Yamaha YZF-R1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
88% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Build quality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Yamaha YZF-R1 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Yamaha YZF-R1

Yamaha YZF-R1
Yamaha YZF-R1

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Really a Beast..”

Written on: 18/05/2018 by Jonh262 (1 review written)

The look of this bike is so damn sexy..the sound,pickup everything is just perfect.the engine so powerful.the look is more sexier after ducati or you can say they are much equal.just love to ride.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The R1 is an incredible Machine!”

Written on: 17/07/2013 by angelmeet (5 reviews written)

I only had my R1 for 2 weeks now, but I am in love with it. Being a smaller framed female, this bike's size was great for me. I tried the Honda CBR1000 and the Suzuki GSXR1000, but I wasnt comfortable on it. The engine is incredible and has awesome power! If you can handle the power, this sexy bike is a wicked bike!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This machine is deceitful”

Written on: 21/12/2012 by GreatReviewsOnly (1 review written)

This machine is deceitful in a good way. On paper it's no match for it's japanese rivals becuse horsepower is not on par with the latest zx10-r and others in it's class. Surely u would need long enough roads to be able to get the use out of that top in horsepower it's rivals have, but let me tell you being a proud owner of the 2012 model R1 it's power from the crossplane is immediate and doesn't have to build up the rpms to get the top end horsepower of it's rivals and that my friend is why 3yrs in a row it's been the AMA 1st place champions. the power is smooth along with the torque and can have you holding on tight while praying at the same time all the while infascinated with it's speed all in one. this is no BS i've been at stop lights with it's latest japanese rivals including the zx10-r and left them soon as the light turned green looking in my mirrors trying to see if they even got out of first gear yet. I also had the 2011 zx10-r which b4 getting stolen was a great bike but found out i couldn't ride it without being sore and once the insurance paid the bike off i ended up owing 300 hundred dollars so kawa doesn't even hold value so for them reason alone i went with the R1 which quality is top notch ,so long story short they have been champions 3 yrs for a reson buy one you'll see.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant!”

Written on: 14/08/2012

This bike is amazing. The big bang engine is sooo smooth with its power delivery. Great build quality. Its not uncomfortable, i went over to Germany and Assen over a weekend doing over 600 miles a day and its not that much worst than on my previous sports tourers. If i have one small gripe its that its a little fuel hungry when the revs are cranked up, but thats OK, the smiles make up for the extra few quid. when touring at a steady 80-85ish i got over 140 miles on a tank, which isnt bad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A great bike very quick. 170 MPH and plenty left, my...”

Written on: 30/01/2010

A great bike very quick. 170 MPH and plenty left, my bottle went. Never had to spend a penny on it bar cosumables. This is the first bike I havn't ridden to it's max.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The 09 R1 is an exceptional machine. The technology in...”

Written on: 20/10/2009

The 09 R1 is an exceptional machine. The technology in this thing is amazing. With 3 driving modes that actually work, makes this bike ideal for track or roads. The seat is firm but comfortable for rides up to 100 miles. The balance and handling are exceptional. At 5'10" this bike fits me perfectly. Discipline is really needed with this bike. If you can't keep off the throttle don't get it. A couple of tickets will make buying insurance miserable. I have only one ticket, 50 years old and I still pay $147 a month. The 09R1 is absolutely the best sport bike you can get! However I would like a slightly larger gas tank. (The R1 has a 4.8 Gallon tank) If you can get this bike, you will not be dissapointed! I have no buyers remorse what so ever!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This Yamaha YZF-R1 is the best bike on the street!...”

Written on: 21/07/2009

This Yamaha YZF-R1 is the best bike on the street! lots of power, great look, handels well.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“wow the top end on the yamaha yzf-r1 was great for...”

Written on: 28/05/2009 by azR1 (1 review written)

wow the top end on the yamaha yzf-r1 was great for power band I would only make it a little more tourqe more hp is all more mid range have pulling hard

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The new Yamaha R1 2009... I just had a day on it, it...”

Written on: 14/05/2009 by davygravy (7 reviews written)

The new Yamaha R1 2009... I just had a day on it, it is a great bike, a little bit cramped for my 6 ft 17 stone (250 pounds) it takes a while to adjust to riding it as it feels like a ducati with torque low down. The looks are not quite as gorgeous as previous models and the burgundy frame is really not to my own taste but the handling is exceptional and at least while you are on it, enjoying it.... you don't have to look at it. I did try the new fireblade the day before and the engine on that thing should be outlawed now!!! the Yam cannot compete in the power or drag racing from the lights or even the top gear roll ons but.... when it comes to the fast twisty bits the R1 will win.... As good as the almighty benchmark GSXR 1000 k5 k6.... No but as close as any manufacturer will get in these days of emmission controlled power sapping environmental friendly days.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Yamaha YZF-R1 is a quality bike. If you havent...”

Written on: 06/05/2009

The Yamaha YZF-R1 is a quality bike. If you havent been riding that long and are deciding r6 or r1, go for the r1 you wont be dissapointed!! Like some of these reviews say, its easy to ride below 7k revs, but above this the bike comes alive and will scare you!! Keeps me smiling every time I ride it!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I've also just had engine problems with my 08, it...”

Written on: 05/05/2009 by Breakdown (6 reviews written)

I've also just had engine problems with my 08, it started at just over 5k mile, long story short it turned out to be a valve guide!! i'm shocked really and didn't expect that from what i thought was a bulletproof motor, i've also picked up on a couple of threads on R1 forums elsewhere...worrying indeed.. Yamaha YZF-R1 still is an awesome bike though...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“I purchased a 2008 Yamaha R1 in August of 2008 from a...”

Written on: 22/03/2009 by andrewweek (1 review written)

I purchased a 2008 Yamaha R1 in August of 2008 from a reputable dealer in Oregon. I was on an 18-day R&R leave from Iraq at the time. I put about 400 miles on it, trying to get the motor broken in as carefully as possible before I had to go back to Iraq. I returned from Iraq in November of 2008 and moved to Ft. Campbell Kentucky around the first of January 2009. During the warmer days in Kentucky, I managed another 250 miles before my problems started. The bike lost power. I immediately pulled off the road, after which the bike died. I took the bike to a dealer in Kentucky who reported that ' Yamaha never covers the clutch, since it is a wear item. '

With seven years background as a Honda mechanic, I understand ' wear items, ' therefore I understood that at 650 miles, that explanation made no sense whatsoever. After arguing with Yamaha Corporation USA for a few days, they finally agreed to "good will" the clutch parts but I pay for labor. I felt that this was unsatisfactory, but agreed to this solution in order to expedite a reasonable resolution.

The Kentucky Yamaha dealer installed the clutch and called me a few days later to inform me that
it now had major engine noise and needed a motor rebuild, since, during the clutch malfunction, it had managed to distribute clutch particles throughout the engine. The clutch fibers had come apart and
the clutch plates in turn melted together, sending metal and friction material throughout the engine and transmission.

After eventually tracking down the responsible Yamaha warranty management, (no small feat, as they hide behind a convoluted automated voicemail and clerical system), they denied any responsibility for the matter. They suggested that, I am just out of a motorcycle. Their defences changed from time to time, but the rep essentially just kept telling me it ' could have been out of adjustment ' which he saw as my fault. (He could offer no explanation except to point fingers at either me or the original dealership as to why new bike would be ' out of adjustment, ' ) but in the end it ' s my fault and I needed to prove that it was a part malfunction. He stated that Yamaha was doing me a favor by paying for the clutch parts.

I paid 12,000 hard-earned dollars, missing my wife ' s and daughter ' s birthdays and family holidays while defending my country. All I wanted was a new motorcycle, under warranty, to get me through a year before my next deployment. I will now miss half of that riding season and have to spend more of my year of family time having to either fix the bike
or spend time trying to receive what is my due " the warranty benefits I purchased by buying a NEW bike.

I will post more, either pictures, information, expenses and the legal outcome of this incident, and I ' ll be sure to share all information with anyone who rides motorcycles, or thinks that they can benefit from my unfortunate decision to purchase a Yamaha.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Yamaha YZF-R1 engine is fantastic. I use the r1...”

Written on: 11/02/2009

The Yamaha YZF-R1 engine is fantastic. I use the r1 engine 1992 to race in a sidecar it is a older engine but realy good and faultles because i do punish it if i could afford it i would go new that is one thing i cannot fault it top class engine and a top class bike for r1 ridershow can you fault a thing of full of class and good looking

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dennas's Comment

Written on: 16/11/2012

mine is down on power cant get the thing into the redline, it just stutters from 7000rpms but it goes past 7000 rpms while revving the engine. help pleeeeeaaaassse gyus. thanks denver, south africa

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“This bike has Great looks and handles very well but I...”

Written on: 22/01/2009 by cbarron (1 review written)

This bike has Great looks and handles very well but I have continual reliability problems.
In 1 year :
- 3 instances of engine cut off (random) ,
- horn failed twice,
- wiring loom was being worn by front forks
- roller protector sheared off the bike on the highway (without dropping it naturally).
- Headlight lens split.
- Mirrors need replacing after the backing is letting go.
- EXUP valve failure, looks like its seized,cable top open exhaust system has snapped.
This has really just taken the fun out of riding this otherwise lovely bike, i wonder what will be next to fail on it :(

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cannot fault the 56 plate Yamaha YZF-R1 everything you...”

Written on: 10/01/2009 by colin riddell (1 review written)

Cannot fault the 56 plate Yamaha YZF-R1 everything you ask for. I will buy 2009-10

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Very easy to ride & very comfortable i was quite...”

Written on: 24/12/2008

Very easy to ride & very comfortable i was quite suprised as i expected the riding position to be much more extreme but i found this very comfortable even when riding 2 up, The machine just looks beutiful in every way and has very good build quality anybody thinking about buying a r1 should do it myne is the 2004 model underseat exhaust

A loony machine which wheelies in the first 3 gears without trying once you get above 7-8000 revs everything starts to come towards you really fast a truely awesome machine with a top end speed of 180 mph.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I own a '07 r1 and have to say that it is the perfect...”

Written on: 09/12/2008

I own a '07 r1 and have to say that it is the perfect bike man. Has insane power, awesome handling, and the bike just has a killer look to it. Best bike I've ever owned by far!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I take a lot of interests in Yamaha motorbikes but I '...”

Written on: 27/11/2008 by yamanshah (1 review written)

I take a lot of interests in Yamaha motorbikes but I ' m not satisfied with r1 because whenever I compare this bike to other 1000cc bikes so r1 lose the race always I don ' t know why please improve the engine power as more up to 340km/h minimum. Please and also release Yamaha r11 whose engine is up to 1400cc.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

438672_Madmac72's Response to 420849_yamanshah's Review

Written on: 06/02/2009

Are you mad. I have been on most if not all the supersport 1000's, Its not about how big the engine is or how fast it hits 0-60/0-100. Its all about how fast the bike can cover ground (Country road's). I haven't been out on the new GSXR so i can't say if that is better. But for me the Y2K R1 is the best 1000 to come along so far. The engine still pulls from just under 5000 RPM which means you can still ride fast is slow corners in the rain. I think its sad know that 1000's engines are changing, more like the old two stokes. All the power high in the reve range. If you have a supersport 1000 and you want more power you are missing the point of having and riding one!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Bought my 2008 bike after owning a 2004 R1, both bikes...”

Written on: 08/09/2008 by Breakdown (6 reviews written)

Bought my 2008 bike after owning a 2004 R1, both bikes are awesome machines, but you need to be a good rider to get the most from them, they are easy to ride below 7000 rpm if you've not been riding big bikes for long......but after 7k.....10k...rpm....things get ballistic, so like I said, beware. Spend 40 quid getting the suspension set up, fit some sticky tyres and off you go. Don ' t let anyone tell you ' you can ' t tour on a sports bike" I ' ve been down into France and the R1 was ample in the comfort area. Just go buy one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I am in the process of purchasing a Yamaha R1. I have...”

Written on: 19/07/2008

I am in the process of purchasing a Yamaha R1. I have tested it and to be honest it fits the field perfectly. Ok it could have fine tuning here and there but name me a bike that isn't super that does not have its flaws! this at around £3000 is a steal and you are not going to find much better around for a while! I feel the new Aprilla although it is a little quicker does not match this bike for over all performance and it is a case of simply nurturing and taming this machine over experience, because all in all it does command. An execellent product well done Yamaha!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview