Hitachi HDR505 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2 / 5
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Features

  • Ease of Use

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Hitachi HDR505 - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Hitachi HDR505

Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505
Hitachi HDR505

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Listen to the advice you have just read!!!!!!”

Written on: 30/07/2015 by Cruzg380 (1 review written)

I am so dissapointed with this item, I'm finding it hard to write this review without throwing the device out of the window right now! I have had all the problems with the device that has been mentiioned before in this site and more but what has been most infuriating was the attitude of the manufacturers, Hitachi and the retailers Argos. No one seems to want to take some responsibility for this obvious 'dud' product. Hitachi, in particular have clearly washed their hands of the item and don't even have an engineer available who may at least provide some technical assistance. So to those of you thinking of buying this product, Don't!!! Give your money to Oxfam or a tramp outside McDonalds, believe me you will get far more satisfaction in the long run.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Front Clock”

Written on: 22/08/2013

Can not seem to keep the clock on the front of the unit it shuts down after 2 hours tried the menu- configuration - auto power down but still the same can any body HELP

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hitatchi rubbish”

Written on: 17/06/2013 by bruceseaman (1 review written)

Biggest load of rubbish I have ever bought, freezes more than once a day. Have to unplug it to reset every day, when trying to fast forward recordings (adverts) it keeps going to the end of the recording. Want to throw it out of the window. Please don't buy one it's garbage.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor”

Written on: 08/06/2012 by JackCrack (1 review written)

Just a poor quality build machine, slow, temperamental, the supplied remote doesn't work well at all (has to be twisted and manipulated to work) Hitachi will not help, Argos will not help, they all seem to know it's a lemon. DO NOT WASTE THE CASH

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Wish Never purchased”

Written on: 17/02/2012

Only had my HDR505 digital TV recorder for 6 months and has started to go slow and freeze. To delete or chose a recorded programme from the library it freezes and it has started to miss set recordings.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“disapointed”

Written on: 13/02/2012

worked well for 12 months then started not responding and freezing still works but takes a long time to do anything shall have to replace it soon thought it should last longer than 15 months

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“The Hitachi HDR505 digital TV recorder is excellent...”

Written on: 28/11/2010 by paulmatthewssurv (4 reviews written)

The Hitachi HDR505 digital TV recorder is excellent value for money (on offer at Argos for £110 when I bought it, with a £10 Argos voucher, so actual price £100 really). Its hard drive is 500 GB - impressive!

It's extremely user-friendly including the set-up process, although when you switch it on for the very first time it takes about 5 minutes to boot up and display the menu and you think it's not working! Once that's done it takes about 30 seconds to start from standby so I tend to leave it on all the time except at night (power usage is 18 watts in use, 1 watt on standby).

It has a great feature I wasn't expecting called "picture in picture" - you can view another channel on a small screen in the top right corner whilst you're watching your main viewing channel - not sure when I will use this but it's very clever!!

It has 2 tuners so you can watch one channel and record another at the same time, or record 2 different programmes simultaneously if your TV already has integral Freeview. You can also pause a programme and it automatically starts to record it (say if you have to answer the phone or the door etc), then when you press play it plays the recording but at the same time continues to record the programme so you can watch it till the end without missing any.

Like everything else, recording is intuitive and user-friendly; programmes can be recorded by time/date or more simply by highlighting the programme on the 7-day EPG (electronic programme guide)display and pressing the record button.

Overall then, very simple to use, good value and an attractive appearance - I like it a lot.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neverbuyhitachiagain's Response to paulmatthewssurv's Review

Written on: 20/03/2016

You must work for Hitachi, as every other review, including mine think this is 100% rubbish!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Neverbuyhitachiagain's Response to paulmatthewssurv's Review

Written on: 20/03/2016

You must work for Hitachi as every other review including mine regard this junk as 100% rubbish.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by priley on 24th February 2015 Report this content
When swapping from one channel to another if I am recording say Channel 3 and I want to swap to 1 it comes up with an error message then just shuts down for ten minutes saying Hdd. What does this mean?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview