Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
66% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr

Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr
Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“the best car I ever owned!”

written by davidus on 21/06/2020

Bought a 2.0 TDDI in 2004 with about 40k miles, now (mid 2020) has 210k and still running great, even the air-con works 100%. The one and only thing which stopped working a while back was the front windscreen heated element. Major bits which needed replacing over the years were the power steering pump, front coil springs (broken x2), DMF (at about 175k) and alternator (very recently). IMO overall not bad for about 20 years and 210k miles. Still fun to drive and doing about 45mpg.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good Strong Diesel”

written by BestReviewerinTown on 16/12/2014

Owned for about 6 Months, Good strong diesel engine will pull anything, even the ugly ones! Only issue and you will find this in every single Ford Diesel the DMF, dual mass flywheel, if this starts to go will effect the clutch and the gearbox. My gearbox is sometimes hard to change gear but majority of time ok, not bad for a £300 motor. interior is strong wearing, its been puked in many times and although smells a bit rotten there no rips or tears. Keys do wear down after time, so a new key will have to be bought and unless you buy a new Ford key that will cost you your poo pipe virginity then a cheap one will do, but will never work right the first time. or is mine stolen? i dont know. Anyway good car, lx and zetec models are very similar, and they are also great a drifting! try it! go on! go jump in your mondeo do a consistent speed of about 70 up to a round about sharp left, or right handbrake up and wow amazing aye. show all those idiots in there 'm' sport beemers hows it done!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good Car spoilt by silly faults”

written by on 24/12/2013

I have owned this car for 8 years now and its covered 170,000 miles, of which I'm responsible for about 110K. Generally has been a very reliable car, especially as its towed our caravan all over the place with no complaints. Economical for a big car. Interior is hard wearing, with no wear on the seats at all. Heated front screen is BRILLIANT - Well done Ford! Now the downside - Has broken every coil spring at some time or other. Drop links have been changed at least 3 times, new fuel pump last year, DMF and clutch at 100K, handbrake cable needs changing every other service, rear sub frame swapped at about 100K, 3 starter motors, alternator last year, intercooler pipe also split last year. Finally, the usual Ford problem - rust! All 4 doors have tin worm along the bottom. I think the biggest issue was the DMF and clutch. This cost about £550 to swap. Of course being a Ford, this was relatively cheap as are most parts and wherever you go in Europe, you'll always find a garage to fix it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“clutch pedal sticks”

written by billmill on 09/09/2012

i have 51 plate tddi and for the last month the clutch pedal goes flat to the floor , when i put my foot under it to bring it back up it works fine its not slipping so has anyone any idea whats wrong

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cadrez's Response to billmill's Review

Written on: 09/08/2013

I do have the same problem right now with mine.
Do you already have a solution and which was it?

Greetings

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Got my mondeo LX TDDI 115bhp estate in 2004 with 90000...”

written by on 09/11/2010

Got my mondeo LX TDDI 115bhp estate in 2004 with 90000 miles on the clock, as a market trader whom sells jam i needed to be able to put my market stall and around a ton of jars of jam every weekend, and used it as a work horse through the week. Best van i have ever had. it has 180000 miles on it now and it is giving up i think, during this time it has had 2 front springs and shocker, offside drive shaft, 2 track rod ends 1 either side, fuel pump. the solinoid has just gone on the starter so i have tust got a toyota avensis as i have herd that my flywheel may be broken (big money) all other work was carried out by myself as car is very easy to work on and parts are cheep. oh apart from the two rear barings i have replaced. will be a miss tho a very good work horse that puts up with alot. other work was to replace rear break pipes, rear and front disks, and had it undersealed as undersides are prone to rust as ford dont do a very good job on the sills.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Bought my 2001 Y-reg 2.0 TDDi LX estate for £750 with...”

written by RichieZA77 on 18/08/2010

Bought my 2001 Y-reg 2.0 TDDi LX estate for £750 with 181,000 miles on the clock. It came with an extensive history being an ex-company car and has had in it's past a new turbo, ECU, clutch etc (as expected over such mileage). Items that have failed are a rear caliper (sticking) and handbrake is faulty. Door release cable snapped but cost £4 and 5 minutes to fix. Sailed through MOT needing front tyres and front exhuast pipe.
Absolutely adore this car. Very nippy, comfy, vast amounts of room, as much fun to drive as my Focus, well built (no rattles!) and I've upgraded interior bits from a Ghia. Family and friends love it and neighbour buying one as they like mine so much. Extremely good value for money and my RAC friend advised me Mondeos and Focus are the cars he gets called out to the least.
Beat the badge snobs and buy one, you will regret it!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Richieza77's Response to RichieZA77's Review

Written on: 18/08/2010

Typo on my submission! You WON'T regret buying a Mk3 Mondeo. Sturdy, loveable cars that will always put a smile on your face down a twisty road.
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“i bought the car and and didnt realise about the fly...”

written by on 13/04/2010

i bought the car and and didnt realise about the fly wheel so after buying the car bought a new starter then was told about the fly wheel which shortly went so replaced it and then staled after aa looked they told me fuel pump and someone else told me air pump so gonna change that first

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“These mondeo's are a very good car cheap to run and...”

written by on 01/02/2010

These mondeo's are a very good car cheap to run and great for a family having loads of space and a very large boot. Not a lot goes wrong with them the main problems with them are as follows, Handbrake cables seize, Rear brake calipers seize, Rear subframe bush's ware, and most commom is clutch failures, the reason for this is that the duel mass flywheel is not strong enough and wares also causing the starters to fail, but this is easily rectified by having a solid flywheel fitted, on average the clutch lasts around 50k to 80k which isnt bad,
Handbrake cables £40
Calipers £50 each
subframe £190
Clutch & (solid) Flywheel £300
So all in all if you had all this work done it's not that expensive.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“My first Ford and I got the GhiaX 52 plate Mondeo with...”

written by on 30/12/2009

My first Ford and I got the GhiaX 52 plate Mondeo with (130bhp). An wonderful car that has ran like a dream! Bought with 97000 on clock and full history, done 112000 now and still feels like new. If I had one complaint it would be tyre wear but that may be my fault so no knock down in score. The interior feels high quality, the trims feel well put together and the leather never seems to wear. Lots of space in boot (golf clubs sideways :-)) and with the seats down a full length wardrobe from Ikea! I would recomend using high performance fuel as it really brings the best out! I switched from an A4 to this car and I will never look back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Cost me £450, yes thats right £450 for a 1 owner 2.0...”

written by willshaw24 on 21/11/2009

Cost me £450, yes thats right £450 for a 1 owner 2.0 tddi. Ive now covered 3000 miles since i bought it 2 months ago so now she has 223000miles. Runs perfect, blanked off egr valve which improved flat spots and releases power. All in all a lovely car at a lovely price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Cant really fault the car, its a 2001 LX TTDI...”

written by on 16/11/2009

Cant really fault the car, its a 2001 LX TTDI estate,Brought with 49000 in 2008 now done 68000 nov 2009, had the normal problems you get with any car, that never broke down, pretty good average 47mpg great on motorways, looks like it was well looked after before i brought it so im real lucky, a reliable car front heated windowscreen is a god send, holds the road really well, massive boot space, comfatable ride nice sound system as well, if you look after these and keep them well serviced they will last for a long long time, cracking engines even though only 115bhp
hightly recomend if you can find a low millage one !

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Have been driving Japanese car all my life and wanted...”

written by keretakulawa on 24/06/2009

Have been driving Japanese car all my life and wanted a change for once an bought a brand new Ford Mondeo Estate (2003). In terms of comfort, you can beat the mondeo. Mine is fully serviced by the dealer throughout these years hoping to keep it until it reaches its 20th B'day ... wishful thinking ... now I know.

2005 (43 000 km)- The crankshaft pully failed. Since Mondeo are designed for cold countries (mine is hot), the design of the pully was rubbish for this country. Got it changed to a revised crankshaft pully (the dealer said it)


2008 had my major headache. The Engine mounting fell at 83 000 km (the screw holding the mounting sheared) and hit the RHS Drive Shaft. I need to change the whole drive shaft. There were indication that something was wrong when I turned the steering wheel ... and thought the gaiter needs replacement. Have told the dealer numerous time ... and they cant find the source of the problem. Not only I have to change the Drive shaft system, but also the tensioner, beltings etc.

2009 (93 000 km). The crankshaft pully failed ... again. What the heck is going on? Now the dealer is saying that the flywheel, clutch sleeve and one other thing need to be replace. OMG ... I have with me a 21 years old Pajero and 18 years old Honda prelude and the flywheel are still intact.

I initially wanted to by Ford Transit after selling my Mondeo. Looks like I will have to switch to the reliable japanese car again.

Hey ... don't get me wrong. I love my mondeo. Ford engines are reliable but not the other parts.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“leased a brand new 2009 ford mondeo for 2 months....”

written by saemi on 03/06/2009

leased a brand new 2009 ford mondeo for 2 months. clutch failed and ford blames me for failure. 1100 pounds bill, DO NOT BUY A FORD MONDEO

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“This is my second review of the Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi...”

written by wakaday on 18/03/2009

This is my second review of the Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr nd fair to say it nearly went when had issues and now glad it didn't. Ticked past the 190,000 mark today and has few probs, turbo whistles, clutch is dead, abs likes to go skits, my dodgy rims nd tyres keep going flat, suspension and bushes have been diagnosed as worn, handbrakes kinda faded and I still wanna keep it i like it that much. I used 5 series bmw for a month and day to day the mondeos better.

It just laps up the abuse and drives wonderfully. Plenty of bottom end grunt so can gently cruise through town nd 4th or 5th often. .

Does need money spending so am going to sort tyres and clutch soon. nd the rest will go on the Nurburg tuning list: Dragon Chip, Racing Bakes, New Backbox, Induction kit, NOS, sports suspension....

I have noticed some websites have changed the figures for this car in regards to MPG down to 38 which is what i now tend to achieve when driving with care.

awesome car

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr is very cheap to run,...”

written by on 10/02/2009

Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX 5dr is very cheap to run, low cost servicing. Lovely handling and performance.
Well laid out interior. Comfortable driving position. Safety features

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Love this car to bits its my baby I have the 2lt tddi...”

written by on 17/09/2008

Love this car to bits its my baby I have the 2lt tddi 115 but have tweked it to give me 125bhp and I still get 50mpg but I can get it down to 15mpg so be careful if you modify any of it but very happy with trim. Cheap tax 145 12 months.
But the beast thing is when some stubid boy racer pulls up next to you and you leave him standing and all you can do is giggle.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX saloon I've had this car...”

written by on 14/08/2008

Ford Mondeo 2.0 TDDi 115 LX saloon I've had this car as a taxi and done over 250000 mls the best taxi I've had. Never spent money until 200000 then started to cost me money still drives well. Now turbo has started to whine but I'm away to replace with exchange one. I would recomend anyone to buy this car with 100000 mls or less on it all in all good car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This Ford Mondeo is one of the better motors I've...”

written by on 31/07/2008

This Ford Mondeo is one of the better motors I've bought just don't try make a quick getaway in it you put your foot down it thinks for a second or two then she pulls away steadily - good top end.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sue Pursglove's Comment

Written on: 09/02/2010

I found this review very helpful because...Mine does the same but is purring after a couple of minutes It appears this is a common fault My neighbour has a 08 reg Range Rover sport and that didnt start at all for 2 days Lot to be said for Ford at the end of the day (or the start of the day as my neighbour is finding) Sue

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Not bad could be better - sort out the clutch and fly...”

written by on 26/07/2008

Not bad could be better - sort out the clutch and fly wheel, Ford! Knocking from rear of car replaced anti-roll bar bushes stopped for a while then started a week later brakes are like chocolate buttons.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I got the estate version of the Ford Mondeo, which was...”

written by wakaday on 04/06/2008

I got the estate version of the Ford Mondeo, which was a family car for about 3 years the I got it recently as my first car. And must say, I € m impressed. I've found if you drive like a cabby it's pretty gd on the juice but in my first week it did drink it, worked out it did 26mpg but now getting around 50mpg so all good. Mines done over 175,000 and still runs fine, really grips well if you chuck it about and engine doesn't get upset if you do give it some abuse now and again. All in all good car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview