Goodnight Mister Tom Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
77% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Director Jack Gold Starring: John Thaw, Nick Robinson
Features:
  • PAL
  • Widescreen
    Theatrical-Release: 30 May, 1999
  • ? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
    Goodnight Mister Tom - Ask a question now

    Media Gallery for Goodnight Mister Tom

    Goodnight Mister Tom
    Goodnight Mister Tom
    Goodnight Mister Tom
    Goodnight Mister Tom

    Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “hahaha123”

    Written on: 08/12/2017 by Jordynz479 (1 review written)

    it is A VERY GOOD FILM AND I RECOMEND WATCHING THIS . THANKS HAHAHA123 (:::::;

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “Goodnight Mr Tom: Actually Good”

    Written on: 02/07/2016 by LaparyDuck (1 review written)

    When the movie was chosen, I thought it was going to be really boring and that I would fall asleep. But when I started watching it, I didn't want to miss a single bit. I actually enjoyed it and would recommend it to everyone. Even though I haven't finished watching the whole movie, my favourite bit was when Mr Tom shouted out "I kidnapped ya!" It was really funny how William asked where he is and then Mr Tom just casually shouted that he kidnapped him. Although the downside is William's mother who I refer to as the villain. It was really sad when Mr Tom went into Wiliiam's house and saw that William was tied up with his sister in his hand. He got really sad when he found out that Trudy(his sister was actually dead). I'm glad that miss chose this film for us to watch and finally I would like to sa that it is a really heartwarming film. Therfore, I truly recommend it!!!:)

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 2 1
    ★★★★☆

    “Great but they could make it better if ”

    Written on: 16/01/2016 by TaliaReese (1 review written)

    This film is about a man and child's relation ship and they greatly showed it the only problem is that Nick Robinson (William beech) had quite poor acting and his facial and body language was horrific to be fair to nick he was only little and I am well aware that they did not have a lot of time to make the film itself but I think if they made the film again I feel like it would be even better it is just a little disappointing that they didn't spend longer on it . Generally the film was a delight and I enjoyed the film . I think the best bits were he bits when you can clearly tell that Nick actually had some good facial language but the worst bits were probably the bits were they did not have enough time to work on it much . But overall. I think this a great film to watch and I recomend to those of you that want a emotional film to watch

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★☆☆☆

    “You're Better Off with the Book ”

    Written on: 12/02/2013

    Good Points John Thaw plays a good Tom Oakley. Bad Points The children's acting is, to be blunt, about as convincing as Flash Gordon (probably why the film focused on Tom and William's relationship). To be fair most children are OK, but Nick Robinson (played William Beech), who just so happened to be the one we see most of, had facial expressions and voice acting which were often amusing because they were so bad. Why they chose him is beyond me. Significant portions of the book were skipped and the whole thing was really condensed and accelerated, and major characters were put on the side line. To be fair, it was a TV film and produced in a short time, so they couldn't put to much in lest the already poor and attention deficient film gets worse. Overall An alright film if you haven't read the book, but a story of this kind needs to be slower. If you've read the book this will tarnish your memories of it.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Hahaha123's Comment

    Written on: 06/12/2017

    hahaha this is sooo helpful NOT xD ..... JOKES

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 2
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “Fantastic Mister Tom!”

    Written on: 02/06/2011 by Taylott (173 reviews written)

    This is a striking, moving, thought provoking film. It's good family entertainment and at the same time makes you think very hard about the issues involved. John Thaw's performance is touching and it is a shame he is no longer with us. Some of the characters are a little underdeveloped, but none of them are essential to the plot. A very moving story with a satisfying ending.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★☆☆☆☆

    “Goodnight Mr Tom Film Review ”

    Written on: 24/11/2010

    Goodnight Mr Tom Film Review
    The film goodnight Mr. Tom is based around the evacuation of World War Two. In the film, a young, meek boy of 9 years old called William Beach gets evacuated from London, to the countryside. He gets partnered with a cantankerous elderly widower named Tom Oakley. The two characters naturally avoid each other, but soon develop warm affectionate feelings towards one another when Tom realizes Williams' background. It's an amalgam of adventure, and sadness which combines to create a preposterous moving image for the 9-10 year old audience which may have to watch it for educational purposes at school. Not only is the story terrible because of the sadness but the dismal music is bad as well. This ridiculous sub story of the Second World War creates an awful, cheerless fail of a film, depressing all right minded human beings.
    In terms of actors in the film, most are poorly played, however Tom Oakley, played by John Thaw is probably the best of the worst. The worst being William Beech, played by Nick Robinson. The emotion that he conveys is truly pathetic and hard to interpret.
    Aside from these pathetic features the plot is fairly good. Seeing as it's based on the War, a vast and common topic which lots of people like to watch, and enjoy. However, overall the film is horrendous mainly because of the sadness and depression.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 2
    ★★★★★

    “I think goodnight mister Tom is a lovely book and film...”

    Written on: 29/10/2010

    I think goodnight mister Tom is a lovely book and film i just wish they put more of Zack in the film.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “Goodnight Mr Tom ”

    Written on: 26/04/2010

    Goodnight Mr Tom

    Goodnight Mr Tom is an emotional rollercoaster that tells the tale of an abused boy, William, being evacuated to the countryside when World War two breaks out. Mr Oakley is assigned William but is this a suitable match? Mr Oakley, aka Mr Tom, soon realises that William hasn't been to school and can't read, right and is scared of...
    William meets another boy called Zach, one of the evacuees from London as well, they are best friends but when Zach goes back to London William has some upsetting news. William is sent back to London to see his apparently 'unwell' mother gets some rather surprising news.
    The filming and camerawork is of a suitable standard for a film that was made in that period of time, I think this because the scenes aren't too busy as it always studies on the person that is talking. The lighting is good because sometimes you find with older films you find they are very dark and fuzzy. The pacing is at a good speed but it doesn't have the wow factor which it should have, the producer should have thought considerably more about putting across tragedies in a way that grabs you. He could have done this by making them go slower and the pleasant happenings more enthusiastic instead of slow and miserable. All you need for these technical points to come through is a more experienced and knowledgeable director a well thought out script which means it wouldn't be too complex or too simple, this would mean that mature children and adults could enjoy the movie even more.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    Cassiegreves's Comment

    Written on: 07/06/2010

    I found this review very helpful because... It help me understand how to write a review also i found it very interesting because it different give a way to much of the film/book and i abosoulutely loved the film and reading the book it just shows you how much life has changed thankyou very much for helping me understand this review also help me with my history homewok so many thanks , cassie greves

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “really gd and moving Iwould reccomend this film to my...”

    Written on: 24/04/2010

    really gd and moving Iwould reccomend this film to my friends because they would find it really moving.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “My thoughts on the film are very good because i...”

    Written on: 22/02/2010

    My thoughts on the film are very good because i thought it was very emonatal when he saw all the scars on his back

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “i think the movie is good i saw it in school we were...”

    Written on: 21/10/2009

    i think the movie is good i saw it in school we were doin filmin study exept 3rd class were watchin it too

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “Goodnight, Mr Tom is a heart-warming tale of an...”

    Written on: 18/09/2009

    Goodnight, Mr Tom is a heart-warming tale of an evacuee, sent into the country from London, during the Second World War. The evacuee, William Beech, is a young boy who has been separated from his abusive mother, to live out the war in the country. He is "assigned" to Old Mr Tom Oakley, a hardened widower who lost his young wife and small son many years ago.

    Mr Tom struggles to reach out to poor Willie, eventually realising that he is just a scared, lonely and abused little boy, who has never been taught to read and write. Together they journey through the tale, discovering hidden talents of Willie's, accepting past memories and seeking out new friends. Alongside Mr Tom is Zach, another very important character of Good Night, Mr Tom. Another evacuee from London, Zach is a lively, optimistic and upbeat child. His parents are actors in a London theatre, resulting in Zach being a very cultured child.

    Zach and Willie become firm friends, after helping Mr Tom to build a Bomb Shelter in his back yard. Although Willie is stunned at first, due to Zach's generous nature and easy offering of friendship, they soon help each other to adjust to life, despite the obvious differences in their backgrounds and upbringing.

    Along the journey Willie travels in Goodnight Mr Tom, he also has to see is best friend Zach being called back to London, after his parents are injured in a bombing attack. His positive outlook on life assures Willie that everything is going to be okay, and he'll be back before you know it. Unfortunately this is not to be. Within a few days Willie is stunned by some dreadful news, which affects the local residents of the country village and leaves his distraught.

    Soon after, young Willie is also called back to London. His mother is unwell and asks him to come and look after her. As his experiences have helped him grow up, and become a stronger person, Willie believes his mother has changed so goes back to London to see her, leaving Mr Tom with a gaping absence and unease around him.


    this book has touched my heart and i hope it touches all you hearts as you fall head over heels for what all the characters had to go through.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    W46U's Comment

    Written on: 25/03/2010

    I was stuck doing my homework!

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “The film, Goodnight Mister Tom, was heartwarming and...”

    Written on: 08/05/2009

    The film, Goodnight Mister Tom, was heartwarming and lovable

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★☆☆

    “I have read Goodnight Mister Tom twice for school, and...”

    Written on: 07/04/2009

    I have read Goodnight Mister Tom twice for school, and it is full of touching emotions about the change of two peoples lives. It goes into great detail about the live of a WW2 evacuee, and a likely story at that. Not much more can be said, apart from the fact it is an awesome book, and a must read for al ages. Parents, read it to your toddlers, and keep a copy for when they start reading!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★☆

    “We watched and reviewed this as a class of Year nine....”

    Written on: 16/01/2009

    We watched and reviewed this as a class of Year nine. It is like a roller-coaster of different emotions. We feel it is realistic and believable. We like it because it has a good story-line. Perhaps the certificate should be higher, 12, because of the abuse.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “Goodnight Mister Tom is brilliant and educational....”

    Written on: 16/12/2008

    Goodnight Mister Tom is brilliant and educational. Brilliant, i could watch it over and over.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “I thought it was very good. I thought it was good...”

    Written on: 02/12/2008

    I thought it was very good. I thought it was good because I am doin about the ww2 in school - park primary school - and it told me loads of points about what happaned in the ww2 and it is a good story I think!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “I really liked when Will is evaquated from London to...”

    Written on: 24/10/2008

    I really liked when Will is evaquated from London to live with Mister Tom, Will really showed his feelings. Tom really cared about Will to kidnap him from the hospital and make him live with him. No bad points to it but could be sad at times. I really like this story it is now my favourite film i've seen and i want to read the book.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “I like where he was safe from all of the fires and...”

    Written on: 07/10/2008

    I like where he was safe from all of the fires and also getting a great home and a great dad. It was the most fantastic film i have seen ever

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    ★★★★★

    “Goonight Mister Tom gives an insight about living...”

    Written on: 19/09/2008

    Goonight Mister Tom gives an insight about living during the time of World War 2. Watch it, it's really good.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    overview