Ford Ka Collection Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
75% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Performance

  • Practicality

  • Reliability

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ford Ka Collection - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ford Ka Collection

Ford Ka Collection
Ford Ka Collection

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“BROUGHT MY BRIGHT YELLOW FORD KA - BRILLIANT”

Written on: 12/08/2014 by AnyaTors (1 review written)

I brought this car only a few weeks ago, everyone laughed at me when I told them it was bright yellow! However, when people saw it they thought it looked fantastic! A really trendy looking car with a pop of colour! Its a shame that it has grey bumpers, but easily solved. Handeling is fantastic in this car, really does pull round bends! It is also very quick off the mark for its engine size.(1.3) Before this I had a Ford Fiesta Flight 1.3 which was good but you could tell it was old. I'm not disappointed with this car at all! Interior is great, I like the; - yellow side panels, great touch. - Stereo works fantastically. - Seats are comfortable and do bend right forwards for easy access. - the room inside for some people could be quiet challenging as it is small, but if there's only 2 people max in the car at a time that isn't a issue. Only thing im getting used to is the acceleration pedal being quiet close to the break - but that might be because my fiesta was old... Overall I definitely rate this car 5 (star) ***** and would completely recommend it to anyone who wants a nippy little car. Works great in the country to! (where I live) not just a city car!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I am a new kid to any form of Ford motoring (Honestly,...”

Written on: 18/02/2011

I am a new kid to any form of Ford motoring (Honestly, never owned Ford before). Had 2004 model Ford KA since Nov 2010, and mixed feelings about it. Good points = fairly economic,35-40mpg,50 plus on a 60mph run. Car smooth comfy ride, smooth steering, fairly comfy to drive, fairly nippy performance, and engine/gearbox got good name in the motor trade. Paint shiny. Bad points = rust in usual places, paint too thin, certain bang over bumps, internal plastic and stereo not too good. mine done 55000 miles and already had new front suspension components, and the worse brakes since the days of the mk1 VW Golf ! with handling not brill either. My previous car was Suzuki Swift, better in every way ! Basically, KA's are ok, but let down by silly faults. Ford could do better.....such as Swift, Clio, and Polo......

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Had my 53 plate ford Ka 1.3 for 7.5 years and a great...”

Written on: 11/02/2011

Had my 53 plate ford Ka 1.3 for 7.5 years and a great little car. Cheap and chearful motoring with only 2 minor repairs in 7 years. SERVICING-I do all my own servicing which is very simple on the Ka, Changing brake pads is easy and a new set costs £19.50p also spark plugs cost £13 and is easy to do, hand brake can be adjusted simply by tightening bolt under handbrake cover. ROAD HOLDING-Ka is Front wheel drive and is brilliant in snow or Ice. ECONOMY- Ka does 42mpg round town and 50 to 61mpg on a long run. Overall a great little car but if buying second hand, watch out for rust and be aware that Exhaust catalyst or clutch costs £170 to replace. My car has done 46,500 miles from new and is still on the original battery,exhaust,clutch and alternator. The 1.3 Ka is cheapest to run but best fun models are sportka and Ka convertible which both have the old fiesta 1.6 engine which is very reliable too but only does about 30mpg,round town. Overall a great buy, would recommend you buy a low mileage model in excellent condition 2007 or 2008 model if you can afford it. Happy motoring!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I have given the Ka 5 stars for practicality because...”

Written on: 19/08/2010 by raytrench (2 reviews written)

I have given the Ka 5 stars for practicality because it is absolutely practical for its size. It is lovely to drive; good ride, very good steering, not too noisy (try a Toyota Yaris if you want to see what REAL noise is!), relaxing to drive driving position is pretty good.

Reliability can be iffy - this has been a family car since new and it really does demand TLC and regular servicing. The car can easily be broken into. Due to the design of the doors the thief simply bent it from the top and gained access! The engine is an old 8 valver Kent derived unit which has, I believe, now been replaced.

Would I have another? Yes - much more so than the new thing they have replaced it with but I would have gone up spec a little.

Having loved the original Mini I'd put the basic Ka in the same category - great at what it does, requires regular servicing and gives great fun.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Well,i may have on only had this car for a month,but...”

Written on: 20/04/2010

Well,i may have on only had this car for a month,but it has cost me a grand to get it normal! i bought it for £200 off a friend,knowing it needing some welding work. with less than fifty thousand on the clock i saw it as a bargain...little did i know how wrong i was.! not only did it need welding (£380)two weeks after i had it,the clutch AND gear box went,as we were driving along the moors!,also it had two bold tires on the front,after a thousand miles! hmm. So, after almost £500 for new gear box,new clutch,i then had to get new tires,they are only like £40 but still! then it needed the breaks doing! im not exactly the type of person to rag it either so felt a bit let down by my new purchase! But, fingers crossed,that will be the last on any problems for a while! On a possitive note,its a beaut on handeling,sticks to the road like nothing i have ever driven,when it wants to,it can reaaally go i have blown countless 'boy racers' with bigger perhaps better cars with great satisfaction! i would deffinatly recommend this lovley little car it just keeps going and going!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I purchased this car for £1500,one owner,full main...”

Written on: 27/12/2009

I purchased this car for £1500,one owner,full main dealer service history,new exhaust,4xnew tyres and less than 40k on the clock.The rear view mirror fell off,a common fault, but i repaired it in minutes for £3.The car is a delight to drive but not good on fuel.Inside there is plenty of room for 4xadults but the boot struggles with more than a half trolley from the supermarket.The only real downside is replacing the headlight bulbs which is a mammoth task.Crazy design from Ford but for a cheap,easi;y maintained car,i can recommend the Ka.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Got my Ka Collection in August 2008 as a first car. At...”

Written on: 30/09/2009

Got my Ka Collection in August 2008 as a first car. At the age of 21 and a massively keen petrol head alot of friends thought I was joking at first, then begged me not to do it as it was too much 'of a girls car', a fact im still reminded off by friends or when telling people what I drive. Do not let this put you off though as its a suberb little car that will give the silence the doubters if you reach its limits ;)

What made me choose it:
2 friends from 6th form back in the day wrote theres off sighting it being 'a bit tricky' at speed, then an ex girlfriend who had an 07 Style used to throw it around and you could tell it handled well...

Handling:
In the dry the car will revert to safe and gently progressive power on understeer if speed is built up in a corner or the car is thrown into a bent to fast. The back end is usually planted in this situation but can be coaxed out using lift off oversteer and a stab of lock, meaning you can leave a bend on a netural steer!

In the wet the car gets ALOT more entertaining, really allowing you to see what a sorted and suprisingly forgiving chassis Ford have engineered into the Ka. As above, power into a bend and you will this time get understeer reached at the expected lower level. Try to bring the back into play tho and its FANTASTIC! Proper half turns and more oversteer can be had at around 40 mph with alot more if you wish! for the adventerous out there a flick of lock, lift of the throttle and a dab of brakes can have some lairy angles going on!

Performance:
Max speed is approx 100 mph but it feels alot faster, and the engine is keen to rev. Personally i run only BP in mine as it feels keen and happy on only this, Shell 95 and 99 it feels rough on.

Braking:
Mine came with no ABS but this is really not an issue. For spirited driving and increased feel upgrade to EBC Greenstuff pads for around £40, there alot better than the Ford pads, and get a fluid change. The Ford vented discs are fine.

Running:
approx 35 mpg is my norm but I never really drive slowly. Parts are cheap but I source mine from spares yards to get parts from much never e.g. 07, 08 reg, Ka's at a slight premium as alot of the parts are compatible with the older cars.

Overall:
Cheap to run, repair, insure and upgrade, the Ka is a bit of a Q car for the young driver, and definitely more than an introduction to car handling! RECOMMENDED

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I obtained my used Ford Ka Sun Collection in August...”

Written on: 04/04/2009 by karasimms (1 review written)

I obtained my used Ford Ka Sun Collection in August 2008, it had 22000 odd miles on it, and at 6 years old- I cannot fault it!
It's a quirky little car, with the silver grill and black paint it stands out from the crowd and people always give a second glance when they spot the sunroof!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I bought my 10 year old V reg KA from new, I love it,...”

Written on: 25/03/2009 by VelvetSky (1 review written)

I bought my 10 year old V reg KA from new, I love it, I don't need a big car as kids all grown up, which is just as well considering the boot size, but in fairness, with the back seats down, it has a surprisingly large space. I just needed something to get me to work & around town. This car has proved excellent for that. Very economic to run. On the downside, every year I have had problems with the suspension arms or steering rack, this years MOT failed on the Wishbone (both sides) OK, so it's 10 years old, but with a mileage of only 41k & driving in built up areas most of the year (no bumps) it hasn't had the driving experience of a rally car to date. Having paid out so much over the years, (my family are screaming for me to get rid of it, replace it with something which feels less like a tin can) I just keep thinking, right, it's been fixed this year, surely nothing major can go wrong in the next 12 months before the next MOT, better the devil you know & all that. How wrong!! the garage have just informed me that at some point soon, seals on both sides would need to be done.
For a car that has done so little mileage & been nursed throughout it's long life, it's disappointing on how much of the structure has had to be replaced. Fantastic little car, but be prepared to spend spend spend on the upkeep of it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“As an add on, I must point out that my KA has Just...”

Written on: 31/12/2008 by Paybody (2 reviews written)

As an add on, I must point out that my KA has Just been colleted from Gells of Raunds after a nasty bout of miss-fireing. Charge, nomimal, service, top class, fixed in a day! As I said before, I recomend them to you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Nice to drive, feels quicker than the bare stopwatch...”

Written on: 09/11/2008 by Paybody (2 reviews written)

Nice to drive, feels quicker than the bare stopwatch times, One last thing I must say, The Car (KA) dealer in Northants is 100% Solid/reliable/pleasant and affordable and you cannot say that about all Garages.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“My sister has a bright blue Ford KA and when she's at...”

Written on: 25/08/2008 by kezzylet (8 reviews written)

My sister has a bright blue Ford KA and when she's at uni I drive it once a week to keep everything ticking over.
This car I think is a weird one to drive, the bumpyness of it can make you feel like your in a sports car, but slightly higher up, first gear you take off but 4th and 5th it slows down. The petrol goes suprisingly quickly in the 1.3 version as well, whilst my diesel Clio 1.5 DCI was out of action for a couple of weeks due to clutch problems, I had no choice but to drive the KA and it cost me more money to run than my clio. I then understood why my poor student sister never took it with her.
The interior is cute but the metal bits inside that match the colour make you feel un-safe.
A good buy for a first car, like my sister, as she has got a lot of use out of it, but for families or people with tall friends its not ideal.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“I think overall that the ford ka is a must by and you...”

Written on: 12/04/2008

I think overall that the ford ka is a must by and you need to at least test drive one to understand! Very comfortable ride. Solid on the road and reacts nice and quickly to your actions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Loved it since the day I got it.Great nippy car.”

Written on: 06/12/2007

Loved it since the day I got it.Great nippy car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
☆☆☆☆☆

“Following an RTA, I was loaned a Ka. It was a...”

Written on: 16/06/2006 by Ieuanfawr (68 reviews written)

Following an RTA, I was loaned a Ka. It was a dreadful experience and it looks awful. People laughed at me in it. The car was probably safe and there was no evidence of it being unreliable, but it was uncomfortable. Access to the two (no middle) rear seats was difficult, and my sister couldn't get her daughter's buggy into the tiny boot - we'd never known this happen before, so it had to be put on the back seat. Awful rear windscreen wiper. Didn't like the steering. Didn't like the interior. Didn't like it full stop.

This probably isn't a very helpful review, but I learned what to avoid and, probably totally wrongly, it has put me off Fords. It was a huge relief to get my own car back.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jeremysindall's Response to Ieuanfawr's Review

Written on: 09/10/2007

I disagree as it seems to me too much was expected. I find the Ka fun to drive, nippy with very good roadholding/cornering, on a twisty back road I found I could out corner more powerful cars. You either like the shape/style or you hate it, admittedly it is a bit quirky but at least it is different(how many cars can you say that about now?) Yes it is small but I find it very roomy in the front seats, in a way it is really a 2+2 with limited space for adults in the back, but surely nobody expects it to be a family car do they? With the rear seats folded I was surprised how much I managed to get into it. My only criticism is the brakes, they work well enough when you hit them hard but there is too much travel in the pedal with little progressive feel. In short I think it is a very capable small car but it is only really for a single driver or a couple. Don't expect to take the family on holiday in it please!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I would recommend the Ford Ka as a reliable car - but...”

Written on: 12/06/2006 by CiaraDudz (1 review written)

I would recommend the Ford Ka as a reliable car - but not for families. Very nippy little compact car. I got it just after passing my driving test, and it was big enough for my husband and I. I really liked driving the car, and it was handy to get parked and to manoeuvre. It was a bit of a Tardis inside, didn't feel as cramped as I had expected. We bought it brand new, and it was 100% reliable, no problems at all, and it was efficient in the fuel department.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“As a 20 year old I needed something from 18 to have...”

Written on: 30/04/2006 by mjlivesimmortal (1 review written)

As a 20 year old I needed something from 18 to have that was low on insurance. I know you can't expect miracles from a 1.3 engine but don't ever try to overtake unless you can't see a car in the distance. In 1st and 2nd gear the Ford Ka takes off pretty quickly but 3rd, 4th and 5th are just programmed as 'Oh I can't be bothered, I'll take my time going up the hill'.

Every service that it's had there's been something wrong. I'm not mechanically minded so it's just a rough idea: They had to do something with the suspension. Next service the steering was going wrong and had to change some steering arm? Anyway, it was like a metal...arm. And there was something with the MOT as well which I just can't remember but cost £200 to fix. Also, the pull-lever under the steering wheel to release the bonnet is weak and feeble and literally hangs off so I hope it doesn't fall off one day. OK it's cheap to run, but my advice is to save a little bit of the money that you'd expect to pay with a better car, to be able to fix it every year when the MOT's due.

I wouldn't buy another Ka. I don't think I'd buy another Ford. It's fine if you just can't afford anything else but if you can scrimp a little bit more, it'll be worth buying a better car.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★☆

“I like the Ford Ka I had the basic model for two years...”

Written on: 13/03/2006 by johndoe (1 review written)

I like the Ford Ka I had the basic model for two years from new just brought a another new one so I am quite happy with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ivan1890's Response to johndoe's Review

Written on: 21/03/2006

John, interesting that you had a good experience with this model whilst I did not. I guess that in the final analysis one needs to look at the overall statistics. In addition to the dreadful Ka I bought for my daughter I also bought my son a 'Ka' (I still do not know how to pronounce this - 'Car' K.A?) and after eighteen months or so he has not reported any problems. I cannot understand how sometimes one brand new model is dreadful, whilst another identical one is faultless? It reminds me of British Leyland in the late 1960's: Brilliant cars if you bought one that was built between Tuesday and Thursday but worse than useless if you bought one started on a Friday and completed on a Monday! It is refreshing to read so many differing opinions on this site - all valid and hopefully mostly honest. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I purchased a new basic 'KA' in January 2005 for my...”

Written on: 10/01/2006 by ivan1890 (23 reviews written)

I purchased a new basic 'KA' in January 2005 for my daughter and drove it 1.50 miles home in my track suit. On arriving home I checked over the vehicle and found that several fluid levels were very low, threads in the driver's seat were badly pulled, and the petrol gauge did not work. Ford refused to repair or replace the seat, stating that I must have damaged it on the drive home. Eventually, I gave in and repaired the seat myself. I had to return the car five times - eventually 'dumping it' at Fords and declaring that I would not collect it until they REALLY fixed the fuel gauge! (On previous attempts they had repeatedly taken out the tank and changed the sender unit). They eventually fixed it after head office sent an engineer to their premises who explained to them that every wire has two ends: He took out the dashboard and tightened a loose wire - at last fixing that fault. But, the car was returned to me with all three seats stained with grease and a front wing scratched - all done at the garage. After 6,000 miles the engine suffered badly from 'pinking' and I took it in early for a 12k service (at 8k), requesting that the pinking problem be sorted. On collecting the vehicle I was charged £150. plus VAT for the oil and filter and labour and was told that they did not sort out pinking problems as (1) This could not be undertaken during a 12k service (not withstanding that I specifically requested such work be carried out) , and (2) They could only adjust the timing electronically and did not know how to do this!!!! For my sins I loaded the car with 98 octane fuel and sold it on. Incidentally, the pinking never started during the first three miles of driving so my buyer was happy with her test drive. I told her about the pinking, and the balance of the 36 months warranty so I did not feel too bad. Still, it was very sad to part with an eight months old vehicle which the family had hoped to retain for four years. The car returned good MPG and was reasonably comfortable but was badly finished eg. interior rear boot panel missing (Ford never fit this in the basic model - the electrics simply hang out into the boot) and it takes little more than a strong wind to buckle the panels as they are ultra lightweight. We have now purchased a basic pre-reg. Fiat Punto -again for under £5k- (British Car Auctions) and there really is no comparison - same price but £3k higher value to our family! Very, very sad - I remember my first car a 1961 Ford Anglia 105E (which never let me down) with such affection but now feel very bitter about this recent experience.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Ford Ka dealers have been really good (Evans...”

Written on: 25/11/2005 by fasmithson (1 review written)

The Ford Ka dealers have been really good (Evans Halshaw). No problems with the KA found. The doors are wide, but there are restrictions in the rear for big people. Driving is fine and solid, it holds the roads very well, and has a very quiet engine (or sound proofing is brilliant). MPG is good at 40+, and group two insurance is excellent. Having had a Fiesta for two years, I would buy another KA instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview