MyBuilder.com - www.mybuilder.com

MyBuilder.com - www.mybuilder.com
★★★★☆
4.2
84.0% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
MyBuilder.com - www.mybuilder.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for MyBuilder.com - www.mybuilder.com

Latest Reviews

“Disruption Maybe Not be a Good Thing”

★★★☆☆

written by jasoncooke93 on 30/05/2024

Your contractors tell me it's an incredibly stressful and expensive service to use which then passes the stress on to me the client. Apparently cost them all £41 each for the lead with no guarantee of landing my project. I've had one contractor get highly emotional on text message tonight as I told him I won't be hiring him due to time constraints. I can't hire everyone and certainly don't want harassing when I do hire a specific contractor.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They trick the builders with leads to jobs that do not...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by 323Wilson on 14/12/2023

Honestly shocked by how Mybuilder try to justify charging builders for jobs posted that do not exist . 100 percent profit for them 100 percent loss for the builder Sometimes that can be 2, 3 or even 4 payments they take . They even multi post the same jobs over to attract more builders to click on it. I wish all the builders would boycott until they commit to protecting us from this . Legal fixing at its finest

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Pressured and threatening.”

★★★☆☆

written by ChristineMBevan on 25/10/2023

WH Paving just completed work on my drive.I continually had to email in order to request improvements to their work.It took 8 days rather than 2 as quoted.Incredibly fast talking Irish owner who was economical with the truth on several occasions.I felt uneasy from the day of his initial visit when I had requested a quote for a resin drive.The owner was pressurising,and persuasive and the quote given verbally.He shook my hand and asked for £500 deposit there and then,with no means of a receipt.The final straw was the moment after the Tarmac was laid,the owner asked for payment.I stated that I would send him a cheque using 1st class mail.He became very threatening and said if I didn't pay immediately,he would tear up the Tarmac.He called his mate,who came across with a pick axe to do the deed.This is totally unacceptable and left me very shaken.I felt extremely uneasy and anxious throughout the time the firm were here.I truly feel that WH Paving is not worthy of displaying and advertising membership of "My Builder"as a result of this incidence,which I am certain is not an isolated case.

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“internal doors supplied and fitted. ”

★★★★★

written by Dalewilson72 on 20/10/2023

5 internal doors supplied and fitted today. Fantastic to deal with and excellent quality work from start to finish and would recommend him for any work to be carried out.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“First Class Plumber”

★★★★★

written by Philsgt on 02/10/2023

Sought assistance in replacing a Mixer Tap at the kitchen sink. Selected Ben Lowbridge who provided an excellent quote, arrived in the same morning and completed the job within 15 minutes. No fuss, totally professional and tidy. Faultless!

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A Pretty perfect experience ”

★★★★★

written by Hares16 on 30/09/2023

I have just had my bathroom renovated and refitted by The Orange Bathroom Company which is based in Rugby. I had long thought that dreadful things lurked behind the ancient wall tiles and I was right . The team were unfazed ( well it seemed like they were !) The whole process was managed beautifully , without fuss, and the outcome is marvellous . Dependable, unflappable , professional and patient

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Tradesman - Beware”

★☆☆☆☆

written by KatherineSanchez76 on 11/09/2023

I expressed an interest in 3 jobs, one was to fit new doors and a damaged kitchen unit, the customer already had someone lined up to do the work but needed an extra quote for insurance purposes, thus cost me £30+ VAT and around half a day to attend on site and work out the quote, email, etc.. The second one was a kitchen refit that the customer also had paid for a fitter when he ordered the kitchen and was looking to ensure he had not been ripped off! This also cost me £30+VAT. The third and final straw was a so called trade customer in Derby who wanted laminate flooring packs cutting into samples. We agreed a price and for them to drop off the laminate the next door, needless to say it never appeared and he did not respond to messages or phone calls. This also cost me £7 + VAT. There is no number to call to raise this and in my opinion is just a rip off for Tradesman.

Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Don't employ him”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Juan94 on 21/08/2023

Nothing he says about himself is true on his advert.he off loaded our extension build to a 22 year old apprentice brickie saying he was experienced taking the build to finish it ended up taking 10+months we then had to employ somebody else to correct all the bad workmanship on our new kichen laminate floor ended up being laid 4 times ceiling plasterboard a complete mess.There was nothing g that was right. His brickie who took the job on even put a nail in the laminate because a board popped up. he should be struck off my builder and also check a trade

Was this review helpful? 1 0

“Loft insulation ”

★★★★★

written by MickWOOLY on 17/08/2023

A L home improvement have done me a great job quickly and leaving no mess for me to clear up. The lads were very polite and nothing was to much trouble. Will definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Roofer has left me with a leaking roof”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Kapus on 04/08/2023

A roofer recommended by this website has left me with a leaking roof.Be wary of hiring from my builder website.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BEWARE”

★★☆☆☆

written by Jones224 on 19/07/2023

Hi I'm a tradesman, Gas engineer. You have to pay £10 odd to be 'shortlisted' for a job which means you can just have the supposed customer details. I did this twice and the 'customer' was some random call centre in London. So I think they have people create fake jobs to get money from 'leads'. I can't be bothered to pursue just paid £18 to stop getting harassing emails and deleted account.

Da-Belper's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2023

Me too, I’ve been stung with 3 non serious enquiries and it’s cost me over £100! Never again.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 2 0

“Terrible ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by JamariOrtiz on 26/02/2023

If you are a tradesmen you will have to pay expensive leads and you will have to give free estimates, that means a lot of traveling and time. Mostly for a very small change to get some work. It is not worthy.

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Would highly recommend Temple Lead Works Ltd.”

★★★★★

written by on 13/01/2023

I can highly recommend Temple Lead Works for any work you may need on a listed building. High standard of work carried out to a clock tower on the listed building. Complete professionals, reliable, courteous and trustworthy. No hesitation in recommending their services. Competitive prices.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent work”

★★★★★

written by RobMat on 24/08/2022

Found my plumber, through MyBuilder. We needed to have a shower replaced. He arrived exactly when he said he would and finished right on schedule. He has done a first class job. Everything left clean and tidy and all debris from the old shower removed from site. The cost as per quotation. We are delighted with the work done. Would recommend this young man for all your plumbing needs.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Mybuilder is a company only interested in filling...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by LaceyCooley95 on 06/07/2022

Mybuilder is a company only interested in filling there pockets with tradesmen money. No customer vetting to stop tradesmen from being ripped off. No tradesmen customer services. Invoice for none exciting jobs. No way to contact Mybuilder for tradesmen. Has been the worst experience I've ever had in my 30 years as a professional and. Do not trust Mybuilder company in any way.

Was this review helpful? 5 0

“Excellent job!”

★★★★★

written by claretandblue68 on 07/06/2022

Used a local plasterer for a large job on our house. Needed two large bedrooms, full landing, stairs and hallway plus two large rooms downstairs. We used a guy from Barnoldswick in Lancashire. He gave us a quote and stuck to it even knocking a bit off when he found he didn't need to drop the original ceilings as was first thought. Honest or what! Turned up when he said he would and finished the job on time. Would recommend to anyone. He finished with a coat of sealant paint ready for us to finish with colours of our choice. Good job.

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ DO NOT CARE ABOUT TRADESMEN .. ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by RonanMcBride33 on 27/04/2022

I am a plasterer on my builder, we tradesmen pay for leads on my builder, up to 4 tradesmen can be shortlisted for jobs [my builder get paid 4 times] however just lately i have noticed that i have been shortlisted for jobs, i made contact within 3 minutes of recieving a lead, only to be told that the job had been done, my builder still want me to pay for a job of which i had no chance of doing. I tried to make contact with the ceo but he refuses to respond. Beware of a company who only want to take tradesmens money.  

Was this review helpful? 3 0

“Absolute rubbish company!!!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ksMcKee111 on 17/11/2021

Absolute rubbish company. Paid a hefty sum for bathroom installations, tiles shipped from Spain and Italy. The builders I got from their site, did a absolutely appalling job. There has been leaks for the last 1.5 years. The sad path is I no longer have a job, so I cant afford to repair it. The bathroom stinks without being used and honestly, I am very depressed by this. Trader is now conveniently in Poland. Think again if you want to use their platform. Their complaints process is a sham and you will never get due redress. Since you have asked for more information and to prevent you from providing a generic response that would attempt to make my complaint look trivial, here is what your complaint handler provided to me as a response. Hi, Thank you for your time earlier today and, once again, sorry to hear of the issues you have had with Mariusz. Following our conversation, I have tried to call Mariusz but there was no answer. I have sent him an email asking him to make contact with me. I will update you if I hear anything from Mariusz. If I do not hear from Mariusz, I will follow him up one last time in the next couple of days. In the meantime, please can you send me details of any messages you have from Mariusz of him explaining he is bankrupt and now living in Poland, along with any pictures of the work he has done? As discussed, please click this link for more advice on the Small Claims Court. If you do take any legal advice, I would advise that you make them aware that you believe Mariusz to be bankrupt. For completion, please see below the contact details we have for Mariusz. As I mention above, I will keep you updated. Please let me know if you have any questions. Kind regards, MyBuilder Customer Service Well, mybuilder plus did not come into effect until post 2020, which means that as I had used your site as an intermediary between myself and the trader, this product is not relevant to my situation.Your response shows the dicey and offhanded way you handle complaints. You have not taken responsibility for this, even slightly in any way. Lest you forget, you did inform me in your email on 13th November 2020 that you would update me on blocking Mariusz; account. I can bet you didn't until further complaints were made by other customer's to this effect. Your company have been fraught with terrible reviews of your customer's terrible experiences with tradesmen, but again no responsibility.This review has detailed to communicate my dissatisfaction with your services, whatever that is. For a company that acts as an intermediary for tradesmen that stand to collect thousands of pounds, you should do better. I only hope others have taken the time to read through the email thread. As I have now found, trustatrader offers a much better service. You can do a comparison online of these companies. I hope you all make better decisions than I have going forward. There is no point going back and forth with this company. They have just shown through their response that if you decide to use their services, without mybuilder plus and the tradesman decides to go bankrupt or move somewhere else, you are liable for the damage. On the other hand, maybe using google reviews to search for trusted traders in your area my be better and safer in the long run**** Reply from MyBuilder 4 hours ago Hi, Unfortunately we can't prevent people from going bankrupt. However, we now offer an insurance policy - MyBuilder Plus - to cover people for the occasions where work is unsatisfactory or tradespeople run into financial problems. After ten years of successfully using MyBuilder to source work and over two hundred positive customer comments for completed work, the tradesman received several negative customer comments in succession and we took action to permanently close his account. MyBuilder

Kimi2022's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2022

He has an advert on mybuilder. He took my full money but didn’t fix the bath problem. In fact he caused water leaks in my house, from the bath to kitchen ceiling and from the boiler. The plumber refused to fix the problem & leak damage that he caused, telling me to find another plumber because he was too busy to return. Basically he damaged my house, fixed nothing and ran off with a lot of my money.

I feel devastated. Had a very stressful few days this week since this happened.

Reply to this comment

Adeajadi's Comment

Written on: 08/07/2022

Hi,

Could you send me a link to his ad.

Reply to this comment

Aliceajadi's Comment

Written on: 08/07/2022

Hi

Are you referring to team of modern homes (company name) may have changed.

If so, they absolutely recked my home and I'm still paying for it. The guys that fixed the issue stated that ut was the worst job they had seen in their entire careers.

Mybuilder informed me they had taken him off the site. Surely we can escalate this issue to authorities.

Reply to this comment
Was this review helpful? 4 0

“Carpet supply and fitter”

★★★★★

written by Andrea26 on 31/12/2020

The guy i dealt with fitted vinyl flooring for me and I was very impressed , polite , professional and a very good job . I then wanted new hall , landing , bedroom carpet I rung him he brought his books around and I chose my carpet , very pleased with the price , carpet now fitted and fitted very well , looks superb , would recommend to anyone looking for new carpets or just fitting .

Was this review helpful? 0 0

“new fitted bathroom”

★★★★★

written by Nash352 on 10/12/2020

My Builder JLP Building Services fitted a new bathroom, excellent work arrived on time and put in the hours. My builder didn't disappoint me the work was brilliantly done clean and tidy and I can highly recommend JLP Building Services. My builder also kindly installed a new radiator in my Porch which was not part of the original work he was employed to do. That's why I am happy to rate him as I did. (he is a polite young man and very respectful)

Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Nickwardell on 12th June 2022 Report this content
Has anyone been able to claim compensation from My Builder for bad work or being ripped off by one of their recommended tradesmen?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview