people will be happy with the photos right out of the box with this camera and it indeed does give good 5 x 7 photos as they attest to.

Now, for the annoyances. No lens cover, a dangerous situation for a kid or teenager who handles this camera. You can get if off the Kodak website but it should have been included. SLooooowwwww serial port xfer. On my 233mmx takes forever, on my celeron 450, better. On our Pentium lll 1 ghz computer it is acceptable. It has no bottom mount for a tripod. It is of course all plastic to save cost. It is basically ugly but a very nice size to handle.

I gave it a 4 of 5 rating because it deserves a four, but for a couple dollars more it could have offered so much more. - - A fine entry level digital camera that just lacks those extra touches many of us appreciate. I think most people would be happy with this digital camera for the money.

Dennis

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

8135_George.'s Response to 6605_Dennis.'s Review

Written on: 30/12/2001

1. Serial transfer rate is about 35 sec per picture. Get a USB Compact Flash card reader ($30).
<br>2. Pictures are excellent (almost as good as my Olympus D490z 2.2 Mpixel camera) as long as the flash
<br>is not need or used. In the "auto flash" mode the flash starts to fire at f/3.6 @1/15 sec.
<br>Flash implementation is "slow flash", i.e. the digital camera calculates the exposure, say
<br>f/3.6 @ 1/3 second. This will be the exposure time with a flash added on top of it. If the scene is
<br>significantly illuminated without the flash, then
<br>a) the picture will be overexposed (with the higlights blown away) and
<br>b) the camera and the subjects better not move during
<br>the 1/3 second, else there will be blur.
<br>The "slow flash" is actually useful under some conditions and is an option on the Olympus D490z.
<br>Implementation as the default on the DC3200 is probably a design error which Kodak
<br>may fix in the firm ware. It makes an otherwise excellent digital camera for the beginner look bad.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“This was my 1st digital camera, and I've now sold it!...”

★★☆☆☆

written by Digi Ian. on 21/11/2001

This was my 1st digital camera, and I've now sold it! For general snapshots of a big area in good light, or with flash at a distance it takes OK shots. But taking pictures of anything specific that's smaller than say, a big dog, is a waste of time. You either end up with a big poor quality image or a too small to be useful image. You have to hold the camera incredibly still too, otherwise the image is blurry, and with no tripod socket it's tricky. And don't be fooled by the 1 megapixel quality either, to get a half decent piccy even on screen you'll have to shrink the image down in a paint program.
You can buy other digital cameras with this kind of quality for well under a ton now, but my advice would be to save up an extra 50 quid, and buy something better. There are plenty of much better digital cameras out now and they seem to start at about £160.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Will Stein.'s Response to 6123_Digi Ian.'s Review

Written on: 27/12/2001

This Review does not coincide with my belief of this camera. Lets start off by sayin I own the camera I love it very much, I know about computers, and bought it because it takes very good pictures... online. It's basically an online camera, if your looking for a camera to PRINT pictures, this wont be the one your looking for, but it is awesome for e-mailing pictures for friends. So that clears up that point. Second, the flash takes up a lot of battery, it takes good pictures without it, so I turned mine off. Now about this using MSpaint to change the picture, that isn't true, first of all, yeah you can use paint, but there are much easier and better ways. For one, if you have MSimaging, you may use that, or any other picture software, but you do not need to buy any expensive thing. You can download them off the internet in minutes. (download.com) Paint is ont of the worst programs to edit pictures, it wasnt even made for that. Next, it is true, that if you dont use a tripod, then it will come out blurry. Even still this is a remarkable camera. If your reading this before 12/31/01, then go to circuit city... LISTEN UP, this camera retail is $129.99, but it by the new year and you get a $70.00 rebate. which means you only paid $69.95. well anyway, i better be off, but i strongly disagreed with the above comment, and want to say that this camera is good, and that half the things that the last poster said, were false, do to exxageration, or misunderstanding of software.
<br>thank you,
<br>-will stein

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 2

“Very pleased with my Kodak DC3200, excellent for a...”

★★★★★

written by D Mearns. on 19/11/2001

Very pleased with my Kodak DC3200, excellent for a starter to digital cameras.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Cheap and chearful digital camera that takes really...”

★★★★☆

written by Darryl. on 10/10/2001

Cheap and chearful digital camera that takes really good pictures and is simple to use. The camera is light and the rear LCD display is a very useful feature. Unfortunatly, the camera is ugly and bulky. It also has no tripod mount, red-eye or time delayed picture taking. The internal memory is pretty slow and it takes a while between shots, though if you stick a compact flash card into the camera the performance greatly improves. You migh want to invest in some rechargable batteries also as the camera drains batteries very quickly. The flash is also a bit bright. As Kodak say, its a good first digital camera.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“When I saw it in the shops, the DC3200 didn't appeal...”

★★★★★

written by Alastair. on 22/04/2001

When I saw it in the shops, the DC3200 didn't appeal to me because it looks quite large and ugly. Appearance aside, it is a great camera for a great price. It feels solid and outdoor photos always come out crisp and clean, except in extreme lighting conditions. Unfortunately, the flash only works in a range of about 1.5 - 3.5 metres from the subject. Any less and it's ineffective; any more and the washout destroys your photo. Fortunately, the flash is usually unnecessary anyway because the DC3200 is more than capable of taking a good photo under weak artificial lighting and the white balance feature offsets any yellowish mask.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

3027_Jackie.'s Response to 1788_Alastair.'s Review

Written on: 20/07/2001

Agree with all points. Good camera for the price and great for first digital camera.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 7 0

“Excellent camera for the money. They scrapped the all...”

★★★★★

written by Kaso. on 28/03/2001

Excellent camera for the money. They scrapped the all accessories to lower the price. Even lens lid is missing, you need to buy it separately. It costs them probably 2 pennies, which is annoying.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 1

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview