The Eye Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.5 / 5
100% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business

Summary

Director Danny Pang, Oxide Pang Starring: Anjelica Lee, Lawrence Chou
Manufacturer: Tartan Video
Features:
  • PAL
  • Subtitled
  • Widescreen
  • ? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
    The Eye - Ask a question now

    Media Gallery for The Eye

    The Eye
    The Eye
    The Eye
    The Eye

    Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★☆

    “This movie was gold”

    Written on: 28/04/2021 by AaravMalta (4 reviews written)

    I am a great fan of Jessica Alba. This movie was gold, totally amazing. One or the best, I’ve watched this year. Totally interesting and mysterious with that hint of horror.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “I think Jessica Alba is an extraordinarily talented...”

    Written on: 19/02/2021 by Dominguez136 (1 review written)

    I think Jessica Alba is an extraordinarily talented actress. This movie to be great.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Creepy!”

    Written on: 12/02/2015 by Aakashshahnepal (6 reviews written)

    Was a pretty creepy film to me, but my wife loved it and i thought it was excellent too! Definitely lives upto its horror category! haha. I would recommend it to my family but they would probably have a heart attack or something!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Scary as ****”

    Written on: 05/09/2014 by benjamingil (10 reviews written)

    Give this movie an Oscar. It scares all the **** out of me. I liked. Interesting, catchy, and scary. This characteristics make this ovie absolutelly excellent for a horror movie night

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “I want to say that I am writting here it again ok? any...”

    Written on: 18/06/2010 by telecinese (2 reviews written)

    I want to say that I am writting here it again ok? any doubt ask me... I am adding more details.

    In the Asia there are a lot of countries that makes a very good horror movies... so the americans found out it and they think they are a production-quality of horror movies, many exploring the theme of mastery with ghosts disturbed, which is very cool this idea, they started a fashion for these re-filmings Oriental movies for success. "The ring", "The gruge" and "Shutter" are just some examples.

    Now came the turn of the Chinese "The Eye - The Inheritance" (Gin Gwai / The Eye, 2002) won the American version, "The Eye of Evil" (The Eye, 2008), directed by David Moreau (nice director) and Xavier French Paludo , the astonishing star Jessica Alba ( I love this actress because she is very good and made very great movies...), which debuted in theaters in Brazil 14/03/08.

    Now I am goign to tell you a little about the movie:

    This movie was great and scared me a lot and, imagien how scared to go alone upstairs which was not funny then but is now. Sydney, who likes to play violin is a young girl that has lost her vision in infancy, and now with the super medicine power she has the nice and amazing chance to come back to see after a miraculous transplant of cornea (that would make happy everybody who is blind).

    While this Sidney (Jessica Alba) tries to adapt to a new and good world of forms, colors, kindness, or not, she is haunted by scaries visions of future deaths beyond ghosts and frightful appearances(who wouldn't be scared with those things appearing all the time?), moving her away of the world of the alives. With all these things happening Sydney has the obligation to search for information about the old owner of that mysterious corneas, beyond an explanation on her forecasts. Now, what is going to happen with Sydney? At the same time of the film being frightful, it also is emotive.

    About the special effects you really can't make bad comments about them because it's really superb, it was all well plotted out very nice, and they were exactly how they should be. The act of her is great and the others actors are good too. I just didn't like the guy who helps Sydney.
    In the movie Sydney is confused about all of those things as when she looks in the mirror, this scene is good because she looked a photo and she thought: "but, that's not me!" and she goes to the mirror and she sees anotehr person...she is not sure if she is really looking at herself.

    The problems begin when the protagonist realizes that she can see things that other people do not see. It is more or less the same idea of "I-see-dead-people", worked successfully in the movie "The Sixth Sense" which was good too. Even without understanding the new world of images, to Sydney with the help of doctor Paul Faulkner (Alessandro Nivola of "Jurassic Park 3"). In an attempt to create a climate with more scares and suspense, the story becomes predictable to show excerpts of the most important part of the plot from the start.

    The ruins feature which should be more impressive and the mystery regarding the identity of the donor cornea is weakened. Surprisingly the film did not enjoy the curves of Jessica Alba (as in "Diving Radical", showing the beauty of swimming all possible angles). Only one scene in the bath is the idea of the body of the actress, which is a surprise, since Jessica Alba is considered fri symbol. She is also good in "honey" movie, because she dances a lto and the story of the film is incredible. Just read my reveiw about it, and you can also buy the DVD.

    In the cast of the film is also Parker Posey (of "Superman Returns") and Rachel Ticotin (the second season of "Lost"). If you like these kinds of movie like: "the eye", you will enjoy the ghosts of it.. the final is surprisingly. Watch it with your family or friends on a friday night..

    Jessica Alba ... Sydney Wells
    Alessandro Nivola ... Dr. Paul Faulkner
    Rade Serbedzija ... Simon McCullough
    Esodi Geiger ... Nurse (as Esodie Geiger)
    Karen Austin ... Mrs. Hillman
    Kevin K. ... Tomi Cheung
    Obba Babatund ... Dr. Haskins
    Parker Posey ... Helen Wells
    Danny Mora ... Miguel
    Chloe Moretz ... Alicia (as Chlo Grace Moretz)
    Rachel Ticotin ... Rosa Martinez
    Brett A. Haworth ... Shadowman
    Fernanda Romero ... Ana Christina Martinez
    Tamlyn Tomita ... Mrs. Cheung
    Ryan J. Pezdirc ... Nurse Room Attendant

    enjoy

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Dear God, this film deserves to be in the top 5 hall...”

    Written on: 03/10/2003 by dannyb (2 reviews written)

    Dear God, this film deserves to be in the top 5 hall of fame. No slashing just pure and utter sheer terror in chinese. The subtitles mixed with a good plot take you to the edge and leave you a nervous wreck! Beware of The Eye!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Abbas14's Response to dannyb's Review

    Written on: 04/01/2004

    good review, 'cept the eye is rated 15 instead of 18

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    overview