Screwfix Reviews - www.screwfix.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
31% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Screwfix www.screwfix.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Screwfix www.screwfix.co.uk

Screwfix www.screwfix.co.uk
Screwfix www.screwfix.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't communicate or keep the same story”

Written on: 04/09/2021 by Dpennefather (1 review written)

Placed an order: Website says: We've sent a delivery confirmation. After not recieving it for quite some time called their customer service. After talking to their customer service- turns out they didn't send it (despite saying they did) and blocked the order without telling me due to that the billing address and delivery address not the same. Then they hung up. (I really do wonder what would have happened if I trusted the website and not called them.) Called them again _ they said that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“You’re an inconvenience to the staff”

Written on: 10/02/2020 by gavin.stokes (1 review written)

I felt I was an inconvenience to the staff when I was finally served. Then charged twice on my card after I was advised the first payment did not go through. When showed my online statement on my banking app was told that one of the payments ‘probably’ wouldn’t go through which consequently did the next day - sales staff advised there was nothing she could do and that I would have call back to the branch with a bank statement! Called customer service and advised to send an email with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonourable and incompetent”

Written on: 08/02/2020 by lippychan (1 review written)

My opinion based on my customer experience with them is that of incompetence and lack of honour. I purchased an order online to collect at the Croydon branch. A few days later I travelled there to collect. On arrival, the store manager told me they decided a few days ago not to honour my purchase. They did not bother to even inform me earlier by phone, SMS, email, or any other means. Because of their decisions and inaction, I travelled across London for nothing; wasting both time and money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“First time customer - NEVER AGAIN!”

Written on: 06/08/2017 by hoodoogirl (3 reviews written)

I am urging you to avoid this company like the plague. I used them for the very first time yesterday. Went into the store to order tile cutters. I was told to pay and that they would arrive on Sunday (today). I asked them twice if they were arriving today and twice they said yes. The reason I sought this reassurance is that companies often lie about the arrival days of their products to induce you to buy them. This is what ScrewFix did to me. I phoned up and spoke to this horrifically rude man… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Went into Barnstaple to pick up a electric...”

Written on: 01/01/2017 by mrtbush (1 review written)

Went into Barnstaple to pick up a electric chainsaw, he left me standing at counter while he played with his mobile phone he was rude and he need to take a leaf from the excellent management there. I will never recremend his service skills to anyone, he unlike there managers has no idea of a days work im an 80 year old man but even I could physically work him under the table never will I go to him for assistance again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Check delivery address carefully”

Written on: 18/10/2016 by KaileyGlass49 (1 review written)

If you forget to change your delivery address they won't help you. It is "impossible to change or cancel and order once it has been placed" according to the nice lady on the helpline. So if you have ordered £1000 worth of radiators, you have to either " hope the delivery isn't signed for and stolen" or "attempt to intercept your delivery and transport the radiators to your address yourself". That was their actual advice! Terrible and unhelpful system. Wish I had ordered with anyone else… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annoyed65's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2016

Doesnt it ask you to confirm or check the delivery details ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Royeg's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2016

It probably did, hence the title "check delivery address carefully" the point being made is more the fact you cannot change or cancel an order even if you made it 5 minutes ago. If you don't have a van for bulky items to then move them to their correct delivery address you're screwed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Who's the fool? ”

Written on: 21/04/2016 by Everydaypaul (1 review written)

Who's the fool? Screwfix or me? I looked for a particular product and found it on their website. I checked availability and saw that it was available over the counter at every one of their Northern Ireland stores. So I went to the handiest, Lisburn, only to be told that not only did they not have the item but it was not in any of our stores here. She almost gleefully told me it would have to be ordered in from the mainland! So I was the fool for believing their website. But screwfix are the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sleeves's Response to Everydaypaul's Review

Written on: 27/05/2016

I have to agree with you about this company. Today I came across Gorilla Glue which is manufactured in America and is a class A product.
I checked Screwfix for availability and price. £14..99 inc vat. for a 250ml bottle. For piece of mind decided to check EBay. To my surprise EBay companies are selling the exact product and size for £7.79.
I stopped shopping with Screwfix recently after I phoned them to ask if they would do a price comparison. I was in the market for a Evolution Rage 3 Double Bevel Saw. Amazon are asking £240.00_Screwfix want £320.00_I can buy this unit from a reputable company on EBay at the cost of £167.00. Why people shop with this company is beyond me. All they are doing is ripping the public off. I`m not surprised they can sponsor the English Nation Football Team. No more business from me.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DUDLEY SCREWFIX JOBSWORTH'S”

Written on: 30/09/2015 by 439Underwood (1 review written)

Tried to collect an online order from the Dudley branch on Monday forgot pin told by the person I dealt with behind counter nothing they can do. Machine asked for another card so went back today Wednesday with another card for same account and yes i no the pin guess what machine wood not except card told to speak to JOBSWORTH member of staff what a waste of time all for a £1.63 item. After a confrontation with the branch manager  he was no help at all so i asked for a refund and will not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annoyed65's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2015

When you order online you "click" agree to say you understand you will have to have the card you used to do a pin check verification. If however you don't know the pin the other option is for the branch to call the contact centre to have it refunded back on to the card and you can pay with either another card or cash.

Its a security check the system won't allow another card to be used.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“unhelpful and sexist staff”

Written on: 05/06/2015 by pregnant (1 review written)

This is the complaint form i have sent through to screw fix which details my experience! I visited your Macclesfield store on Sunday 24th May wanting some assistance in ensuring the plumbing products i wanted to purchase were the right ones for the job. I took with me all the parts i already had and described what it was i wanted. All i got from your sales assistant was "Do you have a product code?" My answer was no as i was unsure of the technical terms in your calalogue. He then responded… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annoyed65's Response to pregnant's Review

Written on: 19/07/2015

Were the items you had to collect ordered instore or online ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“wrong delivery address ”

Written on: 20/04/2015 by 001review (1 review written)

I made a purchase a few weeks back online, to notice I hadn't updated my delivery address. so I called the call centre straight away to be told that there isn't anything they can do until the first delivery has been attempted (which I don't understand why they couldn't alter the delivery address there and then as it only just happened!!!) the courier company tried to make delivery but nobody was in so it went to the post office. knowing this I called screwfix and they said they will recall the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievably poor it department”

Written on: 09/12/2014 by AlbertoFinch (1 review written)

Have bee n unable to purchase items on line for over a week now.They seem unable or not interested in sorting out my problem. Shall continue to purchase my materials from tool station,they don't seem to suffer these problems. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annoyed65's Comment

Written on: 08/01/2015

so why not use the Freephone number to place your order ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Good Idea Appallingy Executed”

Written on: 08/10/2014 by whizzabout (0 reviews written)

I purchased this tipping garden trolley from Screwfix as I wanted something that could transfer things around and be easier to handle than the traditional wheel barrow. At £99 some may think it is cheap but it is a lot to me. It comes in a flat pack and has to be assembled . Discovering it was made in China made the fact that the pieces are quite difficult to fit together as they are not made very well was no surprise. The biggest surprise for a piece of garden equipment were the mild steel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Duke_Nukem's Response to whizzabout's Review

Written on: 24/03/2016

You'd need to go a long way to find a stainless steel garden trolley, if such a thing is even made. Have you any idea how much stainless steel costs, or how difficult it is to manufacture items from it?

I have a mild steel builder's wheelbarrow that has been outdoors for the last 20 years and still going strong. It isn't an ornament though and I repainted it with bitumastic once.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Missed another job!!!”

Written on: 15/06/2014 by zuPowers56 (1 review written)

delivery promised on thursday morning ready for my job on Friday, Thursday comes, guess what, no goods! called screwfix who said the order was cancelled!! I NEVER CASNCELLED THE ORDER SCREWFIX!!! Found in my opinion the most helpful company I have worked with in my 20 year history as a tradesman, OBAS UK in Preston. placed the order with them on thursday at 1:40 in the afternoon, I then called OBAS UK just to give myself peace of mind and they are so nice and promised my delivery would arrive… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish service do not use!”

Written on: 13/05/2014 by JamesManning (1 review written)

I ordered a product, 15%, so came to £79.99, which was correct discount, went to collect and it wasn't there at the branch, they had no idea why not and told me to go back another day, not happy about this, I thought might as well deliver now as missed the job, only to be told the order had been cancelled. Ok, I shall reorder, back to original price. Sent an email complaining, to be told it was an obvious pricing error and that I should have realised this, how?!?! So ye any promotion, may not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Website is Rubbish”

Written on: 11/04/2014 by Duke_Nukem (24 reviews written)

I tried to look at their products on-line (www.screwfix.co.uk - but it redirected to .com), and after a long wait it came back with a blank page except for a small area in the top left demanding that I either log in or register. Idiots… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Useless, Useless, Useless”

Written on: 04/01/2014

Item bought online with next day delivery (before 6.30pm). Like most, had to stay home from work waiting for delivery. Item did not arrive. Call Screwfix who said item might still arrive after 6.30pm and to call back next day (Saturday) if still not arrived. Suggested maybe I could pick up myself from store? Uhm no ... the promise of free next day delivery was principle reason to order from Screwfix. Called Saturday morning and was told that item would arrive this day, and that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor delivery service & terrible after sales care”

Written on: 11/12/2013 by KdataM (2 reviews written)

I ordered 4 items to arrive on a Saturday. The order was placed 1 week in advance therefore didn't expect any delivery delays seeing as they offer next day delivery as standard. However on the day of the delivery, only 3 out of the 4 items turned up. I specifically hired a plumber to fit and install the 4 radiators on Sunday therefore needed all items delivered on Saturday. The only solution Screwfix provided was to wait until Monday morning for the other item to arrive. as i had hired a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Latest Order”

Written on: 11/12/2013

I have used Screwfix for many years now, and they use to be really good, but lately they never have enough stock to complete my orders, and I have ended up buying the items elsewhere on the internet. My latest order was ordered online to collect from a screwfix store 25 miles away, turned up this morning to be asked for proof of identity. On the online receipt it tells you to take your receipt and the card you paid for the goods with to the store as proof of who you are which I did, but the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mrmister's Comment

Written on: 07/04/2014

Sounds familiar. When the Goddard Watts family owned the company stock levels, delivery times, quality and Customer care were never in doubt. Since B&Q took it over it's really never really come up to scratch.
'For delivery' stock is often very low or non existent. They remove products seemingly on a whim and delivery is hit and miss.
I've taken to paying slightly more for things and keeping my blood pressure down!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“blatant lies”

Written on: 08/12/2013 by barrna (1 review written)

Erbauer ERF298MSW 165mm Sliding Compound Mitre Saw 24V We thought you would like to know that the delivery items in the order you placed on 06/12/2013 at 19:13 have been quality checked and packed, and are now on the way to you.(arranged to be off work for delivery) •When I phoned to aske about this order I was told that there was no stock so either this email is a blatant lie or one of there managers is not telling the truth . I then ordered one to pick up in store and went to pick it up no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I will NEVER buy from screwfix again”

Written on: 26/10/2013

Ordered 2 radiators on Wednesday. Paid extra for the next day delivery service before 10.30am. Sent e mail saying they were on their way so took the morning off work but only 1 radiator turned up. The man from parcel force said he didnt know where the other one was and it wasn't his problem. Called screwfix who promised to track the missing radiator and get back to me but they didn't. I phoned up and was told it had been located and should be there the next day so took another morning off work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview