MacTaggart & Mickel Reviews - www.macmic.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
10% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
MacTaggart & Mickel - www.macmic.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for MacTaggart & Mickel - www.macmic.co.uk

MacTaggart & Mickel - www.macmic.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible customer service, no after sales support”

Written on: 02/11/2022 by Liberty488 (1 review written)

This has got to be one of the worst builders around. The shoddiness of their work is demonstrated in abundance inside their new homes. The ignorance of their staff is also demonstrated in abundance, once their 2 years snagging period has ended. I have experienced personally, carports collapsing due to shoddy materials used (confirmed by MacMic inspectors). Windows that leak constantly as well as many many more 'big' jobs that MacMic refuse to attend to or rectify until someone raises a court hearing against them. Having to pursue them, constantly, through other avenues such as NHBC or courts is tiring. Their customer service is non-existent. After your 2 years snagging period ends, please DO NOT expect any help from MacMic. Once the 2 years is up you are left with major, costly issues like replacing faulty windows yourself, removing carports that collapse, yourself. These are nothing more than bad builders who talk a good game at point of sale but basically practice shoddy workmanship that you do not often find out before purchasing the home. In hindsight MacMic have put me off ever buying a new build property again. MacMic DO NOT respond to any queries either, often ignoring emails etc. Please be extremely careful at point of sale, check things like who covers your windows that leak after your 2 years snagging period is up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★☆☆☆

“Poor service, build quality and hundreds of snags”

Written on: 26/06/2022 by Reece118 (1 review written)

We moved into our property, being made to wait hours in the rain. No one to meet us. We immediately identified hundreds of issues. Getting them addressed has been a colossal effort. Cracks everywhere, poor build quality. Subcontractors that couldn’t care less. Avoid.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★★★☆

“Lovely development in Howwood”

Written on: 03/07/2021 by Agnesmag (1 review written)

Moved during pandemic Sales team were happy for us to regularly view the property when selling our house, no major snagging issues Good quality Moved in, no problems with rectifying minor faults once lockdown lifted The quality was definitely better than other developers in area , family agreed So I have no problems with recommending

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't Buy from Mac and Mic”

Written on: 07/05/2019 by LoreleiRomero250 (1 review written)

Not very impressed, at all, with this company. Had some complaints about the purchasing process yet they refused to speak to me. Their site office is closed two working days of the week so unable to speak to anyone there. Head Office ignore all telephone calls of so-called valued customers. They seem to forget that this is the biggest purchase anyone ever makes. Arrogant, unhelpful attitude to customers. Disgrace.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Mis leading plans”

Written on: 11/02/2018 by oqJames408 (1 review written)

Bought a house from Mactaggarr&Mickel and specifically asked about the garden size.Sales agent showed a plan clearly showing size marked on lawn are which she confirmed was what she was selling us. When house was built the garden was much smaller and when I challenged them they said they include areas around the sides of the house in their calculations but told us otherwise. This was admitted when I questioned the site manager and sales team at site but denied shortly afterwards. Legal and professional advice have agreed I am correct but M&M are denying all knowledge of this. Company policy to overinflated land size and then blame the customer for misleading plans that we asked a direct question about.do not go near this company.bully boy tactics and awful PR.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Big big mistake dealing with this company....”

Written on: 18/05/2017 by Annaliser238 (1 review written)

Big big mistake dealing with this company. Exceptionally poor Aftersales/customer service. Poor quality fixtures & fittings. Endless 'snagging' issues. Outdoor lighting detaching from several properties. Windows leaking & not repaired or replaced after 3 years & not in 1 home but in fact 9 or 10 houses in the same development. External doors leaking. Gardens waterlogged. Please note also the fifteen 5* reviewers on their Facebook page work for MacMic..... Perfectly pleasant staff, at the point of sale, once they have your cash the 'customer service' changes quite dramatically to non existent. Good luck future buyers, what was a dream for me very quickly turned into a nightmare. Also they have blocked me from this page so cannot see comments below. Please google 'MacMic reviews' & see what other buyers think. A 1.5 out of 5 star rating is pretty poor on other review pages. Please do further research before buying any MacMic property. I have lived in other new build properties & these ones are by far the poorest quality with the lowest form of customer service I have experienced to date. Good luck x

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Planned's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2018

If only I had read this review before buying from mactaggart and mickel. Deliberately misled/ mis sold by sales staff about garden size. We specifically asked about the garden size on the lan we signed for only to find that they included areas around the side of the house in their calculations not included in their plan. I challenged them on this which was admitted to at the site in the presence of the sales team and site managers then quickly denied when I escalated the issue. The company response was that they always used this in their calculations so it was to their plan. Legal and professional advice consulted by myself prove I am correct.awful company to deal with and bully boy response when they are clearly disingenuous in their sales.the fight continues!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Macmicarerubbish's Comment

Written on: 02/11/2022

I wish I had NEVER bought from MacMic. Their properties are full of snagging issues. They have major issues like leaking windows that they refuse to repair. Their aftersales is disgusting, to say the least! They DO NOT actually have any aftersales if truth be told, once they take your money they are off! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM THIS BUILDER.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 6 1
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling treatment”

Written on: 22/12/2015 by rtLarson239 (1 review written)

We have been in constant relation with MacTaggart and Mickel following a reservation on a plot 6 months ago. After all this time, delays on their part and misleading information on dates and specifications, as well as bullying tactics and unacceptable expectation, we have decided we cannot trust them enough to buy their property. We feel we need to warn people, and I would discourage anybody to buy from them. They cannot be trusted and have the worst and most deceitful way of dealing with queries and basic requirements. Everyone should be beware of their tactics before making an important decision with their money and future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 1
★☆☆☆☆

“EXTREMELY POOR AFTERSALES”

Written on: 29/10/2015 by puCahill105 (1 review written)

Having bought a MacMic home circa 2 years ago (2013), all I have had is problem after problem after problem. Visual 'settlement' cracks, you could almost put your finger into, are NOT covered for repair under MacMic snagging policy (which you are supposedly covered for for 2 years) MacMic continually ignore emails & refuse to take responsibility for repairing anything that goes wrong unless you put up a very big fight. MacMic installed council streetlighting onto my building, after I had been occupying my home for months, without any notification both prior to the work being carried out &/or during the actual sale of the property. I came home one day from work to find two men on a cherry picker hydrolic drilling into the side of my building. I was extremely alarmed & upset & not even an apology or explanation from MacMic was ever given to me. Needless to say, these heavy duty street lights detached from several of the properties in the high winds last winter & MacMic have had 'temporary' street lighting for circa 13 months now. MacMic are refusing to remove this unsafe lighting structure from my building even although they are a proven safety hazzard. This is a safety concern as I have 2 young children who I am extremely worried about when playing near or under any of these structures. I wish I had NEVER dealt with MacMic, their building faults & shoddy workmanship are too many to list but here are a few anyway that I (& neighbours) have experienced: 1.Massive settlement cracking (not covered for repair) 2.slipped wall boards (which leave ugly visual lines around your walls & only repaired after 5 months only once I got an independant inspector to look at them who advised immediately it was a builder's problem) 3.broken shower unit in bathroom 4. Miss-selling of things like the 'oak from door' which is in fact not oak at all but a cheap door that doesn't even keep the cold out never mind burgalers! 4.leaking windows. 5.Fitted a laminate floor which they told me was real wood 6.non-level back garden 7.unlevel patio doors. All in all poor quality workmanship & fittings from what is supposed to be a 'reputable' builder. Please be very very cautious when purchasing from these builders as it seems once they have your money, you're left to sort out your problems yourself. I find the quality of fitments & workmanship very poor & aftersales terrible. All in all a very poor buying experience & I could NEVER recommend this builder to anyone. Good luck!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“before buying have a look at 5 year old Mac Mic...”

Written on: 01/08/2014 by bobm1 (0 reviews written)

After about 3-4 years the render started to fall off many homes with cracks running from the ground to the roof about 12" from the corners in our development. Mac Mic say this is caused by settling and offer to patch up with bath sealant and crudely stick some roughcasting stones into the sealant and when large chimney sections have fell off they patch it with a different colour of render which can be seen from hundreds of yards away. Several builders have told me that weather, temperature and mix consistency is very important when applying render and there should be expansion joints when the expanse is more than 9 meters and the render must adhere to the brick underneath. Mac Mic "experts" disagree they say there is no need for expansion joints, yet they have put them in some rendered walls but not others. They maintain that the building sinks down(settling)and because the render is stuck to the brick cracks appear and the standard repair for this in the UK is to fill the crack with silicon bath sealant. The NHBC guarantee is hardly worth the paper it is written on as they say this is not structural and refer you back to the builder who refuses to see what is in front of them. I would say this is indicative of how you will be treated by this company and i would stress caution before buying although poor service seems to be the norm from house builders so this is an large additional cost you need to bear in mind before buying, this is made worse because you will need to get neighbours to agree to spending large amounts of money also as most of these walls involve terraced or semi detached properties. I recommend you put PA4 8JA into your sat nav and see a 5 year old development before you sign up to buying then look across the road to the Wimpey development which looks newer but is about 10-15 years older.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★★☆☆☆

“When buying a new home, think very hard before dealing...”

Written on: 28/01/2011 by Gasmeter4518 (1 review written)

When buying a new home, think very hard before dealing with MacTaggart & Mickel. Basically, when things go wrong or are delayed, it's your fault! Not MacTaggart & Mickel. We complete missives on time to move in at end of April 2011. As soon as we did this they then immedaite told us it would be at least 2 months later and blamed us for not completing missives 'on time'!?

They NEVER apologise for anything they do wrong. They don't provide a microwave oven in news houses, and refuse to provide as even an option. Nor heating in the conservatory. Nor accomodate any changes, at all. They quoted £7.5k to change 90 sockets to a chrome finish! Then changed their minds to £1.2k. They charge £1000 for a washing machine!

They quoted £7,000 to build a 6M long x 1M high wall at the edge of the garden (subject to getting permission, of course). Our own builder quoted £1,600. They want paid for ANY extras 5 months in advance of (projected) completion date, or they refuse to confirm your completion date. When you write to their Sales Director and MD to raise any grievance, they simply completely ignore you. This, and much more, is happening to us right now. Oh, and they NEVER apologise (did i mention that). Think very hard before you consider and new home and MacTaggart & Mickel. Personally, I will never deal with them again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Macmicarerubbish's Response to Gasmeter4518's Review

Written on: 02/11/2022

wish I had read these reviews before buying. I too have had major issues with this so called builder. Big issues like falling down structures, leaking windows, water logged garden areas, the list is endless. Good luck anyone buying a MacMic home.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 1 Comment

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview