Sony STR-DB930 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.8 / 5
95% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Sound Quality

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Sony STR-DB930 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Sony STR-DB930

Sony STR-DB930
Sony STR-DB930
Sony STR-DB930
Sony STR-DB930
Sony STR-DB930

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“The Sony STR is really amazing and has a good sound...”

Written on: 23/11/2022 by Rama12 (1 review written)

The Sony STR is really amazing and has a good sound quality.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Amazing AV amp!!! ”

Written on: 02/02/2022 by Ardbrands (1 review written)

I got this Sony Amp on eBay BHF site at a great price complete with remote in great condition in 2020 and am using it as a straight stereo amp only and what a sound! Plenty of power it easily compares to some of the way dearer Sony ES stuff and like the Sony TA-FB 930 straight amp that has an ES toroidal transformer I’m sure this one has similar high end components, I’ve tried several set ups including denon and Marantz kit but keep this in place in the TV cabinet as it’s so convenient with the cool remote and awesome sound hooked up to my monitor audio’s I feel no need to replace it, if you find one at a decent price in good nock don’t hesitate it’s an absolute gem and the built in FM tuner/ receiver is outstanding in quality too fitted with a decent aerial!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The best amplifier ever made?”

Written on: 28/10/2021 by Punk_Floyd (1 review written)

When I first bought this in 1996! I never would have imagined that I would be writing a review in 2021. The unit is still in perfect condition, nothing has ever gone wrong with it and it still outplays everything else I have thrown at it. Some years ago I gave it away as a thanks for helping me move. I missed it badly, so I recently contacted my buddy and asked if I could have it back. :P The downside today is that it has no HDMI, but also for that reason it now has a place in my HiFi setup, not the usual TV room. And here it shines! If Sony (or anyone else) could produce a product of this quality (under €3000) they would have a giant hit! The looks are still modern and fresh this many years later (I have in black, I believe they also came in champagne) Champagne is what this totally awesome amplifier compares to. State of the art! I love my Sony! <3

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ardbrands's Response to Punk_Floyd's Review

Written on: 01/02/2022

Totally agree!!! Got mine from British heart foundation at a very good price, I’ve used loads of straight amps ranging from denon and Marantz so for an AV amp I wasn’t expecting much but keep being blown away by the straight stereo sound! I have some monitor audio speakers hooked up to it, I let my ears do the judging and not most salesmen who swear system matching and straight amps are key which is very true but this little gem is an exception!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rama12's Response to Punk_Floyd's Review

Written on: 23/11/2022

Everybody knows about Sony it's a brand. The products of sony are quality maintained, this Sony Sony STR- DB930 is also an amazing product, which has powerful and amazing sound quality.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Was just surfing the web to look for a possible...”

Written on: 28/02/2011

Was just surfing the web to look for a possible replacement for my 12 year old STR DB930 and came across this site.

I just bought new speakers (B&W M1 surround setup + Rel sub) and am thinking of replacing my receiver by a Denon, but reading all the reviews I start to doubt as it still works very well and I have no signs yet that it will let me down within short.

My reason for replacing it is the lack of a HDMI connection but I think I will keep on going with spaghetti towards my TV as I am to attached to my silver friend.

If you are able to get this receiver second hand do not doubt but buy it and it will surprise you with its sound (both stereo as surround)

Greetz from Holland

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chriswinter's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2013

I have used this and its great product

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Recently had to replace this excellent Amp. after 10...”

Written on: 20/02/2011 by mrwarby (1 review written)

Recently had to replace this excellent Amp. after 10 good years because the centre channel went missing. Tried the Sony STRDN 1010 (8.6kg) but there was no comparison, very flimsy sound. That ended in the bedroom because it sounded too empty and had not the power to drive the KEF 4 Ohm speakers. Tried the Denon AVR2311 (10.1kg) but still prefer the sound of the STR-DB930 (13kg), especially for Nicam sound from my Humax PVR, I would just set it to Auto Decode and job done, great for music. With the Denon I am constantly fiddling to get the setup. Forget the Audyssey and 6 HDMI inputs, just get my old 930 fixed and use optical connectors again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“I just bought a,YAMAHA ADVANTAGE RX-800 new for 2011,I...”

Written on: 12/01/2011

I just bought a,YAMAHA ADVANTAGE RX-800 new for 2011,I do not like it! Its going back.My old sony D B 930 ive had for 10 years still sounds better,mainly in music. Movie's do sound a little better with the yamaha,not by much though.I wanted a new system with HDMI and new features its not worth it.Ill keep my 930 until it go`s good luck hope this helps

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I read about this receiver in a sound magazine over 10...”

Written on: 16/11/2010

I read about this receiver in a sound magazine over 10 years ago. As soon as I saw that it had won the award from the same magazine for receiver of the year I purchased it. It has been over 10 years now and this sounds as good today as the day I bought it. The remote is still probably worth 2 or 300 dollars. The sound fields are great and the functions that come with it are alos great. This thing can be tweaked to opearate optimally in any emvironment. Any speaker you throw at this it will make nice with. Any genre of music is reproduced with outstanding clarity. Playing a movie track with this thing is awaesome. When you select Cinema B to watch a movie, turn your sub down!!!! Overall a great receiver and still worth as much today as it was 10 years ago!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Like many of the owners on here, I recently found my...”

Written on: 16/07/2010

Like many of the owners on here, I recently found my original purchace reciept dated 2000! I couldn't believe I have had it so long.

Still a greal bit of kit. Has proved to be supprisingly well future proofed - the 5.1 and many optical inputs helping hugely.

Still looks good, sounds great - rock solid piece of kit.

Upgrading to something new is very hard to justify as this Sony does everything so well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I agree with most..this Sony STR reciever is just...”

Written on: 29/06/2010

I agree with most..this Sony STR reciever is just phenomenal including a two way remote which in its self is a cool piece of kit with and lcd screen which displays the radio station etc. With the reciever i use 2 pairs of scott 500W floor standing speakers..and you would have to be brave to turn it up past 3! The power of this thing is immense. I used to think both my Kenwood Krf and Pioneer recievers were good, but compared to this there not. Has more than enough connections including optical,paired with a good amount of functions which you can rename, i.e TV,PS3,Blu Ray etc, so many different Sound field modes too to enhance vitual surround etc, and the bass boost! i dont even use it! Also can switch to A speakers for Stereo music then Switch to A + B for surround as well, simply if you can get hold of one from ebay or somewhere get one, you will not be dissapointed, anyone who says there not very good owns a faulty one! Because music is my life its perfect,i am amazed with the quality of this piece of hardware!

Adam

Shropshire

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Have owned this from new for over 10 years has never...”

Written on: 30/05/2010

Have owned this from new for over 10 years has never let me down
the power and performance are outstanding.
The remote takes some getting used to but thats a minor thing

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent piece of kit! A must have! I have had this...”

Written on: 14/03/2010

Excellent piece of kit! A must have! I have had this system for over 10 years and nothing has gone wrong so far (Touch wood)! It has been the best, the decoding is brillant for DD and DTS. I think it is even better than the decoders out there now! I think it is brillant for watching movies and listening to music. I have never had any problems and I am a very happy customer. I love the look and I would just like to say Well done to sonys best ever creation. A must have!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“After 10 years of faultless service, the volume...”

Written on: 23/01/2010

After 10 years of faultless service, the volume control broke... A small aluminium casting - £61 for replacement! But this receiver is fantastic. Even after 10 years of service I will hopefully keep using it for another 10 years!
The sound quality is second to none, the menus are easy to navigate and the remote control is sooooo user friendly.
A smart piece of kit. 'Spesh after 10 years! And yes, I will replace the volume control!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I had this since when it came out in 1996 its still...”

Written on: 30/12/2009

I had this since when it came out in 1996 its still going strong very good sound.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/06/2012

I bought this for my 50th birth day present in 2000. Just fantastic in every way. Just had a demonstration on Onkyo £1000+ AV Receiver, but my STR still beats it hands down. Heres hoping to another 10 years when I will be 72!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“ The Sony STR-DB930 is superb. Had it for 10 years...”

Written on: 12/09/2009

The Sony STR-DB930 is superb. Had it for 10 years now and have not managed to find anything comparable for the same money. Remote is easy to use just read the manual and it's easy tok 20 minutes to set up. Plenty of inputs of all flavours

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I bought this Sony STR-DB930 receiver when it first...”

Written on: 11/09/2009

I bought this Sony STR-DB930 receiver when it first came out, and I can honestly say that it has the best sound of any unit I had used to date. The remote, in common with many Sony products, takes some getting used to, in that it is not intuitive to operate, but can be mastered in due course. I used this unit as part of a demo setup at my A\V store, and it blew prospective customers away. Before buying, I read the full test in a British A\V magazine, and I can only confirm their results in every category. As in everything else ,I read everything I can get on a particular unit, and so far have not been dissapointed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have used many receivers in the past 4 years, both...”

Written on: 18/01/2009 by davidcrom (1 review written)

I have used many receivers in the past 4 years, both at the studio and in my home and I have to say this Sony STR-DB930 is one of the best for receivers under £500 for quality of sound, power, ease of use and sheer ease of use. It is set up quickly and is very comprehensive. It compares to a Yamaha amp I had 2 years ago, costing twice as much.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I bought a unit last summer, and both it and its...”

Written on: 20/02/2001 by Mark. (1 review written)

I bought a unit last summer, and both it and its replacement (same model) had noticeable hiss in the DSP mode at moderate volumes and even with a digital source. When I used the 5.1 input directly (and had my DVD player do the decoding), it was quiet: therefore, my setup, TV, wiring etc, DVD player, power supply is NOT introducing this noise. There is probably something wrong the DSP chip or shielding.
That said, hiss is only noticeable in quiet program sections, and clearly not everybody is sensitive to it, judging by the number of people who claim their particular unit is hiss free. I actually wrote one of these people (who was rather virulent about his unit being dead quiet), told him how to set up the test/what to listen for, and he too admitted there was a hiss. Again, if it doesn't bother you, then great, you've got a full featured unit for a good price, but if a slight hiss does bother you, than you may want to choose something else.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“Excellent clarity, throughout the entire volume scale....”

Written on: 24/10/2000 by james joot. (1 review written)

Excellent clarity, throughout the entire volume scale. Good bass presence without dominating the speech. High power handling and impeccable build quality.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★★★★★

“This receiver has a lot of power for the money. Full...”

Written on: 02/03/2000 by Troy Simpson. (1 review written)

This receiver has a lot of power for the money. Full DD and DTS decoding, too many listening fields, 2 way LCD remote, and more than enough inputs. The remote is for some people hard to get used to, but is quite comprehensive with its features. The receiver is well presented, and I can't think of much other than a raw input selecter, that the amp is lacking.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview