Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
58% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege

Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege
Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Comfortable Car!”

Written on: 03/08/2020 by AzizaDavis (6 reviews written)

Yes, definitely! It is really comfortable and is cheap to run. Handling, brakes, and pedals are responsive, really enjoyable to drive. Although I'm happy with this engine next time I will go for a 1.9 DCI for a bit more power. In town, I manage 40mpg and 51mpg on the motorway. For a 1,500 kg car that is superb!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Rag top fun”

Written on: 05/01/2020 by neilelliott (1 review written)

I needed cheap car quick and stumbled on my little 1.6 rag top. £495 with a years ticket, full service history and 1 owner.I haven't stopped having fun. What a marvellous driving car, the road holding is fantastic. People say the 1.6 lacks poke! Get a 2 litre then. For me this little 1.6 gives plenty, especially on our UK roads. Although the dash is a little plain, the leather seats are comfortable and the heater is almost hot enough to cook your dinner on. As i grow used to the body styling the pleasing it is on the eye. The back seats have proven to be plenty big enough for all but my 6ft tall son. If you can find a good one, buy it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Stylish and roomy. Lacks punch maybe 1.6 bit...”

Written on: 25/11/2010

Stylish and roomy. Lacks punch maybe 1.6 bit underpowered..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“After purchasing my magane on finance i realist id...”

Written on: 24/10/2010

After purchasing my magane on finance i realist id made the biggest mistake of my life its had 2x sets of coil packs full new exhaust system, first the front drivers window stopped working then the passehgers and now one of the back the windows and at over 200 quid a go i wasn't laughing...... all i can say its not the best car i have bought oh well not long till all paid up and can get shut..oh i and my key card to start the car stopped so there was another couple of hundred quid....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Good fuel consumption. Good performance. Good take...”

Written on: 08/01/2009

Good fuel consumption. Good performance. Good take off. It holds very well in heels and never complaints. After driving to Limpopo and the East coast in one week, I'm impressed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I replaced my Renault Clio for a renault megane...”

Written on: 05/10/2008 by beck4matt (1 review written)

I replaced my Renault Clio for a renault megane privilege (03 reg) just over two weeks now, it's a really comfortable car with a very smart interior and got a good deal on part exchange for it. In just that short time it has been back to the garage twice now and is again booked in for two days time, first fault was a fume filter, the second was paintwork (albeit not a mechanical fault) and it is now in for the third time because it "kangaroos" occasionally when accelerating in first gear! Not so good when you're trying to get out of a junction. I must say my little clio was far more reliable and in the time I had it not a single thing went wrong. I have my fingers crossed that my megane will not have any more problems, but looking at previous reviews and the general consensus about the car, I perhaps should cross both hands, feet, arms and eyes. Good luck if you've just bought one!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Mechanically, the Renault Megane is very good,...”

Written on: 25/08/2008 by Falcon405 (1 review written)

Mechanically, the Renault Megane is very good, interior and exterior very good, electric protections very good. Though I find electric modules and dignoses are complicated and the software and interface are expensive to buy comparing with other European models.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Ive had my Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege (And lets face...”

Written on: 08/04/2008

Ive had my Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege (And lets face it....it isnt one) for 14 months. In that time, my costs for maintenance (excluding monthly repayments and fuel) have worked out at around 200 per month! Ive had to have a new gearbox, two new timing belts - two replacements of ignition coil sets plus numerous other items - and I still need to get the aircon fixed because the compressor has failed. How, I am ever going to get rid of this burden - I really dont know - I could never sell it privately - it would have to be a part exchange - there is no other way I could do it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“2003 reg, 20k Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege bought...”

Written on: 15/01/2007 by JoSno (2 reviews written)

2003 reg, 20k Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege bought second hand. I've had the car 6 months and it's been into the garage 5 or 6 times already (thankfully I was flogged a 3 year extended warranty that's already paid for itself - when I bought the car!): - ignition coils replaced; electric window replaced, dephaser and timing belt replaced. Ongoing issue with it not starting that Renault and their 'super' diagnostic computer still cant locate - despite 3 attempts and the advice from AA stating in black and white that the fault was in the starter motor!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Our Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege was 1 month out of...”

Written on: 15/09/2005 by johnd (3 reviews written)

Our Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege was 1 month out of it's 2 year warranty when the auto gearbox packed up. Sintered metal hydraulic taper rings broke up. Cost just over $3000 to rectify. Next went the a/c filter, then the rear shock absorber.
This vehicle was purched 2nd. hand @ 16000Kms. 18 months old and had a habit of cutting out for no apparent reason. This fault has been with me since purchase. The local garage are aware of this problem but won't acknowledge it .
Getting desperate by this stage I checked the timing sensor mounted within the bell housing, and discovered iron fillings adhering to the pick up point. With a strong air blast was able to remove for the time being most pieces of metal which comes from the starter ring gear. The position of the timing sensor does not allow this fault to be corrected so will have to bare with it . To date the car has 60ks on the clock and I have had to replace all three rubber engine mounts, and disc pads.
This will be the last European car I'll ever buy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Traded my 2003 Scenic 1.4 in for the new 2004 Megane...”

Written on: 24/12/2004 by dirkshort (1 review written)

Traded my 2003 Scenic 1.4 in for the new 2004 Megane II 1.6 Privilege family car. In retrospect, I miss the Scenic's versatility which is the benchmark in the MPV industry. The Megane offers a totally different drive with the emphasis on style, safety and super smooth driving. It offers more leg, head and boot space than any car in the C class marketed in South Africa. VW, Opel and Ford - eat your heart out: come learn how to produce a practical, safe vehicle that oozes style. I'm very glad to say that Renault South Africa also provide superior, accessible after sales service too.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good points about the Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege are...”

Written on: 03/12/2002 by Dave. (1 review written)

Good points about the Renault Megane 1.6 Privilege are its interior quality, value for money, style & looks and safety.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mosenc's Response to 55554_Dave.'s Review

Written on: 18/08/2003

I have owned a Renault megaine for 3 years now and think it is a fantastic car. The safety features are one of the best in its class in South Africa, value for money is excellent, maintenance is cost effecient, space, extras, car sound package, everything is exceptional.
<br>In short. . . . . . .a car that is exceptional. Feel free to contact me with comments and/or concerns.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

239205_Jean Castle's Response to 55554_Dave.'s Review

Written on: 18/04/2006

Thinking of buying one for our daughter who is pregnant - safety is of importance so is value for money - you've obviously been pleased - others are putting us off, we've just had big problems with a peugot 1.1 don't need more expense if this turns out to be a problem - any advise would be welcome - she's looking at a 1.6 Diamatique.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 2 Comments
overview