The King's Speech Reviews

Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The King's Speech - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The King's Speech

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

“Great Film for 2012”

★★★★★

written by mrswilson12 on 24/09/2012

Myself and my family really enjoyed this film, a true insight into the Royal Family and of course speech impediments. I first thought that this film may be too dull for the 2 teenagers in our family, however I was wrong, they really loved watching it. From the start, you really do feel for the poor chap that cant speak properly through his speech impediment, being forced to take charge of Royal Speaking duties. This was due to his Brother not wanting to be part of the Royal Family, and wanting to be with his mistress far away from the rest of the royal family. At the end, when the Speech to the Nation on the War with Germany, I cried with Joy when the speech was delivered with perfection. What a fantastic film, full of highs and lows. A truly Gripping Drama, of which I highly recommend to Families all over the world. I truly hope that there is another edition, perhaps based on the 2 current princes in the UK, i am sure there is plenty of scope for this.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“excellent film and story that drew me into it's...”

★★★★☆

written by dbt222 on 04/03/2011

excellent film and story that drew me into it's humanity and stylish economy..

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“It was one of the few films I have been to in recent...”

★★★★★

written by lizseddon on 03/03/2011

It was one of the few films I have been to in recent years, where the cinema audience was silent from the beginning of the film to the end. It is a simple story, but it kept everyone absorbed for the full length of the film and for me actually mad me sympathetic to the royal family - something I never had been before. Well worth a watch.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Marvellous film. Truly uplifting. Some great...”

★★★★★

written by carlomiller on 16/02/2011

Marvellous film. Truly uplifting. Some great performances by the cast including of course Colin Firth.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“great flick, watch it in the movies, dont wait for the...”

★★★★★

written by Chrizalex7070 on 15/02/2011

great flick, watch it in the movies, dont wait for the dvd.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“When I heard the original premise of a film centering...”

★★★★☆

written by reviewkitten on 09/02/2011

When I heard the original premise of a film centering around the difficulties of George VI and his stammer I was not bowled over. It did not seem a strong enough story to carry a whole film and was potentially another Sunday afternoon filler film. Then the hype started. Suggestions of Oscars and Bafta awards filled the newspapers and blogs. I decided to watch the trailer and was pleasantly surprised. Taking the plunge I watched it last night. I was not disappointed.

The opening scene clinched it for me. As the then Duke of York makes the long walk to the stands of Wembley Stadium and then attempted to make his first speech to the crowds and listeners on the wireless I was hooked in. I could feel the utter humiliation and sympathised. Colin Firth puts in a superb performance as he struggles to overcome not only his stammer but also his long held frustrations with both his father and brother.
Geoffrey Rush as his speech therapist again puts in a strong performance and is a likable character. For once Helena Bonham Carter did not annoy the hell out of me and this probably had much to do with the lack of her husband and no Johnny Depp.

The photography is vivid and London in the 1930's comes alive compete with smog. A film that by the climatic ending has you willing him on to succeed. You can definitely see why the film has been nominated across the board. Expect a long run at the cinema so go see it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I'm always a bit wary of this genre of film, concerned...”

★★★★★

written by kingofreviews on 21/01/2011

I'm always a bit wary of this genre of film, concerned that it becomes a vehicle for actors to garner award nominations and, and set/costume designers to do likewise. All's well though because it's excellent, and justifies the hype for the acting and the overall story. Firth is superb, making the character interesting and vulnerable whilst not entirely likeable. There's lots of conflicting opinions being exchanged about the historical accuracy of the film, and in particular which of the characters where Nazi sympathisers, but it's all irrelevant - just enjoy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Celia Chest 40's Response to kingofreviews's Review

Written on: 14/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because it made me want to go and see the movie for myself.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jgibson25726's Response to kingofreviews's Review

Written on: 14/02/2011

I found this review very helpful because...very good not bad but good

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 2 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview