Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
59% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI

Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI
Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Kia Sedona careful buy”

Written on: 01/07/2013

Bought mine new in 2004, now has 125,000, and is nine years old. In that time I've had it serviced and maintained by both main dealers and independent. Problems so far (nine years) both rear wheel bearings replaced four years ago. Steering bolt sheered five years ago. (symptom sloppy steering) Tends to go through tyres quite a lot, still on original clutch. Had problem with the rear heater pipes, solution dis-connect them you don't really need a heater in the rear. Air conditioning packed up after three years re gassed serviced, many times but, still doesn't work. Fuel consumption OK about 35 ish. So you would think I would have sold it but now. Well it pulls like a train, is great to drive, high up great visibility, comfortable seats, great towing car. Rust problems I've heard about and yes mine has this problem, so now under sealed and fingers crossed. Hand brake complaints well originally this was a foot parking brake so you'll never get the right force to apply it. Thing is keep it adjusted regularly. Well I love my Kia, will drive it till the wheels drop off. Tip is if a second hand buy, full service history and receipts are a must. As ever if you get a good un, well need I say more.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“am i wasting my time?”

Written on: 21/09/2012 by bourney (1 review written)

Am I wasting my time buying a Kia Sedona? been offered one in part x for my Honda Accord I have been over the car very thorough and cant find any major problems with it and the dealership I might be buying from has said they will put the small problems right before I drive it away. It is the 2001 2.8s td model (Y) plate Any advice people could give me on this would be gratefully received!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“worst car i ever baught”

Written on: 09/03/2012 by heapofcrap (1 review written)

weve had a kia 2.9 dieasel sedona three years its spent four months in garages elec faults injectors and now overheating what a load off crap i cant aford to sell it pleas do your self a favour dont buy one

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Our Kia Sedona was 2 years old and had 27000 miles on...”

Written on: 28/07/2010

Our Kia Sedona was 2 years old and had 27000 miles on the clock when we bought it.We had the timing belt changed at 59000 miles(as recommended), and has been regularly maintained by an independant mechanic, after we found the Kia agents were charging extortionate prices for the very basics. We pull a caravan, drive at a sedate pace, and can honestly say it is the best vehicle we have ever owned. It is fuel efficient, handles well, has great pulling power,is extremely comfortable and has loads of space.Now on 79000 miles,it has cost nothing except normal wear & tear .i.e. tyres, servicing etc. When the time comes for us to purchase another car, it will definately be another Kia Sedona.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“This is a great people carrier, ive had mine for 1...”

Written on: 06/07/2010

This is a great people carrier, ive had mine for 1 year now and there has been nothing wrong with it. It sometimes struggles to pull away from traffic light's if your loaded up in the back. The breaks are good, sometimes when going down the motorway it will get a very slight whistle from the passanger side window, But this is easilly fixed by touching the electric window up button. For space this is great, The middle row passangers have loads of room and the rear passanger's also have a nice ammount of legroom. As for mpg, it is quite juicy on the diesel but expected from a car that big, the air con in the car isnt the best but i think it just need's topping up. If you floor it to hard off the traffic light's the person behind you might get a bit of smoke but no more than expected, as a car to live with it's great but the Volvo xc90 seems like a nicer car. The gear box is also a bit slow at the changing and doesnt change till 3500 rpm at whih point the cars nearly into the red.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Our Sedona was 2 years old in 2005 when we bought it...”

Written on: 28/05/2010

Our Sedona was 2 years old in 2005 when we bought it and had 2000 miles on the clock. It now has 46000. Up till now it has been totally reliable, but a couple of months ago, i started to have problems and was told the fuel was contaminated. We have 2 other vehicles that also have fuel from the same garage and have no problems. We paid to have the the whole system cleaned, 2 weeks later there were other problems and it was back in again. I'm hoping now that is the end of the problem, but we are thinking of changing the car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/01/2012

hi, before you change your car change your garage for a while. i had the same trouble texaco putting that techen cleaner in and my car just keep juddering and pulling back for weks till it had all cleared from the tank. never used that petrol again and never had that trouble again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute pile of rubbish. Please don't buy one. ”

Written on: 18/05/2010

Absolute pile of rubbish. Please don't buy one.
It looked nice on the forecourt. 2 weeks after owning it, it started falling to pieces. Juddering on motorway because the tracking was out. Then, after a month, it fails to start.

And then the bills just kept on coming.

What's good about it? I guess if you take the windows and doors off, seats out, and drain the fuel tank, it would make a nice - but expensive - climbing frame for kids.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought 02 plated kia Sedona in Nov 09 with 66K on...”

Written on: 26/02/2010

Bought 02 plated kia Sedona in Nov 09 with 66K on clock. Have done approx 2K and car fails to start. Apparently injector problem cost ot fix by local garage £1500 but they're not sure it's not teh pump in which case it's £3k min !! Appart from that water gets in under carpet if driven through a puddle, side door sticks solid with slightest bit of grit in runner. Am selling as soon as it's back from garage and will never buy a KIA again !!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“We bought our 2.9 turbo diesel automatic Sedona at one...”

Written on: 18/01/2010 by adamlock (1 review written)

We bought our 2.9 turbo diesel automatic Sedona at one year old from main dealer with 13,000 miles and one owner. Initially liked it, fuel consumption OK for such a heavy car but servicing frequent at every 6,000 miles (always carried out on time)and always about 300 to 450 pounds. Very heavy smoke with acceleration especially on motorways, quite embarrassing. Failed both MOT's on emissions, had to buy some cleaning jollop and thrash for 10 miles before finally passing. Then at 50,000 miles car wouldn't move away from traffic lights. RAC took to local dealer on recovery lorry, they refused it saying they had too many breakdowns already! Outcome, auto gearbox failure, dealer quoted 4,000 to 4,500 to repair. Independent transmission specialist said cannot repair or get recon, so new gearbox. 3,200 pounds, we sold it for 3,500. So not exactly a bargain people carrier.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Why oh why didn't I read these reviews before...”

Written on: 13/01/2010 by pault34 (2 reviews written)

Why oh why didn't I read these reviews before buying??? I bought this to use for the family, but would probably have been better off paying for taxi's considering the parts costs for this appallingly unreliable car!! £1495 + injectors and pipes for a fuel pump failure, £2,500 for a new Cylinder Head, and the dealership attitude is appalling.

Simply put, please for your own sake do not buy these cars, and my advice steer clear of the KIA RANGE if this is their standard.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“EVERYTHING WEARS OUT BUT THAT'S THE WAY IT IS... Own...”

Written on: 06/10/2009 by krastsag (3 reviews written)

EVERYTHING WEARS OUT BUT THAT'S THE WAY IT IS... Own this Kia Sedona 2.9 CRDi for couple years and hawe to say so far so good! Dont let your car down - do regulary service it or just check oil, brakes and every thing else and don't race it ... That is a Family car instead!!! ... and it won't let you down!!! Great for space, very nice to ride very comfortable seating position (high - easy to see road better as well)- can drive non-stop for haf a day and+++ (was in europe this year and did 6 hours non-stop at a time when travering through belgium,germany, poland - easy)
... if you are thinking about MPV try Kia Sedona... You won't be disappoined - you will love it! ... same as I do my KIA!
chiers!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jerseyamanda's Response to krastsag's Review

Written on: 20/06/2010

i too have the same car as you and has never let me down since the day we got it 4 years ago,
<br/>we take her to france and shes great best car i've ever had,
<br/>it really makes me sad when people slag the car down as i love my baby wouldn't sell her for nothing
<br/>best wishes
<br/>jersey amanda x

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I have bought the Kia Sedona, I wish I had bought a...”

Written on: 18/08/2009

I have bought the Kia Sedona, I wish I had bought a bus pass instead. This car has spent more time in the garage then on the road. Currently residing on my drive as I contemplate whether to spend 1500 pounds on a gearbox, having just spent 800 pounds on a head gasket. Nightmare of a car, the only good thing is that internally (seating space) it is very roomy and spacious...shame it cannot perform as a reliable car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI is a good pulling car have a...”

Written on: 30/04/2009

The Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI is a good pulling car have a twin axle sports style caravan no problem. as a shudder in the sterring at 48mph told tracking wheel aligning tyres wearing onoutside of tyre fronts. i do air conditioning found that front pipe to accumilator where bracket behind front grill wears down so loss of gas replace it at £75.00, gas takes to fill 1150 gms double air con, brakes do wear a little plus tyres to, watch for door screws coming loose. air filter replaced .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“the kia sedona is a a gr8 mpv 4 family, been everywere...”

Written on: 29/04/2009 by urjokin (1 review written)

the kia sedona is a a gr8 mpv 4 family, been everywere in her, never as yet broke down on in 4 years olso she is plated 4 taxi done plenty of milage a gr8 1! plenty mpg,plenty of room,very tough enjine can put up with a lot, i expect were and tere

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI has space , comfort miles...”

Written on: 08/03/2009 by conmatolly (1 review written)

The Kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI has space , comfort miles per gallon easy to get in and out my wife is disabled. Excellent mpv had 3 previa before and will never go back to toyota sure previa got a bit more storage space but kia is alot more comfortable and cheaper to run and buy secondhand, shame about no manual out yet to fix it. Noise from engine under load but what do you expect from a big diesel

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“I am definitely disappointed with my kia Sedona 2.9 SX...”

Written on: 23/02/2009 by lejones (1 review written)

I am definitely disappointed with my kia Sedona 2.9 SX TDI but i also love it to bits! i know i am going to have to trade it in for another car and it won't be a kia of any kind! what a pity a lovely looking car but kia just haven't got it right. My brakes have been replaced every year. had virtually engine collapse last year costing a lot and i mean a lot!!! leaking fuel pipe. 6 new tyres because of wear on inside, and the tracking perfect apparently. rust one metre long under sil on left side needed welding. And now to top all gearbox has started playing up, being automatic it is staying in second gear! wonderful! so if you see someone driving a kia sedona 2.9 diesel going about 10 mph you know its me!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I too have the same problem with no power from time to...”

Written on: 04/11/2008 by nobby 26 (1 review written)

I too have the same problem with no power from time to time whilst driveing change gear and try to accelerate but no power the dealer said the pump was at fault and would need replacing and the injectors as well as the pipes and tank all under warranty
You should be aware that the pump can be covered by a 6 year warrenty by the manafacturer as it is supposed to last longer than that so dont be fobbed off.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Have 55 plate bought 18 months ago in May 07 with 6000...”

Written on: 31/10/2008 by girls2bingo (1 review written)

Have 55 plate bought 18 months ago in May 07 with 6000 miles in Oct 07broke fuel filter still under warranty cost 4500 for repair broke sept 08 sticking fuel sensor repaired broke Oct 08 fuel system said contaminated fuel paid 200 for repair as they drop 90 of fuel got back Friday 25th Oct broke sat now saying needs new injectors blocked by fuel contamination or sludge in tank still under warranty till Dec 2008 but as I put in bad diesel I have to pay 2000 for repair this car has only got 22000 on the clock as it is used as a second vehicle.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I bought the Kia Sedona in January 2003 brand new for...”

Written on: 28/06/2008

I bought the Kia Sedona in January 2003 brand new for 19k. I reckon it has cost me close to another 5k in garage bills to keep on the road for five years. Considering the first 3 years were covered by a manufacturer warranty it's quite expensive. The last year of it's life it broke down 5 times, twice on the motorway when the car ground to a complete halt! It being an automatic this was very worrying and dangerous. This sorry saga culminated in an estimated repair bill of over 2k, which I decided was a bridge too far. In January 2008 I scrapped it. Best thing I ever did. I for one will never again buy a Kia.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I am trying to get rid of my Kia Sedona quick, as I...”

Written on: 21/06/2008 by tracey eales (1 review written)

I am trying to get rid of my Kia Sedona quick, as I can not afford the huge repair bills, I urge anyone with fuel problems to quit before they spend any money on repairs. Trade your car in and get a more reliable car before you break down somewhere!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview