Harry Potter & the Philosopher's Stone (PG) Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint
Manufacturer: Warner Home Video
Features:
  • Box set
  • PAL
  • Widescreen
  • ? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG) - Ask a question now

    Media Gallery for Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG)

    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG)
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG)
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG)
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (PG)

    Refine your search

    • Average Rating Over Time
    • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
    • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

    Latest Reviews

    ★★★★★

    “Harry Potter is fantastic, creative and brilliant”

    Written on: 22/05/2014 by 1991York (1 review written)

    This movie was fantastic. I had already read the book,so I had been looking forward to this film. One day,a boy,who is HARRY POTTER,was able to suvive against Voldemort's attack. but,his parents were killed. 10 years later,he moved in with his ancle,aunt,and cousin. they are terrible. They treat Harry like a slave. because,Harry is a wizard,they are scared of him. when he turns 10, an enormous man,called Hagrid, takes him to the magical school. From then on, his life changes dramaticaly. In the school,he is an incredibly famous wizard as he is the only person who was able to survive against Voldemort. He enjoys his school life with his friends who are Hermione and Ron. but,one day Harry realizes Voldemort is still alive. then, a lot of exciting scenes happen. This movie's special effects are really beautiful,there are lots of magnificant scenes,brillant creatures, an amazing soundtrack,which makes this movie even more fascinating. When he beats his first enemy, Harry and his friends co-operate with each other.They do several magic tricks, handle a Kelveros which has three heads on his body, they play magic chess, these are very intersting ideas. I would recommend this file to any age of people. Just watch it. Although, I prefer the book to the file,you should go to the cinema to see it.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    ★★★★★

    “One of My Favourite Film”

    Written on: 26/07/2011 by saintgiles (1 review written)

    When I watched this film, I was 13-years-old. But still now I remember the story clearly. Especially the music, which is brilliant! My brother bought the soundtrack of this film. But before watching this film, I recommend you to read this book. It will help you to understand the story.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “I thought the movie was magnificent. I liked the...”

    Written on: 16/03/2008 by harrys biggest fan 123 (1 review written)

    I thought the movie was magnificent. I liked the acting and I also liked the surprises harry faced! The movie was excellent!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 1
    ★★★★★

    “I bought The Philosophers Stone film on video for...”

    Written on: 02/12/2003 by ANGEL1964 (7 reviews written)

    I bought The Philosophers Stone film on video for myself being a hugh Harry Potter fan and was not disappointed. The special affects were excellant and having read the books found the characters came to life. Excellant for both adults and older children alike.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    199939_Baby246's Response to ANGEL1964's Review

    Written on: 01/07/2005

    I thought the movie was excellent, it wasn't like other movies where it is completely different from the book. It had the same similarities and it was cool.Even though Daniel Radcliffe didn't act that much at the beginning he fulfiled his job when it got proper exciting. Rate 10/10

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 0 0
    Read 1 Comment
    ★★★★★

    “Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is awesome cuz...”

    Written on: 18/09/2002 by Snake77. (1 review written)

    Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone is awesome cuz I love Harry Potter and this movie kicks ass. It is really exciting and suprising like when you figure out who it was....... There are cool and scary things - Fluffy, The Troll, Voldemort - all cool. Voldemort is kinda scary not so much. It's kinda funny how Snape always goes on Harry and that's kinda cool. You can watch this movie 10 times and not be bored. I'm only bored of it like 40% but I still love it cuz it's really magical - owls, spells, forbidden places and excitement just excitement. Hermione is freaking annoying sometimes "You've got dirt on your nose did you know? just there.." She's Ok when she's friends with Harry and Ron but at one part it feels like she's in love with Harry, kinda. Cuz she's like "You're a great wizard you know that you're so brave" yahta yahta yahta that is so corny. But anyway this is my favourite movie ever it is so freaking awesome buy it or you are weird

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    ★★★☆☆

    “I think this was a very over-rated film. The actor...”

    Written on: 30/01/2002 by Libby Bove. (1 review written)

    I think this was a very over-rated film. The actor playing Harry Potter was wooden and unconvincing and only had one expression - gormless. The Dursley's house in Privet Drive was ridiculous - Barratt home on the outside and nineteen fifties inside. Some of the special effects were good, especially quidditch, and I liked the way that Hogwarts was portrayed - just as I had imagined it, but this was spoiled by the mediocre acting. I think they made the film in a hurry to cash in on the success of the books.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    ★★★★☆

    “My 8 year old refused to read any of the Harry Potter...”

    Written on: 23/01/2002 by Angie. (1 review written)

    My 8 year old refused to read any of the Harry Potter books even with all the hype so I was surprised that he even wanted to see the film, which appeared to be quite long. He thoroughly enjoyed it. Myself, I enjoyed the picture and, apart from all the kids, thought Robbie Coltrane was really good.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    ★★★☆☆

    “When the hype has died down maybe people will come to...”

    Written on: 11/01/2002 by Tom the Tom. (1 review written)

    When the hype has died down maybe people will come to realize that the film is not really all that good.
    The book was good, but the film makes the book look like it is really being milked for all it's worth.
    There has obviously been a lot of work put into this and, if you have not read the book, it might all seem a bit confusing.
    But hey, the kids love it!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 0
    ★★★★★

    “Well the Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone...”

    Written on: 03/01/2002 by Claire. (1 review written)

    Well the Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone certainly had a lot of hype to go with it but the question is did the film live up to its expectations?? well the answer is i'm not exactly sure!!

    If you have read all the books and have been totally enthralled by them then go to this film and don't expect it to be as exciting as the book.

    If you have never picked up a Harry Potter book ever then go to this film and pick up on the magical story line.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 2
    ★★★★☆

    “Go to see this film with an open mind and if you have...”

    Written on: 18/12/2001 by fmf. (1 review written)

    Go to see this film with an open mind and if you have read the book, you can anticipate things and the special effects in the film are pretty good.
    Daniel radcliffe is a good actor but his sidekicks were even better.
    It's a must-see film and I can't wait till next year for the next part of the film!

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    ★★★★★

    “I went to see the Harry Potter film totally expecting...”

    Written on: 13/12/2001 by Paul. (1 review written)

    I went to see the Harry Potter film totally expecting to fall asleep and was very suprised at how good the film was. The actor who played Harry Potter was superb.

    I think JK Rowling must be very pleased that the Harry Potter film has done the Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone book justice.

    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

    51891_Clack.'s Response to 7246_Paul.'s Review

    Written on: 19/11/2002

    Your review is so rubbish. You are so wrong.

    Reply to this comment
    If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
    Report this review
    Was this review helpful? 1 1
    Read 1 Comment
    overview