Panasonic TUCT20 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
36% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Panasonic TUCT20 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Panasonic TUCT20

Panasonic TUCT20
Panasonic TUCT20
Panasonic TUCT20

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“The Panasonic TUCT20 is real value for money and easy...”

written by Gilsi on 13/03/2009

The Panasonic TUCT20 is real value for money and easy to set up and use. we bought ours 5 years ago and it still works, it's the remote thats gone and am currentky searching to see if we can purchase one.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The box kept locking up many time and I had to unplug...”

written by on 07/01/2008

The box kept locking up many time and I had to unplug and leave it switched off and then plug it back in again. This was expensive. I should have gone with a cheaper model. I will not make the same mistake again with Panasonic. In my opinion, this has been a waste of money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I think this freeview box is seriously overpriced when...”

written by benham1771 on 25/12/2007

I think this freeview box is seriously overpriced when new at £75 - you can buy 3 newer receivers for that now and they are probably hundreds of times better.
Best place for it now is the bin.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“The Panasonic TUCT20 is a very expensive box. I paid...”

written by kevvywevvywoo on 21/08/2006

The Panasonic TUCT20 is a very expensive box. I paid nearly £100 from a discount store. My first box, I didn't know what to expect. I'm disappointed with freeview in general compared to analogue, the cheaper Tesco box in the kitchen doesn't lock up so much, though the remote is more sluggish. I think the Panasonic price warrants a better engineered product!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Panasonic are are top brand name, but the Panasonic...”

written by jrwhite on 24/11/2005

Panasonic are are top brand name, but the Panasonic TUCT20 Freeview box is a true disaster. It fails on almost every front. I cannot believe that you can still buy this from Comet for £70!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“The Panasonic TUCT20 is a really bad product. For two...”

written by alderny on 31/05/2005

The Panasonic TUCT20 is a really bad product. For two years I put up with the picture freezing every few minutes and lip-sync problems that made it feel as if I was watching one programme whilst listening to another! Add to this the occasional need to power it off and on again when it locked up completely, made it a very annoying piece of kit. I live in a good reception area, have a good aerial for digital TV reception plus a signal booster.

I finally went out and purchased a Sagem 602 from Richer Sounds for just £39.95, took it home, plugged it in and set it up. What a difference! Not only did the picture freezing and lip-sync problems vanish, but the picture was sharper too. The signal strength is typically around 75% and signal quality 98% - proving that the aerial is good.

The Panasonic, which had an external power supply, also ran quite hot.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Axxil221's Response to alderny's Review

Written on: 05/12/2006

The following comment rings true, no signal meter - does the Panasonic TUCT20 freeview box have a signal booster? I do not think so. In Cardiff, Splott we have signal dropout, therefore a booster is needed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Have had a Panasonic TUCT20 for a couple of years and...”

written by triedalot on 21/04/2005

Have had a Panasonic TUCT20 for a couple of years and have suffered poor picture quality. Eventually called in an aerial specialist - he immediately replaced it with a Bush and bingo! - No problem with the aerial.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Not being a big sports fan and therefore a prime...”

written by ccleland on 18/09/2004

Not being a big sports fan and therefore a prime candidate for the great satellite TV rip-off, Freeview sounded just fine for me. Have always trusted the Panasonic brand, but frankly, what a disappointment. I am now on my second of these units - the first went back as it wouldn't work at all! This one just about works, but suffers from a number of problems and I'm currently trying to get this sorted out too.

Firstly it has a tendency to not latch onto the strongest available signal for some channels - such as The Hits, TMF and UK Brightideas, so we find ourselves having to put up with "the Norman Collier effect" (sound and vision drop-outs) on these channels, except for the rare occasions where a re-tune makes the unit latch onto the stronger transmitter. Then there's the video and audio going out of sync. Finally and worst of all there's the locking out, where the unit freezes and the only means of correction is to waste 5-10 minutes powering down and re setting up.

Frankly, this half-baked product is a disgrace to the Panasonic brand. What's more, if this is the future of TV transmissions (as proposed by the UK Government, who want to switch off analogue transmissions) then I urge an urgent re-think!

Truly dire and most definitely not recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I have two of these boxes and having seen just about...”

written by gendy943 on 06/08/2004

I have two of these boxes and having seen just about all the Freeview boxes the Panasonic TUCT20 of the two best (with Philips DTR1500). Small and compact with a separate power supply means the box runs cool for a long life (my boxes are from Oct 2002 and Jan 2003 respectively).There have been 4 software downloads since I got my first box which has kept the boxes up to date with changes to Freeview and the MHeg text. The latest is v1.14(a).The original remote was small & very neat, there is larger one for the latest TU-CT30 (which has a timer and can cope with the new 7-day EPG which the TU-CT20 cannot.

Quality products from Panasonic. The choice box especially for elderly people who want simple channel selection and need on-off switching to RGB via SCART pin8.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gendy943's Response to gendy943's Review

Written on: 20/05/2006

Both boxes still going strong in May 2006....as is the DTR1500 from Philips mated to a Philips VCR850

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“This Panasonic TUCT20 is a poor box and Panasonic will...”

written by bulti on 04/01/2004

This Panasonic TUCT20 is a poor box and Panasonic will not be doing any more software updates to fix the problems.
The box can freeze when tuned into a channel that doesn't have a high signal strength, requiring the box to be powered down to fix it. Also the audio and video can become out of sync which is really annoying when you've recorded an entire programme where the audio is a second ahead of the video. This box will never be able to use the 7 day EPG when it eventually comes out. Also one of the buffers seems to overrun, as sometimes when you change a channel the screen is covered in graphics that shouldn't be there, again requiring a reboot to resolve it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Boinng's Response to bulti's Review

Written on: 02/08/2004

When Panasonic's loyal TUCT20 owning customers asked when their box was going to support the 7 day epg, over a year ago now, Panasonic told them to go eat cake. Their box would get no more updates, and if they wanted the epg they would have to go out and buy the new TUCT30 when it was released.
<br>
<br>At the time of writing, the TUCT30 has been on the market for the best part of a year, and the 7 day EPG data has just now started broadcasting. Guess what - it's not working on the TUCT30, and no update appears to be planned for that box either.
<br>
<br>The moral of this story? If you're after a DTT box, look away from anything with the word Panasonic on the front. Seriously, buy anything but the panny...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

169372_Mat555's Response to bulti's Review

Written on: 09/09/2004

I phoned the number on the back of the box for help - when after 6 months of excellence my TUCT20 started to freeze and blackout after 30 secs use - even with a 8 strength signal.
<br>
<br>The guy on the phone from Panasonic said he would send me out a new box by courier next day - if I returned my old box.
<br>
<br>Verdict: This is either excellent customer service from Panasonic or there is something badly wrong with this product.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments
☆☆☆☆☆

“The Panasonic TUCT20 has the most horrible on screen...”

written by Chrisdafur on 23/09/2003

The Panasonic TUCT20 has the most horrible on screen graphics ever. BEWARE: Do not buy this box as Panasonic will not be doing anymore Software updates to this box as they are now focusing on the 30 version. So this means the box will NOT include a 7 day EPG which most of the other companys are make stand now!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 2
★★★★★

“I bought this Panasonic TUCT20 because it was 20% off...”

written by Williham. on 25/05/2003

I bought this Panasonic TUCT20 because it was 20% off from argos, i previously had the goodmans which kept glitching alot, this is much better with far fewer glitches and picture quality is great. It looks really good and from a great make, also cheap for what it is.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mujja.'s Response to Williham.'s Review

Written on: 29/05/2003

When was this 20% off at Argos, it's 99.99 now (29 May). Did i miss the sale :(

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

102287_Williham.'s Response to Williham.'s Review

Written on: 29/05/2003

Yeh, you missed it, it was Friday till Monday (bank holiday weekend). Sorry you missed it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Good compact STB with all the features you need. Quick...”

written by Marc. on 26/02/2003

Good compact STB with all the features you need. Quick set up time and easy to use.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★★★★

“The Panasonic TUCT20 set top box took the usual 10...”

written by Jase. on 12/12/2002

The Panasonic TUCT20 set top box took the usual 10 mins to set up.

Original analogue reception was poor, but digital signal strength is fine.

Good quality item that "does exactly what it says on the box"!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 7 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview